Bookmark

Howlville: The Dark Past

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Discover the secret of Rachel's past in Howlville: The Dark Past! Many years ago an artifact was found in a mine near the small town of Howlville. The government asked Dr. Joseph and a group of scientists to examine it. Something went wrong and the experiments were halted and classified. The town closed off. Since then nobody knows what happened to Dr. Joseph. Fifteen years later his daughter Rachel is on the verge of solving the mystery, but somebody is doing everything possible to keep her from succeeding. Help find Rachel's father and save the world from the looming catastrophe!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 430 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Howlville: The Dark Past

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Howlville: The Dark Past

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Howlville: The Dark Past 3.5 5 117 117
Would've Been Perfect, but... I liked the game at first, but a few things annoyed me. One of which was at the very start of the game. Storyline is absolutely brilliant with some great voice-overs to go with it. Rachel's father disappeated many years ago and achel has been trying to find him ever since. When suddenly, she comes across te old abandoned town of Howlville. The intro hooks you from the moment it begins and you can tell that a lot of time and effort was put in to this. Some really good graphics too. Very well designed ad lots of detail, very modern and matching the theme of the game very well. The Hidden Object Scenes OK. Most of the objects were easy to find, there were a lot of interactive objects and the hint recharged very quick, so if I needed help, it would always be there. But something in the scenes would always be either a puzzle, or a little more complicated than it should be. The game kind of needs a strategy guide. I would often use the hint to find out where I needed to go next, which annoyed me a little and took up time. The one thng that annoyed me most about this game though, and the reason this game is getting a 3 and not a 4, is that there were puzzles everywhere. Even in the Hidden Object Scenes, there were puzzles. You need to do something as simple as opening a lock, but of course, there was a puzzle. Adding to my frustrations, the skip button took forever to recharge, so I needed to wait a long time, Another thing that really annoyedme was that a lot of things were un-necessarily complicated. With the opening of the lock mentioned above, it wasn't as simple as just turning the dials to open get the right code, no, the game couldnever allow that. Instead, turning one dial would also turn another one. Or if you needed to dust off a sign to read what it says, it wasn't just one click and it happened, you needed to do it yourself. If it weren't for the puzzles, this game would be perfect. Still, I enjoyed it and recommend it. July 11, 2012
Some thinking, lots of clicking Slightly different from the norm, and could have been great - but fell short. There was two levels, my review is based on the harder level. Graphics were nice, although somewhat dark, and didn't cater for wide screen. Whilst things like sparkles annoy me, this game went to the total extreme. No sparkles, no black bar clues, no changing of cursor. Some scenes could be worked out, but a lot was just idle clicking until something happened. Hidden object games - of which there were plenty - also involved a lot of clicking, but not quickly as there was a penalty. A number of scenes had objects that were obscure or hard to see. Storyline was boring - lost town, mental institution, lost relative.... Had the lot, but poorly executed. Held no interest. Even with the game being difficult at times, it was still somewhat on the short side. Would recommend this game to those who like hidden objects, and have lots of patience. July 12, 2012
Don't know what all the hype is about Demo review. The game was smooth, graphics and music good....... I enjoyed playing the hour but.......... I was halfway through the game! Not going to buy it for another 1 hour of play! I didn't find anything challenging as so many others did. Perhaps I should consider myself an expert now, but I play for the fun of it and, while I do love a challenge, I don't enjoy a hard game - not relaxing, and I don't like such an easy and short one as this game is. I suggest playing the demo to see for yourself. I recommend it only because it was clever. July 11, 2012
Nearly non-stop HO and easy puzzles If you like one HO after another (I don't) and the few puzzles you encounter to be very easy, then you will like this game. If you hate HO and like challenging puzzles, don't buy this game. I only gave it three stars because as an HO game, it is at least three stars. As an adventure game I would give it a half star. July 21, 2012
Too many HOs If HO scenes are your thing, you will love this game. There were waaaaay too many for me, though - you'd do one or two things and then immediately be presented with yet another HO scene. As HOs go, these are good - they are interactive, at least; but they are of the junkpile variety and I got really tired of them - enough so that I stopped playing the game. July 27, 2012
Howlville is not for me I was not impressed with this game. My reasons: the graphics were basic, the game progressed slowly, the curser was sluggish, and the story line was very basic. I turned the volume down to eliminate the noise. I suggest playing the demo before purchasing. I wish I had. July 23, 2012
Was not a fan of this game I am sorry to say, but I did not really like this game too much. The opening scene reminded me of a scene from a bad comic book. In all fairness, I did not finish the demo because it was too painful to complete. I basically knew I had enough after the short time I played. It was not interesting to me. I am a fan of Greenhill Sanitarium, MCF, etc....so you can compare my taste to yours. July 14, 2012
Howlville: The Dark Past This game is brilliant for those who enjoy HOS which basically make up the majority of this game, I personally like more adventure. July 12, 2012
average Story is sort of engaging; several mini games are glitchy (not completing even with the correct result) and must be skipped; game is rather short; and HOS are often needlessly difficult with items colored exactly like the background. July 16, 2012
Pointless, boring and stupid HOG Howlville is aptly named because it is a dog. What I liked: The art in the scenes What I disliked: The art in the HOS and the lack of a plot and the lack of any intelligent thought in the play. This game featured some easy puzzles and some that were too awful to attempt. The awful ones had extremely long waits until I could skip them. The HOS varied between well drawn and absolutely terrible. There were far too many items which were so dark as to be invisible. I spent over a month trying to get interested enough to finish this game and could not force myself to play it. It lacks any semblance of continuity because there is no logic why one would do the next step in the game. Keep the walk through open because you will need it every few seconds. Awful. The plot was stupid and certainly not entertaining. The best thing about this game was finally finishing it. I did not find it entertaining at all. August 18, 2012
81-90 of 117 Reviews <<prev 789101112next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Howlville: The Dark Past

Many years ago, mysterious events separated Rachel and her father. Help find him and save the world from catastrophe!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.