Bookmark

The Promised Land

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Take charge of a small group of settlers and build a thriving colony in The Promised Land, a casual strategy game for the adventurous at heart. Gather resources, erect buildings and establish trade as you explore a vast wilderness teeming with surprises! Can you tame the New World before it tames you?

  • Huge world to explore
  • Complete freedom of play
  • Build a thriving colony!
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 327 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
The Promised Land

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

The Promised Land

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

The Promised Land 4.7 5 184 184
Beautiful graphics I found this game very beautiful visually..it was challenging to figure out how to accomplish the tasks while keeping the people healthy & happy. Unfortunately, I got hooked on it and completed sooner than I would have liked! :) Hope they come out with another one! August 3, 2012
fun time management/sim hybrid + cute minigame This game was just what I needed this weekend. The graphics are cute in a cheerful and fun way. I would have liked more variety in the character illustrations--I kept confusing them for each other. This was especially true once you re-trained them for something and their outfit changed to suit the new job. Some of the characters were a little on the hackneyed stereotyped side (*cough* the native Islanders... *cough*) but overall, not bad. The pirate mini game was so cute. That's the part that kept me occupied while I waited for my islanders to finish tasks. The tasks were not as difficult to figure out as say, Virtual Villagers, which was a both a plus and a minus. The game was over a bit quickly for me. Dunno if I just had a good strategy or if I just got lucky. Oh, as a bonus, I really loved the sound effects. They changed as you scrolled past various areas--including silence near the hospital, which was a clever touch. July 16, 2012
Sooooooooo ugly people!!!! I like this game very much but there's only 1 thing i hate--- THE PEOPLE ARE SO UGLY. Every time I play the game my anger tends me to close it when i see some of the ugliest people in the village.I wanna pull their heads off!!!!! November 25, 2012
Pleasant game It's definitely like "Artist Colony" where you build your village after being shipwrecked, but it's an unhurried pace (except for a few quests). The only downside for me is the stupid "Angry Birds" part where you have to get rid of pirates. "Angry Pirates" is just very unlike the rest of the game, and it throws off the tempo and continuity. August 12, 2012
More Please This game is very satisfying I wish there were more like it. I love the storyline and the game play and the idea of it in general. The side pirate game is a lot of fun too. My only complaint is that it leaves me wanting more! I keep playing it over again because it's so good but I want it to be different. I want more territory, more mines and shops and treasures and customizations. I wish you could make families and produce your own settlers. I wish you could choose where things go so it could be different every time you play. I know they probably don't want to make it too much like the sims or civilizations series but I'm yearning for those kind of games and this one left me craving it even more . This being said, it will remain a Big Fish Games favorite of mine. August 5, 2012
For a while I was flustered, but then I got bored... OK, initially I enjoyed the game - and bought it. Then I kind of got overwhelmed because the hints of what to do that pop up in the form of a tutor and the guy who keeps you alert to market prices don't tell you about important things that you need to be doing. They also don't always give good advice. He tells you something like "Sell all your corn before prices drop!" If you do it, your people starve for awhile. Getting the right balance of produce and helpers for the kitchen is tricky, and it is best to wait and build things when you are told to - although sometimes they give you a task long before you have the resources to complete it. Sometimes tasks conflict with one another too. The homes are little puzzles where you have to figure out how to place the rooms so that all can be accessed, and until you add on rooms for them, some of the colonists who come in will be homeless and can't work. They are very sad and mopey when they are homeless. I messed up early on and had three homeless people wandering around for the longest time! Once I got all the major stuff done, and everything balanced and working well, it got boring. I actually fell asleep waiting for something else to happen. You can't advance to certain levels unless you complete the pirate battle mini-games. Those remind me a lot of Angry Birds. I still haven't been able to finish the last one - so I still have not completed the game. I just got tired of trying. I lean more towards games like Gardenscape, but if you enjoy Sims-style time management games, you will love this one. But only if you like keeping track of around 50 characters at the same time, and balancing a myriad of tasks. It is not simple, but can be fun. July 18, 2012
Cute and Fun Strategy Gmae I wasn't sure at first, but before my hour was up I was hooked. I recommend this for lighthearted fun. Some things take time though so be prepared to wait while crops grow. July 30, 2012
Great colony game. Almost perfect I loved this game! I bought it well before the demo was over. i have just finished it. Relaxed play, but with options of making it more challenging. I did find a few bumps when i first started, but with a quick search and a trip to the forums, i had all of the issues solved. I wish they made more games like this! Compare to Artist Colony or Wondering Willows. I always mute the music, but I left it on a low volume for this one, it blended with the game seamlessly. I did have to re-start once after I had got the basics down, but I am looking forward to playing this again and again. Great value and a hugely fun game! July 15, 2012
didn,t feel rushed i like that you can choose either match 3 or hidden object July 11, 2012
Fun "New Colony" Simulation Game Fun to play. Can send trade ship to "Old World" for goods. Similar to Artist Colony, Virtual Villagers & a tribe colonizing game (the name currently escapes me). Only thing I don't like (some people may like this): there is no aging or families. October 2, 2013
151-160 of 184 Reviews <<prev 141516171819next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Promised Land

Build a thriving colony in a vast wilderness teeming with surprises!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.