Bookmark

The Promised Land

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Take charge of a small group of settlers and build a thriving colony in The Promised Land, a casual strategy game for the adventurous at heart. Gather resources, erect buildings and establish trade as you explore a vast wilderness teeming with surprises! Can you tame the New World before it tames you?

  • Huge world to explore
  • Complete freedom of play
  • Build a thriving colony!
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 327 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
The Promised Land

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

The Promised Land

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

The Promised Land 4.7 5 181 181
Worth buying This was much more fun than the usual tm games December 27, 2012
Fun game A really good game. The graphics is good. The tasks are good. And I liked the challenge of the houses, to get more inhabitants you had to "puzzle" more rooms. All over a good game. But I would have liked it even more, if there had been more difficult tasks or levels. Still: I LOVED IT!!! :) December 16, 2012
The Promised Land A Good Little Game Sometimes, I like to take a break from large file Adventure games and just play a TM game. I found this game to be fun, not too difficult but sometimes very challenging and played it several different ways several different times. After playing several different ways, I found if you click on the map area while your little sim is selected you can pick him up and just put him back at the starting point back and forth etc. By doing this you can speed up his long walk back to Town Hall and beat the clock in the TM quests that appear often in the game. It sure shortens the time needed to carry the goods back to Town Hall. I really enjoyed having to blast the pirates, and was a little disappointed that there wasn't more of those senarios to do. Made for a great break in just grinding to gain research or resources. Replayed those several times, too. Loads of laughs! I would like to see a sequel expansion to this game, maybe they could have actual kids in the game in a later version, and have to build more rooms and more resources to keep up with the population. One thing I found disappointing was 8 people could live in a 3 room house. I was hoping it would be a requirement that each must have a room making it more challenging to add them a room, too. I think that would add to the challenge level and that not all would work until they acutally got a room, too. You start with 5 that stay in a 3 room house..I think they should have made that a little harder. Each time I finished the game, I kept wishing the world was expanded and they have children and keep growing so if a game leaves you wanting more in the end then it is a very good game! As they say in showbiz, 'always leave them wanting more!" I certaintly recommend this game for those that like TM games, and the Casual game genre. October 10, 2012
Great real time strategy This is much more goal oriented than a lot of similar strategy games, and micromanagement actually makes a noticeable difference. Not gonna lie, though, I was able to successfully nap and play this game at the same time. September 16, 2012
A really enjoyable twist on Sim and Time Management I really enjoyed this game, which had a lot of the elements of Virtual Villagers, but without the persistent world and very slow progress that always annoyed me about that game. You are setting up a colony on a distant island, and you must manage your slowly growing number of colonists is harvesting resources, exploring the island, and uncovering treasures. Part of the game involves trade with the homeland, where you can acquire additional colonists, trade resources for money, and acquire bits of technology to advance your progress on the island. The pace of the game is very good, and I never felt like I was just sitting around waiting for things to happen. Every time I accomplished a goal it seemed like two more would pop up fairly quickly. The art style is decent, if a bit cartoonish. It was nice to have characters distinct enough that I could recognize who was who right away. All in all, this is a great game, and well worth a buy for anyone with even a slight enjoyment of this style of play. July 30, 2012
Priate Shooting This game is a lot of fun except when trying to destroy the pirates. Controlling the ball and the level of strength is unpredictable July 29, 2012
promised land good game keeps you busy for hours makes you think ahead and planning is key July 19, 2012
If only this game weren't so sloooooow... I was a bit hesitant to buy this game after the trial, but my almost 9-year-old was adamant that we needed this game after watching me play it. That being said, even after playing it farther, I still can't say I love it. It's an interesting story, an interesting idea, and definitely has potential. Despite all of the reviews comparing it to Virtual Villagers it's not quite the same as that series of games. It's much more similar to Artist Colony than Virtual Villagers. However, it's biggest flaw is just how slow it is. You collect or make items to do things in the game (food, stone, wood, more sophisticated things as time goes along). And your colonists are the ones doing it, all with their own likes or dislikes. Unlike Artist Colony, there seems to be a larger variety of tasks (since I remember Artist Colony getting repetitive rather quickly), as not everyone is ultimately trying to do more or less the same thing. So it ends up feeling less repetitive. However, it being less repetitive doesn't make much of a difference or help it a lot when it just takes so long to get things done. This is where it's not like Virtual Villagers - the game doesn't continue to run when you minimize/quit it. Which means that in order to have your colonists collect/produce enough of the things you need for the tasks, you have to leave the game running. And you can't leave it running and walk away from it either, as occasionally messages from your advisors will pop up on the screen, and those pause the game until they're dealt with. In order to get as far as I have in the game, I've honestly sat in front of my computer reading while the game runs. Sure, I've bought more colonists and have multiple colonists working on things, but it still takes time, and without a book to read at the same time I would have given up on this game awhile ago. Even my almost 9-year-old, who goes on about how neat this game is, will frequently find something else to do at the same time. Another flaw is the tutorial portion - it's not awful, but it's not great, and sometimes information you need doesn't pop up unless a specific thing happens. For instance, I had no idea for awhile that you could add more rooms to the houses and have more space for colonists without building another house because I just built the second house when I hit the upper limit and before I got another colonist. So I didn't get the message about adding on rooms until after I ended up earning an extra colonist that put me over the limit. Not a huge deal, but it's an example of how it doesn't tell you things unless a certain thing happens. Your advisors will also sometimes tell you to do something (such as sell all your wood/stone/food because it's selling for more right now) that isn't necessarily in your best interest. For instance, without food, your colonists won't work. I didn't listen when they suggested things such as that, but I'm sure that could frustrate some. Finally, the pirates game that's sort of like Angry Birds. I don't honestly care much for Angry Birds, and it's a bit annoying that you *have* to complete those games for some things to happen or be earned in the game. Sure, I can do them, but either a skip option or at least not making them necessary to continue in the game would be better. Otherwise, the graphics and sound are good, and if there was just some option to speed up time in the game this would be pretty good. But given just how slow it is sometimes, I can really only call it okay. Definitely play the trial before you buy it and keep in mind that you'll want a book with you as you play. September 24, 2012
Detailed, beautiful and fun storyline, but not the game for me. I played this on trial version, and while I enjoyed the trial, I don't think I'll be buying it. What I LOVED: The design and graphics, the background music, the interesting storyline. This is a well thought-out game, more detailed than most. What I liked: Gameplay--easy to learn, tie nicely with the storyline. Each characters are well thought out, having their own likes and dislikes, quirks etc. What I didn't like: I felt like it was a slow-moving game. You cannot decide where to build your buildings as the locations are pre-selected by the system. The mini-game of defeating the pirates a la angry birds was just not up my alley. September 13, 2012
no overview I am not a big fan of pick up and drop off people to get them to do chores. I prefer to have the whole screen on display so that I can see what is what and to not have to squint to see my workers. But the graphics are cute, sound is pleasant and fighting pirates in a mini game is just fun. not sure if i will buy it because the constant scrolling around is just not my thing. July 11, 2012
161-170 of 181 Reviews <<prev 1516171819next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Promised Land

Build a thriving colony in a vast wilderness teeming with surprises!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.