Bookmark

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward

Full version game
(553.17 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Track down your missing twin in Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward. The only trace of your missing twin is the necklace he never took off…and a swampland address. Follow the clues to an abandoned hotel and unravel a mystery of necromancy and more in this eerie hidden-object puzzle adventure classic!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 618 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward 3.9 5 48 48
Just Awesome! My hat is off to the developers for a games with a truly engrossing atmosphere and feel. I wish more games were like this. I play a lot of Adventure games and this ranks near the top. July 24, 2012
Very creepy... and very good Great game... really. Don't listen to bad reviewers. I wonder what's going on in the heads of people who give this game a bad review? Great storyline, gorgeous graphics, good music and sound... lots of interactive things to do, places to explore... Challenge might have been a bit better... I liked the puzzles and minigames, but they did not offer much of a challenge, maybe because I am already quite familiar with most of them. Not too many HOS - which is right up my alley - and easy to complete. There is no map, but you do not need one. Even with a lot of locations, you never have to do a lot of backtracking. Moreover, the game closes off areas where you don't have to be anymore. Thank you dev's. No notebook, but you can refer to a handy tasklist to help you on with the game. The hint button is bit of a spoiler: it tells you straight off what to do next. I would have preferred to get a usefull hint which gives me a chance to figure it out for myself. Anyway, all in all, this is a great game and I can only hope that the dev's have enough inspiration to keep on going. October 24, 2012
THINGS THAT GO BUMP IN THE NIGHT Storyline: Based on the novel and characters of the book written in 1927. Charles and his sister grew up in an orphanage and inherit a hotel in a desolate location from their Uncle Curwen. Charles went to check it out before telling his sister, but has been gone a week. The police aren?t interested, so she goes to find him. Only one taxi driver is willing to take her to the hotel, provided he can drop her off 1 mile from the hotel. The tale unfolds as pages and notes are found scattered throughout the game. As the hotel is haunted and locals stay away, there?s an underlying sinister feel to CDW, especially when thick black smoke keeps appearing out of nowhere, then abruptly seems to be blown away. While the HOS has large objects, the edges can be murky. But given the spooky nature of the story, that may have been intentional. Puzzles are tried and true, some with a nice twist. Difficulty ranges from easy to moderately difficult. Graphics are outstanding at creating a spooky, gloomy atmosphere without being overbearing. And the sound effects and animation add to the creepiness, what with the creaking doors, the black clouds, and blood red words of warning. If there?s a CON to the game, it?s that you stare at a black screen between location changes. Overall, this is a brilliant adaptation of the novel. Wikipedia has a nice summary of the Charles Dexter Ward novel, which the developers have integrated nicely into this game. You will see that they put a lot of thought and creativity into the game to maintain the story?s integrity. It was a pleasure playing it. Although it's about a haunted hotel and its owner, it isn't too scary. Length would be 4-5 hours in casual mode if you aren't a rusher. September 7, 2012
Definitely worth buying! I always read comments before buying. This time I'm glad that I've bought this game without reading reviews. The game is great. It's just a full package of what I like in this genre - puzzles, mini-games, huge territory to explore. Its even has live video cut-scenes. Graphics is very nice, sharp and realistic. I also liked weather changing through days a lot! Definitely worth buying! July 17, 2012
Phenomenal-Best game I've played in well over a year This review is based on the CE version which I highly recommend purchasing. If you already have the SE, I recommend upgrading to the CE, if only for the bonus game play alone. There are also achievements in the CE version. Rarely do I ever believe that CE's are worth the money-but in this case, yes! I may be a bit biased as I am an H.P. Lovecraft fan and have read all of his writings, but that also gives me a unique perspective about the game itself. The developers did a fantastic job with the story of Charles Dexter Ward. If I were to base my review on the storyline alone, it would be 5 stars. The way in which the story is told is masterfully done. The journal entries that you locate along the way really help tell the story as do the well-placed cut-scenes along the way. Along with the 'diary entries', you will also come across letters, books, and correspondence which also contribute to the story. I found myself immediately taken in, and it was difficult to stop playing. This is a VERY long game so you get your money's worth. I consider myself an expert player and it took me about 8-9 hours to play, NOT including bonus content (if you decide to upgrade to the CE). Granted, I took my time exploring and read ALL of the journal entries, etc., but even taking that into account, the fastest of players will get several hours worth of game-play. As for the game play itself, it is heavy on the Adventure and lite on the HOS, which I prefer. There are only a few hidden object scenes scattered throughout the game, perhaps 6-8 total (rough estimate). There are some puzzles to solve-none overly difficult and with time and patience, can easily be completed without the need for a walk-through. Most of the game consists of exploring numerous locations and picking up and utilizing various inventory objects along the way. The atmosphere is spooky. This game was designed with a more mature audience in mind, so be sure to take note of that before handing off to your kiddies. The subject matter deals with some pretty dark and sinister topics, but then, it wouldn't be H.P. Lovecraft if it didn't. The graphics are very well done and capture the mood of the story very well as does the environment sounds and the accompanying musical score, which is not constant, unobtrusive, and quite beautifully rendered. From every way I look at it, I cannot think of a single complaint about this game, which honestly NEVER happens. There is usually always something that bothers me, but not with this game. The time and effort put into developing this game is evident in all possible areas and I can only hope that other developers take note, and are up to the challenge of creating games as perfect and enjoyable as this one. Happy gaming! March 30, 2013
Great game all around I like this game so much better than the other pure hidden object Haunted Hotels. It had an engaging story thanks to HP Lovecraft and puzzles in addition to HO scenes. The puzzles weren't too tough. The toughest part was finding the missing components of the puzzle. The scenes were imaginitive and well done. I loved the dead water. Creepy! I also liked how the adversary repeatedly made paths inaccessible. It added to the realism. I'm a big fan of music that adds to the gameplay. This game had a nice new age soundtrack that wasn't intrusive. I actually put on headphones to listen while I played. It was so entertaining, I finished it in 2 days! This game was great! August 11, 2012
Absorbing Game I love these older style games. They have everything that I like in a game. Clear HO and doable puzzles plus a twist at the end. What more could you want. August 13, 2012
Great game, but short Excellent storyline: you have to find your brother who is trapped in a haunted hotel. Great graphics and VOS. Clear, non-interactive HOS. Some seek and find. Good puzzles. Nice music. A little short, only 3.5 hours on casual play, but definitely worthwhile. August 17, 2012
Great game Pretty fun to play. Interesting story line. The best part was that the detective you're playing had actual common sense. I would recommend this game. July 27, 2012
excellant, decent puzzle's Excellant, decent puzzle's. One of the best games. July 14, 2012
11-20 of 48 Reviews <<prev 2345next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward

Enter the abandoned hotel and find your missing twin!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.