Bookmark

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

You've tracked down the latest Dark Dimension to Red Lake Falls, where a haunting beauty queen begs you to save the town but from whom? Is it her brother, last seen busting through a shop window in a jealous rage? Or his stalker girlfriend? The real villain in this thrilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game just might shock you unless youre turned into wax first!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 611 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty 3.9 5 82 82
Wish it were better I finally finished every tedious moment of this game. It started well enough with a creepy good story and nobody around but ghosts to tell it. Good artwork, clear HOS, interesting puzzles. At some point, all that fun stuff lost its momentum, and the game became a tedious, repetitive chore of running back and forth and back and forth and back and forth. I usually like going back and forth for things (unlike many other players), but this was too much! Contributing to the tedium is the lack of a map. There are a great many scenes in this game (which is GOOD) but trying to remember what they were, where they were in relation to where I was, and whether there was something left to do in a particular scene became not so much frustrating as boring. But I persevered, just so I could say I FINISHED IT! January 16, 2013
great if you're a beginner The game was fun, but it was not a challenge for an expert gamer. I completed it in 3 hours. If you are looking for a quick, good game, then this fits your bill. If you are looking for something a bit more challenging, this is not for you. Graphics were good. Hidden objects scenes were easy, even on advanced option Mini games were really easy. story line ok. I would recomment this game for a quick play, or a beginner July 13, 2012
A decent game! I did enjoy this game, but , it was only OK. Great graphics, easy HOS, puzzles were good and not to challenging( a couple took a little time). There are alot of cutout scenes but that was ok. Small world all in all, It does take you a bit back and forth, but just a normal amount(in my opinion). I did enjoy the game though, but it was just OK June 4, 2012
Disappointed Mostly good game, could have used a map for getting around. But that is just me. Disappointed in the ending. It just fizzled out as if they just got tired and did what was easy. Really, the ending made all that went before senseless. Like I said a disappointment. June 1, 2012
OK Game Not to bad. The graphics were good and the music eerie as was the storyline. The back and forth with duplicate HOG scenes was not for me. Could have done with a jump map. The instructions for the puzzles could have been clearer. Even the walkthrough wasn't much help. A dark game with lots of dark colors. December 6, 2013
Game needed better beta testing This review is based on a complete playthrough of the SE game. I used to get a lot of beta test 'invites' from Big Fish. Wish I had gotten this one, the game really needed it. When it opened up with a typo (repeated line) in the first page of the journal and a scorecard where the numbers didn't add up, I had a bad feeling about the rest of the game. I wanted to like this game. I like the premise. I like the main character. I like the villain (in a 'love to hate' way). The game just didn't 'click' for me. THE GOOD: Starting with the positives - the graphics were excellent, the cutscenes were very well done. The way the story arc unfolded explaining a bit more about each character at a time was brilliant. By the time you got the end, you knew a lot about each character and their true intentions and motivations. The journal recorded things (generally papers or pictures you picked up) in the order you found them. Small thing, but it helps keep it 'real'. There were only a few times the journal knew more than it should, and they were minor things you found out almost immediately after in the game. "Your" notes on each page were also very well done. THE BAD: Hope you got sneakers on, cause you're gonna be doing a lot of walking. No map, and while I'm not always a huge fan of the transporting and information giving maps, this game needed something. You went back and forth so many times. The HOS were fairly well done, with some really hard to find objects in each scene (which I always though was the point - why play a HOG and then complain the stuff isn't easy to find). There were a few times though were the item names were vague, or even 'wrong' from an American English point of view: "tumbler" for a toggle switch as an example. You also repeated the scenes, sometimes almost immediately after doing them the first time. Scene, use the object, back to the same scene. They did that twice, and more scenes were repeated with a bit more time in between. The puzzles: I like hard, challenging puzzles. I don't like puzzles where I can't figure out what I'm supposed to do. I skipped two during the game for this reason (and I almost _never_ skip puzzles. One of them I still don't understand after reading the blog walkthrough after finishing the game. On the plus side they made a small modification to a 'classic' puzzle that made sure you really understand how the puzzle works, and not just doing the moves you know from having done it a dozen times before. The selection boxes on the screens were way too large. I was clicking on a car in the middle of the street wondering why it had a gate latch on it until I realized I was selecting the gate on side street more than a inch of clear space away on my monitor. That pattern persisted through the whole game. THE UGLY: Between the running around, trying to figure out what objects were used for what (I played on the easier of the two settings), the game just didn't give itself a chance to flow properly. What should have been a great, developing story was constantly interrupted by running around aimlessly back and forth with no map hoping you stumble on what to do next. The "Hint" bar got stuck in a 'loop' at least once I can remember - what should happen is you try to use an item, realize it doesn't work as is, so you take it back and then go do something to it. The 'hint' would tell you to place the item and pick it back up, but then it went right back to place the item again. When you were at a point you needed to solve a puzzle to advance it went into "there is nothing for you to find here" mode. Some of the thing you had to do just made no sense, even in a 'Dark Dimension'. Without spoiling anything - filling a container with water so that a metal object will rise to the top where you can pick it up. There were a few like that. BOTTOM LINE: The story does end well, with enough clues that I think I can guess what the Bonus Content would be - but maybe it would surprise me. I didn't feel like I was cheated out of an ending. The game was long enough, even longer with all the 'trekking' but even if there was an interactive map the game would take most people four hours or more. With all the problems though, I can't give the game a good rating. If you can get it on a 2.99 for the day or a half price sale, then I'd say get it, especially if you liked City of Fog. There were a few nice refereces to that game that those who played it would recognize and appreciate. So with that caveat, and if you can put up with the running around, I'll call it a half-buy? December 5, 2013
Based on the trial Didn't like the human interaction, Graphics were good, atmosphere poor, HOS looked to be a bit of a jumble but items were in fact easy to find, some of them were interactive. Not the best story line but better than some.The hint button was a waste of time.Too much going back and forth, Far too easy, not tempted to buy the full game. March 13, 2013
An OK game There was nothing actually wrong with this game. It just didn't grab my interest and seemed tedious. I found myself waiting for it to be over. It could be just me, I guess. January 15, 2013
not bad it's not a bad game but not as good as others from this game company. the story is awsome indeed, but i didnt like the real people that play the characters. they are pretty bad actors. the challenge level is medium. i enjoyed it overall, good for relaxing a little bit with a creepy game June 27, 2012
disppointed the mini puzzles had convoluted instructions... sometimes couldn't figure out what they wanted & had to use the skip button, which i don't like to do. the story line left a lot to be desired. kept waiting for the story to unfold and it when it did, it was like a non-event. disappointing game. May 27, 2012
61-70 of 82 Reviews <<prev 56789next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty

Travel to Red Lake Falls to track down the latest Dark Dimension!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.