Bookmark

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Guide Ethan Black as he attempts to rescue his bride-to-be from a terrifying menace known as the Faceless Ones in Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers! When Evil comes for the people you love, what will you do? That moment of reckoning has arrived for Ethan Black and he needs your help! Guide Ethan in this Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game as he explores a decimated city, searches for clues, and peels back the layers of a chilling supernatural mystery in Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 501 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers 4.6 5 162 162
A bit too .. Easy, for me? Storyline's good, in some cases it gets a bit repetitive to other games' storylines. Adored the grapchis, voices, and music the most. One thing I didn't like was that you had to collect things from different places, and then return 10 places back to that one direct place - unnecessary. Otherwise a game worth playing. April 29, 2012
Delighfull Hidden puzzle game. One of the best.Excellent graphics,puzzles,.Nice Hos.Long game and when it finishes you want more.Perfect.Dont miss it. April 28, 2012
Loved everything about it One of the best HOGs I have played, with endless changes of scene, great story, interesting mini-games and lovely graphics all through. This was a long game - excellent value for money (didn't buy the CE) and although some players may need a higher challenge level, I get much more satisfaction from being able to complete the games myself withouth having to resort to the walkthru out of sheer frustration. I would absolutely recommend this game. April 28, 2012
Long game, well worth playing This was an excellent game; it took me over 5 hours to complete in expert mode & no need to buy the Collector?s Edition as the ending was very satisfactory. There are 2 modes, casual with 60 second hint recharge & sparkles/glints everywhere or expert with 2 minute hint, unfortunately this mode also has a big blue neon eye wherever there is a hidden object scene. The music was good, not too over the top & it suited the game. The voiceovers however are only in the first sets of cut scenes & then again at the end. Most of the game is dialogue only, it is clickable, I recommend watching the cut scenes as they are very good; I particularly liked the ones that were shown as paintings being coloured in. I did not like the way the characters leapt to the front of the screen with a sort of whooshing sound when their dialogue appeared on screen, it was rather disconcerting. You do collect quite a lot of inventory items but they are used relatively fast so you are not carrying a great many objects at the same time. The H0 scenes do have interactive items during the demo but after that they disappear & they are just word lists. However some of the objects are well blended in & it was fun searching them out. There are not very many mini games & they are the usual sliders, move tiles into a specific coloured corner, there is a skip button but I only needed it for one puzzle, all the rest were pretty easy. However there were some tasks to solve through the game which added interest & were fun to figure out. You do get a journal which has a few clues within & there is a map but it only shows where you are, you cannot use it to jump between scenes. There is quite a lot of going to & fro between areas but I did not mind as the graphics were clear & crisp & the artwork excellent I did not give it 5 stars as it is rather too easy even for an intermediate gamer on expert mode but this developer always produce a good looking game & this is well worth playing. April 6, 2012
Beautifully & Well Designed GAME COMPLETED SEVERAL TIMES If it wasn?t for the weather, I might have given this game five stars. But the endless downpour wears away at my nerves to the point I cringe every time the clues lead me outside. Which they do a lot, because there?s a lot of ground to cover. Ethan Blake (that?s you) has to stop a madman before any harm can come to his fianc, held by the kidnapper. It?s a familiar opening, but it soon takes off in new directions. The story, though very cleverly and artfully told, is at times quite confusing, yet remains fascinating despite that. All sorts of weirdness happens that requires explanation. The ending ties all this up satisfactorily, if a little strained. The game play is logical without being linear, you have a reasonable idea of where to look for the type of item you need. Predominately HOs and relatively few not too difficult puzzles, this is nevertheless an exciting adventure, with superb graphics and delightful varied locations. It is quite a long game, as there?s much to do and many places to go, but it doesn?t wear thin. More games of this balance of games and styles and story would be very welcome indeed. Very professionally done. April 7, 2013
Could not Quit Playing This was a hard one to stop playing. The story was intriguing enough that I had to keep going. The historic inaccuracies aside, it had good HOS and puzzles. Half way through it stop having interactive HOS and that was disappointing. I really love that part. Puzzles were very doable. Graphics were OK. I liked having real people but would have loved some voice acting. A good solid game. April 8, 2012
Good Game, with a Few Weaknesses This is a good HO/Adventure game. If you like this type of game, you will probably like this one. This review is based on a complete play-through. There are two game modes and I played the harder one. No sparkles, except to indicate HOS, and a longer hint recharge, which wasn?t a problem for me. You play Ethan, about to be married and called home by your father for an unknown reason. In route, on the train, you are attacked by a ?faceless one? who steals your fianc. In town, you discover that the city is under curfew because the faceless ones have been kidnapping people. You need to explore the city, solve the mystery to save your future wife and later your father. While someone is in league with the devil, I would not say this game has occult overtones. It does have rats. Dialogue is mainly delivered in text form and you can click through it. What is good? The graphics, the story and sounds. Lots of places to explore and things to do. Some, but not too much, walking around. The mini-games are good?not too hard, some very simple. The actions required are fairly good and mostly expected in this type of game. Some actions were not as obvious as you might expect. Let?s just say, you are going to need that squirrel for something. Cut scenes are very good. IMHO, it is a long game with a good ending. One thing I really liked with was the little boat you find during the game. It has places for several (eight, I think) figurines. As you pla, you will find various figurines. The game then automatically brings up the boat. Put the figurines on the boat, one by one, and get more of the back story?where the face-less ones came from and why. That story is revealed in a wonderful ?artistic? manner. Very nice! What I didn?t like so much? This game has too many HOS for me. One after another. Yikes. The earlier ones require some minor interaction, but that stopped mid-game. I guess the designers abandoned the idea. The HOS are cluttered junk piles and usually dark. All the items were correctly labeled, but some were very hard to find and I just gave up and used a hint. The other thing that drove me crazy was the ?map? and I use that term very loosely. There IS a map. It shows where you are, but not where actions are required and it is not interactive (you can?t jump from one location to another.) It is totally useless. I am getting spoiled and expect a good map with my HO/Adventure games, now. This wasn?t my favorite HO/Adventure game, but it is pretty good and I recommend it. July 5, 2012
Thoroughly satisfying Having been overwhealmed by IHOGS lately, I decided to give this game a trial anyway as it caught my eye and looked a little different to the gereric stream of IHOGS. I got well and truly hooked in the demo- enough that I didn't realise my time was up and I just had to purchase and play the entire game instantly after! :P The music, atmosphere, graphics are delicious and really help to immerse you into a compelling storyline. It is very remeniscant of 'Mystery Trackers: Black Isle' and 'Grim Facade: Mystery of Venice' with the concept of the "Masked phantom" antagonist. The atmosphere is quite eerie and a little tense which makes you jump in some parts when characters pop on the screen to speak to you! Puzzles are fairly frequent and are quite diverse. For the most part they are managably solvable without having to hint or skip. Hidden object scenes are more frequent, and while I personally could have done with less- they were still enjoyable. I particularly enjoyed the more interactive hidden objects e.g painting something to get an object, but unfortunately this was only available in the demo. The game as a whole was very satisfying to complete and very addictive to play. I could not stop this game at all and played it completely in one sitting! It took perhaps 6 hours for me to complete on casual mode. I wasn't too keen on the mix of voice acting and written dialogue as it was inconsistent. The cut scenes were beautifully executed. An excellent game on the high end of the IHOG genre! June 29, 2012
Excellent Game I really like this game concept, but my favorite part of this game is the villain. He's very well done - one of the best I've encountered. I'd gush more, but I don't want to spoil it. The hero...well, he needs a little work. He doesn't strike me as very bright. The voice acting is excellent, which is unusual, but a pleasant surprise. The graphic bounce from gorgeous realism, to watercolors, to kind of a graphic novel feel. Again, unusual, but I'm not sure how keen I am on it. It's interesting from an artistic standpoint, but I found the changes a bit jarring. My only complaint goes as follows: when the heck does this game take place?! It has aspects of steampunk, but it doesn't outright look steampunk. The HO scene contain a ton of modern objects. Again, this is very jarring and really bothered me. But...I love the game concept, the story line, and the ending was just as excellent as the rest of the game. Thumbs up! July 5, 2012
Major Problems on My MacBook Pro, but Still a Great Game Let me first state that I did download the free trial and play it before purchasing this game. In general, I LOVE the game. The art work is beautiful, the story line is believable and intricate, and the puzzles are logical and easy enough not to complicate the fun. I really enjoy having a Skip button and a Hint button, and this Strategy Guide is specific and helpful. However, the Big No-No is that this game doesn't translate well to my MacBook Pro. When I place a figurine in the boat, triggering a filmed scene, ALL I get is a plain white screen, complete with sound effects and a big Skip button at the upper righthand corner. I have not yet seen one of the "films"; thankfully, the major points are written across the top of the boat when the "film" is finished. I am assuming this is some glitch in translating from PC software to Mac software; but it's very distracting. I almost decided to apply for a refund, but the rest of the game works for me. The Hidden Object Scenes are very pretty, well-lit, and interesting. The beautiful scenery reminded me of something from Dickens. Sometimes you receive two or three items per HOS, which I enjoy. I have no problems with audio or the other visuals, so I can still play the game. As in many other games, only one object can be used; for example, although I had both the scalpel and musical baton in my inventory, the schoolbus would accept only the baton as "a thin item to open the lock." That is similar to other games of this genre, and I was not disappointed (just on the search for the baton, of course!) The playing time seems adequate for the price paid, and all doors, gates, etc., stay open to make venturing around the "cities" very easy. A map listing active hot spots would be desirable, but I would still purchase this game, even WITH the lack of action sequences! February 28, 2013
121-130 of 162 Reviews <<prev 1112131415...17next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers

Guide Ethan Black as he attempts to rescue his bride-to-be from a terrifying menace known as the Faceless Ones!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.