Bookmark

Sherlock Holmes VS Jack the Ripper

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Unmask the mysterious identity of England’s most violent and notorious killer in Sherlock Holmes vs Jack the Ripper! The year is 1888 in the Whitechapel district of London’s East End and a sinister series of crimes have taken place. The bodies of several women have been found and the police have been unable to find any leads. Sherlock Holmes, England’s greatest detective sets out to find clues in the dark and gloomy streets of Whitechapel, following a macabre trail to shed light on the true identity hiding behind the terrifying nickname!

  • Solve one of England’s greatest mysteries
  • Discover the darker side of London
  • Play as either Holmes or Dr. Watson
  • Interact with over 30 characters
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2005 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Sherlock Holmes VS Jack the Ripper

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Sherlock Holmes VS Jack the Ripper

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Sherlock Holmes VS Jack the Ripper 3.6 5 68 68
5 star game! Highly recommended! This game is one of the best I have ever played. Being set in London's Whitechapel, the atmosphere, the scenes, the characters, the graphics and sound quality are so good you actually feel like you really are walking down Victorian London streets. The mini games are tough, the general gaming level is very high and requires a lot of note reading, as well as a lot of attention to the info given by each character. You, as Sherlock Holmes, have to identify and stop Jack the Ripper, the complexity of the murder inquiry as well as the clues that you need to find spread across a large area of the city which makes it very interesting. The relationship and dialogues between Sherlock Holmes and Watson are priceless. Each character in the game is worth of interest. I especially liked strolling down Whitechapel in first person mode. Be warned that this game contains graphic content and situations that may upset sensitive people. It is not an easy game by any means, but well worth the effort. September 12, 2012
For Grown-Ups Only! At last, a large file Adventure game which is the latest installment in the Sherlock Holmes series that has our favorite detective match wits against one of history's most infamous serial killers, Jack the Ripper. I have been a fan of Sherlock Holmes adventure games and although I have only played the demo, I am thrilled at the prospect of continuing with this adventure. The story begins with the brutal murder of a working girl that prompts Holmes and Watson to take it upon themselves to help the police catch the culprit. Little do they know that one murder will lead them to many more, all executed by the notorious Jack the Ripper. Be warned, this game holds some very grusome graphical details that may be disturbing to some. Also note, if you have recently quit smoking, the opening scene where you are Sherlock might just entice you to light one up. The graphics are brilliant as was the artwork: Stunning 3D images of the streets of London in 1888. Voice overs are very well done and the story grabs you from the begining. Adventure games are not for everyone and it does take taime to get use to the mechanics. Hard-core adventures will love the options that are presented here. You have the choice of playing either Holmes or Watson and also the choice of playing third-person or first-person which you can toggle between them. You have an integrated map where you can jump from one place to another and ofcourse there is the notebook, inventory list, and dialogues. As Shelock Holmes, you really need to channel his skills for deductive reasoning and investigate crime scenes, clues and suspects. This is the challenging part of the game. Patience is required as is using your grey cells to decipher your clues and solve the case. There are items to pick up and use as well as puzzles to solve. As I said earlier, this game is not for the faint-hearted. I have to admit, the developers went slightly over the top with this one; especially in the opening scene where I suddenly find myself playing Jack the Ripper doing the unspeakable to my first victim. Sometimes I worry about myself; especially as I find these game to be entertaining. September 12, 2012
Great bargain Sherlock Holmes vs Jack the Ripper is a full on adventure game, not an IHOG or Adventure Lite. It's more difficult than most Adventure Lite games sold on Big Fish. It was originally released in 2009 for $30 or $40, so the $6.99 Big Fish is charging is a great bargain if you like adventure games. I strongly recommend playing the trial before you buy, because the actual system requirements are higher than for most games Big Fish sells. I found it easier than the previous games in the series, Sherlock Holmes vs Arsene Lupin and Sherlock Holmes: The Awakened, but it was still more challenging than casual games like Hound of the Baskervilles. September 12, 2012
A different kettle of fish When I saw 2.5 stars rating, it almost prevented me from looking closer at this one... I'm glad I was curious enough to see for myself. Some people compared this one to The Hound of The Baskervilles - which is a lovely HOG - but it's like comparing apples to oranges. Sherlock Holmes VS Jack the Ripper is an open world adventure game, not a casual or light adventure; think Syberia, Dracula Origin and first three Art of Murder games. For its genre it's a clever, medium complexity, good length game (I'm about two thirds through after two full days of playing) for a fraction of a price of such games. Highlights: - original game released in 2009 but the graphics are still great, quality is actually adjustable and will depend on your hardware, as is common for such games - gaming experience is standard: mouse or keyboard movement, options and inventory controls (hint: Esc for options and saving/exiting, right click for inventory) - gruesome story which stops just short of being disturbingly graphic - a LOT of dialogues and documents which are as important as actions. You can click through dialogues (they get recorded in your journal) but I wouldn't advise that as you might miss a clue and waste the next hour trying to figure out what to do - puzzles and actions are of medium complexity and as is standard for this game type, nothing is skippable. If you miss a footprint on the ground, you will not be able to progress. HINT: do not switch "wide screen" option off, in one place it prevented me from clicking a hot spot and only gaming forum saved the day - map which allows you to jump to locations but only after you discover them by walking there - lots of variety: locations added with every new twist, people to talk to, investigations, clues, objects to use and combine, deduction board, conclusions to make, and timelines to build Overall, it's a great game, interesting and complicated story, and amusing characters. September 13, 2012
BRILLIANT IMMERSION!!!!! This game is one of the best i have played .Its a large file game and I am used to playing these type of games. I'd like to say to anyone that is put off by the time involved to play these games, you have to be patient,EXPLORE EVERYWHERE and you will start reaping the rewards of a brilliant game like this. It has superb graphics and haunting music. The characters are great as you get to know them,and quite touching at times to hear what they have to say.You will be completely immersed in this game. ONLY FOR ADULTS.Anyone familier with Jack the Ripper stories will love this one. Have a go,but make sure you know how to use items ,maps and documents etc. This is for hardcore gamers,but, saying that, we all had to learn once so don't be put off. It is graphic, but with humorous moments concerning some of the characters. BRILLIANT!!!!! You will have a map which as you commence will have places added to it. You will be able to jump to that place. Worth the money in every way. September 16, 2012
Not a New Release, But Still Awesum This isn't an iHOG, it's an LFA with a high level of difficulty, but I thoroughly enjoyed playing it. The environment, the characters, the premise and story are all very believable. If you like non-linear games you'll enjoy it. If you like sparkles and hand-holding, you'll be frustrated. Still, it's very worthwhile to try something new if you're not accustomed to it. September 12, 2012
An old style game I bought this game in 2009 in the days before every game had a hint button . Yes it is difficult you have to work for everything .Some locations take a while to find but you can then use the map and jump there .It is a game that takes time, the story is adult and does have some graphic details but as you move along in the game you get a sense of achievement andthe best thing NO hidden objects scenes . September 13, 2012
Tough 3D game! This game is superb in every sense! But I suggest you try the demo, as this is a 3D game most suitable for hard-core gamers. People like me will probably be put off after 15 minutes. But this is just a question of personal preferences. And just because you don't like it doesn't mean it's no good! So obviously it doesn't take the merit away from the game, which as I said is extremely good within its genre (Large File Game). So I do recommend it. September 13, 2012
Complex game - not for the casual gamer or beginner This review is based on the entire game. I own previous Sherlock Holmes games, and they are all fascinating. Adventure games are all about the storyline. You have to pay attention to the characters and what they say. You have to investigate your environment and click on everything. You have to combine items in your inventory and then figure out where they should be used. This game is no exception. Here you are playing as both Holmes and Watson in different parts of the game. Women in the Whitechapel area of London are being murdered, and Holmes is investigating, but not with the official sanction of the police. This leads to a bit of sneaking around. The mouse controls work fine. Need a hint? Press space bar, which will light up your hot spots. Listen closely to Holmes and Watson when they talk. Frequently, they direct you to where to go and what to do next. I am not done yet with this game. I believe I am about 4 hours in, and I feel like it was quite a good buy. Don't let the negative reviews chase you away, as this is an excellent game. Special note to the Holmes enthusiasts (I am one, just FYI) - There are a few spots where the dialog does not quite match what Holmes would say. Brush past them. The game is still a blast. September 16, 2012
Amazingly Well-Done Mystery Adventure! Who wouldn't love an interactive mystery movie? The writing is great and even amusing at times, the characters are interesting, the original story is terrific, and the voice-overs are thoroughly believable. I'm sad to see the bad reviews of this game. It's true, this is not a cute little mindless game to be played on a coffee break or while waiting for cookies to bake. This is an in-depth story that requires a lot of attention and analysis of facts. As a real-life detective would, you will spend your time looking for evidence, scouting out locations, interviewing interesting characters, and making deductions to solve a murder. Expect to take up to an hour at one sitting; the game lasts for several hours. This game is for a specific audience, and those who have played the other similar Sherlock games by this developer or the Agatha Christie games will love this episode. I found it slightly easier but more interesting than others I had played. I liked the multiple choice deduction board, timeline, and motive analysis tasks better than the tests that needed to be passed in "Silver Earring." I'm disappointed to see this type of game falling away to HOAGs (ex: "Art of Murder," "Chronicles of Mystery," "Dracula: Origin," even "Hound of the Baskervilles") and hope there are more of these to come in the future. A true workout for the brain and thoroughly enjoyable! September 15, 2012
1-10 of 68 Reviews prev 2345...7next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Sherlock Holmes VS Jack the Ripper

Sherlock Holmes faces off against England’s most violent and mysterious killer in this thrilling Hidden Object adventure game!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.