Bookmark

Sherlock Holmes VS Jack the Ripper

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Unmask the mysterious identity of England’s most violent and notorious killer in Sherlock Holmes vs Jack the Ripper! The year is 1888 in the Whitechapel district of London’s East End and a sinister series of crimes have taken place. The bodies of several women have been found and the police have been unable to find any leads. Sherlock Holmes, England’s greatest detective sets out to find clues in the dark and gloomy streets of Whitechapel, following a macabre trail to shed light on the true identity hiding behind the terrifying nickname!

  • Solve one of England’s greatest mysteries
  • Discover the darker side of London
  • Play as either Holmes or Dr. Watson
  • Interact with over 30 characters
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2005 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Sherlock Holmes VS Jack the Ripper

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Sherlock Holmes VS Jack the Ripper

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Sherlock Holmes VS Jack the Ripper 3.5 5 66 66
Game for adults is right Already I have had to stifle the urge to throttle Sherlock Holmes, gotten lost and have to retrace my steps and almost slapped by a lady of the night. What's not to like? Can't wait to get this game. September 13, 2012
Cracking game ! What a wonderful game. I felt I was walking the streets of London alongside Watson and Holmes. The legend of Jack the Ripper has long been a curious and unanswered one and I was interested to see how this explanation would pan out. I wasn't disappointed in the least. I adore Adventure games that challenge your mind whilst at the same time keep you wanting to play long into the dark hours of night. The gameplay for me was just right, it took a little time to adjust to the controls of the game but once I had mastered them it didn't interfere with my enjoyment at all. If you take time with this game and read all there is to find within dialogues, notes, letters and other documentation offered it makes you feel part of discovering who 'Jack' may be. All in all a wonderful game that i would recommend to anyone who wishes to find a challenging adventure to immerse themselves in. September 21, 2012
One of the best games I've played I think the 3.5/4 rating reflected here is quite unfair. This is a really immersive, well-thought out game. Firstly, unlike most other so-called detective games there is no collecting of useless information or items. Sherlock and Watson have clear objectives and focus only on what's needed for the investigation. I absolutely loved the recreation of 19th century London - walking through those dark foggy streets actually gave me a shiver down my spine. And I absolutely LOVED LOVED LOVED that you have to arrive at a conclusion by connecting available facts and also the scenes where you recreate the gory crimes. In that sense it is very true to Sherlock as written by Conan Doyle, who used pure logic and focuses on eliminating possibilities to arrive at the most logical and plausible conclusion. Another great thing is that they have actually brought out the personalities of Sherlock and Watson very well - Sherlock's dismissive and somewhat arrogant attitude toward Watson and Watson's kind and patient nature. I did not particularly like the voice acting, but that's a minor fault - it does not really take away too much from the game. Overall this is a five-star game worth every cent of the 6.99 I payed for this :) April 19, 2013
Beyond expectations Although after seeing a lot of negative reviews I had my doubts whether to try the game or not I decided to try. And it's awesome! This is the kind of game where you actually need to think for yourself, and listen/read the conversations. Just by using a bit of the brain you can already figure out where to walk, what to do and that the yellow dot on the map isn't you. This game has such a grim look - I love it! September 24, 2012
SHERLOCK HOLMES AT THE HEIGHT OF HIS POWERS! This game is not for the young or the faint of heart, as it deals with adult subject matter. The case of Jack the Ripper was never solved -- or -- was it? Sherlock Holmes, at the very height of his deductive powers is on the trail of the famous killer, Jack the Ripper. The game is one big chase, and a very engrossing one, at that! The gameplay is smooth, especially in third person perspective, the graphics are just fine, and the music -- all classical violin -- is beautiful. Some of the puzzles are treacherous -- especially the random ones. Trying to create the "correct" ellipsis around some murder scenes almost drove me insane, but I finally nailed it! Here is where no walkthrough will help you. All in all, the game was highly interesting and exciting and I recommend it to those who are not afraid of brutality and a bit of gore. August 30, 2013
Fantastic! After reading some of the reviews I've noticed that the people who didn't like it either got queasy with the movement when they chose to play 'third person' which I didn't; or they hated it because they couldn't navigate around the screens. Therefore - If you are thinking of purchasing this game, read the instructions first on how to find items and hotspots! It will save you a lot of time and frustration!! Let the mouse and spacebar be your friend :# Be warned - this game is for Adults only - some of the scenes are quite graphic... That being said - I loved this game. The puzzles were different and challenging and although I found often that I had to consult a walkthrough, there were times that I got through the chapters and challenges all on my own #nothing like a sense of accomplishment!#. The dialogue between Holmes and Watson went on and on sometimes so I skipped ahead and then re-read it back myself in the dialogue pages. I agree the graphics of the characters could have been smoother and sharper - but considering the amount of movement they have it is amazing they looked as good as they did. The background/landscape graphics I thought were excellent... you could almost feel the undulating cobblestones of 19th century London and the tones of the scenes really set the mood. Well done to the developers - this is one game that I will definitely play again in time. October 4, 2012
"Elementary"! Only if you are brilliant Sherlock Holmes. 5 Stars on all counts Navigation? Easy, IF you know how to do it. Please don?t demo this game for 10 minutes, and then give it a 1 star rating because you didn?t know how to avoid walking into brick walls, or save, or get out of the game. Geesh, the game developers should have provided that basic info. Tenacious me, spent an hour before I gave up and searched for a walk through for the tricks to navigate, then my aha moments started and didn?t stop til the end. I posted ?Navigation Tips? in the forums. Long Dialogs? True, and I loved every word, subtitles included! You can skip some by clicking left mouse button, but why would you want to do that unless you have heard it before? How can anyone think what Sherlock Holmes has to say is ?boring???? The man is brilliant and fascinating, in my opinion. I agree with what one reviewer said, there are times I want to ?throttle? Holmes too, for his condescending tone, but Dr. Watson is his voice of reason and makes up for Holmes lack of social graces. Yet, Holmes has sensitivity and empathy of the ?lower-classes? and varied ethnicities that serves to complete his complex character. There were such a variety of accents, authentic or not, I don?t care, they seemed realistic to me; acting superb. Graphics I feel sorry for gamers that suffer from motion sickness and can?t travel the seedy parts of 1888 London in 1st person, 3-D mode. The details, from smoke on the roof tops, the bricks of buildings and textured doors, to the trash in the street, to the faces of the characters were mesmerizing. I felt like I had traveled to the past and was so engrossed from the graphics and sounds that I forgot I was safe behind my computer when I walked down dark alleys alone at night. Some scenes of murder victims were comic book looking, and humorous at first glance, but then I became grateful of how the game developers protected me by not being realistically graphic in those areas. ?Jack the Ripper? equals slit throats with more atrocities that I don?t think I could stomach any other way then the way the developers chose to do it. Inventory Well Done! Most of the time, the problem is presented first; then you search for the item that provides the solution. This is different from many newer games in which it seems you are a clairvoyant scavenger that picks up a bunch of items; then goes searching for the problem it fits into. You may walk through a scene in this game and may not see any icon via magnifying glass, or hand-icon until you find the problem. After you discover the problem, then you look around, and sure enough, the icons appear, most times in close proximity. Fast paced, but is slow in the beginning giving demo-gamers the wrong impression of the game? An interactive map is provided, but first you have to explore the streets of London to initially find the first few locations. Why not just enjoy the journey because very few games will provide this type of immersion. As the game progresses, some locations will be automatically on the instant transport-map, but you won?t have that experience in the demo. Conclusion was not only plausible, but also satisfying? Holmes explanation of his reasoning for the decisions he made, makes sense from a morally ethical point of view, sorry some gamers will miss out on it by not playing through to The End. October 19, 2012
I want MORE of these Wow! What a breath of fresh air this game was. A nice break from the same old Hidden object. First person playing and It truly seems like you are walking the streets of London. You have to use your BRAIN to play this one. And you have to be on the look out everywhere you go. You will collect items and use them to advance further into the game. The visual and sound is A+. Sometimes you play as Watson and sometimes you play as Sherlock . I got stuck a few times but that to me is the challenge. To have those "ah ha" moments! Hope there are more!! November 30, 2012
Sherlock in top form The game is very good if you learn first how to navigate it (it?s really easy after you get used to it!) and if you don?t mind to read and pay attention to (very) many meaningful conversations. The story is based on a factual documentation of the Jack the Ripper murders in 19th century London and traditional investigation methods (deduction) of the famous fictive detective Sherlock Holmes (and Dr. Watson). The game is definitely for adult audience ONLY due to detailed descriptions of the gruesome murders and realistic representation of sinful Whitechappel neighborhood. The game has no HOS scenes and ?mini games? (better described as tasks) are quite challenging but not too difficult. There is no help button and the player has to find solutions (and items) on his/her own with little or no explanation/guidance? it can be frustrating but whatever has to be done is logical. Animations and visuals are disappointing in comparison with ?top 10? games but voice over is very well done. I give this game full 5 stars because in spite of ?old-fashioned? large file technique, the story line, characters, dialogues, locations, atmosphere, many written documents and well blended mini games are absolutely perfect. My compliments for the developers! October 11, 2012
Not for everyone This is my favorite type of game. And I thought the graphics and the puzzles were great since they moved the story forward. This is less like a game and more like an interactive novel. Since I get really bored with hidden object type adventures and those heavily influenced by fantasies of princesses and demons this was a really refreshing game. It isn't easy and there is no hand holding if you can't solve a puzzle you can't advance (no skipping) so I can see where it will be frustrating. There are a couple very good walk through areas online but it's too bad none are offered through Big Fish. If you liked Syberia you'll probably like this as well. October 10, 2012
11-20 of 66 Reviews <<prev 2345...7next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Sherlock Holmes VS Jack the Ripper

Sherlock Holmes faces off against England’s most violent and mysterious killer in this thrilling Hidden Object adventure game!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.