Bookmark

Surface: The Noise She Couldn't Make

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

On a lonely stretch of highway, a young girl is found unconscious, a bloody knife lying next to her. Was she a victim, or did she attack someone? Her doctors are baffled when she fails to respond to treatment. Desperate, they call you in to help. As a psychic, you're used to working with clients who can talk to you. But this girl can't. Enter her mind and work to discover...the noise she couldn’t make...

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 731 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Surface: The Noise She Couldn't Make

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Surface: The Noise She Couldn't Make

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Surface: The Noise She Couldn't Make 4.6 5 109 109
A Brilliant Game- One of My All Time Favourites NOTE: This is a review of the completed COLLECTOR'S EDITION, with Bonus Content review at the bottom ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ This is not only my favourite of the series, it's one of my most favourite games of all time. It's got everything I could ever want. A fantastic, unique story, fun gameplay, amazing graphics and more. I bought the Collector's Edition and was not disappointed. The best thing about the game is the story. It's unique and just grabs you in from the moment it starts to the moment it ends. I simply could not stop playing it. The entire idea of going in to someone's mind is something I couldn't even imagine. What I loved about this story was that it was unique and explored something that had not been done before. Every chapter was a new part of the world, and each chapter had its own mysteries. The story goes that a woman is found unconscious in the forest with a knife next to her, but has no knife wounds. She is rushed to the hospital, but doctors are convinced her injuries are psychological, and call you, the psychic, in to help. From here, you are taken on a journey in to the young girl's mind, and soon find the cause of her problems. While in the girl's mind, you are frequently given updates from the nurse at the hospital, telling you about new symptoms being found and cured. I found the journey to be a long and brilliant one. I especially loved the villain in the story. She was evil, but her intentions were for Jane. I loved the background story we were given on her. I also loved the memory pages of both the villain and Jane, as they gave extra detail to the story and made it all the more thrilling. I have to say that this is hands down one of the best stories I've ever seen in a game. Not only was the story great, but the gameplay was too, even if it was on the easy side. I say the gameplay was easy because of the HOS and Puzzles. The HOS were all list with no extra step objects, and I was able to solve all of them (even the ones in the Bonus Chapter) with no hint (even if I did have to use the strategy guide to locate a couple of items). The puzzles were fairly easy too. I was able to solve the majority of them, with only a few needing to be skipped. For the ones I had difficulty with, the strategy guide/walkthrough helped me. The gameplay is fairly simplistic too. We've got the usual hint, diary and map, and the controls are the same. Experienced players like myself should have no trouble. I played the game on the second mode, and I hardly needed help. One thing I will comment on is that Elephant have improved their map from the last game. As well as being interactive, it now lets you know where there are tasks to complete. While this is a start, improvements still need to be made. I still got stuck a couple of times despite using the map. The graphics, as always, are outstanding. There is so much detail in them, and real actors are used for the characters, instead of just voice-overs on hand-drawn characters. Everything was clear; I didn't once see any hazy scenes. Each room is a visual delight, with so much thought and care put in to the graphics. I didn't find any problems with the voice-overs. None were over-done or under-done. They were simple and done just right. FEATURES 3 modes of play: Casual, Advanced, Hardcore. Differences in the modes are hint/skip recharge times and sparkles. I played Advanced. Hint/Skip- both recharge at a reasonable speed for Advanced mode. The hint is very helpful outside HOS. Diary- keeps track of events. In the diary, you can see all of Jane's symptoms that you have discovered, as well as view all previous cutscenes. Map- the map is interactive and displays areas where there are tasks to complete, as well as areas that have been completed. This was more of a help than the first game, but still needs to be worked on slightly. BONUS CONTENT REVIEW I found the Collector's Edition to be worth the money, as there was a lot of bonus content. There was the usual Bonus Chapter, Strategy Guide and Achievements, but in this CE, we also had an office and a shop, in which we could buy things to upgrade our office, which I thought was a nice touch to the game. Our currency is blue flowers, which are scattered evenly throughout the game, even in the bonus chapter. Something unusual that I found in the bonus content was deleted scenes. There were two cutscenes that had been cut from the game, which I thought were nice. BONUS CHAPTER The game ends conclusively, so the bonus chapter is not needed, but it is a nice addition to the story. Jane, who now works for you, has had strange dreams of a man in a navy uniform, and begs you to return to her mind. From here, you are taken on another journey, but this one is far more relaxing and peaceful. You discover the person in Jane's mind, and she is re-united with them and we have a nice, happy ending. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ It is rare that I give out 5-star ratings to completed games, but this one deserves it. It was my favourite game for a long time and still remains a favourite today. I bought the CE, and do not regret it one bit. I strongly recommend this game, CE or SE. On the game length: The main game has 4 chapters, with an extra one in the bonus game. The chapters are long, like the last game. I'd say the main game took me around 3.5 hours to complete, with the bonus chapter an extra half-hour. October 19, 2013
Great Game! Another great game from Elephant. Everything is excellent! Storyline is so different, so interesting. Puzzles are fantastic, different and a good challenges. VOs are good, real people are used. Great interactive map. No reading journal, but great cut scenes to review; which is really great. I liked that a lot. Length of game is good. And an added plus, it has a great ending!! This is a great game; don't miss this one. August 10, 2013
A true mystery! I really love the idea of exploring the victims unconcious instead of another spouse/child/brother/sister/mother/etc. in peril storyline For a minute there, I thought oh dang, another dangling ending. I would have knocked a star off for that, way too many SE games now have very unsatisfying finishes. Art is great, music rarely annoying...at least I left it on the whole game and only noticed it as a nuisance once in awhile. This one is a solid 5 for me. I was sorry it was over. July 2, 2013
You can make this noise: Clap your hands! It's GOOD!!! I enjoyed this a lot. If you've read my reviews before you know I like scary entries. This is not scary, it's mysterious and deep. It's a multi-layered, serious storyline about a girl suffering from a breakdown complicated by a dual personality. Fun Factor: There is a bit of back and forth but I don't find it a distraction or an annoyance. This game is not just fun, it's interesting. I wanted to continue and didn't want to take breaks from playing. Visual/Sound quality: The "set design" is beautiful. There is one scene featuring af moored boat. From the deck you can see sea water smashing against the hull. I watched it for over a minute, just taking in the stunning visuals and thinking that it must have taken a ton of effort to make this so beautiful. The whole game is like this. As for the sound...well, it's not standing out in my mind. It's not irritating. I didn't turn the volume down as sometimes I do if there is a repetitive annoying track. So, sound is a push: not great, not bad. Level of Challenge: While I'm not using the strategy guide, I am using the hint button (which doesn't take long to recharge). I think the game is challenging. The puzzles in the game are great and different from the usual. They are not overly difficult but they also don't insult your intelligence. You have to work to complete them and there's a lot of satisfaction doing it. The HOG scenes: I don't like a lot of HOG and there aren't too many in this. It's a good mix of regular action, puzzles and HOGs. The HOGs also take some work. They aren't jumbled messes. The descriptions are apt. Storyline: Our goal is to save a girl who's mental problems are affecting her physical well-being psychosomatically. We are the eyes and ears and hands of a psychic who's trying to delve into the mind of the afflicted girl. Another character is the narrator who guides the theme by letting us know what the psychic is trying to do. Finally, there are cut scenes from a hospital where the nurse in charge lets us know what physical maladies are putting the girl in imminent danger of death at any given time. I WISH I HAD PURCHASED THE CE SO I HAD AT LEAST ONE MORE CHAPTER TO PLAY. I haven't played other entries from Surface yet (I don't think) so I can't compare. I will be playing one shortly. If it's even close to The Noise She Couldn't Make I'll be happy! I don'f think you could possibly be disappointed with this. I strongly recommend buying it. The way BFG is working these days, I'm sure the CE will be on sale soon, so unless you have to get a game NOW, I'd probably wait for the inevitable sale price. BUT, if you're jonesing for something that is a slam-dunk winner, go ahead and get it now. And get the CE. I only bought the regular edition because I had an expiring coupon and didn't want to waste it. May 1, 2013
the psychology of the mind ...means being creative! Where as most other hidden object games use the direct object to use, this one is creative (like using a string of flags as a rope). I originally thought these psychic games were bogus, but this one tells a story that makes sense. A twist and turn makes this game worth it! December 15, 2012
This game has set my standards high! A+++ Unique story, easy navigation, AWESOME graphics, and just hard enough to be fun but not super annoying. Anyone who enjoys hidden object games will find this game amazing. Simply put. My only dislike is how the lip-synching doesn't match the speech, but that's easily overlooked and a small sacrifice for such an awesome game. Definitely recommended. December 5, 2012
One of the more interesting HOG's out there I saw the five-star reviews and thought I'd check out the free trial. Within minutes it was obvious that this is a well thought-out, engaging game with quality graphics and a decent storyline. There are thoughtful details throughout. The map lets you click from location to location so you don't have to waste time. The music is good. When the characters speak, they don't overdo the melodrama or talk too slowly. The HOGs are easy. November 25, 2012
Great challenge I'm very disappointed with myself about this game. Normally I don't use the hints. However, this game, I had to "cheat" and get help with 1 of the puzzles. I spent 30 minutes on the final magnet puzzle and just couldn't get it! I love the storyline. The interactive map really was helpful. I like the way you have to find an object in one scene, jump to another portion of the map, use it, jump to another, use it, jump to another. The graphics were great. I was annoyed by the nurse, but other than that, I loved the game. November 24, 2012
Awesome game, thank you! Big plus for graphics, story, and oh god yes, interactive mapping. This was a fun game overall, and I just don't have anything negative to say about it at all. Had an utter blast playing it. The graphics were very nicely done, the story was refreshing, if a bit dark, the interactive map was perfect, HO scenes were fairly easy without being silly, games were challenging without being tedious or frustrating. Hints were actually, well, HINTS. None of this "nothing to see here" and having to dig out a walkthrough (I always check to see what the hints are like, whether I need 'em or not lol). This is right up there with the MCF Ravenhursts and 13th Skull for faves for me. November 24, 2012
Didn't want it to end This was a really good game. Storyline got me intrigued right away and the graphics are done very well. My only complaint is it was much too short....or maybe it just seemed that way because the time flew by so fast since I was so engrossed in the story. Either way, it is one of my favorites. November 23, 2012
31-40 of 109 Reviews <<prev 23456...11next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Surface: The Noise She Couldn't Make

When a young woman is found comatose by the side of the road with a bloody knife beside her, it's up to you to unravel her story!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.