Bookmark

Dark Alleys: Penumbra Motel

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

During a road trip your friend's daughter is kidnapped by a mysterious man at the Penumbra Motel, the scene of murder and strange occurrences 50 years ago. You must head into the heart of madness to not only find the girl, but unravel the mystery haunting the descendants of the Penumbra family and the Motel grounds.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 431 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Alleys: Penumbra Motel

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Alleys: Penumbra Motel

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Alleys: Penumbra Motel 4.1 5 72 72
Good challenge Not too much going backward and forward, great graphics and an interesting story.. some of those magic stone puzzles got a bit boring but still there is a skip button if you wait for it... Good one bigfish! June 28, 2012
Fun Adventure Game There are NO hidden object games in this game, but there are GREAT puzzles (I'll take a challenging puzzle any day over a HO game). The music track is repetitive and does not add to the "ghostly theme" of this game, but you can mute the music. Some of the rooms were dusty and unclear, but for the most part I didn't get lost. I played the game through on casual play and thoroughly enjoyed this ERS game. A definite winner for me. June 18, 2013
Not a HOG/A but a Puzzle/Adventure Let me start by saying ~ What's with all the "let's put a kid in danger" scenarios lately? Lighten up! 1- This is a straightforward Puzzle/Adventure mystery game. So if you're looking for a HOG/A, look elsewhere. 2 - The storyline is dark. A family is slaughtered and a child goes missing. Some of the action is really creepy (man being attacked by a glowing Rottweiler, for instance). Some of the scenes are disturbing (child in cage). 3 - The artwork is good, if unoriginal. A hotel straight out of "Psycho", and the run of the mill decaying town. 4 - Acting is okay, but the little girl got a bit annoying after a bit. Music is repetitive and boring. 5 - Puzzles are pretty intuitive and actually make sense within the context of the story. Recommended because the artwork is good and the puzzles fit the scenario and are just challenging enough to be interesting. July 9, 2012
Lots of gameplay and some intriguing puzzles The storyline is a bit macabre - there's lots of skeletons and ghosts and bits of dead people, and allusions to child abduction -- and, shock horror!, the most disgusting bathroom EVER. There are lots of scenes to explore. I enjoyed finding various objects and carrying them around until I found what to do with them. The HOG scenes aren't overdone - I hate games that just go from one HOG to another, but this was quite varied. Some of the puzzles are fairly easy, some a bit harder, but nothing impossible. Only downside was the music - actually quite good music but not enough different themes, so after several hours of play the repetition is really getting on your nerves. Turn the sound off and you'll have a good game! June 27, 2012
Fun, Long Game 4.5 Rating I liked this game! It seemed very long, I played for a lot of hours, and the story kept my interest. It did not have any HOs, but I didn't miss them. The puzzles were fun and easy until near the end of the game when they got a bit trickier. The hint button was nice for checking if there was anything left to be done at a location. One useful tip: There is nothing to be done with the ring on the dead guy's hand. I checked that ring way too many times! The ending was a bit abrupt which was a little disappointing, but overall this game was well designed and fun to play. November 13, 2013
MYSTERY AND INTRIGUE AT THE LOCAL MOTEL Adventure game with no HOS, but many interesting puzzles. Without the HOS to plow through, it becomes more of a straight adventure game. LENGTH: Bit above average length: about 4 hours. STORY: Rescue a young girl from the Penumbra Motel, which has a sordid history of murder and disappearances. You find out the why at the very end. Although this is an ERS game, and even though it has great environments, voice overs, puzzles and plot, it seems to fall a little short of the spectacular games they put out for some reason. Maybe they?ve spoiled us. If it was put out by another studio, I?d have less expectations perhaps. That?s not to say this is a perfectly good game. It has wonderful voice overs and uses live actors. Yeah, the mouths aren?t in sync with the words, but since most games are translated into other languages, does it really matter? There are always going to be unsynced mouths in that case. The many puzzles have a wide variety of complexity. Some are unique; others are old standbys with a twist. There is one identical puzzle which seems to be the ?standard? for this game. You will see it several times, but each time the difficulty increases. Some of the puzzles may be a bit difficult for novices and the skip button does take a long time to load. SUMMARY: I did like the game. I kept putting off even trying it for quite some time, and finally took the plunge. I don?t regret it. It is a fun game, though it?s not as story-driven as I would like. Definitely worth a DD. Probably more. October 31, 2013
Spooky Locations, And Characters!! I liked this game with its spooky feel, and dark locations. The storyline is good, having to find your friends daughter that is taken at a run down hotel that just happens to be the location of a murder of an entire family! The graphics are spot on, with a mixture of animation, and real people. There is no, and I mean NO Hidden Object Scenes!!! This game is strictly adventure and puzzles. Still, I enjoyed it. There is no map, and the hint is one that is not directive, only saying " nothing to do here". Still I think its a good game for everyone. Give this a try and see for yourself! Happy gaming gamers!!!! June 23, 2013
excellent adventure game I really enjoyed this game. Different in that there are no HOGs but I like that. It did not really explain why the guy was so weird altho he had been in the war - but why would he kill his entire family? or was it the missing younger son? I have no idea... even tho I played the whole thing and enjoyed it all. Why was the girl kidnapped anyway and what was he going to do to her? What on earth was that green dog doing? These are questions about the storyline but did not detract from the game. The tools you picked up could be used almost straight away which was good. Some of the puzzles were quite hard but enjoyable and some were really easy. October 10, 2012
Pretty nice! I have doubts to buy this game when it first came out because of the mixed reviews but couldnt resist the 2.99 USD sale last week. I love it when ERS does adventure games, purely, w/o any HOG games. They are actually pretty good! I like it that they use live actors on this one and they did quite a good job in combining them with the game. Sometimes the conversation is a bit off, but at least they speak English. But this game still leaves all the trademark of ERS: wash-out graphics, pastel color, background music, and lots of skeleton. As many other ERS games, they're sometimes a bit gore and disturbing, I esp. dislike the ghost dog. It reminds me of my cousin's dog way back then which is a doberman. It's not a pleasant creature. Seeing it 'attacking people' is not the most interesting sight you will see in the game. But if you can get past all those, this game is pretty good. I dislike the skip and hint button, recharge so very slowly, I think it takes 4 minutes even on Casual mode. I almost turn bonkers. Other than that, this game is good. You might want to give it a try^^ June 19, 2013
Not a bad game but needs improvement Good storyline and good length of game. The hints took too long on casual play. The music was spooky. There were a lot of dead ends in the game where you do not know what to do next. The hint button was not helpful. It also needs a map with things to do icons. It had a good ending but the game still needs improvement. November 18, 2013
41-50 of 72 Reviews <<prev 345678next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Alleys: Penumbra Motel

Rescue a young girl from the Penumbra Motel. Solve puzzles, unravel a long standing mystery of death and disappearances in this heart-pounding adventure game!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.