Bookmark

Where Angels Cry

Full version game
(462.35 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Strange events are taking place in an isolated medieval monastery, set high in the Alps. Monks are vanishing without a trace, mysterious persons are being sighted running through the dark passages of the monastery and there are even reports that a statue in the center of the village is crying the tears of blood! A Vatican Cardinal has chosen you to travel to the monastery, undercover, to investigate these bizarre occurrences. Your duty is to reveal the secrets of the monastery, and monks who inhabit it, freeing this once sacred place from the evil forces currently in power. Embark on an amazing adventure and prove that your keen investigative instincts are up to this formable task in Where Angels Cry - a challenging and exciting hidden object puzzle adventure!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 525 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Where Angels Cry

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Where Angels Cry

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Where Angels Cry 3.7 5 97 97
Refreshingly good game Very good graphics and ambience. I really appreciated the realistic colors, as opposed to the garish coloring of so many games (e.g. many other games force too much purple, violet, pink, bright red etc. into the scenery). I was pleased with the refreshing uniqueness of the middle ages monastery. Good music and voice overs. No HOSs - which suited my personal taste (I personally wish HOSs in other games had skip buttons, the way that puzzles do, so that when I get tired of them I can move on). You do have to find collections of objects in the environment (which as it was done worked for me). The puzzles were good. They seemed to me to range easy to difficult, with the average difficulty more than that of most Big Fish games. Help was what it needed to be. (I do think that the soup that one prepares early in the game should include more substance; such as lentils, tomatoes, carrots?) Warning, possible spoiler content: I found the ending to be uplifting - terminating a transient corporeal form in order to save the eternal angelic form (this is obviously not to say that terminating corporeal forms is good in general - this was a unique imaginary case). In reading reviews, some interpreted the ending very differently. I appreciate that Big Fish Games is willing to have games that do not exactly fit the BFG norm. That being said, I think BFG should better indicate aspects of games on their web site, such as if it is a children?s game, something akin to PG rating, HOSs or not, mini-puzzles or not? This would help users like myself find the games that suit them, and reduce the extent to which users waist time downloading and trying games that do no suit them, and reduce overly negative reviews for games that do no fit the BFG universe norm. I suspect that the relative uniqueness of this game (within the BFG universe) (e.g. no HOSs) unduly hurt its average user rating. (Imagine how BFG games would be reviewed by folks who focus on first person shooter games, especially if they did not know what they were getting.) September 6, 2014
Odd ball game but good THIS game is different to the normal ones It took a while for me to work out what I needed to do but then it was no trouble the figures look a bit strange but you can get past that and enjoy a quite good game loved playing it as I say a bit odd but do not hold that against it, April 23, 2014
Medieval Charm Refreshing story, believable characters and situation with perhaps an undertone of something more sinister than is first apparent. HD graphics are beautiful, but furniture and buildings look more 19th-20th than 13th century. Like the customization feature (select HD, speed of hint and skip recharge, et al). You really have to think about how to accomplish your task, even though your journal will provide very vague clues of what you need to do. Collect angels (though you find this out by accidentally clicking one ? don?t know why games don?t tell you this upfront). An entertaining day of relaxed play. October 2, 2012
Hidden Object Adventure I love classic adventure games. This is a hybrid - although there are no 'junk piles' to sort through, you are tasked with finding '10 of this' and '12 of that' so you end up doing the same pixel scanning that would be required in a traditional HOS. Multiple gameplay levels are available and there is a variety of challenging puzzles - besides the standard 'find and use' errands, there are multiple mechanical puzzles that require a good bit of thought. Generally, a decent story with nice music, although I was a bit let down by what seemed like a rushed ending. Overall, this is a good entertainment value. July 9, 2013
Really nice adventure game This isn't an HOG; there aren't really any formal HOG screens at all that I've seen. But it's a really good adventure game with a lot of that hunt-for-stuff feel that HOGs use. The player assumes the identity of a monk sent to investigate miraculous claims at a monastery that's seeing some mysterious activity. While there, the player goes into various rooms in the monastery, finds stuff, makes soup, gardens, and collects angel statues. As storylines go, this one's a bit dry, but it gets the action moving forward. I especially liked how "medieval" everything was. This game takes place in the high Middle Ages, and it looks like it. The attention to detail here was appreciated and really noteworthy. Such historical attention is why I didn't mind there not being formal HOG screens, incidentally. The whole monastery is the HOG screen, in a sense. For this game, that approach makes a lot of sense. The game does have a variety of puzzles; some are fairly easy, others quite difficult. The skip button worked as well as one might wish. There are also sequence-games that require you to dash all over to get stuff, and games where you must assemble tools to accomplish goals. I'm not a real fan of mini-games and puzzles, but these weren't bad. The graphics are simply lovely; the hint system is useful and contextual. The sound is also pleasant without being cloying. Overall I have only good things to say about either. I liked this game; I don't normally like adventure games, but this one seems really solid, with lovely graphics, a decent storyline, and really thematic props. My concern would be that it doesn't seem exceptionally long, so the value might be wanting, though I can see someone replaying this on other difficulties or just to enjoy the story again. November 6, 2012
A wonderful puzzle adventure. This had me from the opening scene. Both the music and the graphics put you into the game. A dreary stone monastery high in the Italian Alps, the middle of a dreary snowstorm and a somber mystery. This storyline reminds me of Eco's The Name of the Rose. You have been sent by a Cardinal in Rome to investigate the disappearance of a monk, Brother John, under the guise of being his replacement. And so your adventure begins..... This type of game you either love or hate. A lot of wandering around, just as you would in real life, to come up with what you need to get the job done. You collect angels along the way and this time they aren't in every scene and they look more like naked dollies than angels. There are 3 modes of difficulty bearing the usual distinctions. There is a journal, a hint button, a skip on the puzzles and, of course, no hidden objects. I don't know why this is billed as a HOG. I found this to be a fun game. You do have to have some semblance of patience. though. After I planted the cabbage seeds, I had to consult the walkthrough because I missed picking up the brick in the kitchen. The hint will lead you to the right place but won't tell you if you're missing something in your inventory. Another big help was reading the journal because it gives you advance hints about what's to come. For instance, I discovered I had to deliver the tomatoes to Brother Ezio in the kitchen because it was written in there. You have to do the demo if you haven't already done any of these games. I will most likely purchase this game. October 2, 2012
Just an average adventure game This one is certainly NOT for hardcore adventure gamers. Let us say it is OK. The storyline is nice, with its historic touch. You have an investigation to conduct in a monastary in the Alps. Somehow, it reminded of The Name of the Rose. The enitre game is very linear. You will not have to turn around endlessly in search of what to do next. There are no HOS, but you have to look for objects in every location... objects that are added to your inventory and that you have to combine or to use in order to get on with your investigation. The graphics are not bad, albeit a bit simple, with not much detail. I liked the music, which is very soothing and relaxing. I never got tired of it, anyway. Voiceovers are good and subtitled. The tasks that you have to execute are fairly easy and the minigames that you will encounter every now and then are of the classic kind (saigon tower, color switching, etc.) and absolutely not difficult at all. No map, but you don't need one... a notebook containing a task list... a hint button that will lead you through the different locations, should you ever be in need of some guidance. All in all, I would say that this is a very easy game, quite relaxing and just right to while away some hours on a lazy, rainy afternoon... but don't expect too much of it. Those of you who are new to the adventure game genre, will most certainly like it. Expert adventure gamers will feel disappointed. October 2, 2012
In a Quandary :) I really liked the demo. The forest scene caught me. I could visualize being the monk, riding through the cold, lonely forest on my horse. Somewhere, much too close, is a wolf howling. I am defenseless on that horse and all I want to do is get out of that forest as quickly as I can. The gameplay is spare and the look austere but then, this is a monastery! Life as a monk was harsh in those days, so the look and feel is exactly right. The music feels right, too. The italian accents, however, are cliche and don't match the mouth movements. I can overlook this. The mini games are simple, so far. This, too, I can overlook because of the story. The story, for some reason, really piques my interest. I want to see how it all plays out. I have read the reviews that say this is a short game. Should I use one of my bonuses to purchase this game? I think I will. Will it be wasted? Maybe. I hope not. For some reason that I can't quite fathom this game is really resonating with me. I can see it. I can feel it. I have played lots of games with better graphics, vo's, etc that haven't caught me quite like this one. I must see where it goes! Although I wouldn't want all my games to be like this one, I recommend you try it. See if it grabs you too. October 3, 2012
Beautiful artwork and music sets the tone for the setting For some reason, I didn't like this game when I first demo'ed it but I came back and tried it again. This time, I was sold! Why? Because it takes place in a monastery, which is something quite different from the usual settings we see in games nowadays, like haunted houses, abandoned hospitals, delapitated asylums, etc. At least this game has some LIFE to it and it's pure adventure with NO hidden object scenes, which is what I loved most about it. I also loved the artwork. It's not sophisticated by today's standards but is clear, crisp, and colorful. The music was beautifully subtle and fit well with the setting. It was unusual in that for a standard edition, it had achievements and angels to collect which I thought was very cool. The only downfall is that it's a short game. With so many areas to explore, they could have fleshed out the story more to make the gameplay longer. I finished in just under three hours which will earn you one of the achievements. The puzzles were on the easy side too. I think this game would be more for the beginning adventure player or those who prefer shorter games to large file ones. As a casual game player myself, I sometimes like to play games like this when I want to finish them within a single afternoon or evening. I really liked the story but the end task might be controversial for some people. You can check the end of the walkthrough to see what I mean. It didn't bother me as it is only a game but some might be sensitive to it. September 2, 2013
This one is for real adventure fans!! This is a REAL adventure! Graphic is like in those large file games: very good. Lots of dialogues, through which you get lots of tasks. There are no HOs! I think that?s important to know for HOG fans! You find things you need during the gameplay. Some objects have to be combined in the inventory. Minigames are not too hard. And what I loved and which is unusual for a SE: You can collect achievments and 20 angelstatues. Yes, this one is a small perl in my game-jewelcase! October 2, 2012
31-40 of 97 Reviews <<prev 23456...10next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Where Angels Cry

Investigate a mysterious, medieval monastery and reveal the terrifying truth!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.