Bookmark

Dark Arcana: The Carnival

Full version game
(686.23 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Find the missing woman lost in a mysterious Carnival of Horrors in Dark Arcana: The Carnival. Investigate two worlds: the one you know and an alternate plane existing behind the Hall of Mirrors. There you'll discover the secret of an ancient being known as the Evil One. Travel through dimensions, reveal the story of star-crossed lovers, and stop the Evil One from breaking its magical chains and invading our world in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

  • Befriend a cute monkey helper
  • Clever and unique mini-games
  • Beautifully designed and crafted worlds
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 847 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Dark Arcana: The Carnival

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Arcana: The Carnival

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Arcana: The Carnival 4.5 5 142 142
I hate this game!!!! As you can see from my 'overall rating' marking and the title of my review there is a slight contradiction. The fact is the game is everything I should dislike, the closed carnival, the music, 'the darkness' of the storyline and characters etc. Yet there is something that intrigues me about the game, maybe because it is an engaging plot, and quirky mini-games (yes the intro blurb said it for the game, but how often is that just the developers 'bigging the game up'? In this case it was actually true. There are voice-overs and other 'extras' that you may not have expected in a '1 credit' game. The only slight 'real' critiscisam I would have for this game is that the game switches from a 'normal' carnival to a 'dark' carnival, there is HO scenes in the 'dark' carnival that are mirrored in the 'normal' carnival, some of the objects are mirrored exactly in both carnivals, this therefore made the HO scenes slightly easier. This though in no-way detracted from the game, but thought it worth mentioning if someone thought they may have been 'short-changed'. Try the trial, but I can guarantee (almost), that you will be coming back for more in this crazy carnival game! October 10, 2012
Short, easy, fun game This was a short game - only 3 chapters. It wasn't too complicated but it was a lot of fun. A few times when they could have thrown in the usual tedious minigame, they didn't. For example, at one point you have to go and get tokens. Ordinarily that would mean collecting something to unlock the tokens; in this case, it just meant walking back and getting them. The HOs were well drawn and not too numerous. The storyline was nicely inventive and very sweet - a nice change from the usual kidnapped-in-a-haunted-house business. All in all it made for a fun couple of hours. October 8, 2012
We have a winner! I found this game just delightful. A mom takes her daughter to the carnival and becomes trapped in the haunted house. You are the detective that is summoned to the scene. In your investigation you find the mom trapped in the mirrors. You must release her. There is much more to the story but I won't spoil it for you. he graphics are wonderful; just what a carnival makes you think of. Bright, colorful, gaudy. The music is appropriate with a light carnival sound but not overwhelming. Just perfect. There are 3 modes of play, a notebook, a map and a cute little monkey that will help you retrieve things that are out of reach. There are some different amenities to this game. You don't always have to have an item to open things; just a click of the mouse will do it. There is stuff to do everywhere and the things you have to collect are used pretty much right away. The HO scenes are clear and things are found pretty easily. They are lightly interactive and you can play Monaco instead, if you wish. Monaco is a Mahjong -like game and for every match you remove one item from the HO list. A very nice touch which seems to be becoming the norm. You receive achievements as you play. There are no "beyond" objects which is fine with me. The puzzles are different without being impossible and have good instructions. The voiceovers are nice though kind of few and far between. The rest is readable dialogue. This game is a lot of fun. When the demo was over I went "Nooo" so I know I'll be purchasing this one. October 8, 2012
Made me feel like I was watching a really good movie... I really enjoyed the story of this game and it kept me hooked until the end. I ended up really caring about what happened to the characters and that got me really invested. I did not expect the game to be as good as it ended up being, especially since the theme of spooky carnival has been done quite a few times before, but this game still manages to be unique despite that. One of the things that was different about this game that I liked best was the fact that you can choose between playing H0 scenes and playing a matching game called Monaco. In most cases, I chose to play Monaco, which I thought was fun. I am not a fan of doing a lot of H0 scenes, I prefer the puzzle and adventure aspects of games like these. The middle to end of the game got pretty H0 heavy, and the bonus game was as well, but I did not get annoyed by that like I normally would since I had Monaco to break up the monotony. I also found some of the puzzles to be a lot of fun. Not all of them were unique as compared to other games, but some of them were like old puzzles with a new twist, and I did appreciate that. I also appreciated that there was a bonus game, so it made the game like a CE for an SE price, although lengthwise it wasn't like a CE. I am on the slow side when it comes to my playing and I was able to finish the main game in about 5 hours. Faster players might only take 3-4 hours. The bonus game took me about an hour, but it might be shorter for players faster than me, so the length might be a downside for some people, but I was satisfied with it. I was glad there was a bonus game, especially since I liked the bonus game ending a lot better than the main game ending, so that made it totally worth playing. And of course, I loved Miles the Monkey and was happy to have him as a companion! All in all, it was a great game, and I am really glad that I decided to give it a try! I am a fan of this Dev now and will definitely be looking out for their games in the future! They definitely know how to put some new twists on what has become a pretty cliche genre. November 18, 2012
Liked and very nearly loved it I don't usually write reviews but I thoroughly enjoyed this game. It has a fantastic storyline, engaging characters and stunning scenery and graphics. It should have been a CE game! My only slight niggle is that on returning to HOS some of the items that had to be found were the same. This has stopped me from awarding 10/10. November 6, 2012
Nice Game Even though my game time was interrupted by other people I really got swept into the story. Very easy game to play. Love the monkey helper. Great game and would like to continue it in the near future. October 10, 2012
Great game, even for a beginner! Eerie HO game. I'm not usually a big fan of the "puzzles" which are intermixed with the majority of the HO games. However, playing in casual mode, I was able to complete all the puzzles without a skip! I do feel that the story line could have been developed more but, over all, Dark Arcana proved to be a spooky, entertaining diversion for the afternoon. October 8, 2012
Better than I thought it would be... ...especially since I'm not into carnival themes. The final chapter made this game feel like a collector's edition. The map wasn't very useful but the hint system more than made up for it and made the game easy enough to be fun.. The story was involved, the artwork original. The devs did a great job capturing the "eerie" carnival feel, and the little monkey and characters gave the game personality. I'm glad I purchased this game and plan on playing it again later on down the line. November 16, 2013
Creepy game! The story is good. There are 3 game modes. The graphics are ok for me. The HOS are not cluttered. The mini-games are on the easy side. There is a journal and a map, but you can't jump to a location. The hint system shows you the way to an active location. The main part took me 2 hours to finish. And there is the end chapter which took me about 30 min. May 28, 2013
Wish I could give it 1 more star I's a 4+++ for me but I just can't go all the way to 5. Thoroughly enjoyed this l-o-n-g game and the bonus chapter. There are many locations to explore in two parallel worlds and the bonus chapter adds new locations not previously explored. There are several puzzles that I haven't seen before and others only rarely. The Hint system is quite helpful in both the HOS and in the game itself. The Map is great in that it lets you know where there are actions you can take. It's not a transporter but you usually don't have to backtrack too far. I would love the opportunity to proofread/edit their next game before it's released. There were too many errors in that area for me. January 20, 2013
91-100 of 142 Reviews <<prev 89101112...15next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Arcana: The Carnival

Find the woman who disappears in the Hall of Mirrors. Investigate two worlds: the Carnivals of Good and Evil!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.