Bookmark

Dark Arcana: The Carnival

Full version game
(686.23 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Find the missing woman lost in a mysterious Carnival of Horrors in Dark Arcana: The Carnival. Investigate two worlds: the one you know and an alternate plane existing behind the Hall of Mirrors. There you'll discover the secret of an ancient being known as the Evil One. Travel through dimensions, reveal the story of star-crossed lovers, and stop the Evil One from breaking its magical chains and invading our world in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

  • Befriend a cute monkey helper
  • Clever and unique mini-games
  • Beautifully designed and crafted worlds
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 847 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Dark Arcana: The Carnival

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Arcana: The Carnival

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Arcana: The Carnival 4.5 5 142 142
a wonderfully macabre SE This is a fantastic game,right up my alley, very creepy and macabre. plot is very good, let's just leave it at that. love the fact that an SE has a "bonus chapter". HOG scenes are fun and a little gross (love it!) . minigames could have been harder, but still fun. Love that I could turn off voiceovers and music. A must play if you love creepy games. October 9, 2012
SUPER CARNIVAL MYSTERY! I haven't seen a great spooky carnival game since MCF Madame Fate. This is Madame Fate super charged with an interdimentional mirror universe tossed in incase a regular spooky abandoned carnival just isn't enough. Fun mini games & love the little monkey helper & SUPER POINTS for not being another stupid game blaming everything on a evil witch. Proves to those designers there are other scary things out there even if they might be clowns, shiver! I'm only disappointed that there isn't a walkthrough. I don't usually use them for clues but more often to judge how much of the game I have yet to play. Oh well I guess I'll just have to buy it and find out. I'll be doing that right away. October 9, 2012
Fun game The game is fun and, while not terribly challenging, is still fun. The Hidden objects are fairly easy to find and, if you get stuck, you can use a hint or play an alternative game to find pieces. The mini-games are just challenging enough to be fun but not impossible. The game could be slightly longer but, all in all, it was worth the price. Be sure to play the last chapter after the main game it wraps things up nicely. October 9, 2012
Dark Arcana: The Carnival What a hidden gem of a Hidden Object Adventure, edgy, creepy and plain old entertaining. Susan Jones was enjoying a day at the carnival with her daughter when they decide to visit the House of Fear. Bad choice for Susan, the carney owner waits until Susan's daughter goes through the exit door and traps Susan inside! (should have seen that coming with that evil clown on the door). You are the detective assigned to the case and there's all kinds of crazy going on inside the carnival. Apparently the carney's owner Jim Gibbons killed his wife Alice Baker who was assisting him 25 years ago in his knife throwing act in 1975. Once you start snooping around you begin to see the big picture, has Jim made the devil a deal to use Susan to bring Alice back to life? The first thing you will notice are the incredible graphics, creepy takes on a whole new level, and I was amazed at how lifelike and detailed the characters were. Even though this is just a Standard Edition, there are all kinds of achievements to earn for things like no misclick or hints used on HOS and befriending the monkey. This monkey you befriend, was chained at the ankle and scared. You play an arcade claw game to retrieve a stuffed banana toy and the monkey is your pal, helping you out by retrieving items out of your reach. I found it amusing that there were objects throughout the carnival that you could interact with, none are pertinent to the game just there for amusement such as popping balloons or moving wind chimes. The mini games are really simple but really fun, almost all of the games are arcade style games, the Claw, shooting BB's at targets and, switching the scenery and characters on a carnival act until everything makes logical sense, by using directional arrows. The Hidden Object Scenes are slightly interactive list finds, mostly just clicking on items as indicated by gears, to uncover an item such as a lid or moving a blanket. If you aren't a fan of HOS (is that possible?) you can opt to play a game of Monaco which is a simple game of matching two cards with alike pictures and the remaining cards drop down or over in a match 3 type game (only it's a match 2 lol) I will tell you that the HOS are repeated twice, but not in the same place, surprise you get to enter a mirror portal to the good carnivals alter ego, the dark twisted evil carnival. Yep, dark and dreary and full of evil! I can't think of a single thing I didn't like about this game, awesome story, terrific graphics, evil clowns -everybody loves a clown-creative achievements and two dimensional games, good carnival bad carnival. The more I think about it the more I wish I got a 6 star option, enjoy! June 6, 2014
The story is all Other developers have prettier visuals, others more cuteness, and otehs better HOS and mini puzzles. This developer just tells gripping stories, and tells them well. It has character, plots, suspense, mystery, and you learn the whole story as you go through the game. The HOS are easy (and you ahve the option of playing Monaco instead), and so most of the minigames. It is fun solving them, but they do not take away your enjoyment of the story. Because for this developer, the story is all. And they know how to tell stories. September 26, 2013
Artifex Mundi makes wonderful games I played the Dark Arcana demo on one computer, and switched to another OS to buy it, so that I had to replay the demo section again-- and I didn't mind a bit. It's a gorgeous game and a fun ride. Once you go through the mirror, the visual style changes, taking you from the cotton-candy carnival atmosphere to a stunning sulfur-yellow horror-fantasy world. While the story has a typical missing-person plot, the way it plays out has a bit of a welcome twist to it. I didn't find it all that challenging but it was enough to keep me involved and engaged throughout the game. The same creators made Nightmares of the Deep, Enigmatis, and Abyss: The Wraiths of Eden. I bought all four after playing Nightmares of the Deep, and they've all been beautiful and well-made. Nightmares introduced me to hidden object games and I've been playing lots of them since then, so I guess they got me hooked! If you're into this type of game I think it's definitely worth checking their titles out.. March 27, 2013
Best Game Ever! For some reason this one slipped by me so I finally played it two days after Christmas. I have played tons of these games and I thought this one was just the best it had everything you could ask for great graphics great story great HOS. If you a first timer I highly recommend this game because it is challenging enough for the first timer and fun enough for the experts. I loved that the story was not so dark and dreary but had the right amount of suspense and entertainment the scenes and story flow very nicely and I thought the length was just right and the graphics were just simple superb! You will not be sorry if you purchase this game. Sorry I almost missed it! December 27, 2012
Dark is Not The Word This game on the whole is very entertaining.It is not an easy game but difficult enough, that a beginner will have a chance at getting through without using the hint button all the time .Have to admit I used it twice.The hint button is also a guide so be careful how you use it.The color, sound and graphics in my opinion were well done although the voice overs could use some help.No one seems to get it perfect.[sigh]It is a fairly lengthy game, and the story line is positively wonderful if not, a little on the spooky side--no it is on the spooky side. Kept me guessing that is for sure.Over all I found the game refreshing from the same old-same old games that we usually get.Good for a Sunday afternoon while doing the laundry, and the hubby is watching sports.The extra section takes about an hour so I am glad it was included as a standard version , instead of a CE.All in all enjoyed,it greatly as I am sure you will if you just give it a try. Thanks BigFish once again a hit!!! November 18, 2012
A Rare Gem! This little gem of a game offers a lot of bang for the buck! Although sold as a standard edition, there is a bonus chapter to play after the main game. A bonus chapter that left me feeling the best ever after finishing a game! There is the usual mix of wandering here and there, diving into hidden object scenes, but the HOs are completely different to others I've done before. All the objects were newly drawn and are not the usual re-issue of the same old items to seek. The occasional typo or misnomer is easily forgiven as soon as you find another enchanting scene, like the one inside the ferris wheel car - so eerily romantic! Spooky scenes abound and there is an Evil One to thwart. Your allies along the way are equally entertaining and oddly endearing. I really enjoyed this one and recommend at least a trial. But this one is definitely worth its purchase price and then some, compared to some of the costlier games out there. Great job, developers! Thank you for one of my newest favorites! November 2, 2012
Thriller! Artifex Mundi have done it again, and no, I haven't given all four ratings above a blind 5, it's because they all deserved it! (based on entire demo on casual mode) Good Parts: Thrilling storyline. I loved every minute of it and was hanging on the edge of my seat. The brilliant cutscenes are just a bonus. Also included excellent voice-overs. I loved the HOS. They were brilliant. A great mixture of challenge and fun. Brilliant graphics, especially in cut scenes and the intro. Everything was so clear, and so greatly designed. I loved the puzzles, which is a rarity for me. I only had to skip two throughout the entire demo. Hint and skip recharge very, very fast, and hint was very useful. No need for a strategy guide. I loved the addition of the monkey to the game. He was able to retrieve things you weren't and he was just fun to have. Achievements are included, which make the game even more fun! I loved alternating between two worlds. Especially when you had to find something in one world to help you in the other. A great tutorial. OK Parts: A little more use of the inventory would have been great. A little going back and forth, but I really didn't mind when you see the quality of the game. Bad Parts: The one and only bad thing about this game would be the "Monaco" game that could be played instead of the HOS. I didn't understand this and I would've preferred if it had been Mahjong like the game Nightmares: Curse of the Deep. This game proves why Artifex Mundi is one of the best developers out there. Don't hesitate to buy this. I certainly will be. October 25, 2012
21-30 of 142 Reviews <<prev 2345...15next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Arcana: The Carnival

Find the woman who disappears in the Hall of Mirrors. Investigate two worlds: the Carnivals of Good and Evil!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.