Bookmark

The Great Unknown: Houdini's Castle

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Your honeymoon is cut short when your plane crashes on an uncharted island in The Great Unknown: Houdini's Castle. You awake to discover a madman has kidnapped your husband. To get him back, you'll have to use all your wits to pass his sinister tests and solve the mysteries of Houdini's castle. Along the way, you'll uncover Houdini's secret past and learn about the brilliant apprentice who changed his life. Can you expose Houdini's greatest trick to save your husband and escape the island? Take the challenge in this thrilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 204 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
The Great Unknown: Houdini's Castle

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

The Great Unknown: Houdini's Castle

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

The Great Unknown: Houdini's Castle 3.8 5 30 30
Excellent Game! This was a great game. Fun to play and many different locations to visit and interact within. May 25, 2014
A very agreeable game I had played other games by these dev's and liked them... so ti was with this one. Liked the graphics and the sound... some reviewers say the graphics are fuzzy, but I don't agree. It's a different style of drawing, but certainly not less valuable than other tack sharp and neat styles. Sounds never bothered me throughout the game. There's a lot of stuff to do and a lot of locations to explore. In this, the lack of an interactive map with teleportation possibility sometimes proves to be annoying. You certainly have to keep your head together and remember where everything goes or should go... sometimes you may find yourself wandering around and trying the hint button to see if something needs to be done in a certain location. Your notebook is not much of an aid. HOS are not difficult at all... but I rather fancied the association games which often proved to be much more of a challenge. The hint button doesn't charge quickly, so I avoided using it as much as possible. The game itself is rather linear, especially towards the end. Storyline is OK. The length of the game is quite good. I cannot believe one of the reviewers who says that he finished the CE in four hours. Anyway, I played the SE and spent quite a good time with it. Actually, I regretted the game coming to an end. October 19, 2012
Review of Completed Game... There is a suitable ending in the SE edition which is two thumbs up for me. I would have liked to know a little bit more about what happens with the assistant but it wasn't necessary to enjoy the game. There are 2 difficulty levels. I played the hardest and although hidden object scenes didn't sparkle, every once in awhile, little glints would appear around certain areas especially if I took too long in one place. it wasn't overly annoying though. The gameplay was rather easy. There weren't that many puzzles but the ones they had I was able to do. The hidden object scenes were a mix of lists and associations. I liked the twist and not knowing which one you'd encounter. Some of the associations were hard, needed the hint button for sure. The story moved along by finding film reels. I liked that aspect, made the game make sense. The only thing missing in this game was the widescreen support button didn't work on my computer, clicked or unclicked. There were some dark places where I literally could not see the items I needed to find and a map would have been nice as there are a lot of places you need to go back and forth from especially in the beginning. Its a rather linear game but there are a lot of locations, a lot more than I originally thought and it flowed quite well. I had a fun time playing it although it was not the longest game. Probably took me 3 hours but short games can be fun too. I definitely recommend this one. Kudos to a new developer. April 3, 2013
A decent game, but certainly not one of the greats. Although not one of the greatest games I have ever played, I did find it rather enjoyable. I can't put my finger on why that is really, it just had enough to it to keep me interested. I like the idea of a Houdini themed game but at the beginning you are not really sure as to what your objective is or even who you are. Some of that becomes clearer as the game progresses although not that clear! The Houdini connection however is somewhat tenuous, and a bit of a disappointment. Beyond the normal hidden object scenes there are many "association games" where you must match up an item with one in the scene. The pairings were not always obvious and on several occasions were downright obtuse! The puzzles were fairly easy and there could have been more of them but I did find myself passing a pleasant few hours. The game could have benefitted from a map but it was still easy enough to navigate around the scenes. There were a few small irritations which only detracted slightly from the gameplay. An (invisible) dog barking in several of the outdoor scenes and the word "I" written as "i" in the many of the notes that were laying around come to mind. But generally, I enjoyed the game and I don't think you would be wasting your money if you were to invest in this one. Just don't expect anything extraordinary. October 19, 2012
Better than I expected The concept was a little farfetched, but I enjoyed the story line, the pictures and graphics were good, the puzzles were easy to medium, the HOS were sometimes difficult , but I liked the association type. A map would have been nice, as there is a LOT of back-tracking, but it was fairly easy to remember where I had been. An enjoyable game for an enjoyable evening (took about six hours). October 20, 2012
I liked it I thought it was a good game. It had a good storyline, but I think it could have been longer. Other than that I liked it. October 29, 2012
Good solid game It is a good, fun game, with not too much backtracking, and clever HOS (with a variation about finding matching objects), with objects that are relevant to the scene. The storyline is OK, and it moves along. I would give it five stars, but those I reserve for those games that "blow me out of the water". This is not one of them, but it is quite good. April 28, 2014
Fun! I enjoyed this game. The graphics were good and you didn't have to strain your eyes to see objects in hidden object scenes. Game play was modifiable through the menu, giving you the option of casual or difficult. Hints reloaded very quickly in casual mode. The challenges were not overly simple and I enjoyed the storyline which takes your through Houdini's castle on a mission. October 14, 2013
NICE AVERAGE GAME This is a nice average game. There are many things to do simultaneously and you carry inventory until it can be used. The contrast between found and unfound objects in the HOS list could have been sharper. The images in the HOS were frequently indistinct (and not always because they were in shadow). The ?association? mini-games in which you match objects to an associated object (ex: matching a banana with a monkey) make use of previously seen HO scenes. Although there was a lot of detail in the environments, they were a little crowded. Not too challenging - no frustration. Pleasant game to while away the time, but nothing exciting. October 17, 2012
Nothing New Here Search around a dark, spooky place. Find HOS and mini-games. The hint button was one of those irritating sorts that only works in the room your available action is in, so I spent many minutes going from room to room trying to figure out what to do next. The association mini-games were a bit of a stretch - a few I didn't understand the association even with a hint. As other reviewers have noted, the HOS are fairly dark and muddled. By the time the trial had finished, I was ready to be done with this game. October 17, 2012
11-20 of 30 Reviews <<prev 23next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Great Unknown: Houdini's Castle

Your honeymoon turns sour when a madman kidnaps your husband, forcing you to expose Houdini's greatest trick.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.