Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Full version game
(1.30 GB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Exclusive bonus gameplay
  • Unlockable Morphing Objects
  • Beautiful screensavers & wallpapers
  • Exclusive behind-the-scenes video
  • Dynamic casebook and integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1597 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition 2.6 5 819 819
I'm really enjoying this game :-) Unlike some of the other reviews I'm actually loving this game. I've played all the Mystery Case File games on Mac and loved them all and this one is the best yet! The graphics are beautiful, you can always tell the graphical and animation/live action quality of MCF, way above the others. Music is wonderfully eerie (try playing with headphones). The acting is great and the storyline is intriguing and fun, if a little spooky (I've jumped a few times at some of the faces popping up... boo! ). Unlike a lot of hidden object games, that are rather random with the things you have to find, the things you have to find all makes sense within the game. I also like that the hidden object games are spread over more than one location and the extra pictures and objects to find all add to the story. All in all a great game, atmospheric and challenging and a joy to play. Thanks guys and keep up the good work :-) xxx November 22, 2012
Refreshingly unique I downloaded the game as soon as I saw it. Before I had a chance to play it, I kept seeing all these negative reviews and thought I'd be disappointed too. Thankfully, I have found the game to be amazing so far! The hi-definition visuals are excellent. I also like the story line. The game requires some reasoning skills, but I enjoy that. I love MCF! November 22, 2012
Trial this game before trusting the negative reviews Everyone has different tastes and preferences, but I thought this game was excellent. It was very engrossing and I like the fact that the hidden objects were truly hidden and you had to find them in the area (more like real life). I also congratulate Big Fish Studios for creating games more like the "high end" adventure games of the past. A lot of thought, creative development, and apparent cost went into the making of this premium game. At least give the trial a run before making up your mind. December 2, 2012
Excellent Game! **Based on playing the demo and part of the full purchased game.** I don't write reviews very often, but I felt compelled to with this game because I really didn't understand all of the complaining I was seeing in the review section. This really is a great game, and it's nice to play something that takes a little thought and a little time to complete. Something that stood out to me was that people were complaining that there were no morphing objects. In the trial of the game, you're right, there aren't. If you purchase the game, guess what? You can UNLOCK the morphing objects! I figured there was a lot more to the game when I saw the difference in download size between the demo and the full version, and I was right. Go buy the game--the morphing objects are there! Another complaint I saw was with the strategy guide. I admit, I've only used it once so far, but it clearly defined what needed to be done. Just because it doesn't spell out every detail in words doesn't mean it isn't helpful! I don't like strategy guides that I have read through or page through from the beginning; if I'm stuck and I have to look at it, I'm frustrated--please don't make me read through chapters of information to find what I need. This is perfect for me! The map is good. As areas are revealed, you can jump to them in the game on the map. It's not a room by room map, but its design suits its purpose in the game. Game play is smooth--I have an older laptop and I have had no issues with the game freezing or skipping at all. The only thing that kind of got on my nerves was the psychic--she's kind of overly dramatic for my taste, but that's me--others may like her. This isn't a game that I'm going to finish in one sitting, which I appreciate. I feel that the Collector's Edition is worth the price, and I truly hope that people will give this game a chance and not be deterred by a few negative reviews that seem to be based on the demo version of the game. Thanks for making the purchase worth my while! November 20, 2012
Amazing game As usual The mystery case file always challenge the norm for hog. The stolyline is great and with real character who are really actor that makes the story even better. The presence of Lea Thompson in a hog is really surprising. The hos are different then what we are use to see even if there are not a lot of them. The graphic are very good and the music is a good complement without attacking our nerve. This is a very different game and it took mistery case file to do it. November 23, 2012
Surprised When I started playing I thought I was not going to like the game. Then I read some of the reviews here and I thought I was going to hate the game. Well, I bought it anyway because I love MCF games and played it for myself. I decided to hold my opinion until after I completed the game and I'm glad I did. First off, there are morphing objects, 50 of them. Love morphing objects. At first I didn't think there were going to be any and then I unlocked them during the game. I was so surprised and happy to see that included. I also really liked the map. Again, I was surprised because when I first started the game, the map looked like it wasn't going to be much help. It turns out that it is very helpful and made traveling much easier. I liked the hidden object scenes, there were not to many and the items were relevent to the game. The 2 things that I didn't like were the strategy guide and the puzzle pieces that bump into each other. The strategy guide was not well done at all and gave little information. I like the way it followed my progress but all it did was point to an item or location and didn't really explain what to do. I try not to use the guide, but when I do it's because I need help. This didn't do it for me. As far as the bumping puzzle pieces. They were just time consuming and annoying. All said, I ended up really liking the game. I think many of the bad reviews are coming from those who are not giving it a chance. November 26, 2012
Creepy Adventure Hidden Object Game I personally like this MCF. The music and noises you hear add to the spooky factor of the game. The live actor's do a great job as well. The only thing that I may have an issue with that ppl seem to have as well is the lack of actual puzzles. The hidden object scenes are whole rooms, sometimes 2, instead of sparkly junk piles which is a nice change. Give the game some time and pay attention =) November 21, 2012
Meant to be cheesy, eerie fun! Enjoyed every minute playing this adventure/H0G/mystery. It didn't go overboard with occult and yet maintained a definite creep factor and a sublte, tongue in cheek humor throughout. After the last MCF, I thought I would never enjoy another of the MCF games; yet this episode has restored my belief that they can produce fun, challenge and originality without forcing overt offensive depictions or interactions. A definite worthwhile game to add to my collection and one that I couldn't stop playing until I finished (for a change). Yay BFG! November 21, 2012
Very entertaining I'm loving this game and finding it very entertaining. I've found that the difficulty level on hard mode is just right for me, making it an interesting challenge but not frustrating. I'm finding the full motion video sequences to be of very good quality, the storyline is fun, the map is well presented, the journal is very helpful, and the game is a pleasure to play. I'm happy that I purchased it and will definitely play it again at some point. November 21, 2012
Loved the new format! I'm a die-hard MCF player; I've played all the games and I will be honest, I didn?t like every one. This one was different from the start, and I'm talking more than the live action scenes. First, let me say that I purchased the CE and I?ve finished it and the bonus material in about 10 hrs (there was a lot of stopping and starting around Thanksgiving, guests, and family time#. I also played the game on the harder level. I?m sad to say, there were a couple times I used the strategy guide and when that didn?t work, I went to the forums. The Strategy Guide: BFG and MCF created a strategy guide that was smart enough to know what task you were trying to complete and what needed to be done to continue the game. This was a great thing! I hated going through a strategy guide reading headings and trying not to read anything that I had not yet come to. The negative to this wonderful new system was the inability to flip back or search ? there were no ?pages,? just the information for your current task. The first time I needed the strategy guide was during a hidden object scene. I could not find the object and could not get the HINT or Guide to help me. I went to the forums. The second time was during a seek-and-find picture match. The guide was spot on, but I?m not sure if that was by chance or if the guide knew I was in the right area what I needed to see. I?m trying not to give spoilers, so I can?t be more specific ? sorry. The Hidden Object Scenes: Instead of the standard ?click on the sparkles and go through the junk heap? MCF: Shadow Lake did something really cool! You had to look for items that could be anywhere within a designated area. For instance: you have 10 items, they could be in the room you are currently in #room 1#, the next room #room 2#, or the room after that #room 3#. If you step back out of the scene that triggered the HOS, then the list disappears. Or if you go through the first three rooms and into a fourth room; the list will disappear indicating that nothing on the list is in your current location. If you have a current list and come across the ?junk drawer? something really neat happens. The ?junk drawer? will not close until all the objects from your list located in the junk drawer are found!! This makes it nice when you think you found everything, but missed that one little just barely visible pesky object in the corner. Now if BFG and MCF would make the HOS where you find things that are actually useful instead of the standard ?ball of string? or ?chewed gum wad? things would be stellar :-# Morphing Objects: Part of the CE is an extra chapter with Morphing Objects #aka Chapter 11 in the Strategy Guide ? had to use the forums for this one too#. I?m not sure who told MCF that their morphing objects were too easy to find, but that person needs to bite into a sour lemon. Thirty minutes of my 10 hours of game play was tracking down the last three morphing objects. Some were super easy #and MCF standards#, but there were some that were very clever, and some that were just down right spiteful to find :-# Once found though, you get a glimmer of something I?m hoping is the next game #please, please, please let it be the next game!!!# Mini games: Nothing really new, but that?s not necessarily a bad thing. There were a couple chance games, some good-old favorites, and some really annoying ?OMG I have to do this AGAIN?!?? puzzles. Think of the diary pictures in the first Ravenhurst ? it was neat the first couple you did, but by the end you were happy to see them go. With MCF: SL, the plus side is nowhere near the number of this type of puzzle like the number of diary puzzles from Ravenhurst, and these puzzles change up slightly so it?s not as tedious as the diary puzzles, either. There were a couple ?jump out and scream? scenes, and yes, I jumped and squeaked. The story was easy to follow and logically sequenced. A few parts towards the end seemed to be a bit rushed, but it was still good. BFG/ MCF did a great job with the live action over computer graphics. Some of the acting was cheesy, but it?s difficult to have a one-sided dialog and they did better than they have in the past! #maybe because they got real actors and not people from the local college drama club?) The only down side, was the challenge. Again, I?ve played all the MCF for PC, Wii, and DS, all the Nancy Drew games, and some other HOG/ puzzle games. There isn?t much that is new out there, and if they make the games to my puzzle level, not many people would play. I already play on the hardest levels and rarely use hints. If you, too, play a number of these games, MCF: SL will be fun and worth the time, but will not leave you with the awesome pat-on-the-back feeling from solving a never seen before puzzle. If BFG/ MCF reads this, I would love to see more of the non-junk pile HOS! I would love to see a tighter restraint on inventory objects #like only picking up an object AFTER you see you need one and remembering where it was you might have seen it). I would like a looser restraint on the USE of inventory objects #or a really good explanation why I cant use the rock in my inventory to break the window to get into someplace I shouldn?t be in the first place and not waste time looking for a key. The town is probably deserted and looted and no one would notice one extra broken window. LOL). And although difficult at times, I loved the morphing objects, so please keep those coming!! November 24, 2012
31-40 of 819 Reviews <<prev 23456...82next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.