Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Full version game
(1.30 GB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Exclusive bonus gameplay
  • Unlockable Morphing Objects
  • Beautiful screensavers & wallpapers
  • Exclusive behind-the-scenes video
  • Dynamic casebook and integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1597 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition 2.6 5 807 807
Surprised When I started playing I thought I was not going to like the game. Then I read some of the reviews here and I thought I was going to hate the game. Well, I bought it anyway because I love MCF games and played it for myself. I decided to hold my opinion until after I completed the game and I'm glad I did. First off, there are morphing objects, 50 of them. Love morphing objects. At first I didn't think there were going to be any and then I unlocked them during the game. I was so surprised and happy to see that included. I also really liked the map. Again, I was surprised because when I first started the game, the map looked like it wasn't going to be much help. It turns out that it is very helpful and made traveling much easier. I liked the hidden object scenes, there were not to many and the items were relevent to the game. The 2 things that I didn't like were the strategy guide and the puzzle pieces that bump into each other. The strategy guide was not well done at all and gave little information. I like the way it followed my progress but all it did was point to an item or location and didn't really explain what to do. I try not to use the guide, but when I do it's because I need help. This didn't do it for me. As far as the bumping puzzle pieces. They were just time consuming and annoying. All said, I ended up really liking the game. I think many of the bad reviews are coming from those who are not giving it a chance. November 26, 2012
Creepy Adventure Hidden Object Game I personally like this MCF. The music and noises you hear add to the spooky factor of the game. The live actor's do a great job as well. The only thing that I may have an issue with that ppl seem to have as well is the lack of actual puzzles. The hidden object scenes are whole rooms, sometimes 2, instead of sparkly junk piles which is a nice change. Give the game some time and pay attention =) November 21, 2012
Loved It! I mean, I can tell everyone is comparing this one to the other MCF games but, really the graphics are awesome and it stars someone that's an actual well known actress, so yes, it's not up to the normal par as MCF gameplay goes but loved Lea Thompson and other graphics! November 26, 2012
Fantastic Adventure Game! I don't understand some of the negative reviews on this game. Possibly gamers wanted more HO scenes or maybe because it was so different and not what they are used to. I enjoy playing adventure games. MCF Shadow Lake gave me just that an adventure game with lots of sleuthing and exploring. Game interaction was superb. Loved the mini games and the lack HO scenes and mindless clicking to get one useful item. I especially liked going into Cassandra's trance and fitting all the picture pieces together, as well as, matching the puzzle piece drawings throughout various scenes. The cut-scenes were done very well. Liked that the developers used real actors. About the only thing I thought was a bit hokey was that I felt Lea Thompson overacted Cassandra's character a bit too much. Although...it did not distract from the game in any way. All I can add is thanks to BFG on another fantastic MCF game. Can't wait for the next one. November 25, 2012
Hope it doesn't get lonely at the top I didn't think it would be possible to create an even better game than Escape from Ravenhearst, but MCF managed to do just that with Shadow Lake. Hat's off to MCF! Not only are the graphics absolutely astounding (really draw you in), but it's the whole atmosphere of the game that is so excellent. I think they can make me feel just about anything and I have a sneaking suspicion they know exactly how I feel during the game, which ranges from cheerful to terrified (I love it!). The storyline is brought in a highly dynamic way, great presentation. And then there is the overall care for detail, which I have never seen so much in any other game. I want to recommend this game to everyone! Hey MCF, here's a fan for life. Greetings, Freckles November 25, 2012
SCARY FUN FROM MCF!!! Let me begin by saying that I believe MCF's Dire Grove, 13th Skull, Return To AND Escape From Ravenhearst are some of the most creative, enjoyable, well-designed games of their type out there. The production value is high, the level of care is obvious, and the heart of providing quirky, fun, brain-teasing delight is felt with every new development within the games. I have been SUCH a fan of this series, and I am not going to turn away now! MCF's SHADOW LAKE is a solid installment bringing with it the largest cast ever, beautiful graphics, outstanding sound effects and music, terrific story, and more than a few good scares. The new addition of having the HOS branch out into several locations / rooms was a load of fun, and the continuation (from ESCAPE) of having players find particular scenes was a welcome addition. I also found the bonus location and the unlocking morph objects clear and quite enjoyable. The new dynamic of building moving scenes was refreshing and fun! -- people who are complaining about this are clearly not able to use a mouse well. What I don't understand is why so many people are so negative. It is clear to me that lots of effort went into this 9th edition of MCF. I completely appreciate the love and care -- I enjoy being entertained well, and they have succeeded once again! The only problem MCF really has now is that they have produced so many spectacular games that they can't help but make one that doesn't please as well. But I think it is awfully rude and unfair to judge them harshly or to sugggest that this game is not anything but excellent! Compare this game to ANY other game on Big Fish and it will rise to the top ten on your list, surely! I paid for the collector's edition because I believe in supporting the artists/cast/writers/programmers that worked so hard to make this creepy bit of fun! Thank you, Big Fish and MCF. Your work is appreciated so much. Please don't be discouraged by ungrateful, negative people. My only comments towards constructive criticism are: 1. longer, please 2. be mindful of keeping gameplay fresh and non-repetitive 3. interaction with live characters was really fun in 13th Skull; could we have more of that next time? 4. the tried-and-true "hero's journey" formula works well for strong stories; perhaps using it as a backbone for your next adventure would please more naysayers. Again, thanks to BF and MCF for producing outstanding games!!! November 24, 2012
Loved the new format! I'm a die-hard MCF player; I've played all the games and I will be honest, I didn?t like every one. This one was different from the start, and I'm talking more than the live action scenes. First, let me say that I purchased the CE and I?ve finished it and the bonus material in about 10 hrs (there was a lot of stopping and starting around Thanksgiving, guests, and family time#. I also played the game on the harder level. I?m sad to say, there were a couple times I used the strategy guide and when that didn?t work, I went to the forums. The Strategy Guide: BFG and MCF created a strategy guide that was smart enough to know what task you were trying to complete and what needed to be done to continue the game. This was a great thing! I hated going through a strategy guide reading headings and trying not to read anything that I had not yet come to. The negative to this wonderful new system was the inability to flip back or search ? there were no ?pages,? just the information for your current task. The first time I needed the strategy guide was during a hidden object scene. I could not find the object and could not get the HINT or Guide to help me. I went to the forums. The second time was during a seek-and-find picture match. The guide was spot on, but I?m not sure if that was by chance or if the guide knew I was in the right area what I needed to see. I?m trying not to give spoilers, so I can?t be more specific ? sorry. The Hidden Object Scenes: Instead of the standard ?click on the sparkles and go through the junk heap? MCF: Shadow Lake did something really cool! You had to look for items that could be anywhere within a designated area. For instance: you have 10 items, they could be in the room you are currently in #room 1#, the next room #room 2#, or the room after that #room 3#. If you step back out of the scene that triggered the HOS, then the list disappears. Or if you go through the first three rooms and into a fourth room; the list will disappear indicating that nothing on the list is in your current location. If you have a current list and come across the ?junk drawer? something really neat happens. The ?junk drawer? will not close until all the objects from your list located in the junk drawer are found!! This makes it nice when you think you found everything, but missed that one little just barely visible pesky object in the corner. Now if BFG and MCF would make the HOS where you find things that are actually useful instead of the standard ?ball of string? or ?chewed gum wad? things would be stellar :-# Morphing Objects: Part of the CE is an extra chapter with Morphing Objects #aka Chapter 11 in the Strategy Guide ? had to use the forums for this one too#. I?m not sure who told MCF that their morphing objects were too easy to find, but that person needs to bite into a sour lemon. Thirty minutes of my 10 hours of game play was tracking down the last three morphing objects. Some were super easy #and MCF standards#, but there were some that were very clever, and some that were just down right spiteful to find :-# Once found though, you get a glimmer of something I?m hoping is the next game #please, please, please let it be the next game!!!# Mini games: Nothing really new, but that?s not necessarily a bad thing. There were a couple chance games, some good-old favorites, and some really annoying ?OMG I have to do this AGAIN?!?? puzzles. Think of the diary pictures in the first Ravenhurst ? it was neat the first couple you did, but by the end you were happy to see them go. With MCF: SL, the plus side is nowhere near the number of this type of puzzle like the number of diary puzzles from Ravenhurst, and these puzzles change up slightly so it?s not as tedious as the diary puzzles, either. There were a couple ?jump out and scream? scenes, and yes, I jumped and squeaked. The story was easy to follow and logically sequenced. A few parts towards the end seemed to be a bit rushed, but it was still good. BFG/ MCF did a great job with the live action over computer graphics. Some of the acting was cheesy, but it?s difficult to have a one-sided dialog and they did better than they have in the past! #maybe because they got real actors and not people from the local college drama club?) The only down side, was the challenge. Again, I?ve played all the MCF for PC, Wii, and DS, all the Nancy Drew games, and some other HOG/ puzzle games. There isn?t much that is new out there, and if they make the games to my puzzle level, not many people would play. I already play on the hardest levels and rarely use hints. If you, too, play a number of these games, MCF: SL will be fun and worth the time, but will not leave you with the awesome pat-on-the-back feeling from solving a never seen before puzzle. If BFG/ MCF reads this, I would love to see more of the non-junk pile HOS! I would love to see a tighter restraint on inventory objects #like only picking up an object AFTER you see you need one and remembering where it was you might have seen it). I would like a looser restraint on the USE of inventory objects #or a really good explanation why I cant use the rock in my inventory to break the window to get into someplace I shouldn?t be in the first place and not waste time looking for a key. The town is probably deserted and looted and no one would notice one extra broken window. LOL). And although difficult at times, I loved the morphing objects, so please keep those coming!! November 24, 2012
MCF: SHADOW LAKE BEST GAME OF THE YEAR!! Finally a game different of all the HOPA games the sound effects, music , graphics and videos are terrific. the actors did an awesome job I don?t know why the bad reviews the game is great in all aspects, THANK YOU BFG for another super MCF November 24, 2012
MCF Does it Again! I am always one to click the "download now" button as soon as there is another MCF game out. I will admit, however, that after Escape from Ravenhurst, (which I found frustrating) I was leery about this one. I must say I was impressed. I found the story likable, there were still "jump out" scary parts, and the game was much easier to navigate and use. Dire Grove made me crazy with all the clicking and scene changes between puzzles and tasks. This game was concise, clear, and very direct of what was being asked of you. Way to go, guys! November 23, 2012
Great Game again from Mystery Case Files I did not know what to expect after reading the other reviews of this game, many of them were less then complimentary. However, because I love this series so much I went ahead and tried it out. It is just as good as any of the other Mystery Case Files games which are my favorite games from Big fish. The storyline is funny and keeps up the pace, it has new puzzles as well as a solid story line. I do agree that there are few actors or actresses that could top the performance the Shakespearean actor gave in Escape from Ravenhurst but I think the actress, Lea Thompson, did fine. I enjoyed this game immensely and look forward to more form this crew! I hope they keep innovating and changing up their puzzles as they did in this game from a puzzle where you develop pictures to HOS scenes in different rooms ,this game was definitely worth the cash. I do have one wish, and that is for both more beyond objects and a return of the bad guy and a continuation of the storyline from the Ravenhurst games. Good job guys keep up the good work, I hope more games follow your lead. November 22, 2012
31-40 of 807 Reviews <<prev 23456...81next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.