Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Full version game
(1.30 GB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Exclusive bonus gameplay
  • Unlockable Morphing Objects
  • Beautiful screensavers & wallpapers
  • Exclusive behind-the-scenes video
  • Dynamic casebook and integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1597 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition 2.6 5 812 812
What a disappointment! I thought the last MCF game was below par, but this was so bad it made the last one look good! I feel bad for Leah since she was the main character, but this isn't worth paying for even if it's on sale. MCF -- what HAPPENED to you????????? :( November 28, 2012
DITTO I never read the reviews on MCF'S because they have always been wonderful and I do not want to be swayed by others opinions before I try it. What is up with this??? I liked "nothing" about it and wish I could have a refund. If there is a plus, I did like traveling to other areas to complete my "find" list. The only other one that lacked any fun factor was the first "Ravenhurst." Just doing the puzzle at the end of each chapter was a bore. Then they came out with "Madam Fate" and the puzzles are still a treat for me and one of the few that I go back and download again just to do. I will "not" be as quick to spend my bucks next year! November 27, 2012
Not what I expected I Loved Dire Grove, but this game was not what I expected. First, Lea Thompson's acting was terrible - she made a mockery of the game and I found her annoying. I also did not like having to match the drawings to the locations at all. And what was the point of the quarry? Not a very good game. November 27, 2012
No adventure at all. Very Disappointing. I am a fan of the MCF series but after Dire Grove (My fav) They have gone down hill with each one being worse then the previous. Shadow Lake was all around boring. I was hoping it would get better or have more adventure as it went on but nope. I hated the circle papers you are handed every 5 minutes to go back to where you just left to try to find the small area they mimic. The whole screen hidden object scenes were ok but still boring in my opinion. Cassandra was very very annoying and the box puzzles got old after the first one. The game needed more areas that you could interact with. No good puzzles and no adventure at all. I wish Big Fish would forget the live action videos and spend that time and money on more game play and way more adventure. I miss being able to walk around and having to look for objects and then having to think about where and when to use them. This is by far the worst game out of the series. I will however hang in to see how the next one is but I will be demoing first this time. Beware this game is not fun and feels like you are doing the same thing over and over again.. November 25, 2012
Disappointing, to say the least As a big fan of MCF from the beginning, I purchased this game without trying the demo. After about 45 minutes, I was getting frustrating with Cassandra constantly speaking and bringing me back to the motel. I favored the old games where it was continous game play without the dread of dealing with Cassandra. Frankly, I was delighted to see the end of the game. I wasnot tempted to play the bonus game. Like others, I like Lea Thompson as was a large fan of her work in my youth. I felt that her role in this game was unwarranted. I will admit that I found the map for moving around a benefit to the game. I hope the creators and writers consider making a game that incompasses the best of past games (Madame Fortune, Ravenherst series and 13th skulls) to create a world class gaming experience. November 24, 2012
Weak and Sad Hard to see an incredible brand fall apart. Its like the game wants to be an interactive Adventure gam from teh 90's and they made the entire experience worse. November 22, 2012
miss the old MCF games This game was short and excruciatingly painful to listen to. Hated all the dialogue. Waited for this game for so long. Booo! November 23, 2012
Long boring dialogues If you like playing dress up and pretend then this is the game for you. Players are held hostage by the lengthy, exaggerated dialogue of the characters. You cannot skip through the dialogue after reading it on the screen. There are also too many magnifying glasses which are of no use. August 31, 2014
STARTED OUT GOOD BUT DIDN'T LAST I'm glad to see I'm not the only one who is giving this game a low rating. At first, I liked it, but it got frustrating towards the end and the built-in strategy guide was a joke. All it did was show pictures of your current location with things circled or something and you were supposed to be able to figure it out from that. There was no way to move around in the strategy guide; you got whatever it gave you for the scene you were on. I had to access the walk through several times, but even this didn't help. I had one puzzle fixed exactly how the walk through showed but I still had to skip it, because it didn't work. The puzzle at the end of each card reading was so difficult that, after the first 2, I skipped all of them. I have a very touchy mouse pad and trying to move and rotate the picture puzzle pieces was just too hard and frustrating. On one puzzle, I had all the pieces in place except one, and it was down at the bottom and I couldn't get it up and around the other pieces I already had in place. I would have had to undo part of the puzzle just to get that last piece in. Not fun. I had to resort to the forum for this game to open the safe at the quarry, which is way too much trouble for any game. The strategy guide and the hint button did not work for the bonus chapter at the quarry. Now how silly is that? It really would have been nice to be able to hear the voice overs without any other sound since "real" actors were used for them, but this was not an option. And being forced to read all the credits at the end? What gives? Hugh egos???? The bonus chapter was a joke. You get a mask to find morphing objects, but by this time, you have finished the game, so why would you want to go back and look for objects that, according to the forum, gain you nothing at all? Just a disjointed, frustratingly bad game. February 10, 2014
MCF has gone downhill I go into this review having played all the MCF games. They were also one of the first few hidden object games I've ever played. It's where my love for HOS began. It very much saddens me to give the newest installment such a poor rating. I really don't like this trend in HOS of showing the actors in the game. It fails more than it succeeds. I like getting lost in the stories when I play HOS and a lot of times the actor's take me out of it. Such is the case with this one. Not only is this the worse CE I've ever played but the worse MCF. I played the whole game because I always try to finish something I start but I mostly had to force myself. I don't think I've ever skipped so many puzzles in any game. It was more because they was no real instruction on what you had to do. I mean I know I played on expert but I've played that on other games and still got directions on how to play a puzzle. The stragedy guide also sucked like it has for like the last three games. The hints barely made up for it. Storyline was the worst of all the MCFs and I'm still not positive what exactly happened. There are so many HOS that have caught up and surpassed MCF. They seemed to be trying to compete but instead dropped the ball. Can only hope the next one is better. October 30, 2013
581-590 of 812 Reviews <<prev 5758596061...82next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.