Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Full version game
(1.30 GB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Exclusive bonus gameplay
  • Unlockable Morphing Objects
  • Beautiful screensavers & wallpapers
  • Exclusive behind-the-scenes video
  • Dynamic casebook and integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1597 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition 2.6 5 817 817
Weak and Sad Hard to see an incredible brand fall apart. Its like the game wants to be an interactive Adventure gam from teh 90's and they made the entire experience worse. November 22, 2012
miss the old MCF games This game was short and excruciatingly painful to listen to. Hated all the dialogue. Waited for this game for so long. Booo! November 23, 2012
Long boring dialogues If you like playing dress up and pretend then this is the game for you. Players are held hostage by the lengthy, exaggerated dialogue of the characters. You cannot skip through the dialogue after reading it on the screen. There are also too many magnifying glasses which are of no use. August 31, 2014
STARTED OUT GOOD BUT DIDN'T LAST I'm glad to see I'm not the only one who is giving this game a low rating. At first, I liked it, but it got frustrating towards the end and the built-in strategy guide was a joke. All it did was show pictures of your current location with things circled or something and you were supposed to be able to figure it out from that. There was no way to move around in the strategy guide; you got whatever it gave you for the scene you were on. I had to access the walk through several times, but even this didn't help. I had one puzzle fixed exactly how the walk through showed but I still had to skip it, because it didn't work. The puzzle at the end of each card reading was so difficult that, after the first 2, I skipped all of them. I have a very touchy mouse pad and trying to move and rotate the picture puzzle pieces was just too hard and frustrating. On one puzzle, I had all the pieces in place except one, and it was down at the bottom and I couldn't get it up and around the other pieces I already had in place. I would have had to undo part of the puzzle just to get that last piece in. Not fun. I had to resort to the forum for this game to open the safe at the quarry, which is way too much trouble for any game. The strategy guide and the hint button did not work for the bonus chapter at the quarry. Now how silly is that? It really would have been nice to be able to hear the voice overs without any other sound since "real" actors were used for them, but this was not an option. And being forced to read all the credits at the end? What gives? Hugh egos???? The bonus chapter was a joke. You get a mask to find morphing objects, but by this time, you have finished the game, so why would you want to go back and look for objects that, according to the forum, gain you nothing at all? Just a disjointed, frustratingly bad game. February 10, 2014
MCF has gone downhill I go into this review having played all the MCF games. They were also one of the first few hidden object games I've ever played. It's where my love for HOS began. It very much saddens me to give the newest installment such a poor rating. I really don't like this trend in HOS of showing the actors in the game. It fails more than it succeeds. I like getting lost in the stories when I play HOS and a lot of times the actor's take me out of it. Such is the case with this one. Not only is this the worse CE I've ever played but the worse MCF. I played the whole game because I always try to finish something I start but I mostly had to force myself. I don't think I've ever skipped so many puzzles in any game. It was more because they was no real instruction on what you had to do. I mean I know I played on expert but I've played that on other games and still got directions on how to play a puzzle. The stragedy guide also sucked like it has for like the last three games. The hints barely made up for it. Storyline was the worst of all the MCFs and I'm still not positive what exactly happened. There are so many HOS that have caught up and surpassed MCF. They seemed to be trying to compete but instead dropped the ball. Can only hope the next one is better. October 30, 2013
What happened? I have been a huge fan of MCF, they always produce my favorite games and can't wait for the release of a new one! I never expected to be SOOOO disappointed by any of their products. Poor storyline, not the same standard of dazzling graphics, and just nothing new to be excited about. Sad... July 29, 2013
Mystery Case Files Shadow Lake Have bought every Mystery Case files Game. Liked every one of them. Wished I had my money back on this one. Worse game ever. Sadly disappointed. December 23, 2012
If It Aint Broken, Don't try to fix it. I am very disappointed with this installation of MCF. BFG Studios hasn't produced a good MCF since The 13th skull. When you all started doing this new stuff, such as finding morphing objects instead of hidden ones and removing the text from the strategy guide, etc. It just started going downhill. I don't think those changes were necessary. I'm not afraid of doing new things but if the old format is working great, don't change it. December 20, 2012
Buyer Beware The low reviews are dead on! This was shockingly terrible. I cannot believe how terrible this game was, especially with its origins and actress. Stay away and be grateful for 60 min free trial. The graphics were choppy and hard on the eyes, the tasks were confusing or were pointless. They also required no thought process to them. The HOS puzzles were very annoying as was the sound (which I had to turn off a few times). The acting from everyone was strange and forced, as if they didn't really want to be there. Considering it comes from the same company that released one of the all time best adventure games this is depressing. Give this game a pass! December 19, 2012
Disappointment I have played all of the MCF games to date, and this was a huge disappointment. I have been anxiously awaiting the next MCF game. Then I downloaded and played this game. Compared to other MCF games, the graphics, story line and overall gameplay was well below par. Rest assured I will not be anxiously awaiting the next MCF game. December 19, 2012
591-600 of 817 Reviews <<prev 5859606162...82next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.