Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Full version game
(1.30 GB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Exclusive bonus gameplay
  • Unlockable Morphing Objects
  • Beautiful screensavers & wallpapers
  • Exclusive behind-the-scenes video
  • Dynamic casebook and integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1597 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition 2.6 5 819 819
Hidden Object Game Very tedious - glad to see it end. April 5, 2013
BFG Phoned This One In Hundreds of reviews already posted, so there isn't anything I can add, but I thought I would share my $0.02 anyway: Liked: - FMV scenes. The green screen work is nicely done. Yeah, Lea's part was cheezy, but I enjoyed it anyway. I loved the over-the-top ghost hunter dude ("Come get me GHOSTS!") and his assistant is super cute (put her in more games!). - Matching the pencil drawings to areas of the screen was fun. Unfortunately it was the only fun I had playing. - The map was great. It sucked having to go back to Lea's character over and over again, but at least you could use the map from pretty much anywhere in the game and teleport back to the motel. I would have been better though if you could teleport right to her. Disliked: - Collector's edition extras are garbage. The extra scene takes a whopping five minutes to complete and while collecting the morphing objects is kind of fun, your reward for finding them all is terrible (basically nothing). - The puzzles and hidden object scenes are way too easy. - You are led around the game by your nose. No exploration on your own. No putting clues together. The psychic immediately tells you what to do next after you complete each task. - The art is disappointing. It isn't bad, but it isn't imaginative either. - The story is tripe. Completely obvious and stupid. Seriously BFG, you've got to hire actual (or better) writers next time. When first-person shooters have better stories than your adventure games, you are in trouble. - The ladder. Please BFG, never, ever, do that again. Nobody finds it fun to have to move an object around to different scenes. - Minimal music. A missed opportunity to add atmosphere to the game. Overall I am disappointed. It's not a terrible game, but it isn't up to the high marks of previous MCF's. I still recommend playing it if you enjoy this type of game, but get it when it goes on sale and don't bother with the CE. April 5, 2013
Good Idea Excuted poorly Love Mystery Case Everything until now. The Physic back and forth was a little annoying. Kind of liked the HO's spread out because it was different. Not being able to travel location to location except by map only was annoying. I like the scenery of going through locations. Looked to be a great story line and the few scared were a nice touch. Love the live actors. Just seem the game was not executed right. Needs some tweaking. It would have been more fun if the physic women was crazy running and hiding and popping out at you to tell you things you need to know. I found the placing of the drawing a waste of time because nothing really happen after you placed them until you got them back to the physic to place the next step together. Well phooey. I will not be buying this game. March 26, 2013
Boring Let me say, I love MCF games, especially Escape from Ravenhearst and Dire Grove, which were both more adventure than HO, had exceptional environments and background story and were challenging (I also enjoyed 13th Skull for these reasons), but this one was horrible. It was too short, repetitive (the tile puzzles made me want to tear my hair out they were so boring) and it wasn't challenging in the least. The acting was disappointing and the story line was about 30 times shorter than any other MCF game. This game seemed like a cop out. Perhaps it was designed by a new team? One thing I did love was the creep factor. I love the horror and eerie atmosphere MCF seems to be going with - especially in Escape) and this one had it. I found I was actually uncomfortable at points with the "boo" factor of some of the ghost/demon scares, and I loved it! Keep to what you're good at, MCF team, this title wasn't up-to-par. At all. I would only recommend if it goes on sale, or you're a MCF fanatic. I look forward to the next instalment, because I am hoping it's going to be better... March 22, 2013
disappointed i am very disappointed with this game i bought the collectors edition and cannot play the bonus game or morphing objects not much hidden objects to find and the latest storylines are all the same, death children. but this game did make me jump a few times March 21, 2013
Meh... Not the best in the series. The game play was monotonous with the same HO, and then find the stamps, then a picture puzzle. The picture puzzles were extremely annoying. March 19, 2013
What Happened To Mystery Case Files? Only played the Trial. This game is not up to standard. Hints are Terrible, HOS are a mess as you have search entire rooms and it takes forever to change scenes. Did not like at all and did not bother to finish trial. March 3, 2013
Anticipation met with disappointment. Mystery Case Files games have a reputation for quality, intriguing gameplay, and innovation. Unfortunately this was not apparent in this episode. The process through the game was very samey; go here - do this - come back. The use of film clips to dramatise the storyline has steadily increased in these episodes, but they were used excessively in this game. Or maybe it just seemed that way. 13th Skull was also overrun with film clips, and was also not my favourite game. Shadow Lake was short, dull, and more about the actors than the game. The morphing objects were a great idea, however it just didn't quite hit the mark here. This game took me a long time to finish, it just didn't hold my interest, and unlike previous games, I wasn't glued to my computer until I completed it. So disappointed, and so wary of the next episode. I'd love to see more puzzles, more fabulous art, more innovation, more humour, less actors, less film clips, more fun! February 26, 2013
Don't waste your time I have been a faithful MCF fan for years and waited all year for the next game. I was so disappointed with this game. Worse yet, I bought the CE version and feel like I wasted my money. The magic that is MCF was completely missing. It was just boring. If you want to try it, just by the regular version and don't waste your money on the CE or the strategy guide. They have some serious work for the next game to get back to the old feeling. February 17, 2013
Where's the puzzles? It took me about a month to finish this game. No, not because it was all that difficult, but because I'd play it for about 10 minutes and realize "I've got better things to do". Then I'd set it aside for a few days, get back to it, forgetting where I had last left the ladder and have to wander around looking for it. Didn't really care for matching up the drawings, since they were of such poor quality. Worst of all were those video jigsaw puzzles after the readings. The concept was OK, but at least on my computer I had a heck of a time dragging and rotating those squares into place. I *knew* where the square was supposed to go, but it was just so difficult to drop it into the exact right place. And most games require you to just get it "close", and it snaps into place. This one required you to get it exactly correct, within a few pixels. Very annoying. Very, very annoying. And on one of those puzzles the last square ended up on top of the main picture, but I couldn't manipulate either one. I finally told myself "why I am wasting my time, I know where I want to put that square; I've solved this puzzle, but the game won't let me complete it." So I just clicked Skip, which I rarely do. Didn't really care much for Lea Thompson. She was overly dramatic. Bring back the Ravenhearst style. February 12, 2013
621-630 of 819 Reviews <<prev 6162636465...82next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.