Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Full version game
(1.30 GB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Exclusive bonus gameplay
  • Unlockable Morphing Objects
  • Beautiful screensavers & wallpapers
  • Exclusive behind-the-scenes video
  • Dynamic casebook and integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1597 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition 2.6 5 815 815
MCF Let-Down This last installment of MCF will probably be my last - the story line has gone completely downhill and the strategy guide is a joke. January 3, 2013
So Disappointed The MCF games are my all time favorite games. This one was very disappointing. There was no challenge, held your hand way to much, was too linear and repetitive. Where's the rich puzzles that make you think? The fun of exploring that MCF is known for? January 2, 2013
didn't live up to other Mystery Case Files games the parts with the actress were painful, designers wasted money paying Lea T for this roll. Not a fan. I was expecting more along the lines of challenges/mini games from Ravenshurst series and was disappointed. January 1, 2013
I waited how long for this!!!??? :( Have been looking forward to the latest MCF release for a while now, I loved the Ravenhearst games, Dire Grove and 13th Skull - naturally I had really high expectations for Shadow Lake but I have been left utterly disappointed :( I was done with the game in about 5 hours, this would be a problem if I had been enjoying the game play but to be honest I was glad that it was over so quickly. If I could sum this game up in one word it would definitely be "repetitive", basically you do a hidden object scene, match pictures to a scene, take the pictures to the psychic, do an awful "puzzle" which once completed shows a short video to do with the story line.....you repeat this process over and over until you get to the end. I counted maybe 2 puzzles in the whole game? (other than the psychic reading "puzzles") and both were very simple compared to previous MCF games. The hidden object scenes weren't very creative. The graphics were a major let down, not the quality I would expect of an MCF game. I love MCF games because of their captivating story lines, the story line here was dull and unimaginative. To be honest I am finding it hard to believe this is an MCF game at all!!! If you don't like to push your brain too hard then by all means buy this game, but if you actually want to be challenged forget it. The only positive aspect about all this is the live actors which has always set MCF games apart from the heard, I adore Lea Thompson and I just wish they had produced a better game for her to star in :( November 20, 2012
Bored This is not the beautifully rendered game that the previous ones were. With the more realistic graphics, and the live videos, I might as well be watching television (the interrruption of live video in the game is like having commercials). The earlier MCF games were great, especially Madame Fate, but this one is just dull. The hidden object scenes drag through a whole room or too, the puzzles are too easy, all in all I think the MCF crew has gone completely off the track. This is no longer the awesome series it once was, November 20, 2012
If it Ain't Broken Don't Fix It! I did Beta Testing for this game and it was horrible. I feel they tried to get a little ambitious and it failed. If it ain't broken don't fix it. When the survey asked me about the game my words mirrored what the general complaints here are. This was maybe 3 weeks ago. When I saw this game out and read the reviews with the same complaints I had with the game I was shocked. I cannot see how other Beta Testers did not have the same complaints. I am not surprised one bit that this game is on sale. Don't waste your money, being on sale is not going to make this a better game. I just hope this is a anomaly because MCF's are my favorite games. November 21, 2012
So disappointed... If you like the Mystery Case Files series, you will be disappointed with that one. The plot is poor and the end very predictable. Been there, done that. There is no big challenge. The tasks are repetitive, with very few puzzles and a level of difficulty that's far from the last MCF games (one of the things that took me the most time was changing a flat tire. That's not what you can call a thrill). Plus, there is this annoying medium to take your hand all the time (I wished I could destroy that radio many times while playing). Graphics are so-so, and I am still searching for any good music or sound effect. The actors are not convincing, maybe because they aren't convinced themselves... It's like watching an old, low quality mystery drama on TV, and you really don't feel like that you are taking part in it. Moreover, if you are looking for something spooky or disturbing, search somewhere else. I felt bored all the time, and uninstalled the game as soon as I finished it. If I want to play a good, spooky MCF game with a great medium again, I'll take Madame Fate. If I want some ghosts, I'll choose Return to Ravenhearst. Dire Groove will do for the video parts, and 13th Skull for the interactive characters. Shadow Lake appears like a bad mix of those 4 games. Last two bad point: - The extra contents are too few and not so interesting. - The Master Detective seems to have forgotten how to write a nice diary in there. You will just have a to-do list and some pictures. It looks botched. Really. November 21, 2012
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY! ANNOYING AND FRUSTRATING! I was so disappointed in this game. The hidden objects and usable items were too small. The usable objects area was a small spinning wheel of circles that was hard to control. The whole game was basically: 1. Cassandra gives you drawings to match areas at search sites. 2. Cassandra calls on walkie-talkie and tells you to look for objects spread around site. 3. Cassandra calls you back so she can read drawings. 4.Cassandra has vision as a video of square puzzle pieces that float around and are very hard to manipulate to the point of screaming frustration. Then she sends you to next site. 5. Use found objects to open doors, chests, etc. 6. Repeat 1 thru 5 for rest of game. Why was Lea Thompson picked for the role of Cassandra. She is so blond and perky it sucks all the possible scary and drama out the the story. Plus, the Bonus Section at the Grimm quarry is not supported by the Strategy Guide and I wasn't able to open the safe using the clues from the ledger in the trailer. This game was nowhere near the quality you expect from a MFC game. November 21, 2012
Not even for a 2.99 coupon I was SO excited to see another MCF's game! I couldnt wait! I wanted to love this game. Sadly, this game just isnt fun. The HO scenes arent really interactive, small windows and hard to see items (I have a 26" moniter!) here and there within multiple rooms. Some locations need a key, buts its on the list. Annoying! Weighted video puzzle blocks really arent all that fun or satifying to put together. Leah Thompson I usually love in anything. She is great in movies but in this venue she overacted in the extreme. Seriously? Head flinging, bulging eyes, big hand gestures. What the heck? Matching leah's psychic drawings to locations is just ok. Blah. Way too many video interuptions in what should have been a "cant wait to see whats around the next corner" kind of atmosphere. I found these interuptions really annoying! It isnt very difficult, but where your supposed to go next isnt always clear. That may have been the only slight upside to the entire game. All in all the game can be summed up in a few words; tedious, boring. The polar opposite of "game". I really didnt expect alot as I didnt much like the last MCF's but I was extremely hopeful. Guess Ill just play Madam Fate, Ravenhurst I and II and 13 skulls again till something better comes along. If this is what every future MCF's has to offer, I may just stick to SE coupon deals outside of the MCF's realm, sad as I am to say it. November 21, 2012
Don't buy it it you love MCF I must admit I wasn't mad about 13th Skull, for me Dire Grove is the benchmark - but this one is absolutely terrible. Being a Brit, don't know the actress that everyone seems to like, but she seems to be doing an awful job, either that or she's treating it as a huge joke to save her the embarrassment. Game is in parts too easy and too difficult, and definitely repetitive. And I agree with other reviews, what's happened to the graphics? Got two game credits to spend, but won't be on this. November 21, 2012
631-640 of 815 Reviews <<prev 6263646566...82next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.