Bookmark

Dark Arcana: The Carnival

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Find the missing woman lost in a mysterious Carnival of Horrors in Dark Arcana: The Carnival. Investigate two worlds: the one you know and an alternate plane existing behind the Hall of Mirrors. There you'll discover the secret of an ancient being known as the Evil One. Travel through dimensions, reveal the story of star-crossed lovers, and stop the Evil One from breaking its magical chains and invading our world in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

  • Befriend a cute monkey helper
  • Clever and unique mini-games
  • Beautifully designed and crafted worlds
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 727 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Arcana: The Carnival

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Arcana: The Carnival

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Arcana: The Carnival 4.5 5 144 144
Unique - Had a lot of fun with this one! Well worth the SE Price! This is based on completed game in advanced mode (the middle of 3 options). So many things to like about this fun but short game. First, the middle level of challenge - was just right, allowing the gamer the opportunity to look over each scene in peace, without a constant stream of VO, black bar hints at each click, and Incessant glimmers, shimmers, winking, and twinking covering the scene. If you want all that action check out the Margrave series. What was nice and welcome were discrete indicators for each HOS, meaning no backtracking trying to stumble over a missed HOS as happens in Expert mode because nothing is marked. -Advanced mode offered the perfect balance. Great job developers! There was a map showing current location and active areas but did not allow jumping to locations. There is also a rarely referenced journal that also kept track of objectives. Any combinations or other info needed for game play were posted alongside the easy but clever and fun mini-games. Most of the mini-games we've seen before, but these were dressed up very cleverly, so while they were a bit easy, they were also fun and fresh. There was a good balance between HOS and mini-games. It seemed like roughly 30+ of each. There are awards but no need to spend time at each scene to seek out morphing objects, coins, or flowers to get them. This game managed to balance mystery and Halloween style creepiness with tongue in cheek humor that kept things light and fun. Graphics are crisp and clear, music was carnival style so it was turned down but I kept the sound effects including VO on. The cut scenes were nice as they all served a purpose in the game, but were kept short and to the point. As others have said, it's an easy game, completed within a few short hours, but I still recommend it for fun factor, holding to a strong storyline to the end, having a straight forward, easy to use interface, and some uniqueness. This is one the whole family can play even though it bears a bit of the occult. It doesn't take itself too seriously, so while we get some minor scares and creepy scenery we also get plenty of smiles and laughs. This one is just fun. I would not spring for CE if it came out, but SE is worth the price. October 15, 2012
Spooky fun! Have just finished the demo and its a buy for me. Wasn't sure at the first cut scene as thought it was going to be a bit 'same old', but it isn't. The best way to describe it is quirky! The puzzles vary from the norm and although they are not overly difficult, they are fun! The HOS are straightforward but not too many which is great. Love the travelling through mirrors to another world! Excuse me now, I have to get back to rescuing Susan! lol. October 8, 2012
Good Game This game was a lot of fun to play. A good mix of HOGs and puzzles. Most of the puzzles were very easy - either easy or impossible! The HOGs were also easy - I rarely had to use a hint. Most of the action/story was intuitive and rational. Gorgeous settings, particularly in the mirror world. There were many glorious locations that were never explored, but it sparked imagination. There is a helper, who is not really useful, but cute. And this SE has a bonus chapter which satisfyingly wraps up the loose ends from the main game. I was very pleased with this game. So if you don't like very easy puzzles, this is not the game for you. But if you want a game that flows right along and is easy enough for old people and kids to solve, it's great. Go and enjoy! June 9, 2014
Journey to Another Realm A really good game full of enough interesting twists and turns in the plot to make it enjoyable. The progression of the story made sense and the games offered adequate challenge. I played the Advanced Level and found only a couple of the games more difficult than I could manage. One thing to note; it is almost certain the developer did not have English as his first language. I wasn't bothered by the line in one of the messages that read, "...the life you were robbed off (rather than robbed of)" or the HOS that had "perfumes" listed as a clue but there was only one perfume bottle. It did take me a while to reason out another HOS where I was told to find "harmony". I wasn't sure what "harmony" looked like but clicked on a harmonica and, voila, there it was. March 27, 2014
SOLID GAME This game could have used an interactive map as there was a lot of back tracking. The storyline was fairly linear and logical. I played the casual mode. The hint button was very useful in finding the next location to play. For the HOS, there was a choice to play Monaco instead, something I have never seen before in any of the games I've played. This was a nice touch. Some of the puzzles were hard and I ended up skipping a couple of them. Not hard exactly, but based on trial and error and I would get frustrated and would skip them. Achievements were available, but some of them were unattainable. If you played all the Monaco games to get that achievement, then you couldn't get the achievement for playing all the HOS without a hint. Even though this is not a CE, there was a bonus chapter available after completing the game. It followed the storyline well and provided a nice ending. January 29, 2014
descent & challenging game classical dark & creepy hidden object game. good graphic and challenging puzzles. descent storyline. a little short though. I personally had enough of these creepy obscure hidden object games, however it's perfect for those who fancy them. December 16, 2013
I hate this game!!!! As you can see from my 'overall rating' marking and the title of my review there is a slight contradiction. The fact is the game is everything I should dislike, the closed carnival, the music, 'the darkness' of the storyline and characters etc. Yet there is something that intrigues me about the game, maybe because it is an engaging plot, and quirky mini-games (yes the intro blurb said it for the game, but how often is that just the developers 'bigging the game up'? In this case it was actually true. There are voice-overs and other 'extras' that you may not have expected in a '1 credit' game. The only slight 'real' critiscisam I would have for this game is that the game switches from a 'normal' carnival to a 'dark' carnival, there is HO scenes in the 'dark' carnival that are mirrored in the 'normal' carnival, some of the objects are mirrored exactly in both carnivals, this therefore made the HO scenes slightly easier. This though in no-way detracted from the game, but thought it worth mentioning if someone thought they may have been 'short-changed'. Try the trial, but I can guarantee (almost), that you will be coming back for more in this crazy carnival game! October 10, 2012
Short, easy, fun game This was a short game - only 3 chapters. It wasn't too complicated but it was a lot of fun. A few times when they could have thrown in the usual tedious minigame, they didn't. For example, at one point you have to go and get tokens. Ordinarily that would mean collecting something to unlock the tokens; in this case, it just meant walking back and getting them. The HOs were well drawn and not too numerous. The storyline was nicely inventive and very sweet - a nice change from the usual kidnapped-in-a-haunted-house business. All in all it made for a fun couple of hours. October 8, 2012
We have a winner! I found this game just delightful. A mom takes her daughter to the carnival and becomes trapped in the haunted house. You are the detective that is summoned to the scene. In your investigation you find the mom trapped in the mirrors. You must release her. There is much more to the story but I won't spoil it for you. he graphics are wonderful; just what a carnival makes you think of. Bright, colorful, gaudy. The music is appropriate with a light carnival sound but not overwhelming. Just perfect. There are 3 modes of play, a notebook, a map and a cute little monkey that will help you retrieve things that are out of reach. There are some different amenities to this game. You don't always have to have an item to open things; just a click of the mouse will do it. There is stuff to do everywhere and the things you have to collect are used pretty much right away. The HO scenes are clear and things are found pretty easily. They are lightly interactive and you can play Monaco instead, if you wish. Monaco is a Mahjong -like game and for every match you remove one item from the HO list. A very nice touch which seems to be becoming the norm. You receive achievements as you play. There are no "beyond" objects which is fine with me. The puzzles are different without being impossible and have good instructions. The voiceovers are nice though kind of few and far between. The rest is readable dialogue. This game is a lot of fun. When the demo was over I went "Nooo" so I know I'll be purchasing this one. October 8, 2012
Made me feel like I was watching a really good movie... I really enjoyed the story of this game and it kept me hooked until the end. I ended up really caring about what happened to the characters and that got me really invested. I did not expect the game to be as good as it ended up being, especially since the theme of spooky carnival has been done quite a few times before, but this game still manages to be unique despite that. One of the things that was different about this game that I liked best was the fact that you can choose between playing H0 scenes and playing a matching game called Monaco. In most cases, I chose to play Monaco, which I thought was fun. I am not a fan of doing a lot of H0 scenes, I prefer the puzzle and adventure aspects of games like these. The middle to end of the game got pretty H0 heavy, and the bonus game was as well, but I did not get annoyed by that like I normally would since I had Monaco to break up the monotony. I also found some of the puzzles to be a lot of fun. Not all of them were unique as compared to other games, but some of them were like old puzzles with a new twist, and I did appreciate that. I also appreciated that there was a bonus game, so it made the game like a CE for an SE price, although lengthwise it wasn't like a CE. I am on the slow side when it comes to my playing and I was able to finish the main game in about 5 hours. Faster players might only take 3-4 hours. The bonus game took me about an hour, but it might be shorter for players faster than me, so the length might be a downside for some people, but I was satisfied with it. I was glad there was a bonus game, especially since I liked the bonus game ending a lot better than the main game ending, so that made it totally worth playing. And of course, I loved Miles the Monkey and was happy to have him as a companion! All in all, it was a great game, and I am really glad that I decided to give it a try! I am a fan of this Dev now and will definitely be looking out for their games in the future! They definitely know how to put some new twists on what has become a pretty cliche genre. November 18, 2012
91-100 of 144 Reviews <<prev 89101112...15next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Arcana: The Carnival

Find the woman who disappears in the Hall of Mirrors. Investigate two worlds: the Carnivals of Good and Evil!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.