Bookmark

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Return to Europe in a brand new adventure as Dana Knightstone, the best-selling novelist who can see ghosts. When your cousin, famed musician Sebastian Knightstone, starts hearing eerie violin music in his Austrian manor, he asks for your help to investigate. But you're not the only one digging up the ghost's secrets -- and you find yourself falling headlong into danger! Solve challenging puzzles as you trek through snowy Austrian landscapes in search of missing clues. Can you follow the ghost's trail before time runs out?

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Smart strategy guide
  • Wallpaper & concept art
  • Replayable cutscenes
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 468 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel Collector's Edition 4.3 5 72 72
Who called again? Dana Knightstone's cousin! Review based upon completion of game and epilogue with 5 achievements missing. I had high hopes for this game, since it features my home country. The story is good as usual, but the "Austrian" part irks me. * How can you set a story about classical music in Salzburg and fail to mention Mozart even once? And what about the other famous sites? * There is no way that this is Salzburg city (could be the province) - while there are hills in the city and the Feste Hohensalzburg on a mountain, there are no mountains and ski lifts that close. * Austrian phone numbers have 5 digits for the area code and 4 or 5 digits for the person. (Mobile ones 4 for the provider and 7 or 8 for the person.) The one you have to type is clearly American. * Supposing this game is set in modern times, we don't use Schilling anymore, our currency is the Euro. * Also, there are no steam trains left in daily usage. The Good: + storyline + decent game length (but only in combination with the epilogue - 3:53) + achievements (see "The Bad" below) + diverse puzzles and HO scenes + voiceovers now featured during the whole game, not just act breaks The Neutral: o most puzzles easy o Skiing animations could have been done better The Bad: - Austrian location not accurately pictured at all - games are getting shorter and shorter (2:51 for the main game, shortest in the series) - Tutorial achievement not working, too easy to miss others, some don't make sense (goat) Bonus Content: The Epilogue tells a different follow up story and took me about an hour, bringing the total game time up to decent. Puzzles did not increase in difficulty. The rest is the usual soundtrack, wallpapers and concept art. Strategy Guide is detailed. Bottom Line: This entry is another good story, but I would have liked the developer to do a bit more research about Austria. November 17, 2012
Best Dana Knightstone Yet! One of the best Dana games out there. The gameplay is great and the HOS are reasonable difficult with the twists they add. The puzzles are the usual Boomzap quality, although the controls for turning pieces could be better. My one complaint about the overall great music is that it stole music from the first two games! Besides that, this one is great fun. November 4, 2013
Good All The Way Around Was surprised to find I like this game. I thought it would be boring. Nice story line, great graphics. Just a nice game all the way around. December 20, 2012
Easy but fun . This was the third Dana Knightstone and was very well done. The storyline was entertaining and the graphics were gorgeous! Bright, detailed and with lots of color, some pretty music and lots of locations. The HO scenes were fairly easy with whatever you are looking for being right out in the open for the most part. And the numerous mini games were simple but fun also. Overall this game was quite easy, which I anticipated and therefore played in hardcore mode. it was still very easy so if you are an experienced player you may not want to choose casual mode or you may have absolutely no challenge whatsoever. However that said, I did like this one. You are investigating the death of a ghost now haunting your cousin. You are taken up on cable cars, down in frozen sewers and onto a train. It had some kind of crazy achievements to achieve and a decent extra chapter. Not too sappy, great looking, pretty easy HOPA. November 13, 2012
Good game. Liked the game, pretty much, but not as good as the others, to me! Got confused with who was who and couldn't go back to refresh memory. I enjoyed playing it. Bonus was almost a game in itself. Everything was good. HOs were not bad! There are hints in 'hardcore' and I hit it by mistake and lost one of my achievements!! (So be careful) HARDCORE NEVER HAVE HINTS!!?? I do recommend! July 25, 2013
Another 4 Star Game If I was to grade this game I would give it a "B'. I have 3 of the Dana Knightstone games. Besides this one, Under Tuscan Skies and Fairing Point.They all have nice graphics and interesting story lines. However they have too many puzzles for me but most game players I think would like all 3 games despite the multitude of puzzles. December 4, 2012
Just not worthy of a "collectors edition" price... it was way too easy.. not much challenge at all. play time was really short (compared to most CE's) story line was ok, graphics very nice, just very disappointed in the play time for the $$... should be priced as a regular game, not collector edition quality. you want to spend the $$ you'll enjoy it, but overpriced as far as I'm concerned. November 9, 2012
REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME Very disappointed. The graphics are good, even excellent in some scenes. Technically flawless. Good voice overs. Helpful hint button and fast skip button. There are achievements but they are weird. They seem to want the player to do the wrong things x number of times to get them. The story is weak and not cohesive. I found myself wondering what it was all about, even at the end. The mini games are bland and the game play is uninteresting, with no surprises or twists or anything at all to distinguish the game from hundreds of others. I did not find it sedate and understated, just mundane. Very meat and potatoes with no trimmings. The SG is not in the game, you have to exit to the Menu. Some so called solutions to the puzzles are either inadequate or unclear. The iHOS are mostly fine, except those (quite a lot) that have little lists of the same objects to find. E.g. "find 4 sticky things" and then "find 4 round things" etc., all in the same iHOS. This is childish and dull. Some are not iHOS but have little circles in the list section which are you have to find in the main picture above. Also not fun. There was one where I was given a set of tools and had to place them in the box, each slot clearly identifiable. That was beyond basic and just irritating. The music is chamber music, which is uninspiring and boring. The main game took me 3.45 hrs, which is poor. The BC I could not see had any bearing on the story. It was 1.15 hrs, making a total of 5 hrs, so I suppose one could say it was ok length-wise, but not for SE players. BZ can do better than this. I know, I have their other games and I like them, but this one, as far as I am concerned, is a flop. I think this series has run it's course and should be laid to rest. Dana Knightstone is just not the sort of character that lends herself to anything but the most basic stories, so the devs are limited as to what they can include as far as anything new and innovative goes. Sorry BZ. I still like you but this was not up to par. November 9, 2012
Really?... What happened?... I can hardly believe how much I disliked like this game. A huge disappointment. What's going on Boomzap? Writer's block? To the point. The storyline. If you can even call it a storyline, plot, what have you, well, it was absolutely awful! Boring is almost to generous a word. It was practically nonexistent. There wasn't any substance to it. So much so that... Death Upon an Austrian Sonata?... The title hardly makes sense. Admittedly I have only played demos of the first two Dana Knightstone games, and while interesting I found them a bit dated. But loved the more adventure geared gameplay. My problem is mostly because one of my all time favorite games, Otherworld, combined with the Awakening series have kept me on a constant lookout for more from Boomzap. This game played much like the others from the games mentioned above. Pleasant, relaxing gameplay, wonderful graphics, lots of puzzles, new and old, but always fun, and leaned more toward the adventure/puzzle side rather than an HO game. But this game lacked a story. Big Time. I was so bored with it that I lost interest within the first quarter of the game and had to push my way through the rest. I was looking forward to a rather easy adventure/puzzle game with an immersive story with interesting/friendly characters to relax too. Didn't get it. I can't even remember what the bonus chapter was about. So it probably isn't meaningful enough alone to go for the CE unless you like wallpapers etc. An easy game is nothing without story and characters you enjoy. While it may appeal to younger players, it's definitely not for me. For those who like to know like me, game length was decent enough I guess. It timed me at a little over 5 hours, but I also let it sit unpaused on a number of occasions, and the extra chapter put it all at a total a bit over 7 hours. Try the demo (I didn't), if story is important to you. See if it catches your attention. I recommend this game only to those who can deal with a weak story and charactors you probably won't connect with. November 22, 2012
quite disapointed! I have played the other knightstone novels before and was very excited as the previous editions were very captivating. I have bought and played many CE games before, but this time I felt quite 'short changed'. Nothing new in graphics and mini games, the story line was disappointing and the puzzles and mini games just too easy, in fact I kept waiting for some surprise to warrant this game as a CE. I just felt, getting to the end was a relief and if there are any sequels, I certainly would not buy the CE edition, maybe not even the standard game. I know lots of reviews seemed to praise this game, sorry, it certainly was not for me. November 12, 2012
51-60 of 72 Reviews <<prev 45678next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel Collector's Edition

Can you solve the mystery of the ghostly violinist?

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.