Bookmark

Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water Collector's Edition

Full version game
(896.51 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

You travel to the remote island town of Black Water, investigating the mysterious disappearance of two archaeologists when you encounter a mythical monster straight from the ancient myths of Poseidon! What cursed secrets have these archaeologists unearthed beneath the town? Now it’s up to you to save the world from falling into a curse of eternal darkness! Play Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water to uncover the truth lurking deep below the island’s darkening waters.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay featuring breathtaking vistas!
  • Full Soundtrack
  • Concept Art gallery
  • Downloadable wallpapers
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 974 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water Collector's Edition 4.5 5 98 98
One of the best I have played yet Based on the whole game plus extra content. This is one of the best HOPA games I have played. It just has everything. Wonderful cut scenes, scarey monsters, great storyline. The extra game play was well worth buying the CE as they changed the type of HOS ( which were interactive in the main ) to VERY interactive in the extra game play. The mini games weren't too hard so I was able to complete most of them and there was not a lot of going backwards and forwards as some have suggested. I have downloaded a lot of trials in the last few weeks and not bought any of them apart from Unfinished Tales; illicit love ( which I was sorry I did). This one however just had that extra bing that made me buy it. It got better and better as I played and I am about to play it again!! Good one Big Fish!!! November 5, 2012
What can i say? I enjoyed the game very much, it was nicely done. The voice over was well done. And the music was fantastic. Right up my alley. The achievement were a little hard to do because i am not that swift when it comes to finding the items so quickly, but i will give it another go and i will eventually get all of my achievements. Yup. Loved the ending, great story. AND I gave it a five star because the bonus game play was excelent.. Thanks for the enjoyment.. November 2, 2012
Best MOTA so far!! Thoroughly enjoyed this game! Everything was just as I like HO Adventures to be. The graphics are nice and clear and the music is lovely and not intrusive. There is an interactive map that you can teleport between locations ( which i love) and there isn't any annoying music diddlies when you click on things or objects in the HO scenes. It's a nice simple click sound effect which I greatly prefer. There is also a journal and achievements to earn and there is a nice little surprise in the achievements that i won't spoil for anyone who hasn't yet played. Overall it is the best Mystery of the Ancients so far and hope the ones to follow are just as well thought out. Happy gaming my fellow fishies! November 2, 2012
Outstanding Graphics . . . Love the Story! Not much to add. Other reviews have just about said it all. I will try to add what has not been said. * The map takes you to the area where there is still something to do. A big plus. I wish other develops would take the hit -- smile *Interaction in every HO scene. These scenes are pretty easy, but the graphics are great and worth the play. *Mini-games are ones that I have not played before. Love it. You can also skip in the easy mode. *The directions/tutorial is OK, it would have been nice if they mentioned the 39 objects you can find to earn an achievement. *The game looks like it will have some length. I completed the demo (chapter 1) in a little under 40 minutes. Not sure how many chapters there are. * I recommend this game, but don't expected it to be too challenging. November 1, 2012
Compelling, so very original. I cannot praise this game enough. 7 hours of great game play. It has everything: - great story concept - professional voice overs - intriguing artwork - interactive map (which guides you through the game) - 3 levels of difficulty - great (but not too difficult) mini games - achievements, plus find 39 turtles (I only found 37 boo hoo!) Don?t miss this game, and don?t wait for the S/E because you will miss out. The Bonus Chapter is like a second (but connected) game. AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING. I was lucky, I chose to buy this game during the ONEDAY sale (30% off). I trialled 4 other C/E?s and then found this one. The draw card for me was the developer Mariaglorum. I have both their other games (Lockwood Manor and Kate Arrow - Deserted Wood) which are also very good, but nothing compares with this game. November 15, 2012
Fun wtih Krakens This is such a fun game. You travel to an abandoned island to find two archaeologists. You encounter a kraken and various sea monsters before you find them and realize how corrupt they have become. Then the fun really begins. The graphics are excellent, the cut scenes and voice overs are well done, the HOS are interesting, the mini games are fun, the storyline is a blast and the music is not annoying. The journal is excellent as is the map. The map allows you to jump between locations and shows you which locations have "to do" items. The SG is excellent and gives you a complete walk through of the game. The ending of the main game was okay, but the bonus chapter really wrapped up the story. The bonus chapter was excellent. You earn achievements as you move through the game. You also have to look for turtles in various locations, which was a hoot. This game was well worth the CE price! November 11, 2012
Interesting story I really enjoyed playing this game. It's a rather gloomy game about a sea side village that is deserted due to black water. The black water is due to a curse that must be undone. My review is based on the casual mode. I thought the art work and visuals were excellent,as well as the music which was pleasant and complemented the game very well. The mini games were very enjoyable and different then the run of the mill. If I had any complaints at all, I guess it would be the hint button which gives you that "there is nothing to do here answer which grates on my nerves a bit. Not a problem with the guide of course. The bonus game is almost another game in itself. I think it's acually the best bonus game I have played thus far! I really feel that I got my money's worth with this game, There are three modes of play, and a journal to refer to. I also believe there is a map which I never used. I definately recommend this game. November 9, 2012
Black Water RULES :) Keeping it simple since most has been covered and said by other reviewers already: So, based on the demo.... Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water is a definite buy; there is a scary factor without overt occult (which I try to avoid for personal reasons); the challenge is consistent and different enough to be truly interesting and engaging as far as the storyline; graphics and SFX, music, excellent. (Speaking of music, did I hear some X 'folder' (intentional misprint) music in there, haha)? A lot of imagination went into creating this game. I liked~! Thumbs way up. November 12, 2012
Great example of what a CE should be...(see bottom for bonus review) This is a very good HOPA and for a CE has all the extras which makes the CE worth it and not just the SE. It?s more adventure with some puzzles (22 puzzles and only 11 HOS) which is my type of game. The plot was good but a bit abrupt at the end. I wished it was fleshed out a bit more throughout the game, but after playing bonus, none of the main characters were in the bonus so that aspect doesn?t change. I just thought it was a good plot so would have liked more of it. It isn?t in the demo but there is dark ?spirit? in this game, so it has dark elements to it. This game has a lot of variety of areas which is great and it also has a very good transporter map with hints in it. There are three modes of play which is explained but note hardcore has no skip or hint button, so if you just don?t want sparkles you can choose ?advanced? the middle option as you can?t change your option once you start. 22 PUZZLES (roughly I think I?m out by a couple, I class a puzzle if it has a skip button) Thank you devs! A wide variety of hardness but mostly in the medium and medium/hard for a HOPA. LOVED the puzzles. There is also a wide variety of types of puzzles, from logical to arcade and even one hard (for me) timed puzzle. I loved the puzzles, it made the game for me. There were some old ones but it was mixed in with some types that aren?t that common. I thought it was a perfect hardness, easy enough not to be frustrated but not so easy as to become boring. I played advanced for a change instead of hardcore (as I like the option of the skip or hint button even if I rarely use it in any games) and with that timed puzzle was glad I did but did manage to do it. 11 HOS Another reason why I enjoyed this game so much ? no repeating of any scenes! YES ? thank you! Due to the type of game graphics I thought they were clear enough and not that many junk pile, mostly cluttered. Interactive, all list type. CE EXTRAS and BONUS 39 turtles to collect. This is how collectables should be, challenging and not that obvious in quite a few scenes. I LOVED them, and they were the best collectables I can remember for a long time. Collectables and achievements, having both makes a CE for me as not interested in anything else bar the bonus play. The one negative I have to say re the achievements is that 4 out of 15 of the achievements was time related. This isn?t a TM game so never understand why achievements are do a HOS in under a minute etc. 11 wallpaper 10 concept art 7 music BONUS (spoiler as to puzzle and HOS type) It?s the best quality bonus I?ve played for ages, not because of plot but purely it was all in a new location and there were quite a few different scenes in the new locations as well. It wasn?t very long about 1hr 10mins but it was good and very well done. After the minimum amount of HOS in the main game it did feel like there were more re ratio as I counted 3 HOS but they were of a completely different kind than main game. They were all find the shapes, once you found a shape you then used that in the HOS to uncover or do something else to get another and so on. Highest interaction you can have. The 10 (roughly) puzzles in the bonus were good, I thought they were about medium hardness. They did repeat one kind 3 times ? draw a line between each coloured gem but I love that puzzle and haven?t seen that in ages. The puzzles and how the collectables were done made this game for me but the gameplay was good as well. It all depends on what you are interested in but I recommend it and it does deserve 5 stars for transporter map, great collectables, achievements, good puzzles, non repeating of HOS, a bit different plot, and good gameplay. TIME 4HRS 45MINS (no hints except map hints and no skipping) BONUS another 1hr 10 mins (same as above) January 9, 2013
Outstanding game...loved it! Gorgeous graphics and crisp artwork make this game a pleasure to play. The disappearance of the two architects comprises a very small portion of the story; the rest of which is pure fantasy building to a spectacular conclusion. I played the hard version and was able to complete the game without using the hints or the map. But, that was my choice. In fact, I didn't realize there were turtles to be found until I was well into the game. I went back and found all but one- so I think I will just have to play this game again! I liked the challenge of the different achievements; this was new to me, as most games I've played didn't have these. It was also nice not to have to turn up the brightness on my monitor in order to find the hidden objects. All in all, this was a most enjoyable game to play. I highly recommend it! November 5, 2012
11-20 of 98 Reviews <<prev 2345...10next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water Collector's Edition

Uncover Poseidon’s ancient secrets hidden under the town of Black Water!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.