Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Exclusive bonus gameplay
  • Unlockable Morphing Objects
  • Beautiful screensavers & wallpapers
  • Exclusive behind-the-scenes video
  • Dynamic casebook and integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 1517 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition 2.6 5 811 811
Really Enjoyed This Game! In spite of all the negative reviews, I enjoyed this game. I found it challenging and fun. Loved the beautiful graphics and entry effect into the different scenes. Big Fish Studios always create the best Hidden Object games.They are always a step up from everyone else. That was my experience with this game....another step up!. It is truly a Mystery Case Files game. It has a touch of a "live" Madame Fate with the live actress who is the psychic that helps the "Detective" solve the mystery. I thought she was great. I did not find it disappointing at all, but fun. It was nice to have the "interactive" relationship with the character. It really made me feel like I was an actual detective, lots of things I had to figure out on my own. Loved the "How much is that Doggie in the Window song-great effect and the old VW! It was worth waiting for..Big fish knows how to incorporate new technology "creatively" in all their games and how to make them different from the rest. Looking forward to the next Mystery Case Files game..do we really have to wait a whole year for the next one? Thank you for this game and the MCF games you have yet to create! November 22, 2012
I'm not disappointed While my purchase was downloading, I went to read the reviews and was amazed at the amount of early comments being so negative. I'm not sure what others expected, but I found in this game exactly what I expected from BFG. I didn't beta nor trial... I just bought the game immediately because I trusted that any game carrying the MCF badge would be excellent. I'm not disappointed !!!!! I don't find Cassandra annoying, I don't find the gravity puzzle piece joining troublesome. I really like the opaque overlay aspect from EFR, and I really appreciate the effort applied to creation of having to search multiple locations for the HO inventory items. The video portions fit perfectly into the game and I'm spending lots of time immersed in the individual cut scenes as there is so much to appreciate. I'm one to strive for perfection and I don't care now long it takes me. This 9th installment will have the same replay value as the others (though RTR will remain my all-time favorite). Love, love, love the hint as to the 2013 theme. Coincidently, this month I replayed Huntsville, Prime Suspects and will get back to finish replaying Madame Fate after Shadow Lake is done... I figure that'll be in 5-7 days :) November 22, 2012
Another Fun MCF Game! Something different! I do not understand the low rating and the negative reviews for this latest edition of MCF. I'm sorry, but I've been a fan since Huntsville and each installment has greatly improved the game. I don't understand if people out there are resistant to change or what. Yes, be warned, this is not the usual MCF. But why should it be? The developers are trying new things to keep these games fresh. I, for one, don't want to see them give up or go back to the old ways. Each game is fun for different reasons and this one is just as good as the rest. First, the live actors. I heard complaints before when The 13th Skull came out. I love the addition of live actors and video feed. As I stated in my review of The 13th Skull, you solve puzzles and are rewarded with video to uncover the story. It goes back to the early CD-ROM craze of The 7th Guest. I love them. I feel it adds to the story and makes it "come alive." The next complaint, "this game is too dark and morbid." I think after nine games we've established that in MCF you play a detective that solves supernatural crimes. There are other light and fun games out there. I believe you should know what you're getting into by now. And I enjoyed the spooky atmosphere, the visuals look great and I jumped at visual scares quite a few times during this game. It was great fun. But there is also plenty of humor too. The in-jokes are great. I think there's a nice balance. Some feel the video and actors are too corny, but that just adds to the charm. One review states that Lea Thompson seemed to not get into her role. I disagree. She looks like she's having fun. It's a game, you get to ham it up. Cassandra's character is used as a vehicle for game play. People say she gets annoying, but once you start playing the game, you realize the pattern it takes. Cassandra's character just gives you an excuse to find hidden objects and pictures. It's a story telling device to give you a reason to find hidden objects. And this time around, the developers made the bonus chapter a bonus game. But you don't have to wait to the end to play it. Some complained there are no morphing objects. That's not true. During the game, you have to play the bonus feature to unlock the morphing objects. Then you get to find 50 objects during the rest of your game. There is no bonus chapter, but a nice "behind the scenes" video when you complete the game. The puzzles were enjoyable and just hard enough without being overly complicated like some past MCF. And instead of only one scene to find hidden objects, some are spread out in two scenes or more. For people who think this is too complicated, keep some things in mind: if you open a closer view screen during a hidden object quest, you will automatically be sent out of it when you find all the objects inside it. And as long as there is a hidden object list visible, you know you have to continue to search in those rooms with the list. Once you hit or back out to an area and your list disappears, you know you strayed too far. And as for the morphing object scenes, there is one in each new scene you enter. If you keep all these tips in mind, game play is pretty smooth. I enjoyed the story line. True, you can pretty much guess where it's going early on, but I don't think it takes away from the game. All in all, I thought this was another great MCF game. I loved the live action, the puzzles and the new format. It gave the game a few different twists but when you look at the whole picture, it's still the same game we've been playing just with a few more bells and whistles. When I first started the demo, I had to stop. I too thought this game was awful and the whole way it works seemed odd. But once I devoted some time and got a feel for how it works, it become very intuitive and I had a ball. I play these games very slowly and Shadow Lake kept me entertained for about a week. I applaud the new developments and look forward to seeing what the designers come up with next! Please don't be too quick to judge this game. It's just as fun as the rest. Enjoy! November 26, 2012
Another Terrific Game One thing you can count on...each MCF breaks new ground in technology and presentation. It's always a wonder to me how they continue to amp up the puzzles with new styles. I found the story engrossing and interesting. Matching the drawings with the scenes was fun and I found varying my strategy made it easier at times. I really liked how the HOs were completed across scenes instead of just digging through piles of stuff. Am I dense? It took me all day to get through the game, playing non-stop! Another winner, devs! And for players looking for the same old thing, this is not it. November 23, 2012
Puzzled at the Poor Reviews It's not often you see a game with such a variety of reviews. After reading several I decided to give it a try for myself and ended up buying it. I've felt that HOGs have become somewhat stagnant. This game does some new things that brought some life back into the genre. You are still given a list of objects, but they are not all in one place and you can move through a couple of "rooms" before you find everything. This made it a little more challenging - and frankly, I'm tired of finding everything on a list in less than a minute. Live actors made it kind of fun. I've seen a few games do it well and this one is no exception. The puzzles aren't really difficult, but things you need seem to be found in logical places and do sensible things. I have not yet had to trim a bush with a lobster (as in another game) - which I felt was really silly. Kudos to the writers and developer for trying some new things! November 24, 2012
BFG certainly know how to make good games Two game modes, I am playing on the harder of the two. The graphics are stunning and the game play is different even though there are hidden object scenes in the game they aren't the normal boring junk pile, At the moment I am downloading the full version and can't wait to re-start my game play again because it's gripped me so much, I'm not going to list the story etc. but all I will say is that this game is well worth the price. November 20, 2012
New Style-Best MCF So Far! Another superb MCF game with new and surprising puzzle styles. Very different from the usual HOG games and will raise the bar for other game developers. There are two game plays, an interactive map and very challenging puzzles. I think the gamers who did not like this game were taken aback by how different this game is! Play this game...you won't be disappointed! November 20, 2012
Very Enjoyable Game I can't believe how many stars this game has. I think it should be at least 4 stars, if not 5 overall. The graphics are good, the music is good. The hidden object scenes have more items that you would likely find in these areas than obscure things. The storyline is creepy, and I do want to find out what happened to the town. I don't understand why people are complaining about the price. This is a quality game and should be enjoyed by more people. The star rating will put a lot of people off. Try it and see if you enjoy it. Everyone is different, it might just surprise you! It reminds me a lot of The Women's Murder Club games so if you liked them, you will like this. November 25, 2012
Never disappointed with MCF! Whenever I see a new MCF, I don't even play the demo; I buy it. At first, I was frustrated because of some bugs, but the help page cleared those up instantly and I had no problems once I made the changes it recommended. Warning: this game is not as hard as previous MCF's. I was surprised by that, but it did not make the fun factor any lower. I still love the integration of live actors with computer gameplay and believe the MCF series does this far better than any other game. I'm surprised the game is being rated lower than previous MCF's and I can only guess it is due to the challenge level. However, I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this game to any MCF lover. Brilliantly done, great graphics, unique gameplay, great storyline, and overall, a fantastic play. Enjoy! November 21, 2012
Another step forward for MCF First of all, the video quality is excellent. Big Fish could teach a few of the other game companies how to create scenes that don't stutter and pause. I'm a big fan of live actors. It really creates a connection between the player and the game. I'm not sure why so many people want the same game over and over and I for one am glad Big Fish is willing to take risks to create a game that seems fresh instead of the same old thing. I can't wait to see the next incarnation! November 20, 2012
11-20 of 811 Reviews <<prev 2345...82next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.