Bookmark

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

Full version game
(1.02 GB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

How far will you go to save your only daughter's life? Is there a limit? Help Owen Wright rescue his daughter from the clutches of the Lonely Hearts Killer, the mysterious figure who kidnaps and murders people who have suffered a love gone wrong. Unravel the intrigue, put a stop to the whirlwind of crime that has paralyzed this late 19th century British city. Olivia must live! The killer must be brought to justice! Only you can do it!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus chapter with a surprising plot.
  • An integrated strategy guide
  • Downloadable soundtrack, concept art and wallpapers
  • An interview with the developers
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1193 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition 4.1 5 149 149
Clever detective game, worth buying! Some players have said that this game has too much talking, but I disagree, it reads like an Agatha Christie novel and the talking involves you further into the mystery. The time period is delightful, the graphics and details good, the story intriguing and you do feel like you are solving a real life English plot, none of this fairy-princess-magical-childish stuff that seems to be the order of the day and gets tiring pretty fast, at least for an adult. A few good HO, I usually am not fond of them but these were fine, clear and clever and not in abundance, and the mini-games fun and unusual and quite enjoyable. I also like the fact that the game had 3 separate chapters, so if you do not play it for a week for example, you have no problem remembering where you are since you have access to only 1 chapter at a time and do not have to go all the way back to refresh your memory. There is back and forth but limited to each chapter therefore not tedious. I loved playing this. It is clever and fun to solve, wish there were more true detective stories, in this vein, more realistic than what we get lately. December 23, 2014
omg enough with the cutscenes! this was a fun game and I enjoyed playing it, but at one point during one of the endless cutscenes, 'you' fall asleep. I thought yeah...me too. That's why it's such a huge file. As I've always known, bigger is not necessarily better. May 2, 2013
Better than the first I've always had mixed feelings about the first game in the series. While I liked the overall story and the voice overs, the amount of backtracking was beyond frusterating. Furthermore, though the voices were good I found that the dialogue could be a little too much at times. Because the villain spoke most of the lines, the game felt like one big monologue at times. Brink of Conciousness: The Lonely Hearts Killer solves many of the problems of the first. While it still would be nice to have a map that can teleport you to different locations, the amount of backtracking required in this game was reasonable and not grating. Instead of the previous title, BOC:LHK seperates the game into different chapters, thus limiting the amount of scenes you have to revisit. While there is still a hearty amount of dialogue in this game, it is interactive and diverse. You don't always have to listen to the same speaker, and the dialogue is a lot more relevant to the game play. Additonally, this game has more of a "who's done it?" vibe, which makes the dialogue more critical and enjoyable. In BOC:DGS, the player knows exactly who the culprit is, and we have to hear him go on and on about why he's done it. This removed some the suspense from the game, and BOC:LHK managed to avoid this by allowing the players to discover the culprit themselves. One thing that did dissapoint me about this game was the lack of clues regarding the killer. It would have been nice if there were cryptic clues scattered throughout that allowed us to figure out the mystery before the game reveals it. I also found this game to be a little bit too short for my liking, though a bonus chapter is included in the Collector's edition. Overall, this is an enjoyable game. I bought it on sale and I'm glad I did. I loved the story, and found the gameplay to be far less frusterating than its predecessor. It ran a little short, and I wish that they had included more clues during the game in order to make it feel more like a genuine mystery and less like a mystery movie. If you don't like a lot of dialogue, you may not like this game. Fortunately, you can skip dialogues though they often contain details important to the story. It isn't quite as frightening as the BOC:DGS, but the gameplay is far less tedious. If you liked the previous title, I think that you'll probably enjoy this one. It's flawed, but definately playable. April 29, 2013
A detective story that you shouldn't miss Tell the truth, I still prefer the first Brink of Consciousness than this one. However, you should not miss to try this game. Lonely Heart Killer is indeed a great story about detective fighting against a mysterious killer, racing against time. The story would be more interesting if it was a bit longer. For me, the Collector Edition is still too short, and I couldn't enjou much. Because of this, I feel like the story was... shorten for some parts. The graphic of the Lonely Hear Killer is indeed beautiful, and brings out the atmosphere of the story: semi- dark, mystery and peaceful (Compare to the first series, this one is not scary much). The voice actors are doing their job well, not excellent, but we can skip this part. And of course, the music is good as well. Puzzles, for me, only few of them are challenge (may be because I've played too much puzzle games). However, other puzzles are good enough for everyone (even children) to solve. Overall, if you like detective story, you should give this a try. It's worth with money. February 22, 2013
A little lighter than expected. If you've a itch to play a Sherlock Homes type of HOM, then Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition is exactly what you are looking for. Set in a late 19th century british town we never learn the name of you follow is the step of Owen Wright to find your missing daughter. You have help from a local inspector, although his underlings are not all that bright. Your daughter, Olivia, is a distraught young woman in the fall of a nasty broken relationship, and she is the perfect target for the Lonely Hearts killer. This dangerous figure preys on those on the outs of of love, and now that Olivia has disappeared, she might be next in line for this monster to take down. While this game has a great plotline, and some clues are rather easy to follow, the background is a muddy nighttime grey just about all the time. The hidden object puzzles are not like this, however, and this kicked the fun factor up a bit. I actually found myself chuckling when I click on a mouse squeaky toy and ten cats popped up, although I only had to find the black one. Cute little diversions kept what might be an otherwise really dark game lighter and more fun that its other game in the franchise, Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome. These games, however do keep me curious to see what the writers will come up with next. December 19, 2012
Lonely Hearts - Fair Effort I have read all the low rated reviews so decided to try the game first. Not as good as the first Brink of Consciousness, but a fair game. There is a lot of talking and the gameplay follows the usual format, so some of the puzzles are really easy, but it is still enjoyable. Not worth 5 stars though - would really like to give it 3 1/2 stars rather than 4. December 7, 2012
Started out great! Beautiful game! The game is truly enjoyable and lasts a good while. Toward the end, I felt the game started to get predictable and boring with the repetitious HOs and there was not much a climax at the end, but overall solid game with gorgeous graphics and relaxing music. November 28, 2012
MIXED EMOTIONS Storyline - There has been a series of murders and your daughter goes missing so you join forces with the detective to find her and the killer. Avatars/VOS - Excellent IHOS - Repeated, fairly clear with small objects that require a magnifying glass. A few hos required puzzle interaction which I found annoying and became frustrated with it. Glad for the hint button. Puzzles within the hos cannot be skipped so I had to go into the guide just to solve a hos puzzle. ARGH! Too much stress for me to be enjoyable. Hint - Recharges quickly and guides you to each location Misclick Penalty - None Puzzles/Mini Games - Usual variety of levels from difficult to easy for experts. I skipped just about all of them. Inventory - Objects collected used quickly in various locations Map - Does not transport Bonus Game - Played part of it but could not continue This game annoyed me in many ways despite my favorites - avatars/vos/storyline. Too many areas to search, too many keys and puzzle parts to find. Parts are located in different areas. Wish the devs would allow all items needed to complete a puzzle to be found in one place so there wouldn't be so much back tracking. Enjoyed the humor between the detective and the officer. This game reminded me of a Sherlock Holmes mystery in some ways. I found it to be too long and thought it would never end. I prefer shorter games which gives me the opportunity to start a new game. LOL For gamers who want a real challenge, then this is the game for you. Need to start a new, shorter game to decompress from this one. :-D November 26, 2012
lonely hearts murders I think this game is excellent. I enjoyed the voice over and the story .I hope there will be more like this. it is like ready a story and with the games being different was great. November 26, 2012
A worthy succesor to Dorian Gray Syndrome One good thing right at the start: there are seriously no ghosts. I liked the serial killer and procedural approach. It looks fantastic, puzzles come along in a nice variety. Totally recommendable then? Well, almost. - the story is broken into chapters, which I didnt really like. - while the developers obviously put a lot of work into the story (which is pretty interesting), there are LONG (skippable) scenes of dialogue in between, which almost gives it a "Im-watching-a-movie"-kind of feel. Good then, that the voice acting does not mutilate your ears. - Detective Logan must be the most useless cop running around out there. All he did was stand around and let the player do the job. Man, he was getting to me. - they repeated that in bonus chapter, only that now YOU are the detective and theres another useless cop at your side. Having said that, I enjoyed the bonus chapter almost more than the game itself. Its long, theres a bunch of fun puzzles. The end build a nice bridge to the first Brink. All in all, a worthy successor (or maybe prequel) and fun to play. November 25, 2012
101-110 of 149 Reviews <<prev 910111213...15next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

Olivia has been kidnapped by the mysterious Lonely Hearts Killer who murders those suffering from a shattered love. Save her!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.