Bookmark

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

Full version game
(1.02 GB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

How far will you go to save your only daughter's life? Is there a limit? Help Owen Wright rescue his daughter from the clutches of the Lonely Hearts Killer, the mysterious figure who kidnaps and murders people who have suffered a love gone wrong. Unravel the intrigue, put a stop to the whirlwind of crime that has paralyzed this late 19th century British city. Olivia must live! The killer must be brought to justice! Only you can do it!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus chapter with a surprising plot.
  • An integrated strategy guide
  • Downloadable soundtrack, concept art and wallpapers
  • An interview with the developers
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1193 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition 4.1 5 145 145
Like an Old Time Movie This game was so fun. Love the easy going play between characters. I did not think it was going to be a great game, but the review got me interested. Love the hidden way the cats were in the HOS. That was great fun. So many great games this year that I need a top 20 so I can have this on my favorites list. November 26, 2012
LOVED IT. EXCELLENT HIDDEN OBJECT SCENES This is a very well designed hidden object mystery game that gives you the sense of being in a turn-of-the-century murder mystery in high society england. You get drawn in as characters talk to you, and you respond vocally in the game. You can choose not to engage in conversation beyond the initial needed conversations that progress the game, or you can click on characters and have them converse at length with you, but you don't need to go through the complete conversations in order to advance and play the game. The hidden object scenes are the best I've encountered in a long time. If you love playing hidden object games, you should enjoy this. The scenes are active and entertaining. For example, in a hidden object scene behind one of the locked gates there is the typical mix of objects but there is also a can of paint hanging from a rope. You have to tip the can of paint to make it spill over a ball on the ground to turn the ball red and then collect the red ball. And there is a cat toy, a squeaking rubber mouse, you touch it to make it squeak and four different cats stick their heads out from behind various objects... you have to click on the black cat to collect it.., but the cats duck down again quickly so you have to be ready, and each time you squeeze the cat toy the black cat pops up in a different place. That's just an example of the clever and creative design that went into making the hidden object scenes lots of fun to play in this game. I highly recommend this game. November 25, 2012
A Sherlock Holmes type of story I surprised myself by enjoying this game immensely and, even with a decided lack of patience, I listened to all of the conversations. If you do not like a good old fashioned Sherlock Holmes detective story - and I'm not a huge fan of detective shows in general myself - with a lot (and I mean, an awful) lot of dialogue, then turn away now. This, however, pulled me in from the start. I very much enjoyed Dorian Gray and this is on a par with that game, even though it plays completely differently. There are references to Dorian Gray, which are explained in interviews with the developers in the 'Extras'. The music is relaxing and different for a change, the voiceovers very well done and I even enjoyed the H0S, some of which have humorous elements to them. Puzzles, I agree, are way too easy. I counted some 13 H0S in the main game and 4 in the bonus; and 17 puzzles main game, 4 in the bonus. I didn't find there to be too much running around. Once you move to a new location, you don't get to go right back to the very beginning. For me a teleportation map was not necessary, therefor, and I hardly looked at the map. Frankly, I'd rather play another game in this vein than the disappointment that was this year's MCF. November 24, 2012
Sherlock-Like Game has a Watson/Sherlock Holmes feel to it. A gentleman and police officer work together to try and find the gentleman's missing daughter. Many conversations, and lots of walking around. The game gave me the sense that it is an old converted adventure game with an excellent storyline. Audio/Video: Audio is pleasant and atmospheric. Game has a lot of talking but it is done with voiceovers - so not a lot of reading required. Options beyond basics: Full Screen, Aspect Correction and Film Grain. Strategy Guide has one chapter, but Bonus has something extra - interview with the developer. Game Map is not interactive, but shows active areas and your current location. Highest difficulty level will turn off the map and sparkles. Puzzles were fairly easy for the most part. Enjoy. November 18, 2012
Beautiful Game But.... I played the CE version and this review is based on the trial. There are 3 difficulty modes: Casual, Normal and Expert. I played the game on Normal. PROS Beautiful graphics Logical Storyline Interesting Puzzles CONS Too much talking! The cut scenes were numerous, and you could not advance through the dialog. There was a skip button, but I didn't want to miss out on any clues. Puzzles could be more difficult. Sparkles - maybe on the Expert level you would not have the sparkle hints...but if you waited more than 5 seconds it sparkled on a clue. I would probably buy this as a SE version on sale. December 1, 2012
good game just too much going all over the place The graphics and music are good. Has voice over with still lots of talking. The HOS are easy, my problem is not a full screen to see them good. The puzzles are quite good, some easy some not. There is lots of going all over the place to find things to use. The map is not that good. Tells you where to go but does not transport you there. Hint button works good. Lots better than the other one. May 11, 2013
Much Like Sherlock Holmes I own the previous Brink of Consciousness game and loved it and this one hasn't disappointed me. A very well developed game and realistic characters with good voice overs. There's a lot of running back and forth but it definitely holds your interest. This game really reminds me of some of the Sherlock Holmes games I've played. Mysteries like this usually always make for a really good game. Puzzles aren't really difficult. Very good continuation of the Brink theme. November 18, 2012
Very nice game. Excellent graphics and game play. Very nice voice-overs, but I do love a good English/British accent. Nice music and I even like the sound you get when you find a HOG item (very nice for a change). HOGs nice and games not difficult but do take a bit of thought. Would be nice to have a jump map, with all the running back and forth. Already gone through a pair of tennis shoes this morning with just the demo. There is a great deal of diagloge, which is nice, but a bit over done. You can't click through it to hurry it along and skipping it completely takes away from the game. As I said, there is a lot of it. Really enjoyed this game and have the need to find out how it ends (I'm sure I already know, but what the heck). I actually gave this game a 4.75, simply because the story line if not really new. It is a very nice game and I am going to purchase this one. As always, try it for yourself and see if it is right for you. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for it at all. Thanks for the reviews. November 18, 2012
I'm conflicted... I absolutely LOVED the first BOC game, so I came to this with high hopes...that initially, seemed doomed to be dashed. This game, while very good, doesn't quite live up to the first BOC. There are FAR too many cut scenes, the accents (even to a non-Brit) can be a bit hard to take, and the dialogue lurches between Victorian and modern-day...However, after watching part of the interviews in the Bonus Content (and I will go back and watch the rest; time is a factor here), I am quite willing to cut the devs a bit of slack and concede that I can't wait to re-play this game, in light of what I now know. Herewith, the pros and cons: Pros 1) Hands down, visually, one of the most beautiful games I've seen. I have a brand-new 24" monitor, and this game fills every square inch with simply gorgeous graphics. I liked the look of the earlier BOC, and the devs only build on that here. The Chinatown scenes, in particular, are simply phenomenal. 2) The music, oddly enough. No, the '40s, film-noir feel doesn't exactly fit the VIctorian England setting, but the music is beautiful, haunting, and one of only two soundtracks that I've ever wanted to listen to outside of the game. (Dire Grove was the other.) 3) The story - and I don't mean to belittle this element by placing it third, but, perhaps significantly, that's where it occurred to me. We have here a murder mystery, unlike the earlier game, where Oscar introduced himself right from the start. It's an intriguing story, if a bit far-fetched, but surely, the first thing we must be willing to do in one of these games is suspend disbelief. The story caught me up and carried me on, and I don't ask more than that. 4) Intriguing puzzles, with a level of difficulty that, for me, was spot on. I don't like puzzles that insult my intelligence; I also don't like puzzles that make me pound my head on the desk. That's a difficult line to walk; these puzzles do it perfectly - and I hadn't seen most, if not all, of them ever before. No Towers of Hanoi here, people. (Not that there's anything wrong with ToH.) 5) HO scenes that were clear and beautiful to look at, with a nice mix of regular and interactive objects. And now to the cons.. 1) Do any of the characters EVER stop talking? There was SO much dialogue here, and you really do need to listen to it, or you'll simply be lost. Some of the accents were "a bit dodgy" LOL, and some of the lines were ...just odd, but when I consider that this is from a dev for whom English is not the first language, much is forgiven. If the idiom ranges from Victorian to dated present-day, at least they get the point across. 2) SO many cutscenes - a carryover from point 1. I think, having watched the interviews, that the main problem here may that the devs were trying to cross genres - going from the self-described "horror story" of Dorian Grey to a murder mystery. I think they need to find a better way to convey the story behind a murder mystery, and, given what I've already seen from these folks, I think they will. I can't wait for their next effort. All in all, a good solid second effort. Like so many encore performances, this doesn't quite live up to the first. However, had it BEEN the first effort from these devs, I think we would all be raving about this game. Even if you don't feel inclined to purchase the CE (although I highly recommend that you do - the bonus isn't NECESSARY to the story, but it is illuminating), do buy the SE, if for no other reason than to bask in the simple beauty of the game. Darn near every scene is going into Jigsaws Galore to enjoyed all on it's own. November 30, 2012
Well done game you enjoy! Excellent graphics, sound and animation that makes you relax and enjoy the story. Nearly like a movie and at the same time you are an active part in it. My fiance is a senior game developer, so I have seen a lot of good graphics. This game is one of the most well done, no cheating with graphics and storytelling here, no. November 30, 2012
81-90 of 145 Reviews <<prev 7891011...15next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

Olivia has been kidnapped by the mysterious Lonely Hearts Killer who murders those suffering from a shattered love. Save her!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.