Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 1482 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 192 192
disappointed I have purchased all the MCF games, and I usually enjoy them. I usually get stumped and have to go the the forum for help. I was very disappointed with Shadow Lake. It was nowhere close to the standard of Dire Grove, or Return to Ravenhurst. It was not interesting or challenging. I will continue to purchase future MCF games with the hope that the new games will be as challenging as the first ones were. December 26, 2012
Not impressed!! I was extremely disappointed with this game and felt it wasn't worth the price. I always look forward to the Mystery Case Files games as all the others were sooo fun to play, but not this one. I hated having to go back to the fortune teller all the time and also felt the drawings were too hard to see. I would like to see the next MCF game with the same level of play as the previous ones. December 27, 2012
Worst of the series I absolutely love Mystery Case Files. It's my favorite series and I've played every game in it (including the Wii and DS ones). This is by far the worst one. I usually look forward to playing MCF games. This one, I couldn't wait to be done with it. And, considering how short it was, that didn't take long. There is really no storyline at all here, never mind a climax. We've investigated a relic in Dire Grove, so that's stale. I have no idea why a reality ghost hunting show is even brought up in the beginning, since it has nothing to do with anything else. She works for them, but she could just be any ole' psychic. After each round of "psychic pictures" you have to do this incredibly annoying spinning puzzle scene. I sincerely hope those won't be appearing in future games. There weren't even many HO scenes. Booooo. MCF really dropped the ball on this one. The next installment better be amazing to erase the bitter (heh) memory of this disaster. January 6, 2013
Just frustrating I am almost finished playing this game and I can't wait until it's over! It is just annoying. What happened to the great puzzles in the previous MCF games? The things I really hated were not knowing in what room to look for the HO items, the inventory bouncing up and down, the lack of information on the map (yes, it had labeled locations, but only sometimes) and the floating pieces of the Mystic's mind that needed to be put together. Please don't do that again! It's a shame that this game was so poor, since I have loved playing the others. Yes, it was challenging, but not in a good way. March 21, 2014
Not the best I've been a big fan of this series for a long time now and this game was not the greatest out of them. Visuals and sounds were amazing as always but somehow the fun factor was lost around the end. I followed the storyline and it made sense but wasn't to enticing. Also I thought the acting of Cassandra was over exaggerated so I found my self thinking "wow this is stupid" during quite a few cut scenes. Challenge wise it was good there were a few things that I needed hints for which is a good thing but the very last puzzle with the alter I felt like I had no direction with it all. I even asked my fiance to help and he didn't get it so eventually I used a guide. So in all I personally disliked the game. January 13, 2014
THIS is a MCF game?? I found the game pretty boring, the dialog with Lea Thompson contrived, and the "floating box" puzzles annoying. When I think of the "Ravenhearst" series, etc, I can't see how this even made the MCF cut. I'd rather replay an older MCF title! January 8, 2013
Not up to past MCF standards I was extremely dissapointed in the game. Don't know what has happened to the creators their games used to be great. You spend all your time going back and forth to the fortune teller for silly drawings that are difficult to see and didn't see the point of them. You can't skip her annoying dialog and I didn't like that. After a while I couldn't remember what the point of the game was. Boring and slow. Couldn't see all the inventory items had to keep rolling them around. December 25, 2012
How Embarassing for Lea Thompson - Terrible MCF Game!! Big Fish needs to give up on the Mystery Case Files series and start something fresh and new. Just when I thought the 13th Skull was the worst MCF ever, Big Fish comes up with Shadow Lake and proves me wrong. The graphics and audio are fine. No complaints there really. But the rest of the game is a mess. Even Lea Thompson couldn't save this train wreck of a game. There are really no puzzles to solve. Gameplay is very predictable and you almost feel as though you're watching a movie instead of playing a game. The high number of cutscenes is ridiculous. Several times I had to remind myself of what my goal was. Lovers of previous MCF games such as Madame Fate and Return to Ravenhearst will be extremely disappointed with this latest offering, just as I was. In fact I was so upset with spending my hard earned money on the Collector's Edition, that I asked Big Fish for a refund and they game it to me. December 25, 2012
not up to usual standards I love mystery case files but this one just bored me. tried the CE and decided to wait for the Se but it just didn't help. I was very dissapointed and bored. I hope this is just a one time mishap and we go back to more interesting and fun mystery case files. this was just annoying. December 25, 2012
So "game of the year" really means absolutely nothing I guess they just promote whatever they want to sell the most of as this is the worst MCF I have ever played. I don?t usually let reviews sway my own decision. In this case, most of them are spot on. This MCF is not even in the same league as past offerings and not even for a 2.99 coupon would I consider it. It?s just awful. I am truly baffled as to why this was even sent out for public humiliation. Leah Thompson added nothing but bad acting. Overemphasized gestures, head and hair flinging, bulging eyed, pathetic camp that even the vaudevillians would have found cringe worthy. She was so good in other movies in the past. Did she not take this seriously? Its like a movie you watch, but barely participate in. Cut scene?s are too many and boring. Weighted puzzle blocks are not that fun in any game, let alone this one. items are incredibly small, in a window in multi rooms and not interactive. Honestly I have a 26" monitor and it was a squint fest to find some of the stuff in about an 8 inch window. That is Velveeta all the way. The cheesiest. Matching objects to leahs drawings was tedious. Its the polar opposite of "game". It?s not fun, not all that interactive considering the cut scene to play ratio, and Leah Thompson brought a new low to the genre. The windowed HO multi room aspect really is awful. I have been revisiting old offerings as what seemed to not be my cup of tea is infinitely better in retrospect that many of the new rush to production for maximum profit garbage. If this is the future, If this is what?s to come for casual gaming the people that make their living from this are signing their own pink slips. We all lose. Just sad really. I had great expectations. What a disappointment! January 4, 2013
141-150 of 192 Reviews <<prev 1314151617...20next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.