Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 1482 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 207 207
not up to usual standards I love mystery case files but this one just bored me. tried the CE and decided to wait for the Se but it just didn't help. I was very dissapointed and bored. I hope this is just a one time mishap and we go back to more interesting and fun mystery case files. this was just annoying. December 25, 2012
So "game of the year" really means absolutely nothing I guess they just promote whatever they want to sell the most of as this is the worst MCF I have ever played. I don?t usually let reviews sway my own decision. In this case, most of them are spot on. This MCF is not even in the same league as past offerings and not even for a 2.99 coupon would I consider it. It?s just awful. I am truly baffled as to why this was even sent out for public humiliation. Leah Thompson added nothing but bad acting. Overemphasized gestures, head and hair flinging, bulging eyed, pathetic camp that even the vaudevillians would have found cringe worthy. She was so good in other movies in the past. Did she not take this seriously? Its like a movie you watch, but barely participate in. Cut scene?s are too many and boring. Weighted puzzle blocks are not that fun in any game, let alone this one. items are incredibly small, in a window in multi rooms and not interactive. Honestly I have a 26" monitor and it was a squint fest to find some of the stuff in about an 8 inch window. That is Velveeta all the way. The cheesiest. Matching objects to leahs drawings was tedious. Its the polar opposite of "game". It?s not fun, not all that interactive considering the cut scene to play ratio, and Leah Thompson brought a new low to the genre. The windowed HO multi room aspect really is awful. I have been revisiting old offerings as what seemed to not be my cup of tea is infinitely better in retrospect that many of the new rush to production for maximum profit garbage. If this is the future, If this is what?s to come for casual gaming the people that make their living from this are signing their own pink slips. We all lose. Just sad really. I had great expectations. What a disappointment! January 4, 2013
My Review is based on the CE Version I'm not alone in how I feel about this game.....check out the 721 (at the time of this posting) reviews of the CE Version with an overall rating of 2 1/2 stars. Hopefully BFG read the CE reviews that are varied, well written, explaining overall why this game is such a disappointment from players that have been around since the first MCF game was released to the newer players. I'm not attempting to take away the enjoyment the first reviewer experienced. Who knows....maybe the SE is different, but I'm not going to replay it again to find out. This is just to let other's know there are 721 reviews posted with stars...not including the reviews in the "tips" forum link. December 25, 2012
A great disappointment I am a fan of the earlier MCF games, but this one is a sad departure from what was once an enjoyable series. The game suffers sadly from overacting, a cheesy plot, unnecessary "back-and-forthing," and a disjointed combination of animation and live action, as well as unfocused and unsatisfying hidden object scenes. There have been some wonderful games released recently, but this isn't one of them. It is not a game on which I would recommend spending your money. December 25, 2012
Sad Day for MCF Fans ....... Terrible game ! I am so sorry I wasted a free credit on this game. I bought it without trying it first, and I sure won't make that mistake again ! Absolutely hated the entire game. It should not even be classed as a hidden object game, too much back and forth, and the stupid games where you have to connect the pieces was tedious after the second time, and the worst part is at the end where the credits are rolled and they must mention every person that works at BF or has ever worked there and there is no way to escape so you have to sit through all the credits ! December 26, 2012
THE WORST I have never been so disappointed in a game before and I have played some awful ones. After plodding through the demo I played "Return to Ravenhearst" and my heart just broke. Why? Why ruin what was so great about MCF? "Return to Ravenhearst" and "Dire Grove" are absolutely fantastic - the cream of the crop and I so wanted this game to be the same. It's not even close. The master detective is nothing more than an errand boy. No snarky remarks about a grody toilet in a horrible bathroom. No funny remarks when I try to use something from my Inventory that is obviously wrong. No humor - "Madame Fate" had humor. There is none here. None. No humor, no adventure, and no fun. This is the "Game of the Year"? I can't believe it. December 30, 2012
MCF, what happened? So disappointing. I honestly don't know what to say (which will ultimately follow with alot to say). Over the last few years, MCF has ruled my Mac...and each year, I wait anxiously for the next one. I don't even bother with the demos. If its MCF, it's bound to be excellent. After 13th Skull and Escape from R, your expectations are at their highest and honestly, all other HOG's fail miserably in comparison. Nothing is ever good enough. So what happened here? The game started off pretty well. I met it with my usual enthusiasm and was pleasantly pleased with the graphics, the use of real actors, and the direction the storyline appeared to be taking. My first 10 minutes seemed to be going well. And then Lea Thompson (or more specifically her character) happened. What followed from here is baffling. Why is the acting so bad, why was the story so poor, and WHY was there a complete DISREGARD for morphing objects? Sure, there's nothing wrong with a classic object find but if you are going to re-introduce it after MO, make it count. This was terribly boring and far too easy. So what is wrong with it (Yes, sadly there is more - and it pains me to write it) - 1. Predictable gameplay and very little entertainment value 2. Boring object finds and sadly no MO. 3. Extremely tedious picture finds. The last MCF game I played was EscapeFR and the picture find was great. But here the drawings collected were pointless and in my opinion, not strong enough to base an entire game on. And the videos that followed - goodness no! 4. You would expect some relief when the puzzles are presented to you but I had to fight off the urge to skip each one. I NEVER skip a puzzle and here, it was all I wanted to do. 5. Where were the interactive rooms? Usually, you could play with all sorts of pointless objects. Dolls would talk, drawers would pry open. Again, I refer to Escape FR. Half the fun is learning that the game itself is a toy. 6. The game cuts and back-and-forth'ing are horribly painful 7. I hated that there was an order to EVERYTHING. "Find this and bring it back". Well what if I don't want to? What if I want to stumble into somewhere / onto something else and start a different task? Sure, you might not be able to move forward until certain elements are completed but most of the time, you will find something else to do on a different path - so allow me that option. 8. As much as I can understand that the map might be favoured by many, I love that I need to move through all the areas of the game. Im forced to become more familiar with the scenes and I discover something new everytime. Whats right with it? Live actors and is some cases, great graphics. That's it. But to be fair, most of your other MCF games included the same and I would play those a million times over. So what does this actually do better? The truth of it is, I never finished my game. I couldn't. I ALWAYS buy the CE but accidentally bought the SE - and boy am I glad I made that mistake. Was there some sort of missed deadline here? Or did MCF just halve production time to maximize profits? You already have a world of followers, you don't need to fix what isn't broken! Return TR and Escape FR were EXCELLENT, unbeatable in my books. So just keep doing what you're doing and you'll have another hit. To sum up - too much money spent advertising and too little spent living up to its expectations. Sorry MCF and BFG. Although I am still a huge fan and will continue to play your games, I feel this project has opened some uncertainty for future MCF's. Demo's first from here on out ;( March 13, 2013
waste of money and time Ill start with what I liked: the HOS were more blended in with the game, ea you didnt get a cluttered screen with random object that don't belong there. Always hated that, so that was a good innovation. Still like the real actors, althought this specific actress I could do without. Very nice graphics. Unfortunatly, thats where the positive ends.The beginning of the game seems very suspenseful and fun but that feeling dies down quickly. One thing I especially hated was that there's no bonding whatsoever with the character you're playing (the detective). No comments when you click wrong, no suggestions, no remarks... Also, he didnt write anything in his journal when an event happend. You could always read up on his thoughts before, which I very much enjoyed. It was buggy at times! I once got my map wiped out and another time the diary was half empty again. Unacceptable. The puzzles were absent most of the time. If there were any, they were either stupidly easy or I had no idea what the point was. I always loved the difficult puzzles that gave you a sensation of achievement when you completed them. There's a difference between not having a clue what to do and finding it difficult to do it. Like the latter, hate the former. Near the end, I was skipping a lot, just cause I stopped caring. Also, the repetitive weighted block puzzle was SO boring. It's a simple puzzle, made 'difficult' by making it hard to move the puzzlepieces around. Lazy developing if you ask me. At some level I liked that you could use an object multiple times (the ladder) but I kept forgetting to bring it along from one scene to the other. Backtracking just to get the ladder was NOT fun. A terrible hint system! The hints you get are often so vague they don't help at all. All in all a tremendous let down after enjoying the Ravenhearst games and dire grove. I honestly thought they'd pick up the pace after the failure of 13th Skull but after playing this, the skull seems a great game. February 21, 2013
A BIG DUD MCF must be high....this game was very disappointing and I am appalled. January 5, 2013
disappointing Between the hammy acting and the constant going back and forth, the game is a waste of time. I'm glad I tried it out before wasting my money. Lackluster, boring.. there aren't enough negatives to describe it. December 26, 2012
161-170 of 207 Reviews <<prev 1516171819...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.