Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 1482 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 208 208
disappointing Between the hammy acting and the constant going back and forth, the game is a waste of time. I'm glad I tried it out before wasting my money. Lackluster, boring.. there aren't enough negatives to describe it. December 26, 2012
There are no words... I can't even begin to describe my intense dislike for this game. My family and I have been following the Mystery Case Files games for a while now. At least 4+ years and we've played all the games before then as well. Our favorites are the Ravenhearst cannon by far! All three games were brilliant and the puzzles were amazing and difficult and good fun! This game is a shame to the name of Mystery Case Files. I'm sorry. There were maybe 4 actual puzzles to figure out and they weren't even difficult! Also the acting...my gosh the acting. Here's some advice, stop putting real life people into the games unless they're ghosts like you did in Ravenhearst. It's a big disappointment because I play these games for the challenge and this one was a big flop. If you're reading my review to consider this game: run away as quick as you can! Waste of money and precious time that you could be playing a much better game like Ravenhearst or Dire Grove. Big disappointed Big Fish. :( May 30, 2014
Waste of $2.99 Cassandra killed this game, why all the long drawn out talking that can't be skipped - boring Half of the playing field was too dark and lots of things were really too small to see May 22, 2014
What Happened to MCF? I read the reviews when the game first came out and decided not to buy. However, when the $4.99 special came I went ahead and took a chance - how bad could MCF be? Sorry I wasted even $4.99 on this game. Not fun at all. The puzzles after bringing her the drawings were tedious and boring. Please don't waste your money on this game. January 1, 2013
Bring back the "Madame Fate" spirit I didn't get the full version and playing the demo and reading the over reviews, I'm glad I didn't. I used to love MCF games, but for the 2 - 3 last games I was disappointed and this one was the worse. I didn't see any real challenge in the game, also I don't really like the facts that real actors are in... My favorite MCF was Madame Fate and I wish the game series would go back that way and not continue in this annoying game with real actor path, even more because I don't think the actors bring anything good to the game and the difficulty has dropped... December 27, 2012
Not what an MCF game should be... I was in disbelief when I read the reviews and decided I'd get this game but as an SE anyways because I liked 13th Skull and also loved the creepiness factor of Escape From Ravenhearst. I also love dire grove and return to ravenhearst as well as many of the list hidden object original ones but this one is just a sad state of affairs. This game is NOT up to par with games that have been released in the past year. This is one of those series that is heavily awaited each year, an event that most people look forward to and I can say this game is just one huge disappointment. My reasons for 1 star: -Hidden Object Scenes- They are NOT interactive. They are in dark, dismal locations making items extremely hard to see. There is nothing new or innovative about them. Its a run of the mill type style. Even their old style games have more character and style to them then these ones. -Graphics- This game is dismal, dreary and not fun to look at. Im all for misty, foggy, dreary locations but this game makes it almost impossible to play. Its ugly and because of that, its hard to focus on the task. Rooms are dark and dingy. Can't see where you are or what to do. Not up to MCF standards. -Level of Challenge- MCF games are known for being challenging, thats what makes them so fun. You have to take notes and literally be your own detective. This game was dumbed down. It is NOT hard, it is NOT up to par with previous games. Playing on the hardest mode was not hard. It has too much handholding. I don't even need a strategy guide and Im just playing the SE version. Usually Id need to buy the CE but there was no need especially with no bonus game. -Storyline- It makes no sense. It doesn't follow through. Its not scary. I don't care about the characters or why I need to save them. This is not a real detective story, it doesn't pull you in or make you want to solve anything! There isn't much to solve anyways! -Mini games- All of them are quite easy but the one in-between chapters is especially awful. Its tedious to maneuver the pieces. Its awkward and does nothing for the story. It repeats and gets larger each time making it more tedious. -Acting/Voiceovers- This is a live acting type game. IF you are going to do that successfully, you need to have GOOD actors. Im sorry but Lea Thompson is beyond terrible and she's a pretty good actress so the fact she's that bad means it was bad directing or just a bad script. The rest of the characters are awful too especially that girl in the treehouse. The fact you have to keep returning to that psychic (lea) and her voice keeps coming into the game to tell you about her revelations and about what objects and readings she gets, makes the game even more annoying. I tried turning off the voiceovers but it doesn't help the game. Overall, whoever came up with this game concept needs to trash it and start over. Id rather have a game closer to return to ravenhearst or Dire Grove then trying to go above and beyond everything and everyone in the developer world. Sometimes bigger isn't always better and this game sure proves that. I am halfway done and cannot handle the repetition this game has or the tasks. I feel like it is boring and a chore to get through so I am opting to not finish it which I rarely do. Even the most torturous games I own, I still finish because I like to have a sense of completion but this game is so bad, I don't care what happens. Id rather play an ERS game over this and I haven't been a fan of ERS in years. I clearly do not recommend this game. June 2, 2013
Story line very confusing Hard to follow. Strategy guide was not useful at all. The floating pictures to piece together were hard to assemble. The 'psychic' who 'revealed' the clues was so poorly acted. January 1, 2013
So disappointing I bought this MCF game to play after Christmas. What a disappointment. What rubbish. I had no idea what the point of the game was. I spent the time going back and forth to that fortune teller who told me to go back again. Total waste of money. Nowhere near as good as previous MCF games. December 29, 2012
toatlly boring waste of time and money,storyline boring. have to go back to psychic too often,short game. Mystery Case Files used to do great stuff..been waiting for their new games..very disappointed December 27, 2012
Most disappointing game of the Mystery Case File Series I have played all of the games by Mystery Case Files and this is by far the worst game I have ever played....the hos were ok but making them multiple areas didn't do anything for me. The mini puzzles...which were very few..were not challenging at all. The floating puzzles in between each chapter were just plain irritating and I skipped through all but one....I'm so disappointed in Mystery Case Files...will not purchase another one without trying it first. I recommend that you don't buy this game before you try it. December 26, 2012
171-180 of 208 Reviews <<prev 161718192021next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.