Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 1482 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 206 206
Pretty entertaining -- and a little spooky, too! This game is much more entertaining than the average review lets on. Since this game is on special sale this week, I tested it and bought it after 15 minutes of trial, and have been enjoying it. Yes, the psychic (played by a professional actress) is waaaay too hammy to the smallest gesture and eye roll, and the director of the cut scenes should have toned her down. But the story proceeds well and steadily. You arrive in at an old motel where a TV crew had begun to shoot the story of a string of mysterious deaths in this abandoned town. They've taken off in a hurry, leaving a psychic who wants to solve the mystery with you. The settings are very well drawn and imagined -- creepy, delapidated houses, storefronts, library -- and much of this is adventure play, with some HOGs which at least have the variety of taking place over more than one room/settting. (I do question why such a small town would have its own coroner's office, but hey, it's video game!) I've also enjoyed those moving puzzle pieces which you have to carefully rotate together -- on the pieces are scenes which the psychic is "seeing" in her mind, so it actually makes some sense. May 14, 2014
Fun and challenging I was very impressed with this game. Loved the fact that an actual celebrity played a lead character. Fun and challenging. March 22, 2014
Don't compare it to the other MCF! As long as you don't compare this game to the other MCF, it's quite ok. There are 2 game modes. The graphics are good. The HOS are clear, and the mini-games easy. The map allows you to jump, which is good since there is a lot of back and forth. The hint system is good, telling you what to do next. What I don't like: Either you watch the whole cut-scene or you skip... And the big problem for me: the psychic talks too much... The game is not too short; without skipping, it took me about 3 hours. October 11, 2013
I guess I have different taste I read all of the reviews for this game and went into it not expecting much, but it honestly had my attention from the start. I guess I'm in the minority on this one, but the graphics were clear, the sound was great, and the story was interesting! I had a lot of fun with this one. My only complaint was that it was too short: I probably finished it in about 4 hours. April 22, 2013
An easier than usual MCF game I have played all the MCF games, and like most, am excited anytime I hear about a new one coming out. This one was a lot shorter and much easier than the ones we've grown accustomed to over the years, but it was not a bad game. I enjoyed playing it. It was no Return to Ravenhearst, Dire Grove, or 13 Skulls (my top 3 MCF games) but it was fun nonetheless. Unlike Escape from Ravenhearst, which was far too difficult, this game did not require the use of a walkthrough or hints. People who like a lot of challenge and/or extremely difficult puzzles probably will not enjoy this game. Those who enjoy a story and a more casual experience will get the most out of this. December 29, 2012
Don't judge by low rating. It just a Great game worthy of MCF The same reason Escape from Ravenhearst got low rating.....everybody complains that the game is as hard as it could be but at the ,,Level of Challenge" they gave it 2 stars. Now this was a real game that was really challenging. I can't believe that I almost didn't play these 2 game because of the low rating......the last time I take into account the rating that people give to these games. Shadow Lake is just great. The low rating is because you don't have to blindly go in one direction to finish the game. The fact that you must walk all over the map to get items and use them make is more complicated and you get the feeling of non-linearity. It's nice to see such a lot of effort put by the BEST HOS game-making team out there. The story is well put together and also the music/sounds puts you in the creepy atmosphere of the places. For me its just one of the best games I've played lately. I gave it 4 stars because I gave Escape from Ravenhearst 5 stars and this one isn'g as good but still...... January 7, 2013
Perfectly Within The MCF Tradition BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS Well, here it is a year since I bought this game, and with Fate?s Carnival already waiting for me, and I am just now getting around to playing this game. I guess I was put off by all the controversy. And the really scary (as in, undoable) video-jigsaw mini-games. Regarding the controversy, let me say just this. MCF has always been about leading edge game play, like morphing objects and live actors, and testing the limits, as in Escape From Ravenhearst. So, OF COURSE it?s not going to be like the others, that?s a given. But there are, I think, two styles of MCF game. There are the Ravenhearst games, with their unique take on ?Spooky Mansion?. And the ?Sleuth? games, which include games made to an obvious formula. (You could make a case that Dire Grove and 13th Skull are the games that do not follow tradition ? no arguments from me.) This formula is, for example, the same as that used in Madam Fate. Each chapter is a unit in itself, with a daunting new type of puzzle at the end of each. And we are guided by and return to a ?seer? after each episode. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The game starts with a wonderful sepia-toned movie that flows into the ?real? scenes. Graphics are very good. A bit murky in parts, but this is very much in keeping with the story. The insertion of live acting is unbelievably well done, and it?s wasted on Lea?s appallingly histrionic performance, but I do like the Ghost Patrol, Jack Talon, his overacting is delightfully in keeping with his role. The sound track is innovative and fun. As well as the usual ambient sounds, sometimes a radio might filter in and then disappear again, and sometimes the background clatter is an identifiable pop song! WHAT?S HAPPENING A spiritualist calls for our aid when things get out of hand in Shadow Lake. She is one of the team who produce the TV show, Ghost Patrol. We arrive to find everyone else is gone, and the team of Ghost are hastily packing up and getting out too. Eventually we find the person we?ve come to see. And we embark on an investigation of the history of the local prison and a strange artifact. MAKING PROGRESS The gameplay is indeed new and different to other games. Whilst still a HOPA, the emphasis is on directed action, and the HOPs are almost invisible. The puzzles are even fewer, and I don?t think I skipped more than a couple. The HOPs take two forms. The ?seer? gives us a list of items needed, and they can be found in any of the scenes-within-locations-within-a-building, that each ?chapter? involves. The second type is a group of drawings that mimic the true scenes in your search for clues. Finding them in the scenery is the way ahead. The ?video jigsaw puzzles?, which could keep you occupied for hours on their own, are brilliantly conceived. They are challenging and totally absorbing, yet not so difficult that I was tempted to give up ? even when it did take me forever to finish them. And they differ each chapter with increased difficulty. The ?seer? controls a great deal of our movements, so the map is a joke. Looks great though. You can use it to jump, but it really is useless. The hints are very good, giving you hints that are usually enough to get you back on track. There?s a journal with important clues. FINAL VERDICT I am very impressed. I don?t know what I expected, but this game was absolutely wonderful to play. I even forgave the ?seer? her performance, but she is a large part of the game, so it does lose a star. December 9, 2013
Happy I finally bought this. When this was first released I did the free trial and was so disappointed that I did not buy it. The terrible reviews by other people sealed it's fate. I finally broke down and bought it during the recent 99 cent sale and I am glad I did. I do not think it is anywhere close to as good as the other MCF games however it is pretty good. You have to play the game as if it does not have the MCF name on it and it changes your perspective on the game. A great buy at 99 cents even for full game club member price I think it was worth it. Now bring on Fates Carnival!!!!! Let's get back to the old style MCF and I will be thrilled. September 11, 2013
Stilll playing it and so far I like it Ok so this is a bit scarier than I usually go for but the graphics are nice, the quests are nice its a different game definately a bit spooky and once I got used to the the ghosts it was ok, I like how it is a different sort of game not like a lot of HOS games its not purely a HOS. Its a bit of a thriller but not too much, like a good ghost story only you get to be in it to solve what happened. I like that has actual acting in it and not all graphic-drawn characters etc, that things move in the places you go to etc. May 9, 2014
Didn't get to play trial long Well I finally decided to try the trial version of this game but I don't really think it was that bad. I mean I only got to play half of the trial version because every time I would go and have to go back to the jail it would take me out of the game and show me I had only 20 or so minutes left to play and kept doing it for oh I don't know till I had 10 minutes left to play. So I didn't really have that much time to play but what I did play was actually not too bad. Don't understand all the negative reviews. April 20, 2014
51-60 of 206 Reviews <<prev 45678...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.