Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 1482 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 205 205
Happy I finally bought this. When this was first released I did the free trial and was so disappointed that I did not buy it. The terrible reviews by other people sealed it's fate. I finally broke down and bought it during the recent 99 cent sale and I am glad I did. I do not think it is anywhere close to as good as the other MCF games however it is pretty good. You have to play the game as if it does not have the MCF name on it and it changes your perspective on the game. A great buy at 99 cents even for full game club member price I think it was worth it. Now bring on Fates Carnival!!!!! Let's get back to the old style MCF and I will be thrilled. September 11, 2013
Not bad, not great either... My review is based on the SE. I wasn't thoroughly impressed with the game as part of the MCF series. By itself, if having not played any of the others, I probably would've liked it a lot more. The game is way too short, especially for the file size. I should've known since I completed the trial 1st chapter in less than 30 minutes. It was a complete surprise that it took me only 2 more hours to complete the game. I found it lacking in puzzles and interactive scenes. I liked the HOS being spread out like they were, but I agree that putting them in a small window was not good. And, some items that aren't needed stick out like a sore thumb, poorly placed, while some needed items blend in a little too well; I had to consult the walkthrough once because I knew what I needed but couldn't find it, and I still needed a screenshot to see it even after I knew where to look. The acting wasn't so bad, I thought that the actors portrayed their characters pretty good. Some of the cut scenes, I felt, were only there to add to the spook factor and didn't complement the story or the game at all. I don't really like jumping from my seat during a game, but they were fairly predictable, so I knew when to look away. This game could be great if there was more to it. There are too many holes in the plot, the story needs more details. I think that if there had been more attention and effort put towards conveying the story and making the game as interactive (or more) as previous MCF games than on those block puzzles, more people would have found it more interesting and enjoyable. I hope that Shadow Lake has another chance to give players more background into the characters and events leading up to the player's arrival. All in all, it was a little too predictable, the map and lack of interaction made it seem shorter than it probably is, and I felt like I couldn't connect with the story or the characters. I hope the next in the series has more puzzles, more back story, more well... Just more. I would recommend to players unfamiliar with MCF. Lastly, to BFG: if you're going to force the credits on us, make sure there aren't any typos first; I'm pretty sure spell check would have caught ASSISTAND. March 1, 2013
Stilll playing it and so far I like it Ok so this is a bit scarier than I usually go for but the graphics are nice, the quests are nice its a different game definately a bit spooky and once I got used to the the ghosts it was ok, I like how it is a different sort of game not like a lot of HOS games its not purely a HOS. Its a bit of a thriller but not too much, like a good ghost story only you get to be in it to solve what happened. I like that has actual acting in it and not all graphic-drawn characters etc, that things move in the places you go to etc. May 9, 2014
Didn't get to play trial long Well I finally decided to try the trial version of this game but I don't really think it was that bad. I mean I only got to play half of the trial version because every time I would go and have to go back to the jail it would take me out of the game and show me I had only 20 or so minutes left to play and kept doing it for oh I don't know till I had 10 minutes left to play. So I didn't really have that much time to play but what I did play was actually not too bad. Don't understand all the negative reviews. April 20, 2014
Very Enjoyable Game I must admit that I put off getting this game because of all the bad reviews. I finally decided to get it with a free game coupon, and I'm very glad I did. While it is certainly different, I found it to be a very enjoyable game, with a nice, eerie atmosphere, and more decent acting than I've seen in most games. The storyline was quite good, and I felt that it flowed nicely. It ended in a fashion that flowed reasonably well with the overall storyline, which I was pleased with. I find many games come to a sudden end that's more like running into a brick wall, done simply for the sake of ending the game, rather than really fitting into the story. That was not the case here. There were some things I wasn't impressed with. I found the mini-games very annoying, and ended up skipping through them. I didn't like not being able to move through the dialogue without having to listen to all of the audio - that seems to be a trend in a lot of games lately, and I'd rather be able to read the dialogue and skip through it quickly. But the acting was decent in this game, so it wasn't as bad as usual. I prefer to be able to move around more freely, so I wasn't a huge fan of the map, but it didn't make the game terrible for me - just a minor annoyance. Overall I was impressed with this latest MCF offering, and frankly, after playing the game I'm very surprised at all of the bad reviews. But each of us like different things, and this game is obviously not everyone's cup of tea. I'm just glad that I decided to give it a try, as I thoroughly enjoyed playing it. October 25, 2013
Really like it! I too have bought all the Mystery Case Files games and bought this one right off the bat without trying it first or reading any of the bad reviews first. I love all the Mystery Case Files games (Madame Fate is my absolute favorite). I do wish the story would have been a little stronger. That being said, I love Lea Thompson and I think she added to the game. The soundtrack is good and I liked the puzzles. I really didn't find the repetitive puzzles that annoying. Bottom line is that if I am going to spend my money on a game, I am going to try to enjoy it because when you get down to it, no one forced me to buy it. I love MCF games and will continue to buy them. Thanks BFG! January 6, 2013
I enjoyed it. :) I buy all mystery case file games...always my favourite to play....Shadow Lake wasn't my favourite of the series...but only because of the backward and forward of going to the psychic.It didn't seem to have the wow factor for me....but still a great game.I recommend it...graphics were, as always top notch! April 9, 2013
Great game !!!!! Glad BFG is on the come back! Much better than EFR - no being bored on the HOs waiting for those awful morphs to appear and no really gross/offensive scenes. Critics say the story line is confusing - duh, it's a MYSTERY folks - you have to figure it out like a real detective!! A really fun game except for those annoying floating/spinning puzzles >:{ Also could have been longer!!!!! ended way too soon!!! January 26, 2013
Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake I enjoyed the game and the storyline was interesting but I was kind of disappointed in comparison to other Mystery Case File games. I also did not like having to sit through five minutes of credits to get to the final cut scene. December 30, 2012
I liked it! I liked it! After reading the mostly bad reviews for this game I thought of not buying it, but after trying out the demo, I liked it! Yes the game is perhaps not up to the usual MCF standards, but still it is a suspenseful game and I just love the realistic graphics. The story kept me hooked to the very end and the puzzles had a good level of difficulty. There was terrible overacting especially from the psychic lady and the man from the ghost patrol, which was just irritating and unnecessary but still the story was strong enough for that not to affect the overall enjoyment of the game. The ending should have had more oomph, and been more spectacular too. I enjoyed the fact that you are on the search for clues as a detective. There are so many games out there where you wander with no apparent purpose finding keys and unlocking endless doors and boxes - how boring really. This game was not like that. Try the demo - see for yourself, you just might like the game too. I have no regrets about buying this and look forward to the next MCF game. January 4, 2013
51-60 of 205 Reviews <<prev 45678...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.