Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 1482 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 209 209
Don't compare it to the other MCF! As long as you don't compare this game to the other MCF, it's quite ok. There are 2 game modes. The graphics are good. The HOS are clear, and the mini-games easy. The map allows you to jump, which is good since there is a lot of back and forth. The hint system is good, telling you what to do next. What I don't like: Either you watch the whole cut-scene or you skip... And the big problem for me: the psychic talks too much... The game is not too short; without skipping, it took me about 3 hours. October 11, 2013
not a usual MCF as in the old days - but a very good game! This is just a comment: A really good mystery game which is not following ways gone with the Ravenhurst story, which is good. I started my "gaming carreer" with Dire Grove and in some extent this new adventure awakens impressions I had when I played this one. If you are open to something new and do not expect what the past offered, then you should of course try Shadow Lake. March 22, 2013
Perfectly Within The MCF Tradition BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS Well, here it is a year since I bought this game, and with Fate?s Carnival already waiting for me, and I am just now getting around to playing this game. I guess I was put off by all the controversy. And the really scary (as in, undoable) video-jigsaw mini-games. Regarding the controversy, let me say just this. MCF has always been about leading edge game play, like morphing objects and live actors, and testing the limits, as in Escape From Ravenhearst. So, OF COURSE it?s not going to be like the others, that?s a given. But there are, I think, two styles of MCF game. There are the Ravenhearst games, with their unique take on ?Spooky Mansion?. And the ?Sleuth? games, which include games made to an obvious formula. (You could make a case that Dire Grove and 13th Skull are the games that do not follow tradition ? no arguments from me.) This formula is, for example, the same as that used in Madam Fate. Each chapter is a unit in itself, with a daunting new type of puzzle at the end of each. And we are guided by and return to a ?seer? after each episode. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The game starts with a wonderful sepia-toned movie that flows into the ?real? scenes. Graphics are very good. A bit murky in parts, but this is very much in keeping with the story. The insertion of live acting is unbelievably well done, and it?s wasted on Lea?s appallingly histrionic performance, but I do like the Ghost Patrol, Jack Talon, his overacting is delightfully in keeping with his role. The sound track is innovative and fun. As well as the usual ambient sounds, sometimes a radio might filter in and then disappear again, and sometimes the background clatter is an identifiable pop song! WHAT?S HAPPENING A spiritualist calls for our aid when things get out of hand in Shadow Lake. She is one of the team who produce the TV show, Ghost Patrol. We arrive to find everyone else is gone, and the team of Ghost are hastily packing up and getting out too. Eventually we find the person we?ve come to see. And we embark on an investigation of the history of the local prison and a strange artifact. MAKING PROGRESS The gameplay is indeed new and different to other games. Whilst still a HOPA, the emphasis is on directed action, and the HOPs are almost invisible. The puzzles are even fewer, and I don?t think I skipped more than a couple. The HOPs take two forms. The ?seer? gives us a list of items needed, and they can be found in any of the scenes-within-locations-within-a-building, that each ?chapter? involves. The second type is a group of drawings that mimic the true scenes in your search for clues. Finding them in the scenery is the way ahead. The ?video jigsaw puzzles?, which could keep you occupied for hours on their own, are brilliantly conceived. They are challenging and totally absorbing, yet not so difficult that I was tempted to give up ? even when it did take me forever to finish them. And they differ each chapter with increased difficulty. The ?seer? controls a great deal of our movements, so the map is a joke. Looks great though. You can use it to jump, but it really is useless. The hints are very good, giving you hints that are usually enough to get you back on track. There?s a journal with important clues. FINAL VERDICT I am very impressed. I don?t know what I expected, but this game was absolutely wonderful to play. I even forgave the ?seer? her performance, but she is a large part of the game, so it does lose a star. December 9, 2013
Not bad as an SE I'm copying this over from the CE review - they're virtually the same: This review is based on a completed playthrough of the Standard Game and Bonus Content: First, the Bonus Content (or why should I pay double for this game?): There isn't any. Ok, there is - one tiny (seriously tiny) little area that when you finish the two puzzles you get to find morphing objects. No bonus chapter, no extended storyline, yes you get wallpaper and screensavers and other stuff I don't care about but maybe you do. To me, the Bonus Game is the heart of a CE, and this game just doesn't have one: Ok, now to review the rest of the game: THE GOOD: It's different. Not the storyline, we've seen that before, but they tried some different mechanics out. Rather than finding a hidden object scene, the hidden objects are part of regular scenes (you see the list on the screens you can find objects). Then you get 'pictures' - reminded of the old 'viewfinder' reels. You match up the pictures in your inventory with the parts of the scenes that they match. It gives you a reason to remember what you've seen. There were 'scares' without it being a scary game, if that makes sense. Those moments that make you jump even though you see them coming a mile away. Not too many of them - enough to keep you on your toes. THE BAD: Lighting in the scenes. Way too much dark where 'hidden' objects were. I can easily say I have never used the Hint button more times in a single game ever (more on the hint system later). Dark scene after dark scene. The 'puzzle' skip timer restarted whenever you exited and re-entered a puzzle, which wouldn't have been a bad thing if the puzzles didn't make you want to do that to try and figure them out... I can almost always figure puzzles out. I don't know whether these were just that difficult or that unclear or the darkness simply sapped the will from my soul, but I skipped more than a couple. Glitches in the 'task list' (and Strategy Guide): Sometimes going back to an earlier area and 'looking' at something would reset the task list. The worst was at the end of the game when it suddenly went back to Chapter 3... The Strategy Guide was the worst I've ever seen (not that I do many CE's or even use them in the games I have) - all you get are pictures with no instructions. Figuring the SG out was a puzzle all its own. THE UGLY: If you've read any of the reviews you've heard about the acting. Honestly, it's not the acting that was bad - but the script she was given: "The mother in me says that bringing that <object of immeasurable EVIL> home to his family was irresponsible, but part of me says he wasn't in his right mind." Audrey Hepburn couldn't pull lines like that off. The character herself was supposed to be an 'over the top' psychic working on a 'Ghost chasers' type of show: CassAHHndra. She played the role she was given, it was just subpar writing, to put it nicely. Which is a shame because these guys have shown they are capable of much, much better. Maybe after Escape From Ravenhearst they wanted to do a game that didn't take itself too seriously. I'll give them the benefit of the doubt on that one. Bottom line: I can give it four stars as a SE. CE I couldn't even recommend. December 7, 2013
WHAT ...NOBODY LIKED IT? Just finished the game. I thought it was amazing..I loved the story and the creepy people in the games. I even watched the movie segments. I liked the creepiness of the game. Please, please make more creepy videos like this one. February 9, 2013
Stilll playing it and so far I like it Ok so this is a bit scarier than I usually go for but the graphics are nice, the quests are nice its a different game definately a bit spooky and once I got used to the the ghosts it was ok, I like how it is a different sort of game not like a lot of HOS games its not purely a HOS. Its a bit of a thriller but not too much, like a good ghost story only you get to be in it to solve what happened. I like that has actual acting in it and not all graphic-drawn characters etc, that things move in the places you go to etc. May 9, 2014
Didn't get to play trial long Well I finally decided to try the trial version of this game but I don't really think it was that bad. I mean I only got to play half of the trial version because every time I would go and have to go back to the jail it would take me out of the game and show me I had only 20 or so minutes left to play and kept doing it for oh I don't know till I had 10 minutes left to play. So I didn't really have that much time to play but what I did play was actually not too bad. Don't understand all the negative reviews. April 20, 2014
Not bad, not great either... My review is based on the SE. I wasn't thoroughly impressed with the game as part of the MCF series. By itself, if having not played any of the others, I probably would've liked it a lot more. The game is way too short, especially for the file size. I should've known since I completed the trial 1st chapter in less than 30 minutes. It was a complete surprise that it took me only 2 more hours to complete the game. I found it lacking in puzzles and interactive scenes. I liked the HOS being spread out like they were, but I agree that putting them in a small window was not good. And, some items that aren't needed stick out like a sore thumb, poorly placed, while some needed items blend in a little too well; I had to consult the walkthrough once because I knew what I needed but couldn't find it, and I still needed a screenshot to see it even after I knew where to look. The acting wasn't so bad, I thought that the actors portrayed their characters pretty good. Some of the cut scenes, I felt, were only there to add to the spook factor and didn't complement the story or the game at all. I don't really like jumping from my seat during a game, but they were fairly predictable, so I knew when to look away. This game could be great if there was more to it. There are too many holes in the plot, the story needs more details. I think that if there had been more attention and effort put towards conveying the story and making the game as interactive (or more) as previous MCF games than on those block puzzles, more people would have found it more interesting and enjoyable. I hope that Shadow Lake has another chance to give players more background into the characters and events leading up to the player's arrival. All in all, it was a little too predictable, the map and lack of interaction made it seem shorter than it probably is, and I felt like I couldn't connect with the story or the characters. I hope the next in the series has more puzzles, more back story, more well... Just more. I would recommend to players unfamiliar with MCF. Lastly, to BFG: if you're going to force the credits on us, make sure there aren't any typos first; I'm pretty sure spell check would have caught ASSISTAND. March 1, 2013
I guess I have different taste I read all of the reviews for this game and went into it not expecting much, but it honestly had my attention from the start. I guess I'm in the minority on this one, but the graphics were clear, the sound was great, and the story was interesting! I had a lot of fun with this one. My only complaint was that it was too short: I probably finished it in about 4 hours. April 22, 2013
An easier than usual MCF game I have played all the MCF games, and like most, am excited anytime I hear about a new one coming out. This one was a lot shorter and much easier than the ones we've grown accustomed to over the years, but it was not a bad game. I enjoyed playing it. It was no Return to Ravenhearst, Dire Grove, or 13 Skulls (my top 3 MCF games) but it was fun nonetheless. Unlike Escape from Ravenhearst, which was far too difficult, this game did not require the use of a walkthrough or hints. People who like a lot of challenge and/or extremely difficult puzzles probably will not enjoy this game. Those who enjoy a story and a more casual experience will get the most out of this. December 29, 2012
51-60 of 209 Reviews <<prev 45678...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.