Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 1482 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 209 209
WHAT ...NOBODY LIKED IT? Just finished the game. I thought it was amazing..I loved the story and the creepy people in the games. I even watched the movie segments. I liked the creepiness of the game. Please, please make more creepy videos like this one. February 9, 2013
Not bad, not great either... My review is based on the SE. I wasn't thoroughly impressed with the game as part of the MCF series. By itself, if having not played any of the others, I probably would've liked it a lot more. The game is way too short, especially for the file size. I should've known since I completed the trial 1st chapter in less than 30 minutes. It was a complete surprise that it took me only 2 more hours to complete the game. I found it lacking in puzzles and interactive scenes. I liked the HOS being spread out like they were, but I agree that putting them in a small window was not good. And, some items that aren't needed stick out like a sore thumb, poorly placed, while some needed items blend in a little too well; I had to consult the walkthrough once because I knew what I needed but couldn't find it, and I still needed a screenshot to see it even after I knew where to look. The acting wasn't so bad, I thought that the actors portrayed their characters pretty good. Some of the cut scenes, I felt, were only there to add to the spook factor and didn't complement the story or the game at all. I don't really like jumping from my seat during a game, but they were fairly predictable, so I knew when to look away. This game could be great if there was more to it. There are too many holes in the plot, the story needs more details. I think that if there had been more attention and effort put towards conveying the story and making the game as interactive (or more) as previous MCF games than on those block puzzles, more people would have found it more interesting and enjoyable. I hope that Shadow Lake has another chance to give players more background into the characters and events leading up to the player's arrival. All in all, it was a little too predictable, the map and lack of interaction made it seem shorter than it probably is, and I felt like I couldn't connect with the story or the characters. I hope the next in the series has more puzzles, more back story, more well... Just more. I would recommend to players unfamiliar with MCF. Lastly, to BFG: if you're going to force the credits on us, make sure there aren't any typos first; I'm pretty sure spell check would have caught ASSISTAND. March 1, 2013
I was delightfully surprised I found this game to be a delightful surprise and frankly interesting and fun to play. I love the MCF games but put off playing this one because I was not impressed when I tried a brief trial. But one rainy afternoon I downloaded it and tried it again. I enjoyed it very much, got hooked that day and purchased it It was different but not so challenging as to be too difficult to play. I'm so glad I gave it another chance. May 15, 2014
Pretty entertaining -- and a little spooky, too! This game is much more entertaining than the average review lets on. Since this game is on special sale this week, I tested it and bought it after 15 minutes of trial, and have been enjoying it. Yes, the psychic (played by a professional actress) is waaaay too hammy to the smallest gesture and eye roll, and the director of the cut scenes should have toned her down. But the story proceeds well and steadily. You arrive in at an old motel where a TV crew had begun to shoot the story of a string of mysterious deaths in this abandoned town. They've taken off in a hurry, leaving a psychic who wants to solve the mystery with you. The settings are very well drawn and imagined -- creepy, delapidated houses, storefronts, library -- and much of this is adventure play, with some HOGs which at least have the variety of taking place over more than one room/settting. (I do question why such a small town would have its own coroner's office, but hey, it's video game!) I've also enjoyed those moving puzzle pieces which you have to carefully rotate together -- on the pieces are scenes which the psychic is "seeing" in her mind, so it actually makes some sense. May 14, 2014
Fun and challenging I was very impressed with this game. Loved the fact that an actual celebrity played a lead character. Fun and challenging. March 22, 2014
I guess I have different taste I read all of the reviews for this game and went into it not expecting much, but it honestly had my attention from the start. I guess I'm in the minority on this one, but the graphics were clear, the sound was great, and the story was interesting! I had a lot of fun with this one. My only complaint was that it was too short: I probably finished it in about 4 hours. April 22, 2013
An easier than usual MCF game I have played all the MCF games, and like most, am excited anytime I hear about a new one coming out. This one was a lot shorter and much easier than the ones we've grown accustomed to over the years, but it was not a bad game. I enjoyed playing it. It was no Return to Ravenhearst, Dire Grove, or 13 Skulls (my top 3 MCF games) but it was fun nonetheless. Unlike Escape from Ravenhearst, which was far too difficult, this game did not require the use of a walkthrough or hints. People who like a lot of challenge and/or extremely difficult puzzles probably will not enjoy this game. Those who enjoy a story and a more casual experience will get the most out of this. December 29, 2012
Don't judge by low rating. It just a Great game worthy of MCF The same reason Escape from Ravenhearst got low rating.....everybody complains that the game is as hard as it could be but at the ,,Level of Challenge" they gave it 2 stars. Now this was a real game that was really challenging. I can't believe that I almost didn't play these 2 game because of the low rating......the last time I take into account the rating that people give to these games. Shadow Lake is just great. The low rating is because you don't have to blindly go in one direction to finish the game. The fact that you must walk all over the map to get items and use them make is more complicated and you get the feeling of non-linearity. It's nice to see such a lot of effort put by the BEST HOS game-making team out there. The story is well put together and also the music/sounds puts you in the creepy atmosphere of the places. For me its just one of the best games I've played lately. I gave it 4 stars because I gave Escape from Ravenhearst 5 stars and this one isn'g as good but still...... January 7, 2013
Happy I finally bought this. When this was first released I did the free trial and was so disappointed that I did not buy it. The terrible reviews by other people sealed it's fate. I finally broke down and bought it during the recent 99 cent sale and I am glad I did. I do not think it is anywhere close to as good as the other MCF games however it is pretty good. You have to play the game as if it does not have the MCF name on it and it changes your perspective on the game. A great buy at 99 cents even for full game club member price I think it was worth it. Now bring on Fates Carnival!!!!! Let's get back to the old style MCF and I will be thrilled. September 11, 2013
Stilll playing it and so far I like it Ok so this is a bit scarier than I usually go for but the graphics are nice, the quests are nice its a different game definately a bit spooky and once I got used to the the ghosts it was ok, I like how it is a different sort of game not like a lot of HOS games its not purely a HOS. Its a bit of a thriller but not too much, like a good ghost story only you get to be in it to solve what happened. I like that has actual acting in it and not all graphic-drawn characters etc, that things move in the places you go to etc. May 9, 2014
51-60 of 209 Reviews <<prev 45678...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.