Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game
(1.25 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1536 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 192 192
A Good Concept Let me start by saying I'm a big fan of Mystery Case Files and the developers at Big Fish. They try new things and push the limits, and this game is no exception. I really liked the ghost hunter idea but would have liked to have seen more of them interacting during the game. Maybe ghost patrol files could be a new offshoot for BFG???!! Hint hint!!! I tend to favor classic haunted house type games like Return to Ravenhearst and 13th Skull, and while it's a popular concept among developers, it's not easy finding one that's well-executed. I like the way BGF don't use those poser people. I really don't like those. I like the combination of film and CG. A couple of things I thought could have been done better here... The HOS scenes were hard to see. There were objects that were simply too small and vague to make out without the hint, and that's with reading glasses. The walkthrough didn't list all objects, and I had to consult a forum to find the location of the teddy bear. A list of hidden objects might span multiple locations, which really threw me at first. Also, some objects could not be picked up, even though you knew you needed them, until other actions had been completed. As for the puzzles, I did most of the picture puzzles myself, but skipped one when the objects wouldn't rotate, and I couldn't pull the pieces where I needed them to go. I skipped the path game on the cross in the church because it threw me out every time I closed a shape although I wasn't retracing a path. And I skipped the relic puzzle because the translation and the solution were not in the same order, and I felt there weren't enough instructions as to what was needed. I had to use the hint button a lot. I think the weakest point was the downsized HOS that I just couldn't see. It was maybe 1/4 the size of my screen, and that's just not big enough, guys. I always look forward to a new MCF, and it would be good to see Ghost Patrol play a bigger role with their own game series. Looking forward to the next one. April 28, 2013
What's with the cassette tapes? I never used the cassette tapes I found. What were they for? Also, the jumble pictures was unbelievably annoying and pointless, here's some sage advice: MCF developers DO NOT USE THIS MINI-GAME AGAIN!!! Of all the great features other MCF games had (morphing objects as an example), this one was lacking. I checked that I recommend this game because there's no scale of recommendation. December 31, 2012
Disappointing title from a usually great mob Ive been a long time Mystery Case File Fan from the early days of Hunstville, Madam Fate etc and was so excited when i saw this new title come out. I didnt hesitate to buy the full collectors edition without trying it but thats a mistake i wont make again. I found this game to be boring, repetitive, uninteresting and not challenging at all. I dislike the idea of repeatedly going back to a video cut i wanted a real hidden object game and this was a total let down. December 25, 2012
Not at all what was expected I love the Mystery Case Files but was disappointed in this one. Not anything like the others. Couldn't skip the dialogue if wanted to. Sorry I bought it before trying it but since it was a Mystery Case File game and I have all the others I didn't question it. December 26, 2012
Poor Sister Worst game in the series. Why bother. December 26, 2012
How di the worst Mystery Case File be voted best game of the Year? HOW COULD A GAME WITH ONLY 3 OUT OF 43 5 STAR REVIEWS AND MOSTLY VERY BAD REVIEWS BE VOTED BEST GAME OF THE YEAR? WHO VOTED? CERTAINLY NOT THE PEOPLE PLAYING THE GAMES! I only bought this game because of the buy one get one free special last week & I have all the other MCF games. I wouldn't have bought it if it wasn't FREE. It's very boring and the story doesn't seem to go anywhere. The live characters are overpowering & not necessary. I don't know what has happened to the MCF.The last one wasn't much better than this. The exciting heart seems to be lost from MCF. They need a HO to find it again. I usually only write good reviews of the games I like, not bad reviews but I was so stunned to see this voted game of the year. WHY???!!!! December 29, 2012
Oh dear BFG, how could you get it so wrong? I did so try to enjoy this game, but it is soooo boring!!! The ONLY saving grace is the innovative moving block puzzle. The lack of even half decent music replaced by a repetitive noise, the "over the top" ham acting by Cassandra, the grainy graphics, poor hint system are just a few of the disappointments in this game. I know you performed a wonderful feat with the production of Return to Ravenhearst which was a giant leap forward and a hard act to follow, but your games have gone steadily downhill since, whereas other developers have strived to achieve the same benchmark you set, and have been providing us with games that are very nearly on a par with RTR. You have an advantage over other developers, in that you can draw up your own list of what players enjoy by following the opinions on all the games from your site, you don't even have to send out a questionnaire !! A big thumbs down I'm afraid. December 27, 2012
What a let down I always love the mystery case file games so I bought this one without trying first. I'll never make that mistake again. Wasn't challenging at all. I finished it in 4 hours. It actually got less chalenging as the game progressed. Don't waste your time. January 3, 2013
WHAT?!?!?! How did this game get chosen for Game of the Year when it only has 2 stars and 80% of players DON'T recommend it? December 29, 2012
Could be considered offensive to some.... I came in rather late to the MCF franchise. I tried Huntsville many years ago, disliked the timed factor and passed on each new title. However, I recently bought a few MCF games when BF had a sale. I chose Dire Grove, 13th Skull, and Shadow Lake. Of the three, SL has the most annoying game play, the worst storyline, and the most pathetic acting. I don't know the actress used for the psychic, but if I hadn't already read that she was for real, I would have thought she was someone from the company's mother or aunt (a freebie). I actually laughed out loud whenever she delivered her lines. It was ludicrous. As most reviewers have already outlined the game with exacting details, I won't bore you with more. I did want to mention something that might be offensive to some, as it certainly was to me. I don't mind games with the big Ds: demons, death, and darkness, but there is such a thing as too much realism. This was one of those times. There was a scene where a pastor, a doctor, and a police officer were using God's name to cast out a demon. I really felt this was in poor taste and it made me very uncomfortable. Sacred rites are not for sport and should not be used casually. Big Fish, please go back to the format of 13th Skull, one of the best games on your site. Shadow Lake just didn't do it for me. November 14, 2013
91-100 of 192 Reviews <<prev 89101112...20next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.