Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game
(1.25 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1536 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 206 206
*Yawn* PROS: --Graphics and sound are great. --Storyline is interesting. --Game play is not too difficult and navigation is easy. CONS: --Cut scenes are way too long and acting is bad --Psychic is completely unnecessary to storyline. Story would be great with Master Investigator only --Rotating puzzles, while interesting concept, are tedious --Game play is boring. Perform an action, go get frustrating slips of paper, watch psychic's bad acting, repeat. YAWN January 5, 2013
So glad I got this for a discount. I'm so happy I got this game for a discount. I was so excited for the newest MCF game as i've LOVED every other one. This one was just not up to par. The story line was decent in the beginning, but it got old fast. It was also a lot shorter (it seemed) than all of the others. I also found myself very annoyed with the psychic's dialogue. It was just so forced. The ending was horrible as well. Such a dissapointment. :( January 3, 2013
average as others, i was also disappointed with the standard and mistakes in this game. i played the standard edition as i was warned that the collectors one is not worth it. i made a good decision. the game had a couple of new or relatively new features and i "enjoyed" those scary moments in there, despite i hate when they occur elsewhere, such as on youtube with michael jackson` ghost. i truly hate those but they were a good detail for this game. scenes were rather boring in comparison to the previous mcf games. there was a mistake in the letter about the drowned woman: she was found missing on 15 of august and they started to search for her the next day on the morning: on 15 of august... when i finished the game, there were still some items in my itinerary and when the cast (credist) came on, they were inescapable. not key worked to skip it, i could only to wait till the end to have easy access on this forum to post my review, or quit the whole game and search this forum manually on the website. annoying. this game definitely did not meet my expectations, which were low anyway after reading the reviews here prior the purchase. only because it was on offer i decided to buy it and make my own opinion about it. i agree with others here. developers, please, try harder next time or do not bother at all. January 1, 2013
Entertaining, but not up to MCF standards First, I would advise not to spend the money on the CE. This game was entertaining compared to the majority but not what you would expect for the new MCF. The cons: It is very easy, the psychic addition is a bit odd as in she is almost telling you what to do, then she will suddenly just call for you during your "investigation" and you must go. There are very few puzzles and everything has to be traveled by a map, this part also takes away from the normal MCF brilliant scenery that is, for the most part, absent. The pros: HO's can be in multiple locations which I feel gives more experience to the game, instead of just staring at the same location. You also have to be on the look out for specific scene locations that the psychic gives you and items in HO are for the most part what you may find (not too many carrots in the closet). The general idea and story line seem to have been going in a great direction but got cut short. I personally like the character interaction idea, as from 13th Skull, it keeps you on the story line. Play it, it was entertaining but don't have typical MCF expectations from it. December 29, 2012
Spent to much time at the lake instead of making a good game I own all of the PC "Mystery Case Files" games and found myself disappointed in this game "Shadow Lake". I waited a year for this release and couldn't wait to play it. As the days got closer to the release day, the anticipation was killing me. BAM! Finally, here it was the day of, and after 4 hours, I was done with the whole game. Say what? The "Ravenhearst" series were just amazing but this one had only one thing going for it, which was the graphics. But even they weren't that great and the actors need to go back to acting school. I really hate doing this kind of review on my favorite Hidden Object Game series but it's the truth. Fans of the series who haven't played this yet, will find out exactly what I'm talking about. It's not that great of a game. Sorry guys. I hope to play a better game next year from you guys. December 26, 2012
Why is this so dull I was looking forward to another MCF game. But to my disappointment this game played nothing like the older ones. I have enjoyed Prime Suspects, Dire Grove, Ravenhurst, and something Cove. My favorite is still Prime Suspects. This mess is not even fun to play. After awhile all of the jumping around gets old. The rotating piece jigsaw puzzles between levels were boring. Once even twice would have been adequate. But every level had this type of puzzle. Over all I am very disappointed in this game. I solved it in one afternoon. I will have to think long and hard about buying another MCF game. Sorry Big Fish but not one of your better efforts. May 7, 2014
Shadow Lake Review If you are a fan of Mystery Case Files like I am, then this one will disappoint you. This is very different then your typical adventure/hidden object game. The HOS are not in one area and the puzzle is the same thing just different degrees of it. The game basically goes by places and within each place you look for hidden objects within one or two screens and you find locations to match drawings you get. Then when one location is complete, you do a puzzle that is extremely simple to move on to the next location. The acting is completely over dramatic and annoying. If this is your first Mystery case File game, and you are a beginner at Hidden object/adventure games, then you may like it. March 22, 2014
Okay, but not MCF typical style This game is not like the other MCF games. The format is different and the interactions are slightly odd sometimes. Plus it has a lot of cut-scene movie-type material. There are HO objects, puzzles, maps, hints, etc There is a certain style and gameplay that has been consistent the MCF brand. If you're looking for a standard MCF game pass on this one because you will be disappointed. That's not to say it's a bad game because it isn't. But you will have to take it on its own merits and view it as something "other" and to one's taste. It's not to my taste. January 9, 2014
Interesting story line--tedious hunting The premise was good. The acting was ok--hokey and over the top but still good. The hunt for the clues basically involved doing the same thing over and over and over and over again. By the 4th time, I was desperate for the game to be over. The game was just ok for me, but then I had just finished Dire Grove and LOVED that one. If you can get it on sale--go for it. I paid $9.99 and don't think I would again. December 26, 2013
A Good Concept Let me start by saying I'm a big fan of Mystery Case Files and the developers at Big Fish. They try new things and push the limits, and this game is no exception. I really liked the ghost hunter idea but would have liked to have seen more of them interacting during the game. Maybe ghost patrol files could be a new offshoot for BFG???!! Hint hint!!! I tend to favor classic haunted house type games like Return to Ravenhearst and 13th Skull, and while it's a popular concept among developers, it's not easy finding one that's well-executed. I like the way BGF don't use those poser people. I really don't like those. I like the combination of film and CG. A couple of things I thought could have been done better here... The HOS scenes were hard to see. There were objects that were simply too small and vague to make out without the hint, and that's with reading glasses. The walkthrough didn't list all objects, and I had to consult a forum to find the location of the teddy bear. A list of hidden objects might span multiple locations, which really threw me at first. Also, some objects could not be picked up, even though you knew you needed them, until other actions had been completed. As for the puzzles, I did most of the picture puzzles myself, but skipped one when the objects wouldn't rotate, and I couldn't pull the pieces where I needed them to go. I skipped the path game on the cross in the church because it threw me out every time I closed a shape although I wasn't retracing a path. And I skipped the relic puzzle because the translation and the solution were not in the same order, and I felt there weren't enough instructions as to what was needed. I had to use the hint button a lot. I think the weakest point was the downsized HOS that I just couldn't see. It was maybe 1/4 the size of my screen, and that's just not big enough, guys. I always look forward to a new MCF, and it would be good to see Ghost Patrol play a bigger role with their own game series. Looking forward to the next one. April 28, 2013
91-100 of 206 Reviews <<prev 89101112...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.