Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game
(1.25 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1536 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 206 206
So glad I got this for a discount. I'm so happy I got this game for a discount. I was so excited for the newest MCF game as i've LOVED every other one. This one was just not up to par. The story line was decent in the beginning, but it got old fast. It was also a lot shorter (it seemed) than all of the others. I also found myself very annoyed with the psychic's dialogue. It was just so forced. The ending was horrible as well. Such a dissapointment. :( January 3, 2013
average as others, i was also disappointed with the standard and mistakes in this game. i played the standard edition as i was warned that the collectors one is not worth it. i made a good decision. the game had a couple of new or relatively new features and i "enjoyed" those scary moments in there, despite i hate when they occur elsewhere, such as on youtube with michael jackson` ghost. i truly hate those but they were a good detail for this game. scenes were rather boring in comparison to the previous mcf games. there was a mistake in the letter about the drowned woman: she was found missing on 15 of august and they started to search for her the next day on the morning: on 15 of august... when i finished the game, there were still some items in my itinerary and when the cast (credist) came on, they were inescapable. not key worked to skip it, i could only to wait till the end to have easy access on this forum to post my review, or quit the whole game and search this forum manually on the website. annoying. this game definitely did not meet my expectations, which were low anyway after reading the reviews here prior the purchase. only because it was on offer i decided to buy it and make my own opinion about it. i agree with others here. developers, please, try harder next time or do not bother at all. January 1, 2013
Spent to much time at the lake instead of making a good game I own all of the PC "Mystery Case Files" games and found myself disappointed in this game "Shadow Lake". I waited a year for this release and couldn't wait to play it. As the days got closer to the release day, the anticipation was killing me. BAM! Finally, here it was the day of, and after 4 hours, I was done with the whole game. Say what? The "Ravenhearst" series were just amazing but this one had only one thing going for it, which was the graphics. But even they weren't that great and the actors need to go back to acting school. I really hate doing this kind of review on my favorite Hidden Object Game series but it's the truth. Fans of the series who haven't played this yet, will find out exactly what I'm talking about. It's not that great of a game. Sorry guys. I hope to play a better game next year from you guys. December 26, 2012
Why is this so dull I was looking forward to another MCF game. But to my disappointment this game played nothing like the older ones. I have enjoyed Prime Suspects, Dire Grove, Ravenhurst, and something Cove. My favorite is still Prime Suspects. This mess is not even fun to play. After awhile all of the jumping around gets old. The rotating piece jigsaw puzzles between levels were boring. Once even twice would have been adequate. But every level had this type of puzzle. Over all I am very disappointed in this game. I solved it in one afternoon. I will have to think long and hard about buying another MCF game. Sorry Big Fish but not one of your better efforts. May 7, 2014
Shadow Lake Review If you are a fan of Mystery Case Files like I am, then this one will disappoint you. This is very different then your typical adventure/hidden object game. The HOS are not in one area and the puzzle is the same thing just different degrees of it. The game basically goes by places and within each place you look for hidden objects within one or two screens and you find locations to match drawings you get. Then when one location is complete, you do a puzzle that is extremely simple to move on to the next location. The acting is completely over dramatic and annoying. If this is your first Mystery case File game, and you are a beginner at Hidden object/adventure games, then you may like it. March 22, 2014
Okay, but not MCF typical style This game is not like the other MCF games. The format is different and the interactions are slightly odd sometimes. Plus it has a lot of cut-scene movie-type material. There are HO objects, puzzles, maps, hints, etc There is a certain style and gameplay that has been consistent the MCF brand. If you're looking for a standard MCF game pass on this one because you will be disappointed. That's not to say it's a bad game because it isn't. But you will have to take it on its own merits and view it as something "other" and to one's taste. It's not to my taste. January 9, 2014
Interesting story line--tedious hunting The premise was good. The acting was ok--hokey and over the top but still good. The hunt for the clues basically involved doing the same thing over and over and over and over again. By the 4th time, I was desperate for the game to be over. The game was just ok for me, but then I had just finished Dire Grove and LOVED that one. If you can get it on sale--go for it. I paid $9.99 and don't think I would again. December 26, 2013
Disappointing, but a good game for a beginner. Shadow Lake was "OK" but not up to MCF standards. Would be a game for a beginner as for the most part it is not very challenging. I got it for a bargain of $3.49 and it was worth that much, but not much more. I did enjoy the graphics, but Lea Thompson's "performance" was very amateur and frankly annoying. I didn't like the overly simplistic method of travel by way of the map. Would have helped if the different locations were connected. I didn't hate it, but it wasn't worth more than I paid for it. I would only recommend this game for a beginner!! February 14, 2013
Disappointment I am a fan of the MCF series, but this was a disappointment. On the plus side, I liked the art and the live actors were good. The basic storyline is not bad but they could have done a lot more with it. The big weak points are the lack of variety and cleverness of the puzzles. I got tired of the doing basically the same things in each "episode". I really got annoyed with the floating blocks - I hit the skip button on the last two levels. I got the feeling that the creators sort of phoned this one in. I am glad I did not get the collector's edition, but will probably get the next MCF game - as long as my system will support it :). January 19, 2013
What's with the cassette tapes? I never used the cassette tapes I found. What were they for? Also, the jumble pictures was unbelievably annoying and pointless, here's some sage advice: MCF developers DO NOT USE THIS MINI-GAME AGAIN!!! Of all the great features other MCF games had (morphing objects as an example), this one was lacking. I checked that I recommend this game because there's no scale of recommendation. December 31, 2012
91-100 of 206 Reviews <<prev 89101112...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.