Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game
(1.25 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1536 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 209 209
Disappointment I am a fan of the MCF series, but this was a disappointment. On the plus side, I liked the art and the live actors were good. The basic storyline is not bad but they could have done a lot more with it. The big weak points are the lack of variety and cleverness of the puzzles. I got tired of the doing basically the same things in each "episode". I really got annoyed with the floating blocks - I hit the skip button on the last two levels. I got the feeling that the creators sort of phoned this one in. I am glad I did not get the collector's edition, but will probably get the next MCF game - as long as my system will support it :). January 19, 2013
What's with the cassette tapes? I never used the cassette tapes I found. What were they for? Also, the jumble pictures was unbelievably annoying and pointless, here's some sage advice: MCF developers DO NOT USE THIS MINI-GAME AGAIN!!! Of all the great features other MCF games had (morphing objects as an example), this one was lacking. I checked that I recommend this game because there's no scale of recommendation. December 31, 2012
Entertaining, but not up to MCF standards First, I would advise not to spend the money on the CE. This game was entertaining compared to the majority but not what you would expect for the new MCF. The cons: It is very easy, the psychic addition is a bit odd as in she is almost telling you what to do, then she will suddenly just call for you during your "investigation" and you must go. There are very few puzzles and everything has to be traveled by a map, this part also takes away from the normal MCF brilliant scenery that is, for the most part, absent. The pros: HO's can be in multiple locations which I feel gives more experience to the game, instead of just staring at the same location. You also have to be on the look out for specific scene locations that the psychic gives you and items in HO are for the most part what you may find (not too many carrots in the closet). The general idea and story line seem to have been going in a great direction but got cut short. I personally like the character interaction idea, as from 13th Skull, it keeps you on the story line. Play it, it was entertaining but don't have typical MCF expectations from it. December 29, 2012
A Good Concept Let me start by saying I'm a big fan of Mystery Case Files and the developers at Big Fish. They try new things and push the limits, and this game is no exception. I really liked the ghost hunter idea but would have liked to have seen more of them interacting during the game. Maybe ghost patrol files could be a new offshoot for BFG???!! Hint hint!!! I tend to favor classic haunted house type games like Return to Ravenhearst and 13th Skull, and while it's a popular concept among developers, it's not easy finding one that's well-executed. I like the way BGF don't use those poser people. I really don't like those. I like the combination of film and CG. A couple of things I thought could have been done better here... The HOS scenes were hard to see. There were objects that were simply too small and vague to make out without the hint, and that's with reading glasses. The walkthrough didn't list all objects, and I had to consult a forum to find the location of the teddy bear. A list of hidden objects might span multiple locations, which really threw me at first. Also, some objects could not be picked up, even though you knew you needed them, until other actions had been completed. As for the puzzles, I did most of the picture puzzles myself, but skipped one when the objects wouldn't rotate, and I couldn't pull the pieces where I needed them to go. I skipped the path game on the cross in the church because it threw me out every time I closed a shape although I wasn't retracing a path. And I skipped the relic puzzle because the translation and the solution were not in the same order, and I felt there weren't enough instructions as to what was needed. I had to use the hint button a lot. I think the weakest point was the downsized HOS that I just couldn't see. It was maybe 1/4 the size of my screen, and that's just not big enough, guys. I always look forward to a new MCF, and it would be good to see Ghost Patrol play a bigger role with their own game series. Looking forward to the next one. April 28, 2013
Disappointing title from a usually great mob Ive been a long time Mystery Case File Fan from the early days of Hunstville, Madam Fate etc and was so excited when i saw this new title come out. I didnt hesitate to buy the full collectors edition without trying it but thats a mistake i wont make again. I found this game to be boring, repetitive, uninteresting and not challenging at all. I dislike the idea of repeatedly going back to a video cut i wanted a real hidden object game and this was a total let down. December 25, 2012
Not at all what was expected I love the Mystery Case Files but was disappointed in this one. Not anything like the others. Couldn't skip the dialogue if wanted to. Sorry I bought it before trying it but since it was a Mystery Case File game and I have all the others I didn't question it. December 26, 2012
Poor Sister Worst game in the series. Why bother. December 26, 2012
How di the worst Mystery Case File be voted best game of the Year? HOW COULD A GAME WITH ONLY 3 OUT OF 43 5 STAR REVIEWS AND MOSTLY VERY BAD REVIEWS BE VOTED BEST GAME OF THE YEAR? WHO VOTED? CERTAINLY NOT THE PEOPLE PLAYING THE GAMES! I only bought this game because of the buy one get one free special last week & I have all the other MCF games. I wouldn't have bought it if it wasn't FREE. It's very boring and the story doesn't seem to go anywhere. The live characters are overpowering & not necessary. I don't know what has happened to the MCF.The last one wasn't much better than this. The exciting heart seems to be lost from MCF. They need a HO to find it again. I usually only write good reviews of the games I like, not bad reviews but I was so stunned to see this voted game of the year. WHY???!!!! December 29, 2012
Oh dear BFG, how could you get it so wrong? I did so try to enjoy this game, but it is soooo boring!!! The ONLY saving grace is the innovative moving block puzzle. The lack of even half decent music replaced by a repetitive noise, the "over the top" ham acting by Cassandra, the grainy graphics, poor hint system are just a few of the disappointments in this game. I know you performed a wonderful feat with the production of Return to Ravenhearst which was a giant leap forward and a hard act to follow, but your games have gone steadily downhill since, whereas other developers have strived to achieve the same benchmark you set, and have been providing us with games that are very nearly on a par with RTR. You have an advantage over other developers, in that you can draw up your own list of what players enjoy by following the opinions on all the games from your site, you don't even have to send out a questionnaire !! A big thumbs down I'm afraid. December 27, 2012
MCF has gone the way of Azada...it's not the same. After dealing with the Ravenhearst mystery, I thought I'd made it big. Then I was sent off to Shadow Lake to deal with an egocentric "ghost hunter" and a histrionic psychic, neither of whom could manage dealing with the danger of dispelling a curse and disposing of a demonic relic. Oh, well. It's a living, I guess. ----- The Best Parts 1. The sound designers deserve an award for creating beautifully ambient tracks for different locations, rather than making us listen to repetitive melodic themes. 2. The animation team that created the segues when you initially visit a map location have a great deal of talent. I loved the effect they created. 3. The photo puzzles with the pieces having real-time physics were fun, I thought, especially in that they became more difficult over time. 4. Those little scary surprises startled me every time, even when I was expecting them. Well done. The Mediocre Parts 1. The storyline should have been fleshed out more. The victims seemed random, but the transfer was not well done (as it was in Denzel Washington's movie, Fallen). The abandonment of the town seemed like an overreaction. I mean, everybody left? It wasn't Silent Hill. Flashback cutscenes to the tribe that discovered the relic would have helped liven the story. There was no way for the player to connect to any of the characters emotionally?to care about what happened to them. 2. The HO scenes were parochial and merely fillers, in spite of having one list with several locations and no clue as to which items were where. The Worst Parts 1. No puzzles. While MCF started out as merely a HOG, it made its name on torturous and tortuous puzzles like all of Charles' locks. 2. The drawings?ugh. Over and over again. 3. Having to travel by map alone, but no jump map to particular rooms/scenes. Every time you had to visit the psychic (and it was a LOT), you had to click on the map, click on the motel, and click forward three times. Ridiculous. There should have been a direct link. 4. The post-credit outro blatantly pointed to a sequel. Please don't. Conclusion Storyline and gameplay were both disappointing because neither panned out. You never forgot you were playing a game?there was no immersion. It felt like a different developer took over our beloved MCF series and shredded it (cf. Azada). Unlike a lot of other fishies, I liked The 13th Skull. And I loved Dire Grove. Head back in that direction, BFG. October 7, 2013
101-110 of 209 Reviews <<prev 910111213...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.