Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game
(1.25 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1536 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 192 192
Very disappointing MCF game Like most fans of HO games, I feel MCF set the standard. I have enjoyed playing every MCF game since the original for years now until this one. The story line is ridiculous. The HO games are practically non-existent. The puzzle challenges are weak at best. And what makes all of this worse, is the wait time for this release. This game reeks of hastily composed cheap gimmickry as if the developers woke up last month and said, "Oh we have a release date coming up better slap something together". Next time, use the development dollars on substance, graphics, and HO games which the MCF series is known for and not on the TV actress fee. January 3, 2013
MCF has gone the way of Azada...it's not the same. After dealing with the Ravenhearst mystery, I thought I'd made it big. Then I was sent off to Shadow Lake to deal with an egocentric "ghost hunter" and a histrionic psychic, neither of whom could manage dealing with the danger of dispelling a curse and disposing of a demonic relic. Oh, well. It's a living, I guess. ----- The Best Parts 1. The sound designers deserve an award for creating beautifully ambient tracks for different locations, rather than making us listen to repetitive melodic themes. 2. The animation team that created the segues when you initially visit a map location have a great deal of talent. I loved the effect they created. 3. The photo puzzles with the pieces having real-time physics were fun, I thought, especially in that they became more difficult over time. 4. Those little scary surprises startled me every time, even when I was expecting them. Well done. The Mediocre Parts 1. The storyline should have been fleshed out more. The victims seemed random, but the transfer was not well done (as it was in Denzel Washington's movie, Fallen). The abandonment of the town seemed like an overreaction. I mean, everybody left? It wasn't Silent Hill. Flashback cutscenes to the tribe that discovered the relic would have helped liven the story. There was no way for the player to connect to any of the characters emotionally?to care about what happened to them. 2. The HO scenes were parochial and merely fillers, in spite of having one list with several locations and no clue as to which items were where. The Worst Parts 1. No puzzles. While MCF started out as merely a HOG, it made its name on torturous and tortuous puzzles like all of Charles' locks. 2. The drawings?ugh. Over and over again. 3. Having to travel by map alone, but no jump map to particular rooms/scenes. Every time you had to visit the psychic (and it was a LOT), you had to click on the map, click on the motel, and click forward three times. Ridiculous. There should have been a direct link. 4. The post-credit outro blatantly pointed to a sequel. Please don't. Conclusion Storyline and gameplay were both disappointing because neither panned out. You never forgot you were playing a game?there was no immersion. It felt like a different developer took over our beloved MCF series and shredded it (cf. Azada). Unlike a lot of other fishies, I liked The 13th Skull. And I loved Dire Grove. Head back in that direction, BFG. October 7, 2013
runed a good file After reading all the bad reports I see they are all correct. After loving the first one you would have thought they could have done it again. NOPE. I did not even get a full screen to see stuff. Just a lot of going all over the place for no good reason and not much for HOS. Just a bad game. May 10, 2013
Not awful, just not up to MCF standards Were this a game by anyone else I might give it a higher rating. But the MCF games have put up a standard that they've failed to meet with this game. I bought the standard edition because there were many complaints on the CE about it being too short, and the bonus material just not enough. Instead of just standard HOG scenes there is also the addition of needing to match scraps of paper to a small section of a scene. Sometimes you have to find items and assemble an area to be able to match a scrap. There is a map and it's required to get from area to area. Unfortunately, the map only takes you to the area, not a particular room or place in that area. Fortunately, each area is only a handful of places, so it's not too awful, but every time you return to the motel - where you are constantly returning - means having to then also move back further. It gets tedious. Probably the best part of this game is watching an actress best known for being in Back to the Future shred scenery on the level of great scenery shredders like Brian Blessed. Her hammy over-acting is perfect for this pork-pie of a game. Come on, BFG, you can do better. I don't recommend the game, but MCF people will probably get it anyway, just because. Heck, that's why I got it. I strongly recommend getting it on sale or with a coupon. January 26, 2013
GAME OF THE YEAR?? I realize that big fish will not post this, but possibly you will think about this for future promotions. Today is Dec 30 2012......and you are offering a promotion of $4.99 on award winning games. Mystery Case Files - Shadow Lake was named by you as GAME OF THE YEAR! Please explain how this game could be GOTY when the overall ratings by those who have played it is only TWO STARS??? Nothing makes sense about your rating system of games. Just like all other advertising, it's really not worth the effort. Just let your gamers figure it out and play what appeals to them. I have never agreed once with your suggestions for great exciting games, yet I've purchased a small collection of some of the better games on my own. December 30, 2012
EVEN LIVE ACTORS COULDN'T SAVE THIS GAME Seeing the live actors was my cup of tea until I played this game for about one hour, actual game, not trial version. IHOS were a tad unusual. This business of putting things back the way they were back in 19 whatever was tedious. Junk piles all over the place. I enjoy stories about the supernatural but this game did not hold my interest. I'm off to play another game. January 9, 2013
shadow lake I was totally disappointed with this mystery case file. Don't see how this was the game of the year. Wasn't at all challenging as the rest of the mystery case file games. January 5, 2013
what a letdown I felt compelled to submit a review in the hopes that collectively we can get a message to the developer.This game was so far below par compared to the other MCF games that I kept checking to see if it had been farmed out to another company! It didn't even have the same "feel" as previous games. And, sorry Lea Thompson, but your acting was abysmal. It was completely devoid of practically all the little touches that make MCF games exceptional and special. I look forward to the new MCF game each November more than I look forward to the Thanksgiving feast (and that's saying something). This was like discovering that all we're getting for dinner is tofurkey. Didn't like the offerings? Better luck next Thanksgiving! BigFish, please no more experimental recipes! Your track record with MCF games has heretofore left everyone else in the dust; we crave your games like salivating zombies, which is why we spend all year trying to fill the void by playing copycats, wannabes and hopefuls. Some are much better than others, some are even serious contenders - but none measure up to MCF. Until now, that is. Game of the Year?!? Surely you jest. January 2, 2013
Disappointing MCF I love MCF, so I was really looking forward to this game. They must have gotten some new people behind the franchise, because this one fell very, very short of the high standards they once had for themselves. This game is, in a word: repetitive. The puzzles are extremely easy, and you keep having to find the same objects over and over in the HO scenes. The acting in these things is always pretty bad (and sometimes even that can be fun), but it is unbearably awful in this one. The only improvements made between this and the last ones is that it is easier to jump from location to location using the map and the adventure log is very detailed. I think I'll look elsewhere for a reliably creative, challenging HO games. December 27, 2012
Least favorite of MCF games Lost interest early on, hated having to go back to motel and meet psychic constantly, and very cheesy story line. Puzzles and hidden objects were mediocre. Overall, I was bored and had to force myself to play whole game. December 26, 2012
101-110 of 192 Reviews <<prev 910111213...20next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.