Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game
(1.25 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1536 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 208 208
What a let down I always love the mystery case file games so I bought this one without trying first. I'll never make that mistake again. Wasn't challenging at all. I finished it in 4 hours. It actually got less chalenging as the game progressed. Don't waste your time. January 3, 2013
WHAT?!?!?! How did this game get chosen for Game of the Year when it only has 2 stars and 80% of players DON'T recommend it? December 29, 2012
Very disappointing MCF game Like most fans of HO games, I feel MCF set the standard. I have enjoyed playing every MCF game since the original for years now until this one. The story line is ridiculous. The HO games are practically non-existent. The puzzle challenges are weak at best. And what makes all of this worse, is the wait time for this release. This game reeks of hastily composed cheap gimmickry as if the developers woke up last month and said, "Oh we have a release date coming up better slap something together". Next time, use the development dollars on substance, graphics, and HO games which the MCF series is known for and not on the TV actress fee. January 3, 2013
Could be considered offensive to some.... I came in rather late to the MCF franchise. I tried Huntsville many years ago, disliked the timed factor and passed on each new title. However, I recently bought a few MCF games when BF had a sale. I chose Dire Grove, 13th Skull, and Shadow Lake. Of the three, SL has the most annoying game play, the worst storyline, and the most pathetic acting. I don't know the actress used for the psychic, but if I hadn't already read that she was for real, I would have thought she was someone from the company's mother or aunt (a freebie). I actually laughed out loud whenever she delivered her lines. It was ludicrous. As most reviewers have already outlined the game with exacting details, I won't bore you with more. I did want to mention something that might be offensive to some, as it certainly was to me. I don't mind games with the big Ds: demons, death, and darkness, but there is such a thing as too much realism. This was one of those times. There was a scene where a pastor, a doctor, and a police officer were using God's name to cast out a demon. I really felt this was in poor taste and it made me very uncomfortable. Sacred rites are not for sport and should not be used casually. Big Fish, please go back to the format of 13th Skull, one of the best games on your site. Shadow Lake just didn't do it for me. November 14, 2013
GAME OF THE YEAR?? I realize that big fish will not post this, but possibly you will think about this for future promotions. Today is Dec 30 2012......and you are offering a promotion of $4.99 on award winning games. Mystery Case Files - Shadow Lake was named by you as GAME OF THE YEAR! Please explain how this game could be GOTY when the overall ratings by those who have played it is only TWO STARS??? Nothing makes sense about your rating system of games. Just like all other advertising, it's really not worth the effort. Just let your gamers figure it out and play what appeals to them. I have never agreed once with your suggestions for great exciting games, yet I've purchased a small collection of some of the better games on my own. December 30, 2012
EVEN LIVE ACTORS COULDN'T SAVE THIS GAME Seeing the live actors was my cup of tea until I played this game for about one hour, actual game, not trial version. IHOS were a tad unusual. This business of putting things back the way they were back in 19 whatever was tedious. Junk piles all over the place. I enjoy stories about the supernatural but this game did not hold my interest. I'm off to play another game. January 9, 2013
shadow lake I was totally disappointed with this mystery case file. Don't see how this was the game of the year. Wasn't at all challenging as the rest of the mystery case file games. January 5, 2013
what a letdown I felt compelled to submit a review in the hopes that collectively we can get a message to the developer.This game was so far below par compared to the other MCF games that I kept checking to see if it had been farmed out to another company! It didn't even have the same "feel" as previous games. And, sorry Lea Thompson, but your acting was abysmal. It was completely devoid of practically all the little touches that make MCF games exceptional and special. I look forward to the new MCF game each November more than I look forward to the Thanksgiving feast (and that's saying something). This was like discovering that all we're getting for dinner is tofurkey. Didn't like the offerings? Better luck next Thanksgiving! BigFish, please no more experimental recipes! Your track record with MCF games has heretofore left everyone else in the dust; we crave your games like salivating zombies, which is why we spend all year trying to fill the void by playing copycats, wannabes and hopefuls. Some are much better than others, some are even serious contenders - but none measure up to MCF. Until now, that is. Game of the Year?!? Surely you jest. January 2, 2013
Disappointing MCF I love MCF, so I was really looking forward to this game. They must have gotten some new people behind the franchise, because this one fell very, very short of the high standards they once had for themselves. This game is, in a word: repetitive. The puzzles are extremely easy, and you keep having to find the same objects over and over in the HO scenes. The acting in these things is always pretty bad (and sometimes even that can be fun), but it is unbearably awful in this one. The only improvements made between this and the last ones is that it is easier to jump from location to location using the map and the adventure log is very detailed. I think I'll look elsewhere for a reliably creative, challenging HO games. December 27, 2012
Least favorite of MCF games Lost interest early on, hated having to go back to motel and meet psychic constantly, and very cheesy story line. Puzzles and hidden objects were mediocre. Overall, I was bored and had to force myself to play whole game. December 26, 2012
111-120 of 208 Reviews <<prev 1011121314...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.