Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game
(1.25 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1536 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 205 205
Disappointed I purchased this game based on my fondness for the other MCF games. I did NOT like this one! I did not care for the mini games in this one...I also was not a fan of the hidden objects that covered several rooms. The "fortune teller" or "psychic" that they used really grated my nerves......Too much help at times and not enough at others. Found myself referring to the walkthrough several times for this game, which I don't like. December 31, 2012
Disappointed I wish I would have read the reviews before purchasing this game. I was so disappointed being I own the other Mystery Case File games. Very repetitious. Too much back and forth. Thank God for the hint button. The floating puzzle drove me crazy. I would not recommend this game. December 30, 2012
Really Disappointed Yes, I have to agree, it was not what I expected either from MCF. There was no challenges, or any excitment to the game. So, I hope that even though it was chosen "Game of the Year", that the MCF people will do better on next years game after reading these reviews. December 29, 2012
disappointed I bought the collectors edition without question or trial based on how all the other mystery case files have been. Big mistake. The game itself was short and repetitive, and lacked the overall tone that the older games had. The game seemed cold and was hard to get into. There was very few puzzles or hos which is uncharacteristic of a mcf game. There were very few actual scenes, and they had to be walked through then backed tracked through again and again. Very disappointed as a whole- I think MCF just kind of threw this one out there to get it out by christmas. I know I won't trust this franchise again without question. December 29, 2012
Thank God i had a game credit This was a disappointment! thank god i used my game credit to download it! the story line was a bit confusing at times and the visuals weren't very good! there were times that i couldn't see clearly the menu button or the inventory items! Sad... December 28, 2012
Disappointed This is not like the other MCI games. Had I known it was so bad I would not have wasted 2 credits for the Collector's Edition. December 27, 2012
Worst of the Series If I were to wrap up this game in a single word, it would be "tedious". And I blame that on the overuse of the match-the-drawing tasks that seem to take up more than half the game, and plot-wise, don't advance the storyline. They're basically just time-wasters that force you to keep revisiting places over and over, that no longer have any real secrets to reveal. The picture blocks that you had to assemble were interesting, but like the drawings, the game makers went to this well too many times. I like having a map that can quickly take you from one place to another. But it should be an option. Here, there is no other way to get to any of the 8 main places, even when they're next door to each other. Another gripe is that some of the items you have to find are in complete darkness. This was especially true with the school lockers. Items are completely hidden in shadow, you don't have a light, and the game won't let you use the night-vision goggles you have with you. Another negative is that you are completely led by the nose through the entire game. If you discover something out of sequence, or take an action before the game is ready for it, the game doesn't know how to handle it. One of the nice things about the more recent MCF games is that you're given the sense that you're in an environment that you can freely explore. But this is tightly scripted, and you'd better not get off script. And let me take a moment to talk about the inventory spinner. I hate it with heat of a thousand searing, white-hot suns. Apparently the designers thought it would be "cool" to make it over-spin and bounce back, like some lame iPhone control. Stop it. Stop it now. Whoever thought this was a good idea needs a dope-slap upside the head. All those annoying drawings go into the inventory spinner, and are never all displayed together. So you're constantly having to spin back and fourth to find drawings. And because of the stupid over-spin and bounce back, you actually have to wait for it to settle down before you can pick from it. Again, stop it. Now. I won't rag on Lia Thompson. We've seen her in movies and on TV, and she's a good actress. She was given corny dialogue, and I have to assume, a director who thought "way over the top" was the right choice. Everybody thinks they're Michael Bay. If only for "Back to the Future", Lia gets a free pass. And that's her daughter who plays the female member of the Ghost Patrol. Be sure to watch through the credits for an easter egg concerning her character. To end on a positive note, I will say that I liked the HOGs encompassing multiple rooms, instead of the usual set tableau that you're presented with. And I liked that you sometimes had to use objects out of your inventory to reveal or alter the objects you're looking for. And it was good to hear Madam Fate's voice again, even it was just part of an arcade game. But it wasn't enough to make up for all the bad. May 31, 2014
Just frustrating I am almost finished playing this game and I can't wait until it's over! It is just annoying. What happened to the great puzzles in the previous MCF games? The things I really hated were not knowing in what room to look for the HO items, the inventory bouncing up and down, the lack of information on the map (yes, it had labeled locations, but only sometimes) and the floating pieces of the Mystic's mind that needed to be put together. Please don't do that again! It's a shame that this game was so poor, since I have loved playing the others. Yes, it was challenging, but not in a good way. March 21, 2014
Need to improve the ability to move pieces I really have no clue how to word this, but I was enjoying the game at first, until I had to start moving and flipping puzzle pieces to connect each one, through the use of the mouse. Absolutely frustrating to the point I would click skip, only after struggling for a good 20 minutes!! Since this is a key part of the game, they need to improve upon the use of the mouse, or just plain stop the pieces from floating!! So annoyed, I actually came out of playing just to submit a review. I can't even give a good review for the rest of the game because of this. November 30, 2013
Sared to death It scared me to death at the first part August 29, 2013
121-130 of 205 Reviews <<prev 1112131415...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.