Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game
(1.25 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1536 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 192 192
Not up to Par for MCF I should have believed the reviews before purchasing this game. I had played a couple of MCF games that I really liked so was taken aback by this one. I tend to read dialog and 'hop' through conversations. That is not possible in this game and you must listen to every word spoken in quasi 'southern accents'. The game continued to guide me on what to do and what to look for next and I could not find an option that made the 'coaching' stop. Thus, there was no challenge - just following instructions. From now on, I will try a game before purchasing :-) I think this is the worst I've seen in the MCF series. June 28, 2013
Not up to par I'm a long time fan of MCS games, but on the whole - this was a disappointment. The graphics were great. Cinematography was excellent. Mood was creepy as expected. What really bothered me was the going back and forth. I kept forgetting what I was doing. Lea Thompson really chewed the scenery. Was she doing a William Shatner impression? So hammy, I thought I was eating Spam! As an FYI: There is a place called Biddeford, Maine and every time I saw the game spelling I wanted to scream because I lived very close to that town. Everyone would pronounce it Bitterford! June 4, 2013
I Should Have Listened... I should have listened to others - it was awful. Pay attention to the reviews !!! May 10, 2013
MCF Shadow Lake Well, I usually jump at any Mystery Case Files game because they are usually so good but this one left me highly disappointed. The challenge was horrible, I was finished with the game in 2 days. The storyline was short and sweet, the only big positive was the graphics! April 13, 2013
Seriously?? I should have saved my credit and listened to all the other posts on here, but I just couldn't believe MCF would be so awful. I'm not quite sure where to even start... The story line really fell short for me. It was like a five minute story being drawn out into a 2 hour story, and it really had no depth. The "puzzles" were not like the usual with the MCF series. There is one puzzle in particular that you have to continuously play over and over. Hidden objects aren't constrained to one room/scene..you have to go to multiple rooms and open or move things to find them. Everytime the character talks to you and tells you to look for one specific thing, it's already glimmering in the background..There are times you will get to a location, just to return straight back to the location you just left because the character in the game is calling you back. .All in all, I really just don't understand what they were doing with this one...I was really disappointed. March 22, 2013
Was extremely disappointed I am a huge fan of other MCF games such as return to ravenhearst. I was extremely disappointed when I bought this game, though. I thought it was really boring because I had to go back and forth throughout scenes to copy scraps of paper for a medium. Also if you're not into spiritual/demonic things, I wouldn't recommend this game. (Spoiler) there are objects that are exorcised, a medium who throughout the game talks to spirits, and a demonic worship scene which I didn't like. And it felt to me that they were trying to scare you throughout the whole game, and I didn,t like that because after a while it got boring.This game is not as good as other previous MCF games. I regret buying it. March 9, 2013
Not up to snuff I am also an avid MCF fan...have also bought everyone...I will not be buying this one. Not at all intreged with the storyline or the lack of intensity. The whole "ghost hunters" thing was pretty cool. but that was it. I think you should give us a new MCF and for free to us MCFaholics. February 17, 2013
Disappointing addition to the MCF series I'm really not sure what happened with this game. It has MCF in the name, but it's nowhere near the quality of the Ravenhearst or Dire Grove entries. Lea Thompson isn't normally a bad actress, but her performance here (or the editing of her performance) was gratingly melodramatic and so awful that it actually detracted from the already mediocre game. The "ghost hunter" actor's efforts were also pretty appalling. Other problems: nonsensical storyline about an ancient tribal artifact that makes people go crazy, boring puzzles, awkward psychic visions with weighted blocks that become increasingly troublesome and annoying as the game goes on, and the inability to adjust the difficulty of game play after your initial setting. In contrast to the rest of the MCF series, Shadow Lake feels poorly conceived and rushed through production. Even at the SE level, I'm sorry to say I can't recommend this game. January 26, 2013
Mystrery Case Files has lost it's charm! What a shame! MCF used to be the best games out there, with great plots, fun puzzles, cool scenes. Not any more! January 20, 2013
Not up to usual MCF standards... I love Mystery Case Files and have been playing for years. I was so happy when this game didn't take forever to come out like the last one (for us Mac users). Ironically enough I am just now getting around to playing it. Anyway, this game ended up not being very long considering that it took well over an hour to download. I also feel like the graphics and acting were wonderful, but because of that there was serious skimping on the plot and puzzles. Having to go back and forth for the drawings didn't make much sense, but I was ok with that since searching for clothespins and grapes at a crime scene hasn't ever made much sense. It's a game. Just felt like there was little to no depth to the characters and nowhere near as interesting of a story as Ravenhearst. I can deal with lower quality graphics and bad acting if it means there's an interesting mystery I'm trying to solve with puzzles that are challenging, not just annoying. Those floating things that you had to twist around and match together? Awful. I was disappointed. Definitely try before you buy! January 13, 2013
121-130 of 192 Reviews <<prev 1112131415...20next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.