Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game
(1.25 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1536 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 208 208
Just frustrating I am almost finished playing this game and I can't wait until it's over! It is just annoying. What happened to the great puzzles in the previous MCF games? The things I really hated were not knowing in what room to look for the HO items, the inventory bouncing up and down, the lack of information on the map (yes, it had labeled locations, but only sometimes) and the floating pieces of the Mystic's mind that needed to be put together. Please don't do that again! It's a shame that this game was so poor, since I have loved playing the others. Yes, it was challenging, but not in a good way. March 21, 2014
Need to improve the ability to move pieces I really have no clue how to word this, but I was enjoying the game at first, until I had to start moving and flipping puzzle pieces to connect each one, through the use of the mouse. Absolutely frustrating to the point I would click skip, only after struggling for a good 20 minutes!! Since this is a key part of the game, they need to improve upon the use of the mouse, or just plain stop the pieces from floating!! So annoyed, I actually came out of playing just to submit a review. I can't even give a good review for the rest of the game because of this. November 30, 2013
MCF Shadow Lake Well, I usually jump at any Mystery Case Files game because they are usually so good but this one left me highly disappointed. The challenge was horrible, I was finished with the game in 2 days. The storyline was short and sweet, the only big positive was the graphics! April 13, 2013
Was extremely disappointed I am a huge fan of other MCF games such as return to ravenhearst. I was extremely disappointed when I bought this game, though. I thought it was really boring because I had to go back and forth throughout scenes to copy scraps of paper for a medium. Also if you're not into spiritual/demonic things, I wouldn't recommend this game. (Spoiler) there are objects that are exorcised, a medium who throughout the game talks to spirits, and a demonic worship scene which I didn't like. And it felt to me that they were trying to scare you throughout the whole game, and I didn,t like that because after a while it got boring.This game is not as good as other previous MCF games. I regret buying it. March 9, 2013
Not up to snuff I am also an avid MCF fan...have also bought everyone...I will not be buying this one. Not at all intreged with the storyline or the lack of intensity. The whole "ghost hunters" thing was pretty cool. but that was it. I think you should give us a new MCF and for free to us MCFaholics. February 17, 2013
Disappointing addition to the MCF series I'm really not sure what happened with this game. It has MCF in the name, but it's nowhere near the quality of the Ravenhearst or Dire Grove entries. Lea Thompson isn't normally a bad actress, but her performance here (or the editing of her performance) was gratingly melodramatic and so awful that it actually detracted from the already mediocre game. The "ghost hunter" actor's efforts were also pretty appalling. Other problems: nonsensical storyline about an ancient tribal artifact that makes people go crazy, boring puzzles, awkward psychic visions with weighted blocks that become increasingly troublesome and annoying as the game goes on, and the inability to adjust the difficulty of game play after your initial setting. In contrast to the rest of the MCF series, Shadow Lake feels poorly conceived and rushed through production. Even at the SE level, I'm sorry to say I can't recommend this game. January 26, 2013
Mystrery Case Files has lost it's charm! What a shame! MCF used to be the best games out there, with great plots, fun puzzles, cool scenes. Not any more! January 20, 2013
Not up to usual MCF standards... I love Mystery Case Files and have been playing for years. I was so happy when this game didn't take forever to come out like the last one (for us Mac users). Ironically enough I am just now getting around to playing it. Anyway, this game ended up not being very long considering that it took well over an hour to download. I also feel like the graphics and acting were wonderful, but because of that there was serious skimping on the plot and puzzles. Having to go back and forth for the drawings didn't make much sense, but I was ok with that since searching for clothespins and grapes at a crime scene hasn't ever made much sense. It's a game. Just felt like there was little to no depth to the characters and nowhere near as interesting of a story as Ravenhearst. I can deal with lower quality graphics and bad acting if it means there's an interesting mystery I'm trying to solve with puzzles that are challenging, not just annoying. Those floating things that you had to twist around and match together? Awful. I was disappointed. Definitely try before you buy! January 13, 2013
So sorry I bought it I have LOVED all the previous MCF games and was sure I would love this one also; however, I was very disappointed. Way too much dialogue and going back and forth. I could not even finish the game. I usually don't leave reviews but with this game I had to let others know. Don't waste your money or time on this one. January 13, 2013
Very Disappointed I really disliked this game. I was so disappointed because I really like the other MCF games. Lea Thompson's part was terrible. I really disliked the puzzle part of putting her vision pieces together. It was so time consuming trying to get the pieces to line up. I ended up skipping those. Storyline was so cheesy and the acting was under par and unbelievable. Thank goodness I used a free game token instead of buying. I wouldn't recommend this game. January 13, 2013
131-140 of 208 Reviews <<prev 1213141516...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.