Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game
(1.25 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1536 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 209 209
enjoyed it more than most one here Great game to play with good story line January 4, 2013
Next Evolution To Hidden Object games I almost didn't play this game because of all the bad reviews. Within the first chapter, I was hooked to the game and anxiously awaited to next steps. I love Mystery Case Files!I have played all the games and have experienced every time how the creators keep evolving with new and creative ideas. They have surprised me once again. This game was very enjoyable with an intriguing story and beautiful graphics. January 1, 2013
fun hidden object excellent adventure, hidden object game , gets the brain working .and you need to keep playing as the suspence off what going to happen next recommended to all that love hidden object adventure well done well made December 26, 2012
I LOVED THIS GAME! This game has all of the elements that I like - hidden objects, challenging puzzles, morphing objects, great story, all mixed together with a very spooky atmosphere. December 27, 2012
Interesting Game This game has received a lot of negative reviews, and I do understand some of them. However, I felt this was a very interesting game. It was laid out a bit differently than most HO games, but that was a nice change as far as I was concerned. Pros: The HOs were of two types. The first is the usual list of objects to find. However, they were scattered around several rooms in one location, rather than in a single junk pile. The other type was to match a small piece of a picture to an actual object. Sometimes you needed to put objects in a picture to make it match. The hints were usually useful, though I did need to go to the walkthrough blog for a couple of things. The challenge level was decent. The map allowed you to "teleport." However, it also forced you to teleport, and when you went to the library, it took several steps "forward" to get there. In several cases, walking the block to get to the teacher's house (for example) would have been faster. I didn't mind going back and forth to the medium. It gave nice chapter breaks in the story. Cons: It is a very large file and takes a lot of RAM. As a result, moving to a new location takes longer than usual. I hated the floating puzzles. I knew exactly where the pieces went, but it was a major nuisance to get them to go where they belonged. One of them was so bad I just skipped it, and I generally love puzzles! I really didn't like the exorcism. SPOILER ALERT! When the priest tries to do an exorcism, he and those with him are killed in an earthquake spawned by the demon. If you are going to include occult themes, don't use Christianity (or other mainstream faith) to fail to resolve the problem. Instead, it uses a more occult-themed resolution, which, of course, is entirely successful. I don't use the sound on my games, so I cannot comment on that. Overall, I enjoyed the game. It was different enough from the usual fare to capture my interest, and it was challenging without being frustrating most of the time. December 28, 2012
Couldn't stop I liked the game, a couple of things made for a 4 star instead of a 5, but no reason for a bad review. Lea Thompson was bad, the other actors were a lot better. I liked the plot, couldn't stop, kept me going all day, the way the map plays in the game, the video clips, the way the hidden object lists are played out, placing the drawings, the moving puzzles, connect wires, some mini games I hadn't played before. I had to consult the walkthrough, some things had no reason. blooper: School right beside the house, why take a bus ? bad: no instructions for the last relic mini game September 13, 2014
I'm Going to Try It! After playing and watching the entire demo in casual mode, which took 44 minutes, I've decided to buy it today for $2.99. It seems like a bargain. This is the first game I've ever played where I actually jumped when something scary happened! It was fun. While I can see why Cassandra might get on some folks' nerves, I found her amusing and funny, after all she's a physic. What do you expect? The sound and visual are great, especially the cut scenes of things that have happened in the past (Cassandra is able to see into the past!). The HOS are interactive and can happen in multiple rooms. The list of items to find appears in rooms where some of the objects might be but it disappears when there are no objects from the list in that room. The hint button shows where an object is within a HOS. In game play the hint button tells you what you can do where. I prefer the directional hint, but this works okay here too. Towards the end of the demo there is a puzzle I had trouble with. I used the skip button and it worked perfectly and since this puzzle was the beginning of a cut scene, it presented the cut scene in its entirety. I read one review who stated the skip button didn't work, but it does in casual mode. I don't know about other modes. You have the opportunity to change modes in this game. I didn't see any down sides to this game and am perplexed by the over whelming amount of 1-star reviews. Although I consider myself an expert, as I know pretty much what to do in all the HOGs I play (and that's a lot!), I always play in the easy/casual mode and use hints and sometimes walk throughs to complete my journey. This game seems to have a good hint system, skips (when fully charged) and even a walk through. I can't imagine anyone passing up this amazing opportunity. Try the demo, read some reviews, look at the walk through, and even read the forum. I hope you read mine and it's informative. Great gaming and thanks to Big Fish for providing great games, with hour-long demos, and an opportunity to view our opinions of their games. May 17, 2014
I was delightfully surprised I found this game to be a delightful surprise and frankly interesting and fun to play. I love the MCF games but put off playing this one because I was not impressed when I tried a brief trial. But one rainy afternoon I downloaded it and tried it again. I enjoyed it very much, got hooked that day and purchased it It was different but not so challenging as to be too difficult to play. I'm so glad I gave it another chance. May 15, 2014
Pretty entertaining -- and a little spooky, too! This game is much more entertaining than the average review lets on. Since this game is on special sale this week, I tested it and bought it after 15 minutes of trial, and have been enjoying it. Yes, the psychic (played by a professional actress) is waaaay too hammy to the smallest gesture and eye roll, and the director of the cut scenes should have toned her down. But the story proceeds well and steadily. You arrive in at an old motel where a TV crew had begun to shoot the story of a string of mysterious deaths in this abandoned town. They've taken off in a hurry, leaving a psychic who wants to solve the mystery with you. The settings are very well drawn and imagined -- creepy, delapidated houses, storefronts, library -- and much of this is adventure play, with some HOGs which at least have the variety of taking place over more than one room/settting. (I do question why such a small town would have its own coroner's office, but hey, it's video game!) I've also enjoyed those moving puzzle pieces which you have to carefully rotate together -- on the pieces are scenes which the psychic is "seeing" in her mind, so it actually makes some sense. May 14, 2014
Fun and challenging I was very impressed with this game. Loved the fact that an actual celebrity played a lead character. Fun and challenging. March 22, 2014
41-50 of 209 Reviews <<prev 34567...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.