Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game
(1.25 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1536 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 192 192
Interesting Game This game has received a lot of negative reviews, and I do understand some of them. However, I felt this was a very interesting game. It was laid out a bit differently than most HO games, but that was a nice change as far as I was concerned. Pros: The HOs were of two types. The first is the usual list of objects to find. However, they were scattered around several rooms in one location, rather than in a single junk pile. The other type was to match a small piece of a picture to an actual object. Sometimes you needed to put objects in a picture to make it match. The hints were usually useful, though I did need to go to the walkthrough blog for a couple of things. The challenge level was decent. The map allowed you to "teleport." However, it also forced you to teleport, and when you went to the library, it took several steps "forward" to get there. In several cases, walking the block to get to the teacher's house (for example) would have been faster. I didn't mind going back and forth to the medium. It gave nice chapter breaks in the story. Cons: It is a very large file and takes a lot of RAM. As a result, moving to a new location takes longer than usual. I hated the floating puzzles. I knew exactly where the pieces went, but it was a major nuisance to get them to go where they belonged. One of them was so bad I just skipped it, and I generally love puzzles! I really didn't like the exorcism. SPOILER ALERT! When the priest tries to do an exorcism, he and those with him are killed in an earthquake spawned by the demon. If you are going to include occult themes, don't use Christianity (or other mainstream faith) to fail to resolve the problem. Instead, it uses a more occult-themed resolution, which, of course, is entirely successful. I don't use the sound on my games, so I cannot comment on that. Overall, I enjoyed the game. It was different enough from the usual fare to capture my interest, and it was challenging without being frustrating most of the time. December 28, 2012
Perfectly Within The MCF Tradition BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS Well, here it is a year since I bought this game, and with Fate?s Carnival already waiting for me, and I am just now getting around to playing this game. I guess I was put off by all the controversy. And the really scary (as in, undoable) video-jigsaw mini-games. Regarding the controversy, let me say just this. MCF has always been about leading edge game play, like morphing objects and live actors, and testing the limits, as in Escape From Ravenhearst. So, OF COURSE it?s not going to be like the others, that?s a given. But there are, I think, two styles of MCF game. There are the Ravenhearst games, with their unique take on ?Spooky Mansion?. And the ?Sleuth? games, which include games made to an obvious formula. (You could make a case that Dire Grove and 13th Skull are the games that do not follow tradition ? no arguments from me.) This formula is, for example, the same as that used in Madam Fate. Each chapter is a unit in itself, with a daunting new type of puzzle at the end of each. And we are guided by and return to a ?seer? after each episode. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The game starts with a wonderful sepia-toned movie that flows into the ?real? scenes. Graphics are very good. A bit murky in parts, but this is very much in keeping with the story. The insertion of live acting is unbelievably well done, and it?s wasted on Lea?s appallingly histrionic performance, but I do like the Ghost Patrol, Jack Talon, his overacting is delightfully in keeping with his role. The sound track is innovative and fun. As well as the usual ambient sounds, sometimes a radio might filter in and then disappear again, and sometimes the background clatter is an identifiable pop song! WHAT?S HAPPENING A spiritualist calls for our aid when things get out of hand in Shadow Lake. She is one of the team who produce the TV show, Ghost Patrol. We arrive to find everyone else is gone, and the team of Ghost are hastily packing up and getting out too. Eventually we find the person we?ve come to see. And we embark on an investigation of the history of the local prison and a strange artifact. MAKING PROGRESS The gameplay is indeed new and different to other games. Whilst still a HOPA, the emphasis is on directed action, and the HOPs are almost invisible. The puzzles are even fewer, and I don?t think I skipped more than a couple. The HOPs take two forms. The ?seer? gives us a list of items needed, and they can be found in any of the scenes-within-locations-within-a-building, that each ?chapter? involves. The second type is a group of drawings that mimic the true scenes in your search for clues. Finding them in the scenery is the way ahead. The ?video jigsaw puzzles?, which could keep you occupied for hours on their own, are brilliantly conceived. They are challenging and totally absorbing, yet not so difficult that I was tempted to give up ? even when it did take me forever to finish them. And they differ each chapter with increased difficulty. The ?seer? controls a great deal of our movements, so the map is a joke. Looks great though. You can use it to jump, but it really is useless. The hints are very good, giving you hints that are usually enough to get you back on track. There?s a journal with important clues. FINAL VERDICT I am very impressed. I don?t know what I expected, but this game was absolutely wonderful to play. I even forgave the ?seer? her performance, but she is a large part of the game, so it does lose a star. December 9, 2013
WHAT ...NOBODY LIKED IT? Just finished the game. I thought it was amazing..I loved the story and the creepy people in the games. I even watched the movie segments. I liked the creepiness of the game. Please, please make more creepy videos like this one. February 9, 2013
Not bad, not great either... My review is based on the SE. I wasn't thoroughly impressed with the game as part of the MCF series. By itself, if having not played any of the others, I probably would've liked it a lot more. The game is way too short, especially for the file size. I should've known since I completed the trial 1st chapter in less than 30 minutes. It was a complete surprise that it took me only 2 more hours to complete the game. I found it lacking in puzzles and interactive scenes. I liked the HOS being spread out like they were, but I agree that putting them in a small window was not good. And, some items that aren't needed stick out like a sore thumb, poorly placed, while some needed items blend in a little too well; I had to consult the walkthrough once because I knew what I needed but couldn't find it, and I still needed a screenshot to see it even after I knew where to look. The acting wasn't so bad, I thought that the actors portrayed their characters pretty good. Some of the cut scenes, I felt, were only there to add to the spook factor and didn't complement the story or the game at all. I don't really like jumping from my seat during a game, but they were fairly predictable, so I knew when to look away. This game could be great if there was more to it. There are too many holes in the plot, the story needs more details. I think that if there had been more attention and effort put towards conveying the story and making the game as interactive (or more) as previous MCF games than on those block puzzles, more people would have found it more interesting and enjoyable. I hope that Shadow Lake has another chance to give players more background into the characters and events leading up to the player's arrival. All in all, it was a little too predictable, the map and lack of interaction made it seem shorter than it probably is, and I felt like I couldn't connect with the story or the characters. I hope the next in the series has more puzzles, more back story, more well... Just more. I would recommend to players unfamiliar with MCF. Lastly, to BFG: if you're going to force the credits on us, make sure there aren't any typos first; I'm pretty sure spell check would have caught ASSISTAND. March 1, 2013
Don't judge by low rating. It just a Great game worthy of MCF The same reason Escape from Ravenhearst got low rating.....everybody complains that the game is as hard as it could be but at the ,,Level of Challenge" they gave it 2 stars. Now this was a real game that was really challenging. I can't believe that I almost didn't play these 2 game because of the low rating......the last time I take into account the rating that people give to these games. Shadow Lake is just great. The low rating is because you don't have to blindly go in one direction to finish the game. The fact that you must walk all over the map to get items and use them make is more complicated and you get the feeling of non-linearity. It's nice to see such a lot of effort put by the BEST HOS game-making team out there. The story is well put together and also the music/sounds puts you in the creepy atmosphere of the places. For me its just one of the best games I've played lately. I gave it 4 stars because I gave Escape from Ravenhearst 5 stars and this one isn'g as good but still...... January 7, 2013
Not bad as an SE I'm copying this over from the CE review - they're virtually the same: This review is based on a completed playthrough of the Standard Game and Bonus Content: First, the Bonus Content (or why should I pay double for this game?): There isn't any. Ok, there is - one tiny (seriously tiny) little area that when you finish the two puzzles you get to find morphing objects. No bonus chapter, no extended storyline, yes you get wallpaper and screensavers and other stuff I don't care about but maybe you do. To me, the Bonus Game is the heart of a CE, and this game just doesn't have one: Ok, now to review the rest of the game: THE GOOD: It's different. Not the storyline, we've seen that before, but they tried some different mechanics out. Rather than finding a hidden object scene, the hidden objects are part of regular scenes (you see the list on the screens you can find objects). Then you get 'pictures' - reminded of the old 'viewfinder' reels. You match up the pictures in your inventory with the parts of the scenes that they match. It gives you a reason to remember what you've seen. There were 'scares' without it being a scary game, if that makes sense. Those moments that make you jump even though you see them coming a mile away. Not too many of them - enough to keep you on your toes. THE BAD: Lighting in the scenes. Way too much dark where 'hidden' objects were. I can easily say I have never used the Hint button more times in a single game ever (more on the hint system later). Dark scene after dark scene. The 'puzzle' skip timer restarted whenever you exited and re-entered a puzzle, which wouldn't have been a bad thing if the puzzles didn't make you want to do that to try and figure them out... I can almost always figure puzzles out. I don't know whether these were just that difficult or that unclear or the darkness simply sapped the will from my soul, but I skipped more than a couple. Glitches in the 'task list' (and Strategy Guide): Sometimes going back to an earlier area and 'looking' at something would reset the task list. The worst was at the end of the game when it suddenly went back to Chapter 3... The Strategy Guide was the worst I've ever seen (not that I do many CE's or even use them in the games I have) - all you get are pictures with no instructions. Figuring the SG out was a puzzle all its own. THE UGLY: If you've read any of the reviews you've heard about the acting. Honestly, it's not the acting that was bad - but the script she was given: "The mother in me says that bringing that <object of immeasurable EVIL> home to his family was irresponsible, but part of me says he wasn't in his right mind." Audrey Hepburn couldn't pull lines like that off. The character herself was supposed to be an 'over the top' psychic working on a 'Ghost chasers' type of show: CassAHHndra. She played the role she was given, it was just subpar writing, to put it nicely. Which is a shame because these guys have shown they are capable of much, much better. Maybe after Escape From Ravenhearst they wanted to do a game that didn't take itself too seriously. I'll give them the benefit of the doubt on that one. Bottom line: I can give it four stars as a SE. CE I couldn't even recommend. December 7, 2013
Very Enjoyable Game I must admit that I put off getting this game because of all the bad reviews. I finally decided to get it with a free game coupon, and I'm very glad I did. While it is certainly different, I found it to be a very enjoyable game, with a nice, eerie atmosphere, and more decent acting than I've seen in most games. The storyline was quite good, and I felt that it flowed nicely. It ended in a fashion that flowed reasonably well with the overall storyline, which I was pleased with. I find many games come to a sudden end that's more like running into a brick wall, done simply for the sake of ending the game, rather than really fitting into the story. That was not the case here. There were some things I wasn't impressed with. I found the mini-games very annoying, and ended up skipping through them. I didn't like not being able to move through the dialogue without having to listen to all of the audio - that seems to be a trend in a lot of games lately, and I'd rather be able to read the dialogue and skip through it quickly. But the acting was decent in this game, so it wasn't as bad as usual. I prefer to be able to move around more freely, so I wasn't a huge fan of the map, but it didn't make the game terrible for me - just a minor annoyance. Overall I was impressed with this latest MCF offering, and frankly, after playing the game I'm very surprised at all of the bad reviews. But each of us like different things, and this game is obviously not everyone's cup of tea. I'm just glad that I decided to give it a try, as I thoroughly enjoyed playing it. October 25, 2013
Happy I finally bought this. When this was first released I did the free trial and was so disappointed that I did not buy it. The terrible reviews by other people sealed it's fate. I finally broke down and bought it during the recent 99 cent sale and I am glad I did. I do not think it is anywhere close to as good as the other MCF games however it is pretty good. You have to play the game as if it does not have the MCF name on it and it changes your perspective on the game. A great buy at 99 cents even for full game club member price I think it was worth it. Now bring on Fates Carnival!!!!! Let's get back to the old style MCF and I will be thrilled. September 11, 2013
Great game !!!!! Glad BFG is on the come back! Much better than EFR - no being bored on the HOs waiting for those awful morphs to appear and no really gross/offensive scenes. Critics say the story line is confusing - duh, it's a MYSTERY folks - you have to figure it out like a real detective!! A really fun game except for those annoying floating/spinning puzzles >:{ Also could have been longer!!!!! ended way too soon!!! January 26, 2013
Really like it! I too have bought all the Mystery Case Files games and bought this one right off the bat without trying it first or reading any of the bad reviews first. I love all the Mystery Case Files games (Madame Fate is my absolute favorite). I do wish the story would have been a little stronger. That being said, I love Lea Thompson and I think she added to the game. The soundtrack is good and I liked the puzzles. I really didn't find the repetitive puzzles that annoying. Bottom line is that if I am going to spend my money on a game, I am going to try to enjoy it because when you get down to it, no one forced me to buy it. I love MCF games and will continue to buy them. Thanks BFG! January 6, 2013
41-50 of 192 Reviews <<prev 34567...20next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.