Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game
(1.25 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1536 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 206 206
Next Evolution To Hidden Object games I almost didn't play this game because of all the bad reviews. Within the first chapter, I was hooked to the game and anxiously awaited to next steps. I love Mystery Case Files!I have played all the games and have experienced every time how the creators keep evolving with new and creative ideas. They have surprised me once again. This game was very enjoyable with an intriguing story and beautiful graphics. January 1, 2013
fun hidden object excellent adventure, hidden object game , gets the brain working .and you need to keep playing as the suspence off what going to happen next recommended to all that love hidden object adventure well done well made December 26, 2012
I LOVED THIS GAME! This game has all of the elements that I like - hidden objects, challenging puzzles, morphing objects, great story, all mixed together with a very spooky atmosphere. December 27, 2012
Interesting Game This game has received a lot of negative reviews, and I do understand some of them. However, I felt this was a very interesting game. It was laid out a bit differently than most HO games, but that was a nice change as far as I was concerned. Pros: The HOs were of two types. The first is the usual list of objects to find. However, they were scattered around several rooms in one location, rather than in a single junk pile. The other type was to match a small piece of a picture to an actual object. Sometimes you needed to put objects in a picture to make it match. The hints were usually useful, though I did need to go to the walkthrough blog for a couple of things. The challenge level was decent. The map allowed you to "teleport." However, it also forced you to teleport, and when you went to the library, it took several steps "forward" to get there. In several cases, walking the block to get to the teacher's house (for example) would have been faster. I didn't mind going back and forth to the medium. It gave nice chapter breaks in the story. Cons: It is a very large file and takes a lot of RAM. As a result, moving to a new location takes longer than usual. I hated the floating puzzles. I knew exactly where the pieces went, but it was a major nuisance to get them to go where they belonged. One of them was so bad I just skipped it, and I generally love puzzles! I really didn't like the exorcism. SPOILER ALERT! When the priest tries to do an exorcism, he and those with him are killed in an earthquake spawned by the demon. If you are going to include occult themes, don't use Christianity (or other mainstream faith) to fail to resolve the problem. Instead, it uses a more occult-themed resolution, which, of course, is entirely successful. I don't use the sound on my games, so I cannot comment on that. Overall, I enjoyed the game. It was different enough from the usual fare to capture my interest, and it was challenging without being frustrating most of the time. December 28, 2012
I'm Going to Try It! After playing and watching the entire demo in casual mode, which took 44 minutes, I've decided to buy it today for $2.99. It seems like a bargain. This is the first game I've ever played where I actually jumped when something scary happened! It was fun. While I can see why Cassandra might get on some folks' nerves, I found her amusing and funny, after all she's a physic. What do you expect? The sound and visual are great, especially the cut scenes of things that have happened in the past (Cassandra is able to see into the past!). The HOS are interactive and can happen in multiple rooms. The list of items to find appears in rooms where some of the objects might be but it disappears when there are no objects from the list in that room. The hint button shows where an object is within a HOS. In game play the hint button tells you what you can do where. I prefer the directional hint, but this works okay here too. Towards the end of the demo there is a puzzle I had trouble with. I used the skip button and it worked perfectly and since this puzzle was the beginning of a cut scene, it presented the cut scene in its entirety. I read one review who stated the skip button didn't work, but it does in casual mode. I don't know about other modes. You have the opportunity to change modes in this game. I didn't see any down sides to this game and am perplexed by the over whelming amount of 1-star reviews. Although I consider myself an expert, as I know pretty much what to do in all the HOGs I play (and that's a lot!), I always play in the easy/casual mode and use hints and sometimes walk throughs to complete my journey. This game seems to have a good hint system, skips (when fully charged) and even a walk through. I can't imagine anyone passing up this amazing opportunity. Try the demo, read some reviews, look at the walk through, and even read the forum. I hope you read mine and it's informative. Great gaming and thanks to Big Fish for providing great games, with hour-long demos, and an opportunity to view our opinions of their games. May 17, 2014
not a usual MCF as in the old days - but a very good game! This is just a comment: A really good mystery game which is not following ways gone with the Ravenhurst story, which is good. I started my "gaming carreer" with Dire Grove and in some extent this new adventure awakens impressions I had when I played this one. If you are open to something new and do not expect what the past offered, then you should of course try Shadow Lake. March 22, 2013
Not bad as an SE I'm copying this over from the CE review - they're virtually the same: This review is based on a completed playthrough of the Standard Game and Bonus Content: First, the Bonus Content (or why should I pay double for this game?): There isn't any. Ok, there is - one tiny (seriously tiny) little area that when you finish the two puzzles you get to find morphing objects. No bonus chapter, no extended storyline, yes you get wallpaper and screensavers and other stuff I don't care about but maybe you do. To me, the Bonus Game is the heart of a CE, and this game just doesn't have one: Ok, now to review the rest of the game: THE GOOD: It's different. Not the storyline, we've seen that before, but they tried some different mechanics out. Rather than finding a hidden object scene, the hidden objects are part of regular scenes (you see the list on the screens you can find objects). Then you get 'pictures' - reminded of the old 'viewfinder' reels. You match up the pictures in your inventory with the parts of the scenes that they match. It gives you a reason to remember what you've seen. There were 'scares' without it being a scary game, if that makes sense. Those moments that make you jump even though you see them coming a mile away. Not too many of them - enough to keep you on your toes. THE BAD: Lighting in the scenes. Way too much dark where 'hidden' objects were. I can easily say I have never used the Hint button more times in a single game ever (more on the hint system later). Dark scene after dark scene. The 'puzzle' skip timer restarted whenever you exited and re-entered a puzzle, which wouldn't have been a bad thing if the puzzles didn't make you want to do that to try and figure them out... I can almost always figure puzzles out. I don't know whether these were just that difficult or that unclear or the darkness simply sapped the will from my soul, but I skipped more than a couple. Glitches in the 'task list' (and Strategy Guide): Sometimes going back to an earlier area and 'looking' at something would reset the task list. The worst was at the end of the game when it suddenly went back to Chapter 3... The Strategy Guide was the worst I've ever seen (not that I do many CE's or even use them in the games I have) - all you get are pictures with no instructions. Figuring the SG out was a puzzle all its own. THE UGLY: If you've read any of the reviews you've heard about the acting. Honestly, it's not the acting that was bad - but the script she was given: "The mother in me says that bringing that <object of immeasurable EVIL> home to his family was irresponsible, but part of me says he wasn't in his right mind." Audrey Hepburn couldn't pull lines like that off. The character herself was supposed to be an 'over the top' psychic working on a 'Ghost chasers' type of show: CassAHHndra. She played the role she was given, it was just subpar writing, to put it nicely. Which is a shame because these guys have shown they are capable of much, much better. Maybe after Escape From Ravenhearst they wanted to do a game that didn't take itself too seriously. I'll give them the benefit of the doubt on that one. Bottom line: I can give it four stars as a SE. CE I couldn't even recommend. December 7, 2013
WHAT ...NOBODY LIKED IT? Just finished the game. I thought it was amazing..I loved the story and the creepy people in the games. I even watched the movie segments. I liked the creepiness of the game. Please, please make more creepy videos like this one. February 9, 2013
Not bad, not great either... My review is based on the SE. I wasn't thoroughly impressed with the game as part of the MCF series. By itself, if having not played any of the others, I probably would've liked it a lot more. The game is way too short, especially for the file size. I should've known since I completed the trial 1st chapter in less than 30 minutes. It was a complete surprise that it took me only 2 more hours to complete the game. I found it lacking in puzzles and interactive scenes. I liked the HOS being spread out like they were, but I agree that putting them in a small window was not good. And, some items that aren't needed stick out like a sore thumb, poorly placed, while some needed items blend in a little too well; I had to consult the walkthrough once because I knew what I needed but couldn't find it, and I still needed a screenshot to see it even after I knew where to look. The acting wasn't so bad, I thought that the actors portrayed their characters pretty good. Some of the cut scenes, I felt, were only there to add to the spook factor and didn't complement the story or the game at all. I don't really like jumping from my seat during a game, but they were fairly predictable, so I knew when to look away. This game could be great if there was more to it. There are too many holes in the plot, the story needs more details. I think that if there had been more attention and effort put towards conveying the story and making the game as interactive (or more) as previous MCF games than on those block puzzles, more people would have found it more interesting and enjoyable. I hope that Shadow Lake has another chance to give players more background into the characters and events leading up to the player's arrival. All in all, it was a little too predictable, the map and lack of interaction made it seem shorter than it probably is, and I felt like I couldn't connect with the story or the characters. I hope the next in the series has more puzzles, more back story, more well... Just more. I would recommend to players unfamiliar with MCF. Lastly, to BFG: if you're going to force the credits on us, make sure there aren't any typos first; I'm pretty sure spell check would have caught ASSISTAND. March 1, 2013
I was delightfully surprised I found this game to be a delightful surprise and frankly interesting and fun to play. I love the MCF games but put off playing this one because I was not impressed when I tried a brief trial. But one rainy afternoon I downloaded it and tried it again. I enjoyed it very much, got hooked that day and purchased it It was different but not so challenging as to be too difficult to play. I'm so glad I gave it another chance. May 15, 2014
41-50 of 206 Reviews <<prev 34567...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.