Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game
(1.25 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1536 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 209 209
Corny psychic but fun I rather enjoyed this game. The psychic was "overacting" quite a bit in my opinion, but I found the game very interesting. I liked finding the hidden pictures and bringing them back to the psychic and then doing all of the very clever moving puzzles! The only downfall I found was that I had to skip most of the games due to poor quality -- I don't know if it was the video not streaming properly, but there was "something" wrong with the pictures where I couldn't complete the games. That was the only bummer. :( January 1, 2013
Good game The game is challenging with high resolution graphic. December 26, 2012
3- 4 stars for a SE (if you don't think it's a MCF) but very disappointing... In the last and this MCF in the bonus there is utterly no story just doing things (here a 10-15min bonus in the CE) so you aren't missing out at all on any story - bonus or otherwise. I really recommend you stick with the SE. I was very disappointed with this game (I finished the CE). Here are the reasons - Every year I looked forward to the MCF as BFG always pushed themselves, were the leaders in innovative HOPAs and that is one thing I really miss from this game. Dire grove had 'real actors', 13th skull really integrated the actors further into the games, although LF games have been doing FMV games for decades and the reason why I didn't like 13th skull so much was how it was done. But it was different as so was EFR - morphs as a HOS! Taking risks,being the leader that was big fish. What is new in this game? Nothing. Transporter map that you have to use and not like other HOPAs which you can walk to scenes (LF games do that). HOS going on for multiple scenes - really old HOGs did that. The only thing that was a bit different was the graphics on the arcade/physics tumbling block but there was a variation of that in surface:the noise she couldn't make. It was like "hey we have a new graphics puzzle here, and just in case you haven't noticed it, we'll repeat this 7 times!" I can put up with repeating puzzles or HOS if it's about 2 or 3 times but here It was so forumlaic/repetitive as in at the end of each chapter you are called by the psychic to get 'drawings' (small clip of a scene you have visited and you have to find it - reverse HOS) then after you backtrack all over areas you've just been to, to place them you get a tumbling arcade type jigsaw. You have to repeat all this about 7 times. I also didn't get the plot. Where was the mystery, the suspense? There was none, all a very old story retelling through a medium. There were 13 HOS ( different ones but as they were over more than one scene it felt a lot more!) Oh how I miss the morph different kind of HOS, here it just dragged on as a lot were over multiple areas. This isn't new as old HOGs used to do this. All but one were list type, and all but one were not junk pile. Items were tiny and very well blended in so you better have perfect eyesight. There sadly is a random click penalty (on hard, don't know about casual) but they didn't repeat. continued 12 Puzzles If you love puzzle in your HOPA you will be disappointed as 7 of them are the repeating type and none were challenging. There were a couple of arcade type which I don't like so even skipped them. The tumbling block one does get progressively harder but in one, you can't move the center ones and if you connect some in the wrong place it's impossible to move around to join. Thankfully you can skip the puzzles. Graphics were a weird mix, of sharp and well done scenes to looking like they were compressed and so dull, so many monochromatic scenes - a lot has a green hue on them. WARNING for some (slight spoiler) While I'm sure that people who don't like dark, summoning spirits know this about MCF games it's really ramped up here sadly. -There is an exorcism on an object -Throughout there is a psychic communicating with the dead and others -There is a demonic worship act, mumbling in latin to summon demons (your character is trying to stop it) I really wish that wasn't in the game. Live actors, I usually love and sometimes it did hold the game together, but sorry Lea Thompson came across as melodramatic, and frankly bad especially at the end. And it's not direction or expecting too much as I thought the unknowns were far better actors. Graphics were a weird mix, of sharp and well done scenes to looking like they were compressed and so dull, so many monochromatic scenes - a lot has a green hue on them. OK so what's good about it? Non repeating of HOS A bit different some of the interactions or nice playing scenes For a HOPA I thought it was a good challenge (not as hard as the others though) It's not that long but it's a good enough length Some cutscenes and some graphics I'm recommending the SE as long as you don't think this is a MCF and just view it as a HOPA then it's OK. I hated the repeating aspect of it, plus having to go back over areas anyway due to gameplay and my personal rating is a 2 stars. But I really try and be objective so am giving it a 3-4stars and if you don't mind the above then it's worth while playing. December 25, 2012
Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake I was very disappointed. It's not up to the standards of the previous MCFs and I bought all of those. This one is very hard to follow, seems disjointed. I'd have been happier if there had been a 'skip" available for the psychic, sheesh what a talker! Anyway, this is a no buy for me. Hopefully the developers will go back to the original well crafted games. December 25, 2012
Not what I expected- potential spoilage I bought the SE with a free coupon for something to play on Christmas day. I enjoyed the beginning, the suspense was pretty good. I even liked Lea Thompson as the psychic. But once the repetitive aspects became clear, the fun and suspense went out the window. I love an interactive map, but I also love backtracking in a well done game. It is a refresher of where items belong or what you may have missed. But not to have an option was frustrating, especially because you did not go to where something needed to be done, but to the first spot in the scene or chapter. Going back to see the psychic was a four click move, every time. And the floating puzzle, yuck! One was ok, but knowing I had to repeat it was barely tolerable. I have been a Big Fish member for years, I enjoy the opportunity to try so many games and buy what I like. As others have said, this game is just not up to standards. Some of the other game companies seem to be listening to what is said in the forums and adapting the suggestions. It is sad to say, but it seems like the developers of this MCF did not. Old, stale, and tired best describe this game. Sorry BFG. December 26, 2012
This game is not as impressive as I expected. This review is based on playing the demo, which for some reason was tremendously short ... I had plenty of expectations towards playing this game, having played other games in this series. Bigfish was heavily promoting this game probably because they put so much on producing this game, and it did leave an impression it might be the next best thing in the MCF series. It could of been that great if only they didn't try so hard to fix something that wasn't broken meaning the good old formula of other MCF was just fine didn't have to sweat new ideas. On the plus side: the graphics are clear and well made though at times the objects on my monitor seemed to small to locate. There are few sub scenes for the HO list, which added more challenge, which is good. The map beamed you to places you wanted to go to in order to complete missions, saved you from walking aimlessly. The hint button was very helpful and recharged fast. On the less glorious side: The acting wasn't all that convincing, and we could do just fine without the pieces of paper we had to collect in order to make one psychic lady happy. in my opinion, they were unnecessary part of the gameplay. I recommend to give the demo a try and see if it's something you want to add to your bigfish console. December 26, 2012
Truth hurts So. Big Fish Games people, if you read reviews, you must know by now, that truth hurts. OK, this is not a 2 1/2 star game by any standards, but you know what? It's a 2 1/2 star game by YOUR standards. I am not going to repeat the obvious, hammered to you by 700+ reviews. But, let's take a break and learn some lessons for the future: 1. There is a reason casting directors are paid tons of money. Because of your joy that you hit a deal with a Hollywood star (well, C list star, but of course you were too happy to think about it# you oversaw the obvious. That you should never cast a middle-age blonde actress #ideal housewife) to play the psychic in a dark story. She practically DESTROYED the whole idea, because, of course, you were too weak to say "no" to her and her agent's opinion about how the role should be played. God, even madame Fate's VOICE only was orders of magnitude better than this laughable piece of acting. She was a COP-OUT, added nothing to the role and probably only learned her lines the same morning she did the shooting. She thought of the whole idea to play in the MCF series as a , with overacting, eyes ready to pop out etc, which is INSULTING to you AND us, the legions of faithful followers. 2. Innovation for innovation's sake sucks. OK, we all admired the rotating video technology, but at the end of the day, it added nothing to the fun factor. We know you want to be at the cutting edge of tech, but this should not be done at the expense of the fun factor. Take examples from other developers, who, may have limited budgets, but somehow have the talent to bring new elements in the industry, i.e. the 3D characters from Elephant. You try to be innovative, while on the other hand you DO NOT EVEN give us the game in wide screen!!! So, ponder on these, go back to the drawing board and think. Fire a few people if you have to, especially the casting director, and beware: next year, you have MCF 10. You are not allowed to mess this up. December 27, 2012
beware CE edition bonus content not like usual MCF I played this game keeping in mind the reviews stating the differences from previous MCF games. I still found the game challenging and am glad I played it but I would have waited for the SE. I did not realize that I had to complete the bonus section while playing the main game. I wasn't even sure exactly where the bonus content started and the regular game ended. I did not complete the combination on the safe because it was difficult and had hoped to go back to it. Once I finished the game the bonus challenge was no longer available and the game would have to be replayed from the beginning to get to that content again. Before buying keep these things in mind: 1)bonus content inside the regular game. 2)it is challenging and as good as any other brand game 3)very different from usual MCF style 4)don't set your expectations too hight and just enjoy the game. I would recommend the SE but not the CE January 10, 2013
Not their best but certainly not awful (MEDIOCRE) Like the title says, this game is definitely not one of MCF's best games but it's not complete trash like some of the reviews like to portray it. It's enjoyable as a Hidden Object game but honestly it could have been a lot better. The graphics are sub par. After beautiful games that came before Shadow Lake such as Dire Grove, 13th Skull and Escape from Ravenhearst, I had to keep asking myself if this was a re-publish of an older game due to how lack luster and boring the environments were. Sadly, it is not. I have a feeling this game was hastily put together and published. The puzzles? Far too easy. I can usually beat a Hidden Object game in about 4 hours but this one took me around 2-3 rarely using hints. That being said, the puzzles were still enjoyable to a point. I was impressed to see physics actually being used for the 'mind-puzzles' and even though it sometimes made solving it a pain I admire that MCF likes to try new things in each of their games. I'm not even going to talk about the acting. Hidden Object game acting, I've come to learn, is very hokey and pretty hammy and I've come to enjoy--if not become immune--to that ridiculousness enough to have a good time. That said, if you're not into that you really will want to avoid this game since I'd say 75% of it is real-life actors. Lia Thompson was fine in this and was fun to listen to while also poke fun at as well. I won't talk about the story either. It's an MCR story. It's going to be ridiculous and fun. Last, the sound was...dull. If there was any sound even playing most of the time. Occasionally you get some simple atmospheric sound (ravens crying, static tv, wind blowing etc) but for the most part it's pretty quiet. If a BGM actually pops its head in it doesn't last long, making the looping highly grating (as if a poor song wasn't bad enough, imagine listening to it over and over again. Luckily the puzzles were so easy I didn't have to listen to them for too long). Much like the boring sceneries the sound matched well, which isn't a good thing. There were some things that people complained about that I didn't mind too much (map travel, constant back-and-forthing, redundancy) but I also can't understand how people could give this a five star rating when it was so mediocre. Overall I'd still say this is the dud of the MCF family. I can't be too mad about it since I technically got this game for free due to a "BOGO" deal. Still, if you want to be a purist and play all the MCF games this one won't kill you. It'll definitely kill time at least. Also warning: jump scares. I hate them (as in I find them the weakest and most irritating attempts to invoke fear) and there's a lot of them. Faint of heart be warned. July 24, 2014
Beginner Player & Not Challenged I am a beginner player and did not find it all that challenging and jumping back and forth to the Medium's room was repetitive and did not lend anything to the game. December 26, 2012
71-80 of 209 Reviews <<prev 678910...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.