Bookmark

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Full version game
(1.25 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1536 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake 2.8 5 192 192
Not there Greatest Iam a huge fan of Mystery Case Files but this one was not the best in the bunch. I like the storyline, graphics and sound were good, but, in casual mode I found my self needing the strategy guide due to clues often left out or having no idea what I was looking for or what task I needed. The game itself was way to short, in fact Huntsville without all the video gave us 20 or so cases not including puzzles to do, this one lacked that. Bottom line I would have spent more money on the game and less on an actress to play a part for their video sections. I am disappointed with this one. January 7, 2013
*Yawn* PROS: --Graphics and sound are great. --Storyline is interesting. --Game play is not too difficult and navigation is easy. CONS: --Cut scenes are way too long and acting is bad --Psychic is completely unnecessary to storyline. Story would be great with Master Investigator only --Rotating puzzles, while interesting concept, are tedious --Game play is boring. Perform an action, go get frustrating slips of paper, watch psychic's bad acting, repeat. YAWN January 5, 2013
So glad I got this for a discount. I'm so happy I got this game for a discount. I was so excited for the newest MCF game as i've LOVED every other one. This one was just not up to par. The story line was decent in the beginning, but it got old fast. It was also a lot shorter (it seemed) than all of the others. I also found myself very annoyed with the psychic's dialogue. It was just so forced. The ending was horrible as well. Such a dissapointment. :( January 3, 2013
average as others, i was also disappointed with the standard and mistakes in this game. i played the standard edition as i was warned that the collectors one is not worth it. i made a good decision. the game had a couple of new or relatively new features and i "enjoyed" those scary moments in there, despite i hate when they occur elsewhere, such as on youtube with michael jackson` ghost. i truly hate those but they were a good detail for this game. scenes were rather boring in comparison to the previous mcf games. there was a mistake in the letter about the drowned woman: she was found missing on 15 of august and they started to search for her the next day on the morning: on 15 of august... when i finished the game, there were still some items in my itinerary and when the cast (credist) came on, they were inescapable. not key worked to skip it, i could only to wait till the end to have easy access on this forum to post my review, or quit the whole game and search this forum manually on the website. annoying. this game definitely did not meet my expectations, which were low anyway after reading the reviews here prior the purchase. only because it was on offer i decided to buy it and make my own opinion about it. i agree with others here. developers, please, try harder next time or do not bother at all. January 1, 2013
Entertaining, but not up to MCF standards First, I would advise not to spend the money on the CE. This game was entertaining compared to the majority but not what you would expect for the new MCF. The cons: It is very easy, the psychic addition is a bit odd as in she is almost telling you what to do, then she will suddenly just call for you during your "investigation" and you must go. There are very few puzzles and everything has to be traveled by a map, this part also takes away from the normal MCF brilliant scenery that is, for the most part, absent. The pros: HO's can be in multiple locations which I feel gives more experience to the game, instead of just staring at the same location. You also have to be on the look out for specific scene locations that the psychic gives you and items in HO are for the most part what you may find (not too many carrots in the closet). The general idea and story line seem to have been going in a great direction but got cut short. I personally like the character interaction idea, as from 13th Skull, it keeps you on the story line. Play it, it was entertaining but don't have typical MCF expectations from it. December 29, 2012
Spent to much time at the lake instead of making a good game I own all of the PC "Mystery Case Files" games and found myself disappointed in this game "Shadow Lake". I waited a year for this release and couldn't wait to play it. As the days got closer to the release day, the anticipation was killing me. BAM! Finally, here it was the day of, and after 4 hours, I was done with the whole game. Say what? The "Ravenhearst" series were just amazing but this one had only one thing going for it, which was the graphics. But even they weren't that great and the actors need to go back to acting school. I really hate doing this kind of review on my favorite Hidden Object Game series but it's the truth. Fans of the series who haven't played this yet, will find out exactly what I'm talking about. It's not that great of a game. Sorry guys. I hope to play a better game next year from you guys. December 26, 2012
Shadow Lake Review If you are a fan of Mystery Case Files like I am, then this one will disappoint you. This is very different then your typical adventure/hidden object game. The HOS are not in one area and the puzzle is the same thing just different degrees of it. The game basically goes by places and within each place you look for hidden objects within one or two screens and you find locations to match drawings you get. Then when one location is complete, you do a puzzle that is extremely simple to move on to the next location. The acting is completely over dramatic and annoying. If this is your first Mystery case File game, and you are a beginner at Hidden object/adventure games, then you may like it. March 22, 2014
Okay, but not MCF typical style This game is not like the other MCF games. The format is different and the interactions are slightly odd sometimes. Plus it has a lot of cut-scene movie-type material. There are HO objects, puzzles, maps, hints, etc There is a certain style and gameplay that has been consistent the MCF brand. If you're looking for a standard MCF game pass on this one because you will be disappointed. That's not to say it's a bad game because it isn't. But you will have to take it on its own merits and view it as something "other" and to one's taste. It's not to my taste. January 9, 2014
A real mixed bag After looking at the very mixed reviews I tried (and bought) this game to check it out myself as I liked the others in the series. I have to agree with the folk that like the game as well as with the ones that don't, but I don't feel that strongly either way. Initially I found the floating picture bits and the matching of parts of locations quite innovative; something completely new for a change. Except the same thing was used over and over again without anything much else in between, which made it boring and I ended up skipping the last couple of those. The HO scenes are also special and very different because it's not just one scene in fact but across a location with a lot of interaction along the way. Again, innovative ... and then overused. Feels like as if the planning team from the developer sat together for an hour and came up with these 3 new ideas and made a whole game out of that, which is sad, as now the innovation got lost in the repeatitiveness of it. I cannot say much about the live acting, never heard of the actress before, but I thought it fitted well, except ... guess what ... the same scene was repeated over and over again. Overall a more or less pleasant couple of hours spent at the end with the repetitive yawn factor, specifically as the storyline as such was also so similar to what's been done all over the show already too. Pity, there was potential but it was drowned out by the re-use of the couple of new ideas. I'd only recommend this if you're rich and retired with time to spare ;) or as a DD. December 30, 2013
Interesting story line--tedious hunting The premise was good. The acting was ok--hokey and over the top but still good. The hunt for the clues basically involved doing the same thing over and over and over and over again. By the 4th time, I was desperate for the game to be over. The game was just ok for me, but then I had just finished Dire Grove and LOVED that one. If you can get it on sale--go for it. I paid $9.99 and don't think I would again. December 26, 2013
81-90 of 192 Reviews <<prev 7891011...20next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.