Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Edgar Allan Poe’s classic tale gets a reboot in this fourth game in the well-loved Dark Tales series. You and your detective companion Dupin have been summoned to the seashore to help William LeGrand discover the exact location of a treasure lost hundreds of years ago. But LeGrand isn’t the only one with designs on the pirate booty… A masked villain tries to make off with the code, and a mysterious woman in a veil seems to be connected. Follow the clues – with the help of the superior sniffing abilities of your Newfoundland sidekick – to track down the treasure and foil the criminal’s plans.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus game
  • Re-playable mini-games, hidden-object scenes, and cut scenes
  • Soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 688 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition 3.8 5 112 112
Good for a few hours Nice game. Certainly pretty. Nothing too challenging. January 16, 2013
Hard to tell What I have been able to play so far is pretty good. Nice graphics, nice sound. Characters are a little hokey, but ok. The problem is that since I have PURCHASED the game it has frozen twice in a matter of minutes. Next to impossible to get it shut down. If it doesn't work after a complete computer shut down I will request my money back. January 10, 2013
Not as challenging as I hoped I just didnt think the challenge was there. I rather like the harder challenges, with maps, and other special features. January 11, 2013
Big fan of previous Dark Tales I don't fault ERS for trying something new, but I would have enjoyed the story more if the game were a traditional HOG. January 21, 2013
Only HOS I love the E.A. Poe series, have all. The artwork is lovely, detailed, not too dark. That said, the HOS are rather cluttered, not junk-pile, just done so some objects are hidden in small details of other objects. VO are good, without lip-sync, music is good, but I ended up turning off music. Personally, I've found very few games where the music doesn't bother me, doesn't mean it's bad music. Game play was okay, lots of sneaker work, no map, but directional hint. I love Arthur the dog, well drawn, must have had a model! I did play the demo, but a few months ago. I'd forgotten how many HOS are in this game; rather disappointed I bought the game because of that. I probably wouldn't have made the purchase until a lower price, like daily deal. I prefer some adventure to mix it up, However, I do like this series, so I will cope with the steady stream of HOS on a rainy day. All in all, a good game, rather short, but Poe stories aren't long-winded anyway. Ending was a bit abrupt to me. If you like lots of HOS, you'll love this game. Happy gaming to one and all! August 5, 2014
Good series gone bad The fourth game in the Dark Tales series by ERS ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I own previous games in this series and was convinced that it is a good series. I like good detective games and they are one of the best from this dev. However I was a bit disappointed that this time the plot is about Captain Kidd's treasure. I am no fan of pirates and the like and only a small bit of pirate games out there are good. I was not interested with this plot at all, sadly. There are 3 levels of difficulty and there are way too many mini games in this game that I had to skip all because I was not interested. Actually the puzzles are all of easy level but still it's annoying because it's in every corner. I The graphic is ERS's trademark washed out colors. The hint recharges realllyyy slowly.. even though I chose the beginner level. There is VO, and everything is fine except for the villain who sounds so quiet it's whispering instead of threatening. Definitely unsuitable for the character. There is a dog which accompanies us during the investigation but then again I don't think we really need one, and it's only a gimmick from this dev. to include something furry and cute into the game. The extras are the usual stuff, nothing new except calendar wallpaper, which of course I will never use. There are also replayable HOG and puzzles scenes, but I won't use it also. The bonus chapter is not that important to play. Overall, I was not impressed with this game and sorry but I cannot recommend this game. If the plot is better then maybe it will make a great game, not sure if I want to buy the next one now. June 18, 2014
Disappointed I love the Edgar Allan Poe games, but this one was just a bit boring and short. With limited places to go and few things to do, it left me wanting more. I was really disappointed in this particular game. April 2, 2013
Nothing Special... I am completely disappointed with this offering! I LOVE this series and own all the rest but this one isn't even on the same level as the others AND compared to what Ive seen ERS do in their last couple games, this one is a HUGE step backward. Mac users get a full hour to play, not a sample version SO I made it into chapter 3 with the doctor house being on fire and some other things going on AND with the exception of the first couple puzzles which drew me in and then that awesome hidden object silhouette puzzle, it goes back to list hidden object scenes. In fact, it goes from back to back to back list hidden object scenes in the same scenes that you just did. Like for instance, I played a list hidden object scene which are total junkpiles btw. I don't know how anyone could say they aren't. The objects are small, hard to find and I had to squint and I don't even have bad vision not to mention its a junk fest of clutter. I had to find 4 bees in each hidden object scene even the same bee I had found previously. Anyway, played a hidden object scene, then did a task in the same room for dupin and then the sparkles were back over the hidden object scene I had just done~! then I go to the next room and the sparkles are back on another one with the same list scene. I was playing the hardest mode too so why are sparkles even there? And I was almost halfway through on the hard mode! Some ERS games blow my mind like the reality show one. I couldn't believe it was from ERS, I loved it so much, I can't wait for the SE but this is garbage! Its so sad to see what this developer can do and then to see it go backwards constantly. I did have widescreen on my mac but it doesn't make up for the lack of imagination that went into this game. January 10, 2013
Really boring game.... Although during the trial hour it wasn't a great game, the fact that there were no junk HOGs and the graphics were excellent and that I've enjoyed the others in the series persuaded me to buy it. Having purchased it, there was one junk pile HO scene after another after another after another...not even interactive. well, unless you count moving two objects to find another and they were covered in sparkles even in advanced mode! I couldn't take any more after another 30 mins of this, so uninstalled. Has to rank as one of the most boring CEs ever. It felt as though the devs consider us all too stupid to fathom anything out, as the whole game led us by the hand as though we are toddlers. The graphics were excellent, and that's all I can say. January 10, 2013
What went wrong????? I enjoyed previous Dark Tales editions but this one is BAD. The scenes are beautiful, I'll say that. That handles the positives. Negatives: It's just too simple. It's misnamed: if you like dark, mysterious, scary, this isn't the game for you. There's a peculiar element where you match up something from your inventory with a pet dog who performs a small search for you. (This is not giving anything away. You'll learn of it early on.) The puzzles are so simple as to be insulting. They aren't challenging...and honestly, they're not a bother, either, because it takes 30 seconds or less to solve them. This was just a real disappointment and I'm so sorry I wasted credits for a Collector's edition. There is NOTHING SPECIAL about this. I can't imagine recommending this to anyone as a CE. It's barely recommendable as a SE for an elementary school child. BOO HISS. January 28, 2013
91-100 of 112 Reviews <<prev 89101112next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Dupin needs your help solving the mystery of the gold bug. Crack the codes and follow the clues to one man’s obsession with an old legend.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.