Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Edgar Allan Poe’s classic tale gets a reboot in this fourth game in the well-loved Dark Tales series. You and your detective companion Dupin have been summoned to the seashore to help William LeGrand discover the exact location of a treasure lost hundreds of years ago. But LeGrand isn’t the only one with designs on the pirate booty… A masked villain tries to make off with the code, and a mysterious woman in a veil seems to be connected. Follow the clues – with the help of the superior sniffing abilities of your Newfoundland sidekick – to track down the treasure and foil the criminal’s plans.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus game
  • Re-playable mini-games, hidden-object scenes, and cut scenes
  • Soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 688 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition 3.8 5 112 112
I gave it a 2.5! I really liked the first 3 games in this series, but not too sure about this one. Very disappointed in the graphics...fuzzy. Game play was nice. HOGs are cluttered and some items extremely small and difficult to see. Games are very simple. Nice SG (although the print is sometimes hard to read), nice voice overs, music okay. The "bad guy" in the mask did not scare me at all. His voice was whimpy. So what are you afraid of? I am a huge fan of EAP and this story just doesn't have the umph that it should. This game was not challenging to me and did not keep my interest, nor make me want to continue to see what happens. This would be a nice game for a beginner, or someone who just wants to skate by in a game. I don't see that it is CE worthy, especially since it only shows 2 chapters. Not up to ERS standards by any means. I guess, when you are at the top, you can let things slide, but it doesn't take long to slide to the bottom. Come on guys, lets get back to those great games you were putting out. There aren't many games I just plain don't care for, but the only way I would buy this one is if there was a really hot special going on, but even then I would have to think twice about it. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find it quite enjoyable. Thanks for the reviews. January 10, 2013
Way to easy! The story line was good and the overall game looked great. The adventure part was very, very easy tho! Much, much to easy for me to be able to enjoy the game. January 27, 2013
Dark "tell" from me The end of the demo left me with a sadden face, and the definite impression of time wasted: I have enjoyed some of the previous games in that series and I cannot really find either something great to say about the game nor something really bad. Visually it is ok...ish, navigation is ok, story line is ok, mini puzzles are really too simple. It left me with the impression of "Sigh!....Done it, got the T-shirt". I was expecting some more from the developers and BigFish, I think the expression is "money for old rope". January 11, 2013
Blah game I liked the previous games in this series, but this one is a stinker. The story is very poorly told, and the "acting" is amateurish at best. Who is that masked man? Game play is OK, I guess, but nothing to write home about. The HOS are annoying, adding puzzles at times, IA at times, junk piles at times, etc. The HINT button points you where to go during game play. No map that I saw. This is not a fun game, and is so poorly "acted" that it's a chore to play. Certainly not a CE price game. January 11, 2013
Weak Not a very long game. Not much to do. easy puzzles. Weak story. took only a couple hours to finish and that was mostly getting from one scene to another. No map to move you around quickly. Disappointing January 13, 2013
A big let down This game is WAY too easy in comparison to the previous Edgar Allan Poe games. January 28, 2013
PEEUUUU! Sorry, this one was just baaaaad. Played about 15 minutes of the Demo and was stuck in the town square--the hint button just kept taking me the building where I needed a key. DUH, yeah, well! Music was monotonous. The tasks were just silly. Could not have cared less about the "storyline". January 26, 2013
To much of a story background I started the game in casual mode and very quickly changed to the difficult mode. It has a good story line that I thought would be great but as the game went on it turned into a puzzle game. Not once in the trial version did the game appear to be a Hidden Object game, it seemed to me that finding the puzzle pieces was just as easy when counting to 10. I'm sorry people this game is worth maybe 2.99 at best! At least to me anyways. April 22, 2014
Oh so BORING! Very nice Graphics but where is the Fun in this Game? The Storyline was unbelievably BORING and I just couldn't get into it. I was hoping it would get better but after 2 hours I couldn't take the boredom anymore! Not going to even bother finishing this Game, just going to uninstall it. This is the WORST game in the Edgar Allen Poe Collection ever! I'm sorry I bought it. What a waste of money! March 16, 2013
would not recommend Weakest entry in the EAP series. Puzzles are very easy to figure out and hidden objects are few and not very challenging. Storyline not very interesting. The play was very linear with a lot of back and forth to finish ho hum puzzles. I finished it in an hour and a half and my daughter in an hour. Very disappointing as we enjoyed the other entries in the series and found them very entertaining. March 8, 2013
101-110 of 112 Reviews <<prev 89101112next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Dupin needs your help solving the mystery of the gold bug. Crack the codes and follow the clues to one man’s obsession with an old legend.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.