Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Edgar Allan Poe’s classic tale gets a reboot in this fourth game in the well-loved Dark Tales series. You and your detective companion Dupin have been summoned to the seashore to help William LeGrand discover the exact location of a treasure lost hundreds of years ago. But LeGrand isn’t the only one with designs on the pirate booty… A masked villain tries to make off with the code, and a mysterious woman in a veil seems to be connected. Follow the clues – with the help of the superior sniffing abilities of your Newfoundland sidekick – to track down the treasure and foil the criminal’s plans.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus game
  • Re-playable mini-games, hidden-object scenes, and cut scenes
  • Soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 688 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition 3.8 5 112 112
Love this series. The Dark Tales series is my favourite hidden object series so far. I live the story, the graphics and the challenge level was great. July 24, 2013
A treasure indeed The Dark Tales is my favorite series of games from ERS, and this, the fourth such adventure, suited me very well. Excellent graphics and sound, and as usual, very challenging puzzles. The only complaint I can think to offer is that the game didn't make it very clear who the villain is; I figured it out, but it would have been nice if Dupin had stated who the character was. Otherwise, full marks! June 18, 2013
I'm a fan of Dark Tales It got even better with this one. I got stumped on one part but with the help of the walkthrough I made it just fine. I cannot wait till the next sequel. April 15, 2013
Fantabulous!!! Totally loved this HOG ! Graphics are wonderful and meshes with the story line, which is a great plot. I have a crush on the dog, he is so big and fluffy. Plenty of HOS and plenty of puzzles. None of the puzzles were mind bending but they weren't all that easy either. The extra game play was worth buying the CE, and you can go back and just play the puzzles over again or play the HOS over again, too. I live for puzzles and when games give you the chance to play the puzzles all by themselves, then I will always buy that CE. This HOG is lots of fun! February 19, 2013
WELL WORTH THE CE PRICE Exciting, fast-paced adventure ? easy to follow and skillful plot. Outstanding graphics, inspiring music, beautifully conceived details. Good voice overs. At the beginning, I thought play was rather simplistic and easy (no question of where to go or what to do), but it became tougher to figure out the puzzles and HOS as the game continued. Just my type of game. You can play casual, advanced or real detective (no help at all) modes. You can unlock and play hidden objects and puzzles to your heart?s content in the SE and CE editions, as well as a movie, music, bonus chapter, concept art and a screen saver in the CE edition as you complete the game. A well designed game. You find the cutest little Newfoundland puppy, complete with bow, to help in your quest February 15, 2013
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition I really loved this game. The graphics and game play were awsome. So glad they finally put a hint button on their game. Very long game play, which is great. Bring on the next one. January 26, 2013
Another POE hit! Love the other Poe games and this one will be another favorite. I've read many of his stories but I'm not familar with this one so I'm looking forward to exploring the game without comparing to the written story. Graphics are beautiful and lots of HO's to enjoy. I usually write a longer review but this one is short and sweet. LOVE IT! January 18, 2013
Nice solid hidden object (mostly) game I like the style this game company uses for its games. They have other lines besides Dark Tales. The story line doesn't intrude on playing the game, but if you want to follow it, you certainly can. The puzzles are familiar, but I play not to be frustrated but to be entertained and challenged a bit. If you want really hard puzzles, not your game. Sometimes there is no directions for the puzzles, but after working them a bit, you intuitively get what to do. HOS are fine--not a list but objects to find, combine sometimes, and so on. If there are lists, I haven't played far enough yet. I know some who review are expert and such, and I'm not. I like a game where I can make some headway with some head scratching, but not get stumped and never get further without going for help. January 10, 2013
OOOHLALA Dupin Is BAck Again! Dark Tales presents Edgar Allen Poe's famous tale of the Golden Bug. Once again we join the ever so handsome Dupin in his quest to help his friend LeGrand who is obsessed with finding Captain Kid's lost treasure; his only clue is the Golden bug. Your adventure begins as you follow the clues as well as solve the mystery behind the sinister masked figure who seems to impeding your investigation. Is he a Friend or Foe? That remains to be seen. As always the Bunny Team brings us a good HOPA game with their usual standards that include good graphics, voice-overs, great storyline, along with three play modes. Extras include HO mini-games, puzzles, and something new: a collection of desktop calanders to choose from. Game features include a journal and accompanying you is a georgous Newfoundland Dog that will retrieve hidden items with the use of his nose. I have noticed that the developers are getting more creative with HO scenes that are very interactive with puzzles to solve within each scene, making them both challenging and fun to play. The frequent minigames that are also interesting, not difficult but nevertheless entertaining. Overall, the game has interesting moments and although lacking in challenge, I found that the story along with the HO scenes and mini-games make up for the fact that as always, our developers continue to forgo game features like collectables or achievements. Unfortunately the SG only shows you two chapters which begs the question as to how long this game is. I personally have no use for extras such as wall papers or screen savers and try to adhere to my own personal set of standards as to what qualifies a CE game. I am therefore reluctant to spend the extra pennies on this version and will wait for the SE version. Nevertheless, It is a good game with a different take on HO scenes that I expect it will become popular amogst many players. I do applaud the developers for their innovativeness and cannot wait for the SE version to come out. For now, Dupin will just have to make do without me. January 10, 2013
Very Good HOS/Adventure Game Outside of HOS, this is an intuitive adventure mystery game. You have to ask yourself, "What would work here?" "Where would I use this object?" etc. In casual mode, puzzles and HOS are fairly easy. Excellent strategy guide, with both text and pictures. There is a good journal, as well. Good vocals that match the characters. Music similar, but a little different than previous Edgar A. Poe games. Hints are good in and outside of HOS. You are given a Newfoundland hound to sniff objects that you place on him, then he follows the scent to other objects/tasks. The dog is next to the hint so you have to be careful not to click on the wrong thing. Gold beetles, which are called "Bugs" play an important part in this adventure. There are beetles/bugs of other colors as well, in puzzles, HOS, etc. This is a fun game, if you like adventures. January 10, 2013
31-40 of 112 Reviews <<prev 23456...12next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Dupin needs your help solving the mystery of the gold bug. Crack the codes and follow the clues to one man’s obsession with an old legend.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.