Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Edgar Allan Poe’s classic tale gets a reboot in this fourth game in the well-loved Dark Tales series. You and your detective companion Dupin have been summoned to the seashore to help William LeGrand discover the exact location of a treasure lost hundreds of years ago. But LeGrand isn’t the only one with designs on the pirate booty… A masked villain tries to make off with the code, and a mysterious woman in a veil seems to be connected. Follow the clues – with the help of the superior sniffing abilities of your Newfoundland sidekick – to track down the treasure and foil the criminal’s plans.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus game
  • Re-playable mini-games, hidden-object scenes, and cut scenes
  • Soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 688 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition 3.8 5 111 111
About Average I played all the Demo. It is a very easy game to play, puzzles are real easy, graphics very good. I like the voice overs real well. The story line was some what old but interesting. Some parts was slow to almost being boring. I will buy this game but may not buy the CE. Over all not a bad game. This will be one game up to the individual's personal liking. If one wants a real challenging game, then this is not it. For those who just want to relax and enjoy an easy game, then this is for you. January 10, 2013
Dark Tales 4! Review of a completed game. I'm a fan of the Dark Tales series, because I like the stories from Edgar Allan Poe! They are great! This game is the fourth and I'm happy, that it's released! The game has great graphics, with some details. I like the artwork! The game is sometimes easy, but sometimes difficould too. Thats a good mix, but for some people the game may could be to easy. For me it's good. The storyline is a great one. I love the way Ers made the story from the gold bug in this game. It has connections to Edgar Allan Poe's story and some different things in it. And I can say again. Thats a good mix. Now to the music and the sounds! I think the devs made a joke. They took music from their Maestro series and sounds from that game for this game. Not all tracks. Another bad point is, that I finished the game within 4 1/2 hours. The bonus game is included in this time. The game could have been longer. That's the point why I rate this game only with four stars, because I think that could be better. But if you want to play a good HOG game, than you should definitly give this game a try! January 10, 2013
not great but good This is pretty much like the other Dark tales. Great graphics and has voice over. Music is not bad. It is pretty much straight forward and not going all over the place to find items. The HOS are not the normal ones. You have to find items to solve the HOS. Not hard at all. The puzzles are pretty easy also. The hint button works good if you need it. Pretty easy game. You have a dog to help in the game. Not a bad game to play. Pretty straight forward. No special items to find during the game. February 19, 2013
Watered Down Poe Game--Still Love Ya, ERS Devs! Based on demo only and may purchase CE during one of BFG's awesome sales. CE has lots of bonus content, however, this newest ERS game demo appears rather mediocre in comparison to their many success story games i.e. "Grim Facade, Haunted Legends, Puppett Show, Redemption Cemetery, Shadow Wolf Mysteries". One opening cut scene, the "villain" attempts to throw a "sack" into the ocean, but it lands in a boat. Okay, so now I don't feel like chasing this guy all through the game and just want to pounce on him and throttle him when I see what is inside the sack. Everything about this game seems watered down with nothing notable to hold my interest. Maybe it's me and I am simply accustomed to ERS greatness. Recommend to wait on standard version game for beginners or, like me, to add to your ERS Collection. Enjoy! -Mama Mia- January 10, 2013
Another good ERS game but not a good CE game As others have said this is a nice game though not worth the CE tag/price. There are no collectibles, morphing objects, etc. No map. And to be honest, this was a short game, I finished on middle difficulty in about 4 hours including the bonus. Storyline is nice, I like the 'cut scenes' don't drag out and you can click thru dialogue#s# if you're a fast reader like I am. Graphics are good although a couple of the HO items were a bit difficult to distinguish. I really enjoy the games where you have to find objects and then use them. I would buy this game but I think you'd get a better value for your money by waiting for the standard version, especially if you don't care about wallpapers, etc. January 10, 2013
Fun Adventure/HO Game with Hot Side Kick! I don't usually care for HO games, but I really enjoyed this one. This game is typical in that there are puzzles and mini games to solve that allow the clues which move you forward. These were fun, but not too challenging, and I was a little disappointed in that. I was intrigued by the story line, and was actually disappointed when I ran out of time on the 1 hour demo! Voice overs helped move the story along, but were slightly cheesy (but honestly, how can they not be!). Other than the very slight criticisms, I really liked this game. And regarding the "hot side kick" comment - Dupin reminded me of a co-worker for whom I had a huge crush many years ago. Mutual feelings didn't help the situation as we were both married. However, morality reigned, and there really isn't more to the story than this. But looking at Dupin sent me straight down memory lane, and it was a nice trip. January 16, 2013
Gold Bug This game is of good quality and they tried to make the game more challenging in the HO scenes. It is an interactive HO, where you find silhouetted objects and use one item to uncover the next. There are many puzzles starting from the very beginning, none of which seemed to hard. Same ole storyline...a detective summoned to find treasures. No morphing objects or special hidden tokens to find. Still enough to keep you interested and a cute newfoundland dog and her puppy to help you. January 10, 2013
Short and easy, but still solid. In comparison to past Dark Tales, I found the story to be less engaging, and had a shorter total game time, but nevertheless enjoyed the experience. Puzzle difficulties were quite easy for me, and I liked the fact that the game was not overwhelmed with the usual hidden object scene mechanic, and instead had a good balance between the hidden object scene we are familiar with and a new silhouette based hidden object scene. A good game if you are looking for an easy and very casual experience. January 12, 2013
Easy But Who Cares This game is a little easy, but it has so many other attributes, I was happy to buy it.The graphics are excellent, the voices perfect, and the story entertaining. I'm never in a hurry to finish a game, so even when they are on the easy side, I can find lots of enjoyment in them. Relax. Enjoy. January 10, 2013
Good, but short for a CE Based on the Poe story "The Gold Bug". Inspector Dupin helps search for Captain Kidd's treasure, and finds plenty of trouble along the way. Excellent speaking characters Beautiful graphics HOS standard with interaction and fragmented Puzzles good, short skip button Puzzles also in HOS Nice music Lovely Newfoundland helper Bonus chapter gives a little special ending, tho not needed for main story Time: 4 for main game, one hour for bonus, total 5, casual play January 20, 2013
41-50 of 111 Reviews <<prev 34567...12next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Dupin needs your help solving the mystery of the gold bug. Crack the codes and follow the clues to one man’s obsession with an old legend.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.