Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Edgar Allan Poe’s classic tale gets a reboot in this fourth game in the well-loved Dark Tales series. You and your detective companion Dupin have been summoned to the seashore to help William LeGrand discover the exact location of a treasure lost hundreds of years ago. But LeGrand isn’t the only one with designs on the pirate booty… A masked villain tries to make off with the code, and a mysterious woman in a veil seems to be connected. Follow the clues – with the help of the superior sniffing abilities of your Newfoundland sidekick – to track down the treasure and foil the criminal’s plans.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus game
  • Re-playable mini-games, hidden-object scenes, and cut scenes
  • Soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 688 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition 3.8 5 111 111
A "must have" for Dark Tales - Fans... Once more, Detective Dupin needs your help... Interesting investigations, graphics: typical ERS-style - clear and detailed. As always: 3 modes to choose, can be changed during the game. We have a journal and a helpful hint (showing you, where to go next) Together with the inventory we have a very cude Newfoundland, helping us with his sniffing abilities, when needed. When he is barking, you should look in your inventory for an item marked with a pawprint. Show this item to your doggy-friend and he will react immediately.... HOS are very interactive, some with integrated puzzles, that's fun!! We have enjoyable minigames - not too challenging. As I am not fond of the offered bonus-contents, such as soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers etc. I'll wait for the SE... January 10, 2013
A Good Game - Just not a Good CE game In my opinion, CE games must have certain qualities to separate themselves from the regular Standard Edition, I just played the demo, so this is not really a review of the game, but just a few observations: - There are no collectables, no morphing objects, no achievements. - There is no map - I loved the one Hos scene I did play, it is not your typical HOS, but one where you find one object that leads to finding another and so on. The game itself is just your standard 3 star game, nothing stands out for me at all. The graphics are typical, but nothing to really write home about, the voice overs are so, so. When I purchase a CE game it at least must have some achievements and collectables - something that will separate it from an SE version. However, I did like enough of the story and the gameplay to purchase this later as an SE game. At least that is one man's opinion. - gnashif January 10, 2013
Rather Disappointing Based on Whole Game I have the whole collection and was looking forward to another game and thought this would be as good as The Premature Burial; but unfortunately it was not. I believe the developers were just going through the motions on this one; though the graphics were excellent, but this game lacked the intensity of Burial. Dupin's friend was annoying and you wonder why he was friends with LeGrand. I'm also finding it annoying that you have the find the same things over and over again like a hammer or knife you should just have it available until you no longer need it. Also thought the game was too short! In fact the bonus story added to the main story combined makes the length of a SE. Good things 1--graphics and sound excellent 2--cute dogs in stories (I'm a sucker for dogs) and a Newfie there to help you sniff things out 3--journal 4--hint button finding HO's and giving directions Not so Good 1--too short for a CE 2--having to find the same items over and over again 3--too much going back and forth 4--storyline not that great one character particularly annoying I really don't think it's worth the price of the CE, though I used my 2 credits on it, actually thinking about it now I'm a little bummed about that too! If they make another Dark Tales it had better be a big improvement over this one or I'm not getting it! January 11, 2013
Not CE Quality I felt the game was not CE quality. It didn't have any real mysterious feeling to it which you would expect from a Poe story. The music and graphics were very acceptable and the voice-overs are getting better. With computer generated graphics being what they are today, I don't understand why they can't get the lips to move with the way the words are spoken. If you noticed carefully, Dupin's facial expressions were were quite subtle but they were appropriate and added feeling. So often, what is lacking (and there is no way around it because it's animation) is body language. So for having a quick lift of the eyebrow to show skepticism or surprise, I applaud the devs for that. The HOS and mini games were by far too easy but may be just right for some players. I feel I want a challenge, not just something to pass the time. And could someone explain why some of the characters who don't even know Dupin keep giving him keys or puzzle pieces or whatever? Would you give a key to an employee and say "Here, give this to a stranger because it may help them."? A bit too convenient. What happened to searching for these items? I won't say I don't recommend this game because it is nicely done, but you don't have to be a brainiac to play it. Be sure to demo, that always helps me make up my mind. January 11, 2013
A good game for beginners Definitely not as challenging nor as enjoyable as the first few of this series. Find a locked chest, find the key under the rug in the same room type of thing. Seldom back track so don't need a map and sure don't need the strategy guide. Wish I'd waited for the SE or even better a DD or coupon buy. It's not a bad game but I can't get very excited about a game I just want to finish so I can replay something else I liked better. Try it but don't just play 15 minutes and buy. Use all the trial before you decide. February 3, 2013
Dark Tales Disappointment I have bought and played all the previous Dark Tales games featuring Edgar Allan Poe's detective Dupin and loved everyone of them. Until this one that is. The graphics were great, the voiceovers were great, but the story fell flat for me. I found it dull and uninteresting for the most part. Everything was a little too easy to figure out. It isn't hard to figure out who the culprit is; I expected a few more red herrings and twists in the plot to throw you off the trail of the real criminal. But this game had no fire to it. Dull, dull, dull. In order for me to love a game, it has to have super graphics and an intriguing storyline. This game had great graphics but nothing else. And it really didn't have anything to make it worthy of being a CE. The extra play was like an after thought, just extra padding really. If you really want to buy it wait for the SE. February 2, 2013
Started well, but soon got bored I don't normally buy collectors edition, but loved the game demo that i decided to buy, to me it felt as though all the good stuff was at the begining with not to many HO's, after it downloaded the rest the game it became more and more HO's very disappointed. January 22, 2013
Not my favorite The puzzles were a bit simplistic for me. They were obvious. I only played the trial version but I would not buy this one. January 29, 2013
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition I really liked the other Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe games so I had no hesitation in buying this one. Whilst I quite enjoyed the game I would like to know why it was sold as a CE as apart from the bonus chapter there was none of the features that I have come to expect in a CE. No collectibles or morphing items No achievements and No map It was enjoyable and the doggie helper fun. The HOS were Ok but a little cluttered at times. The puzzles were very good and different but most of them soooo easy a child could solve them. I would recommend this game but wait for the SE January 25, 2013
What should i say .... I ordered this game in a package with other Dark Tales games. I had great expectations from this game but they were reduced as i played the game. The storyline is not worked out well. In the beginning there's a mystery about a hidden treasure and we need to decrypt a code to help Mr. LeGrand find the treasure. Then suddenly there's a strange masked men who's breaking in LeGrand's house. Who is it ? Gradually the game there are soms more characters who are entering the game, and they all have there own little story. Some characters are not mentioned for a long time in the game (like the masked men for example) and i was asking myself sometimes if the characters were still joining the game. It's a bit disorganized. It makes the storyline not really fascinating. The music in the game is good but not perfect. Most of the times you hear the same music but it's not irritating me. I like the music and it's giving a good ambience to the game. I must say, i didn't buy this CE because of the CE but because the package deal with other Dark Tales games. I also didn't use the CE features but if you don't care about those features you better buy the SE. Because the overall game is fun to play i will recommend this game. The game is not bad but i was a little bit disappointed about the storyline. I had greater expectations. Let's hope the other Dark Tales games will surprise me! January 13, 2013
71-80 of 111 Reviews <<prev 678910...12next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Dupin needs your help solving the mystery of the gold bug. Crack the codes and follow the clues to one man’s obsession with an old legend.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.