Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Full version game
(631.05 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Edgar Allan Poe’s classic tale gets a reboot in this fourth game in the well-loved Dark Tales series. You and your detective companion Dupin have been summoned to the seashore to help William LeGrand discover the exact location of a treasure lost hundreds of years ago. But LeGrand isn’t the only one with designs on the pirate booty… A masked villain tries to make off with the code, and a mysterious woman in a veil seems to be connected. Follow the clues – with the help of the superior sniffing abilities of your Newfoundland sidekick – to track down the treasure and foil the criminal’s plans.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus game
  • Re-playable mini-games, hidden-object scenes, and cut scenes
  • Soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 713 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition 3.8 5 109 109
Fun and not supernatural I was delighted to play a game with such beautiful graphics and music that wasn't supernatural for a change. Only reasons it is a 4 star instead of 5 is that the puzzles, while some of them were different from the run of the mill, were a bit too easy and the game was way too short. It's annoying how much shorter the games have gotten since they introduced the collectors edition. With the bonus chapter this was about the length that a standard edition used to be - maybe even a little shorter. Other than that it was a great game. I hope more like this keep coming! January 10, 2013
Well well I like this game line but have never bought them because they freeze up my computer. This one did a bit also, but for the first time ran smoother then previous trial runs of their other games. I think the puzzles were great. Was not real crazy for their search and find HO's, but the rest was busy and characters were great. Love the animal interaction. The music was good too. Not famous but good. If I ever own a higher grade computer I would buy this game as well as those before. January 10, 2013
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe' The Gold Bug CE I have liked all the Dark Tales Games so far and I bought them all, this one is good, although a little easy to play in some parts and a little confusing in others, good voice overs, and nice clear scenes. I liked it. I wasn't quite sure how I was supposed to find some of the items as you have to find them in a certain order it seems before you can pick them up. If you click on them before that order you cannot pick them up and assume you are wrong, but try again as you can get them after all, but overall a nice game January 10, 2013
Good Addition to the Dark Tales! Review is based on the Beta trial version and this demo. Visual is colourful and good graphics, not great but good. Nice additional with the Newfoundland sniffing out clues and seems to be more mini-games than HOS's. Mini-games up to now very easy to do (may get harder as the game progresses). Sychronised voices and characters well done. Like this series so will be purchasing. January 10, 2013
Gold Bug This game is of good quality and they tried to make the game more challenging in the HO scenes. It is an interactive HO, where you find silhouetted objects and use one item to uncover the next. There are many puzzles starting from the very beginning, none of which seemed to hard. Same ole storyline...a detective summoned to find treasures. No morphing objects or special hidden tokens to find. Still enough to keep you interested and a cute newfoundland dog and her puppy to help you. January 10, 2013
Good story line I just did the trial version but I really did like it. I generally start in the casual mode as this is an easier way to evaluate the game. I think even the most experience gamer would like it. It seems to run the same gambit as the story. objects are hidden but not too hard to find. January 10, 2013
Good game, but not the best in the Dark Tales series This was a solid game, with nice artwork and an ok story. The challenge was moderate. It is always disappointing that this developer does not create their games in widescreen. Although a fine game, and typical of ERS gameplay, it was not as good as I expected, overall. Maybe it is because when the Black Cat came out, there were not as many other similar games out there, but I remember really enjoying that one - it was certainly more of a dark tale, with beautiful artwork and a great story. This one, less so, although I suppose the game itself in this one was just as good. It just didn't have the same sense of mystery. March 3, 2013
DON?T GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR I LOVE the Edgar Allan Poe's games collection! I am sorry to I was not very pleased with ?The Gold Bug Collector's Edition?. I completed the collector?s edition in about 2.5 hours, with taking breaks in between. Maybe I?m expecting too much but a CE should last longer than that. The story line is good and the graphics are beautiful! I would have enjoyed a bit more dialog in the game and the ending is so ? short, confusing, unidentifiable, etc. I do recommend the game, just not at the CE price. February 26, 2013
Great Game It is a challenge keep you looking. I like the puzzle in between the different scenes great game. February 6, 2013
Wunderful BUT too short What a dissapointment! This is the shortest CE I've ever played and payed for. But it was fun. Do not pay for the CE! January 26, 2013
51-60 of 109 Reviews <<prev 45678...11next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Dupin needs your help solving the mystery of the gold bug. Crack the codes and follow the clues to one man’s obsession with an old legend.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.