Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Full version game
(631.05 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Edgar Allan Poe’s classic tale gets a reboot in this fourth game in the well-loved Dark Tales series. You and your detective companion Dupin have been summoned to the seashore to help William LeGrand discover the exact location of a treasure lost hundreds of years ago. But LeGrand isn’t the only one with designs on the pirate booty… A masked villain tries to make off with the code, and a mysterious woman in a veil seems to be connected. Follow the clues – with the help of the superior sniffing abilities of your Newfoundland sidekick – to track down the treasure and foil the criminal’s plans.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus game
  • Re-playable mini-games, hidden-object scenes, and cut scenes
  • Soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 713 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition 3.8 5 111 111
TOO much HO not enough plot Average game, I expected more. Not challenging at all and I thought the game was very short. Story line was ok but did not unfold in an interesting way. Too much boring HO I would not recommend this game. January 12, 2013
Disappointing Started really well. The opening scenes were promising. I bought it on the strength of that. Hardly any HO scenes but once you get an hour into the game it's one after the other. Did'nt enjoy it at all, quite boring. Not worth the money. January 12, 2013
Nothing like as good as the earlier dark tales. Graphics are the usual good quality but the puzzles are not remotely challenging. Not worth the CE price. January 14, 2013
Disappointing I've enjoyed all the games in this series until now...I found this game to be quite disappointing. It wasn't challenging, I didn't need to use the strategy guide at all & I found the LeGrand character to be very annoying. Silly me for not trying the demo first....I'll know better next time! February 11, 2013
Only Decent I am a fan of the Edgar Allen Poe games. However, this one wasn't very fun. The story was boring to me and the puzzles were not interesting enough to keep me from skipping them. January 20, 2013
Great game, but way too easy & short This was a great premise and the game was well done. The unfortunate thing was it was entirely too short. I really liked the HO puzzles that required you to find pieces to open another puzzles. Nice change to the usual HO. Would have loved to see it go a little longer though for a Collector's Edition. January 20, 2013
Disappointed - puzzles too easy. Am a fan of this particular companies games and have 3 other Edgar Allan Poe titles from them so when saw this game I jumped at it. Have to say, even after playing it on the hardest mode, I am left disappointed. The storyline was good and the fact that it was mostly puzzles and actions with HOS sprinkled throughout I also liked. But I felt the puzzles were just WAY too easy/simple. If the puzzles were a bit tougher or if they'd at least added morphing objects or some other things you had to find hidden throughout the game to increase the challenge it would have been a great game. January 18, 2013
Ho Hum and some bugs... I only played the demo so my review is based on that. I found the game extremely easy and the mini games were so so. The story line was sorta interesting but not enough to make me purchase it. The game is visually beautiful but that's not enough to make me spend my hard earned credits. The game is certainly fun and if you have money to spare then play away but for gamers looking for a challenge you might want to hold off. January 11, 2013
Mediocre Game There was nothing about this game that stood out either as extremely good or extremely bad. It was neither stimulating nor frustrating. It was also very short. Even with many interruptions, I finished it within 3 hours and that included the bonus chapter. I prefer a little more entertainment for my money. Rather sorry I bought the CE. January 15, 2013
Such a disappointment For a Dark Tales theme, I was very disappointed. This certainly is not a CE valued game. The HOS are few and far between and there is way too much jumping around between scenes with really no direction. It is an easy game with little challenge :( January 10, 2013
81-90 of 111 Reviews <<prev 789101112next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Gold Bug Collector's Edition

Dupin needs your help solving the mystery of the gold bug. Crack the codes and follow the clues to one man’s obsession with an old legend.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.