Bookmark

Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

You travel to the remote island town of Black Water, investigating the mysterious disappearance of two archaeologists when you encounter a mythical monster straight from the ancient myths of Poseidon! What cursed secrets have these archaeologists unearthed beneath the town? Now it's up to you to save the world from falling into a curse of eternal darkness! Play Mystery of the Ancients: The Curse of Black Water to uncover the truth lurking deep below the island's darkening waters.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 726 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water 4.7 5 73 73
Good Story I enjoyed playing this one as it is relatively easy to follow.There is a map to show you where you are and in what area there is something that needs to be done.This is really helpful.The graphics and HO scenes are good and the background sounds are fine. April 13, 2013
Terrified:) I have a vivid imagination. That being said, I had no business playing this game. But guess what, I played this game. It's dark and gloomy. I was pins and needles during the whole game; expecting to see this huge beast around every corner or un-investigated room. I loved this game. If you like thrills and chills, play it! You'll love it. December 7, 2013
Fantastic Alright so what we are dealing with is a Sea monsters game set in a sea side town. The puzzles and hidden objects scenes are all well done along with the pacing of the game, sounds and graphics are nice- I really liked the artwork in a lot of the scenes. At the end of the day its a fantastic HO game and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. If your picky in the HO games you play and only want to play the cream of the crop this is one of the ones that is it; at least that is what I found and many other reviews agree. February 24, 2013
Wow! Better than Expected!!! Wow, I wish I had gotten the Collector?s Edition. This was so much better than I expected. I used a free game coupon and now I actually regret not paying full price for it. The screenshots and walkthrough kind of looked interesting, but I couldn?t tell where the game was going based on the description. It?s so much better than it appears on the surface. It just looked like a vacant and desolate landscape, but there was so much more to it. I hadn?t played anything by this developer before so I was a bit hesitant. This might be one of the most underrated games from last year. The story is what really drew me in from the beginning of the game. You have these archeologists that have stumbled upon the mythological Kraken which has been tasked with guarding the spirit of the treacherous Dagon. And his spirit has been hidden in one of the Temples of Poseidon. The archeologists mistakenly release Dagon?s curse and you have to defeat it before he regains full strength. Combining the Kraken with some sort of Poseidon tale was a bit of genius. The Kraken has become somewhat of an undersea icon since ?Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man?s Chest.? The story of this game had such a refreshing point of view. It was a winning escape from the benign haunted houses and ghost towns. The graphics were superb and the hidden object scenes were very clear and sharp. The puzzles were good. I loved the map that marked where the tasks were. And you could jump to the different locations using the map. That was a huge help. You didn?t really need a strategy guide too much. It wasn?t that bad. However, I did get stuck on a couple of occasions where the map didn?t indicate a task and I had to go look at the walkthrough. Sometimes the hidden object scenes were a little sticky in that you had to click right outside the object instead of on it. Other than that, I didn't run into any other major problems. Overall, the atmosphere was great. It felt like I was really going through this seaside town. We could use a few more games like this. It was such a pleasant surprise. I wasn?t expecting to enjoy it so much. I truly didn?t want it to end. It will be interesting to see what this developer does in the future. They?ve set the bar pretty high for themselves. Not a bad thing. But I would definitely recommend this. January 15, 2013
Wonderful! This is a wonderful game with stunning graphics! I enjoyed playing this game slowly to take in all the detail because the graphics were so well done. This game is more weighted toward puzzle and adventure, but it's not that hard. If you paid attention to the game it was almost always clear what needed to be done and where to go next. There are not many HO scenes in this game, but when they do come up they are beautifully illustrated and the objects are not too difficult to find. I'm a fairly experienced gamer and was able to play this game on hardcore mode with no sparkles, hints or skips. Normally on hardcore mode I have to switch difficulty levels or else consult a walk through a few times, but not once with this game. What I really loved about this game was that it played out like being in a great story. A lot of times towards the end of a game things can get a bit tedious with me feeling glad that it's finally over. I stayed riveted to this game right up to the very end. The ending was a bit abrupt, but I guess that's what I get for playing the SE. Very highly recommended and one of the better games I've played in a long time!!! January 13, 2013
Fun, fun, fun! This game is so much fun! The puzzles are different, fun to solve, and not extremely difficult (which is a plus, because I was ready to move on to the next part of the story). This game has great scenery and artwork, perfectly matched spooky music, and an innovative "villain". It also features a map, so you can jump from place to place, and you use objects you find fairly close to where you find them (I like this because I can never remember which room had the chest with the tiny key or had the door with the amulet slot). I also enjoyed the "charging" of the crystals. It you're looking for a game that is fun and beautiful, interesting and charming, but not exceedingly difficult, and a story that is a little different from the usual ghost/demon/stolen soul fare, you should definitely give this one a chance. December 9, 2012
SIX CHAPTERS OF GREAT FUN! Only by consensus (pro or con) can players get the games we want as we want them. This particular game is fun from start to finish. The Legend of Dagon is read to us and the play begins. Not terribly sophistocated, but when the wind blows on the cliff, rocks fall in the mine or the water drips from the cave's ceiling, this game fills the bill. A scary adventure filled with full-screen imaginative scenes , attractive HOs, and attention-catching music. A map, the crystal, and hint button are handy navigation tools. Puzzles range from simple to head-scratchers (for me, at least). Worth the money spent. March 5, 2013
great lasted as long as collector games..loved the map..was very helpful December 26, 2012
excellent well done fish before i bought this game i read all the reviews i did n,t expect if it will be excellent , take long hours to play and well made but it,s a shame i hasn,t purchased theCE still i enjoy SE December 25, 2012
i like it i played the trial of the collector's edition and enjoyed it very much. i was sorry when the trial ended. it was challenging enough to keep me interested November 30, 2012
21-30 of 73 Reviews <<prev 2345...8next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water

Uncover Poseidon's ancient secrets hidden under the town of Black Water!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.