Bookmark

Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Puppet Thief Collector's Edition

Full version game
(396.94 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Once upon a time, there was a man who went from town to town with songs and poetry, capturing the souls of children. From generation to generation, the tale was told. But every fairy tale has its true bitter beginning. Now a new evil has visited the town of Arbourshire, and children have been going missing. A mysterious puppet theatre seems to be at the centre of their disappearance. The town is in an uproar! A mob roams the streets and the Brothers Grimm have assigned the task of discovering the truth behind the Fairy Tale Mystery to you! Discover the truth behind the myth and save the children!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus Chapter
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Wallpapers
  • Concept Art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.1
  • Hard Drive: 1125 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Puppet Thief Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Puppet Thief Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Puppet Thief Collector's Edition 3.3 5 72 72
Fun HO game Nice graphics, fairly easy to follow. Liked it. December 2, 2012
Fun and enjoyable Grimm game. Enjoy game strategy, good graphics and story line, I enjoy playing the Grimm Bros. Games. December 2, 2012
Could have been better This could've been a good game - the storyline was good, but I found the HOS to be a bit too difficult, and I was playing on casual, and have been playing HOGs for a long time. I found that the difficulty of the HOS took away from the enjoyment of the game, and I was dreading finding a HOS. The puzzles on the other hand were quite simple - which made for a bit of inconsistent gameplay. The story was interesting, and grabbed my attention, so I MAY buy this game as a Standard Edition, I'm not sure. On the plus side the hint button recharged quickly. Another thing that annoyed me, and this is just a pet peeve of mine, but some of the objects in the HOS were not in keeping with the time period of the game. It kind of annoys me when you are playing a game that is set in a historical time period, but you find modern, or semi-modern items in the HOS. This is one that you should definitely play the trial of before buying, because you may find yourself disappointed. Definitely not worth purchasing as a CE. December 2, 2012
Again With The Puppets! Once again we have a town with children being abducted by a Puppeteer and it is up to us to save the day. Hmmmm, have we not done this before, infact several times?. This time we are a detective who is working for the Grimm Brothers Examiners and our first mission is to save the CHildren. Our lates victim is the daughter of the Silver Magician who we meet up with first. This game is your basic HOPA gameplay that pales in comparison to other of the Puppet storylines we have seen. Is it CE worthy? In my opinion, definetly not. FOr one thing, the graphics are dark and cut scenes are blurry. The music and voice-overs are good enough but there are no ambient sounds or effect. There are two modes of play and game features include a notebook and a hint that merely tells you where to go. There is no map and I soon found the backtracking annoying. Some may argue that having no map makes gameplay more challenging, I just think it is a way to prolong the game whatwith all that going back and forth. The HO scenes are not interactive which I found to be lazy. The items are small and in some cases, hard to detect. This also is a type of manipulative way to make them challenging, Again with the laziness. Puzzles are basic and we have seen them over time and time again. WHat really annoyed me were the HO scenes; Folks we are in the 1800s and what is a telephone doing amongst the list of items to find? Again, laziness! The is the odd page of MAgigrams that you needto locate and if you are playing casual, you cant miss them, they sparkel. The adventure gameplay is also very limited; for examply, you need to use the forge to unbend a doorhandle. You place it on the fire and remove it using your hand. You would think that the developers would have at least offered you some sort of tool for removal. Once again, laziness. Had this been a Standard Edition Game, I would have used a credit on it, but as a CE? My honest recommendation is to wait and save your pennies. My advice to the developers, you need to check out some of the other CE games that deal with Puppets and go back to the drawing board. December 2, 2012
Dreary game. Puppets again...really? Nothing original in this game. Graphics weren't bad, but the color, or lack thereof, was depressing. This is winter, it's already dark and ugly. I do not care for the monochrome "color" of this game at all. This made the already very small items even harder to find in the HOGs. There is no jump map (always a plus for me), so unless you are quite awake and have a pretty good memory, you will have to run all over the place to fine out where a location was 3-4 moves ago. It at least needs a cursor that tells you what is in a general location when you point at it. The SG is okay, but again, no direction of a location, e.g. back 2, left, etc. This game needs that. Hint system good, music okay. Game play was good. This game did not draw me in at all. it could easily have been a very nice game, but dialogue is sparse and the music get boring. I may purchase this one just to complete my points for a free game, but otherwise, this one is going in the puddle for a "maybe some day" purchase. This would be an okay game for someone who justs wants to play and do nothing else but run around and that is the only reason I am recommending it. As always, try it for yourself. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one quite enjoyable. Thanks for the reviews. December 2, 2012
average and easy but booring The HOS are easy and ok. The music will put you to sleep and make the game boring. There is going from one are to another to find things as all the games do not but this one is really predicable and not much of a challenge. Not sure about the hint button I did not use it. Not worth a CE game May 6, 2013
It was a dark and stormy night It was a dark and stormy night, only without the stormy. At least that was original. Otherwise we were in repeat land. More dark, more town in trouble, more children/people missing, more misdated HO items. I have seen some really great HOS with cleverly hidden items that were not in deep shadow or darkness. And please someone tell me why there are modern objects in HOS that are supposedly a couple hundred years or more back? Maybe it's the black magic! It is a disservice to the beautifully drawn artwork to pay only casual attention to the puzzle details. And if the lights are burning torches or candles, how are buildings lit up brightly, only to find not even a candle in sight when you enter? And the opening mob apparently just evaporates. Population now zero. This leaves the local pub open but unmanned, a burning forge left untended, fires burning in the streets. These are, on the one hand, minor considerations; on the other hand, plenty of developers give more consideration, research, and thought to their games. So why should I pay for a CE version that does not beckon me into another world, but jars on the nerves instead? So: Art work, good Puzzles, so-so Music/sound effects, tolerable Story, more puppets and missing children. If you just want something to pass the time this is something to do that with. And that's what it's recommended for! December 2, 2012
Good but not great Played the demo and had no problem with the program. Not as much fun as I would have liked to see. Too many HOS. Gotten spoiled with the latest games that omit the HOS's and let you travel around to find what items you need. Overall it has merit and will be fun for a lot of gamers. December 2, 2012
Rather Disappointing I only played 30 mins of the free trial for this game, whereas I normally will play an entire demo before making up my mind whether to buy or not. 2 levels List style HOS short, very basic tutorial (which is all that's needed) fast hint button I was disappointed with several aspects of this game. There were 3 hidden objects scenes in the first fifteen minutes I played, which is far too many for me, and they weren't interactive, so rather boring. Mini games were too easy. Having said that, the artwork is beautifully done. I also enjoyed the voiceovers, the story line and the music. This could have been a wonderful game, but for me, it fell short of the mark. December 2, 2012
Anachronisms Abound In general, I found the graphics rather unappealing, and the minigames a little too easy. And I didn't understand the story: who was the puppeteer? What was his motive? Was this related to the Pied Piper story, or another Grimm tale I don't remember? But my main beef was the specificity of the year in which the action takes place (1818), which set my cultural historian's brain into anachronism-watch mode. Every time I saw something that couldn't have existed in England in 1818, such as mailboxes or valve-operated steam engines, I got a little angry. I know that game developers can't also be historians (anachronisms are so common in these kinds of games, after all), but to specify a year is a mistake if you don't know anything about that year. December 9, 2012
31-40 of 72 Reviews <<prev 23456...8next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Puppet Thief Collector's Edition

The Brothers Grimm have assigned the task of revealing the truth behind missing children in the town of Arbourshire; it is up to you to discover the secrets of the Fairy Tale Mystery, before it is too late.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.