Bookmark

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Return to Europe in a brand new adventure as Dana Knightstone, the best-selling novelist who can see ghosts. When your cousin, famed musician Sebastian Knightstone, starts hearing eerie violin music in his Austrian manor, he asks for your help to investigate. But you're not the only one digging up the ghost's secrets -- and you find yourself falling headlong into danger! Solve challenging puzzles as you trek through snowy Austrian landscapes in search of missing clues. Can you follow the ghost's trail before time runs out?

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 400 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel 4.1 5 37 37
Lots of fun, lovely story, has something for everyone BASED ON COMPLETED GAME ON EXPERT LEVEL I really loved playing this game. It has everything I like; a ghost, mystery and adventure. The music is beautiful to listen to as you go. Playing this game is a lot like watching an hour mystery drama. It flows seamlessly from beginning to end with gorgeous graphics, interesting puzzles and creative solutions to situations. I liked how I (the main character) was often getting into harm's way and having to recover from or think my way out of them. The character voice overs are well done and help to make for immersion into their world while the story logically and sequentially traps you into the tragedy. The HOS were unpredictable and fun, but not too hard. All of the games were easily doable which kept the story moving. I didn't need any hints or a map, so I don't know if there were any (oops, sorry.) My only tiny complaint is the comic book character feel to the drawings. I would like them to look more realistic. A HUGE plus with this game is that, with the exception of ONE item (and nope not telling you which it is ;) there is virtually NO backtracking. All of the objects are found in close proximity to where they are used. Kudos to the devs for that!!! I also like the way the game is divided into chapters with titles. I thought that was cool. The only reason I'm not giving this a 5 is because it's a bit too easy. Other than that, it's really wonderful. Bottom line; loads of fun, lovely story, logical progression, doable games and HOS, enjoyable story line which wraps up nicely. Enjoy! August 15, 2013
Not as good as the previous ones, but still worthwhile It is a good story, and the visuals are good too. (If too cold for me, gave me the shivers). Still, I do not find it up to the standards of the previous ones. The settings are pretty enough, but not stunningly beautiful, not so much a delightful travelogue. The story relies more on frantic action than on a leisurely pace. I loved the previous two installments, and it makes me sad to see the games go the way of generic adventure games, losing much of their initial charm. Still, it is a good game, still it is a good story, and the HOS have clever vairations, and are quite crisp and clean. The minigames were OK. It is a good game, still. January 21, 2014
I liked this mystery format (played the CE in advanced mode) I liked this game. This "mystery novel" format was new to me, and it was interesting to see that genre translated to a game. Still, things seemed just a little odd, until the pub scene. What was on the TV made me laugh, and finally "get" it. I loved the music. The mini-games were really fun; most were not terribly difficult to solve, but they were really creative, and there were several types I'd never seen before. For me, there was just the right number of HOS - too many and I get a little squirmy. What I really liked were the hints -- they were very explicit, spelling out exactly what to look for, in a specific location. Since I try to use hints only as a last resort, I really value this. Because I like to wander around in the , think about what's going on, and use hints only as a last resorted, this game lasted 10 hours for me, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. However,it didn't give me that "this game is so totally amazingly cool," with accompanying little adrenalin rush, that for me is the difference between four and five stars. However, I really did thoroughly enjoy this game. January 13, 2013
For some of this game I would give it a 3 I was looking forward to playing this game, and after reading the CE reviews, I really wish I would have bought the CE. There aren't any fun things to look for which it sounds like the CE had. BUT my biggest complaint of this game is when I made a decision not to play on the "casual" mode and went for LONGER times to wait to skip a game...some of the games to play were frustrating and I just wanted to skip and couldn't...and with other games I have purchased, if I had made the decision to change the mode of play...I could have...THis game will not allow you to do so. Very frustrating, because I have better things to do than sit and wait for the skip to fill in.....BUT even with all of that said.....I do like this game. I like the conversations, although short, that the character has with people. The HO's have some different kinds in this game and I really enjoyed that. SO, overall I am liking this game. I am on Chapter 5 and I believe someone wrote there are only 6 chapters...Hope that is wrong because that means I am almost done and I only began this today....And I haven't been playing ALL day either...So that will be another disappointment to have with this game...too short. I will wait and see. February 5, 2013
A pleasant, relaxing game for a winter's eve This is another lovely Dana Knightstone game with nice graphics, beautiful music, good voiceovers, interactive HOscenes, easy puzzles/minis. The storyline is decent & gameplay is easy. I like the DK Novel games, including this one because they're easy on the eyes artistically, and fill the bill when i'm looking for a game to play for relaxation. There's nothing here that's going to make you jump or cringe, no occult influence, no heart pumping action. You'll occasionally see a benign ghost, of course. You won't need the map you don't have anyway, & the hint button gives clear instruction, eliminating need for a guide or walkthru if you get stuck. This is just a nice easy game that you can play when the brain's on the charger in the evening. It relaxed me when i needed it, so 4 stars for the favor :) Altogether, quite pleasant. Enjoy your gaming, folks. December 11, 2012
Fun! I like this game, but then I like all BoomZap games. I give it 4.5 stars. Map isn't needed because yr not clikin' a thousand times back & forth.. it' not innundated with HOS's #which I like# but when they do appear they're interactive. There was one little thing which nauseated me... the voice-over for the little girl on the train was BAD. She sounded like an adult transvestite with a nasal problem. I do recommend this game. esp. if you like the Awakening series, as its similar. December 8, 2012
Logic is used a little more this time. As a lot of us know, real world logic doesn't always apply to these type of games. It kind of does with this one which made it more enjoyable. There was a time or two in which the game got stuck and I had to close it out and come back for it to register my clicks. I don't know if that is related to my computer or what. I remember another issue that frustrated me was in a hidden object scene- one was suppose to find "mascara". The object that it was referring to was "eyeliner". March 22, 2013
Fun game, cool story! Enjoyed this game. Took me and my husband 3.5 hours to play it together. Not super challenging, but the story keeps it going and it's interesting. January 1, 2013
A Mix of Optical Journeys in Fantastic Locations and Great Gameplay As with the other two games of this series this game combined a great storyline, which although it had many superficial characteristic (more than the other two games) which I normally don't like was intriguing, with a great game play experience based on mind and skill games. It included great aspects of object finding games but was much more than that with certain aspects coming close to a film. What I really liked was that because of this cinematic sense it gave you the ability to really involve in the story and the game. December 26, 2012
A Good Way to pass a few hours These games are simplistic and easy to do. But they are a good way to pass a couple of hours. There is little effort or thought involved when playing these and for me, that can be a good thing. I always have a couple of games on the go and if one is especially taxing, then I like to have a game like this to play. I don't want to put the reader off. The storyline is lovely and the graphics are great but it is predictable. You always instinctively know what to do next but as I said earlier, not necessarily a bad thing. I would recommend this game but not if you want to stretch your mind. December 23, 2012
21-30 of 37 Reviews <<prev 234next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel

Can you solve the mystery of the ghostly violinist?

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.