Bookmark

Grim Tales: The Stone Queen Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The family saga continues when your nephew Brandon encounters the mysterious Stone Queen in a lonely mountain town. She used to protect the miners here, but now she’s out for revenge! You must discover the truth behind the queen's anger and save both worlds before a greedy heart brings about their destruction. You'll meet new friends, but you'll also face new foes in Grim Tales: The Stone Queen, an intriguing Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Hours of bonus gameplay
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Beautiful wallpapers and concept art
  • Downloadable soundtrack
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.9/10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 842 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Grim Tales: The Stone Queen Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Grim Tales: The Stone Queen Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Grim Tales: The Stone Queen Collector's Edition 3.9 5 82 82
LOVE IT - in keeping with other Grim Tales BASED ON COMPLETED GAME HARD CORE MODE (3rd of 3 modes of difficulty), no hints, no sparkles. This is one beautiful game from start to finish. I have enjoyed all of the GRIM TALES series and this one is no exception. From beginning to end of bonus play it was clever, humorous, with a lot of great scenes to explore, interesting characters, and excellent graphics which makes it well worth the CE price. There are only a handful of iHOS in this game, but they are all extremely well executed and beautiful with no chaotic junk piles. -They were a lot of fun making this a great example of quality over quantity. There were quite a few mini-games that varied in difficulty from easy to light-medium. These also were very well done, beautiful, and just plain fun. Some I'd seen in other games but some were new to me. However all were clever and worth the time to solve. The storyline is a tad formulaic in that you (as the gamer) come to find out what has happened to turn the inhabitants of Stoneville into stone. We learn early on (so this is not a spoiler) that locating the right flower will bring characters back to the land of the living and this is done throughout game play. Game Structure: -As mentioned 3 modes of game play which could be changed at any time during the game. -MAP, YES. It showed active areas, locked areas, tasks, and allowed jumping to locations. THANK YOU! -JOURNAL, NO. Not needed given what was provided in the MAP. Integrating the map and objectives by location was a nice touch. There also was no need to write anything down for future mini-games as usually happens when there is no journal. -Collectibles, None. Achievements, None. -Graphics & Artwork were beautiful, crisp,elegant, and consistent with the motif of the GRIM TALES that came before it. -Layered Puzzles, NO. That's a nice to have that is appearing in more and more games. -Music. It was fine, but I kept it turned down as it didn't seem to add much to the story. -Sound effects. These were mostly fine, but a few became a little obnoxious. For example, a crystal giant falls asleep and snores. Each time the gamer goes to that location (and it is a few times) the snoring is the only thing that can be heard and that got to be kind of grating so I turned sound effects down. -VO/Cut-Scenes. These were all very well done and enjoyable. -Adventure Aspects. Even with a map showing objectives for each area and the areas where action can be taken, it was not always obvious what to do next so it took a little brain power and I thoroughly enjoyed that. Now on to Irritants/Pet Peeves: -HINTS - In hardcore mode there are not supposed to be any hints. However, the designers for some reason chose to leave a square outline presumably where the hint button would be. No big deal right? Well let the cursor wander too close and a scolding message appears saying something to the effect that -- "if you wanted hints you should have chosen another mode". Given the game is fairly long this GOT OLD FAST. -Black bar hints - These guys can't help themselves. Even in hardcore mode there were black bar hints all over the place. It would be nice to click on something & have the black bar indicate what the item or area is, such as "fuse box" or "bare ground" rather than "you could plant something here". Yeesh. -Inventory - some items hung around a longggggggggg time cluttering up the inventory before they could be used -A little buggy. I am thinking there will be an update to come out soon. On the list of tasks shown on the map was line of code "str_tsk_oldcity_win_roots. Didn't seem to hurt game play. This is a great game. I highly recommend it and hope others enjoy playing it as much as I did. January 7, 2013
Very Good I like this game. The graphics were great. The characters and interaction with other items during a search in surrounding areas was fun. Love the following eyes. The symbol Monkey is weirding me out, but I love it. The HOs scenes were very well done. I noticed like another here that it does take some thinking on what to do next. Not a boring game, but a little bit of a thinking game. I like it and will be adding this to my list. January 3, 2013
not as good as the others I read the reviews of the CE and was wondering if this was going to be good or not. The story is not bad. Has voice over and the graphics are good. Hint button works good. It tells you what to do if you need it. There is much going from place to place to find items but has a good flow. The HOS are not hard and most of the puzzles are easy also. Has a map to transport you but shows things to do in an area that are not needed at that time. That makes it confusing. Not a bad game and worth trying. I thought the other Grim tales were better. February 1, 2013
Elephant games doesnt make the mark I have played other Grimm Tales and I like some but overall there are some things I feel uncomfortable with: The picture quality is clear but sometimes very small and the music does not always follow the storyline. The cutscenes are good and I wish that quality would follow to the game proper. I just feel that I have to make an extra effort to play the game and move it forward. If youhave time and patient - you will enjoy this game. January 3, 2013
Not The Best From Elephant, But Still An Alright Game As the title says, this wasn't the best game ever, but I did enjoy it all the same. Good Parts: Storyline is good. The Stone Queen has turned evil for some reason and has turned everyone to statues. It was your average storyline, with a few twists, but wasn't the thriller that I was used to. Great graphics, scenes looked very realistic. Animations are done well. I liked the HOS, which included "extra step" objects. They weren't too hard, but were a good challenge for those of us who dislike easy games. Hint and skip rechage fast. You can free the statues by placing flowers or something simillar on their backs. This was an extra thing we had to do and I really enjoyed it. The map is very useful and you can jump from location to location. There is a goblin that you aquire. This goblin is really useful to you in the game, kind of like the dog in The Four Aces. OK Parts: I didn't like most of the puzzles, but there were one or two that I liked. Most of the puzzles were too complex, or I didn't understand what was meant by the instructions. There was a bit of going back and forth Bad Parts: Minimal voice-overs compared to most ganes by this developer. There were a couple of annoying sounds in the game No achievements or collectables. These usually feature in Elephant's games, but sadly there were none here. Some things in the game were overly-complex, for example starting the jackhammer, which required the player having to find 2 items to place in some holes, then completing a puzzle to start the hammer. As well as that, you had to replace the drill bit. I found this part of the game to be very time consuming. While I did enjoy The Snow Queen, there's nothing in the demo that stood out enough for me to purchase the game. To those wondering, I would say wait for the Standard Edition unless you want to play a bonus chapter. Pretty much all that comes with the CE is a strategy guide, screensavers and the bonus chapter. January 5, 2013
Good game but not Great I've completed the game and am glad I waited to write my review. Initially I'd have raved a little more but I found a few frustrating things. First off though, it was a decent game (3.5 stars) In addition to lacking some of the extras I want in a five star CE such as achievements, morphing or collectible objects and a decent diary, it also lacked clarity of purpose. Example: something isn't working and you need to fix it. But since I am neither a mechanic or a electrician, I didn't know I could use a piston to unclinch a stuck stone hand. I don't want a lot of coaching, but to just tell me it's broken when I don't know the problem becomes frustrating because it happened about 20 times. Interactive map very very helpful; hint system very useful, (And I'm beginning to get very frustrated with the number of missing zipper pulls in games lately!) The bonus game adds an additional problem to the happy ending that you need to fix and make happy again. (This family is truly jinxed.) The game play is length (hour plus) and involves same areas with a few new ones thrown in. Not a lot of hidden object piles; not a lot of mini games --and these were not that difficult, though sometimes tedious). Could easily be enjoyed without bonus chapter. Strategy guide useful but hint system in regular mode quite adequate and quickly refilled. (Actually told you where to use an item you had or where to pick up an item you needed). I will play again in the future (a must for a CE is replayability) and will probably like it better because now I know what to do with pistons! January 5, 2013
The Stone Queen I like to think I am an expeienced gamer even though I prefer to enjoy the games in casual mode. I like Elephant Games as so far they have been of good length and excellent games. However......this is the third one I have played recently (thanks to the sale I bought collectors editions) and all I have to say is thank God for the strategy guides. They have all had the same problems as I am about to describe here. Are these developers just trying to complicate things? The game itself is stunning. Artwork beautiful and HOS and puzzles great. Story line good. But in a lot of things it was not clear what to do next. Something needs done or put in place but no clues as to what. There were a couple of instances where I would not have thought to use the required items. Also by the time I had finally found the last piece of a puzzle I had forgotten where I was supposed to use it! Just as well there is an interactive map too because there is a lot of going back and forth to place items that you find. I liked the fact that the map told you what needed to be done in the areas. Some of the puzzles, while good and different and interesting, did not have clear instructions and again I had to refer to the guide to clearly understand what to do. I don't want to be told every step, and its good to work things out but, this was just so frustrating. for the beauty of the game I will give 5/5 for the puzzles 5/5 for the HOS 5/5 for the frustration 5/5 for the enjoyment 2/5 (though this will improve second time round now that I know what to do) For all the frustrations I did like the game and will recommend it. January 9, 2013
Two Words: Elephant Games When you play a game from Elephant Games you know that the chances are pretty good that it's going to be a good one. The Stone Queen is a great example. It involves members from the family in the previous games which I like since you have a sence of familarity. I loved the graphics. They have all these cute charecters in the Stone City. The people who have been turned to stone have eyes that follow you. As mentioned in a previous review-there is a creepy decapatated monkey with scary spring eyes so I had to deal with that ASAP. All in all it is a good game. It has challenges which I like. I think this game is well worth a try. January 3, 2013
Could have been excellent I think this was a good game. I think it could have been an excellent game if the puzzles were brought up a notch. I am continually disapointed by the lack of challenging puzzles in these types of games-HOG/HOA--and this game was no exception. I don't necessarily find it "challenging" to have to figure out where to go, or what object I need to pick up to get there. For me, the level of challenge comes from the difficulty of the puzzles imbeded in the game and other aspects that require thought --not just memory. The puzzles were interesting and fun but not challenging. Overall, an enjoyable (long), but somewhat easy game. Nevertheless, compared to what else is out there - in my opinion --this is a four star game. January 12, 2013
More great fun from Elephant Games The Stone Queen has nice music, great puzzles, and a compelling storyline with characters you come to care about. I usually skip the cutscenes - but these were tremendous fun. The game is light on hidden objects (which I prefer) focusing more on the adventure/puzzle aspects. I'm now playing the bonus game which is as much fun as the original game itself. January 9, 2013
31-40 of 82 Reviews <<prev 23456...9next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grim Tales: The Stone Queen Collector's Edition

The family saga continues when your nephew Brandon encounters the mysterious Stone Queen in a lonely mountain town.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.