Bookmark

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Uncover the mystery behind an artist’s deadly talent in Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death! Your daughter, Angie, was traveling through Europe when she vanished without a trace. Her last letter urged you to come to a remote island town in Italy, where she had stumbled upon a dark secret. When you arrive, you learn that there has been a series of tragic deaths in town, accompanied by sightings of a legendary spirit called the Silhouette. With no way of knowing who would be next, citizens turned to Virgil, a local artist who could famously predict the future through his paintings. Now you must seek out Virgil and his mysterious paintings before you and your daughter become the next victims of his deadly predictions!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus story
  • Gorgeous art and screensavers
  • Downloadable music tracks
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 421 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition 3.9 5 50 50
dark canvas:ABRUSH WITH DEATH LIKE IT VERY MUCH all hidden objets games January 19, 2013
AWESOME! Amazing game and I am very difficult to please............ April 29, 2013
Good, But Not Great I like this game, although I can't quite put my finger on why, exactly, since I think my cons outweigh my pros. I think I'd give this game 3 1/2 stars, but I rounded up. -The story is pretty interesting. It seems like more of a mystery than a "dark and eerie" sort of thing. -The graphics aren't great, but are OK. Some scenes are pretty dark. -Puzzles are easy, so far, and are of the standard kind you see in most games, so nothing new there. -Hidden object scenes are interactive, but again, nothing really exciting or new going on there. -Voice acting is decent. Characters are animated and hand drawn looking, and their mouths don't move, but that's fine with me. -You have to get a certain number of achievements to unlock some of the bonus items, which I think is kind of terrible. -Speaking of achievements, this game has them, but none of them are terribly difficult to get (which I guess helps with the above item). Most of them seem like an automatic thing, i.e., they unlock as the story unfolds. -Black bar tips are enabled even in advanced mode, and some of them are pretty specific so that they basically tell you what you need to do or what item you should use ("I need a hammer to open this!"), which is sort of irritating. All in all, it's a nice game, but it's not amazing and it doesn't bring anything fantastic or new to the table. January 17, 2013
Please,Don't Paint My Picture!! i bought this game after only playing 30 minutes of the trial with trepidation and optimism. So far not so great. The storyline is different- a painter on a remote island has an exhibition of his paintings that foretell the future. Your daughter has written you asking you to come and see the exhibit however, now she's disappeared and of course you've got to go and find her! But, when you arrive everywhere you go you either hear about or see an ominous shadowy figure aptly nicknamed "The Silhouette". The first mini-game I played I won a couple of stars, that after so many you can open up bonus HOS and mini games, also other bonus perks. The HOS scenes are clear and interactive in two different ways. And of course you get your strategy guide and a journal for your clues and a record of your achievements. You do get 3 Difficulty modes- Casual, Advanced and Extreme- where all you experts out there get no help at all. Overall the game is pretty entertaining but in hindsight I think I should have saved a few dollars and waited on the SE version. January 17, 2013
Good Mystery Adventure Game Although there are HOS, this game is mostly an adventure game. Plenty of puzzles and objects to find, items to assemble, etc. Very good journal with objectives, notes, etc. Music is a bit somber and mysterious and fits the game. Vocals are good. Very good graphics, excellent strategy guide. Outside of HOS, hint points to task or direction needed to travel, which will be good for the SE version, because I didn't see a map. Since this game is about artists, it makes sense the characters would appear to be hand drawn. In casual mode, this game is easy to moderately difficult. At first, I wasn't sure about this game, but it drew me in, and I was hooked. January 17, 2013
Interesting Story with Great Puzzles I guess it's a matter of personal taste, but I am finding this to be a very enjoyable game. Many of the puzzles are different than those we've come to expect, and I like different. Dark Canvas has excellent quality graphics that are crystal clear. With this game we have voice-overs that are very realistic and not at all grating or hard to take, which can happen with some games. IMHO, this game IS CE worthy based on the quality of the puzzles and the IHOS. For me, it is not one of those too easy games where what to do next is so predictable that a game is boring. This game offers some challenges and more often than not, we have to be very innovative to complete a task. All in all, I am very pleased with the game and recommend that you give it a try. Maybe you will agree that it is a very nice game. January 17, 2013
The artist in me loves this one. I thought this game was fun to play. It had a nice feature of animated sketches that went with the story. You unlocked them as you played along. There was a logical sequence to the clues for each scene. The hint button told you what to do next so am not sure one would need a strategy guide.There were small items to collect that could be missed if not paying attention, but you could not get too far before you had to go back and get them. I did not see a map but there were achievement awards. The puzzles I had seen before but perhaps not in this context, There was a nice mixture of HO scenes and ones that were interactive silhouettes where each thing related to another thing which I am very fond of. Sound effects and music was nice. If I was out of another Big Fish game to play I would buy this now, but will wait till it come out as a SE, as I do want to own this game. Very nice. January 17, 2013
I'm Only Happy When It Rains.... This game was as pleasant to play as an afternoon spent at the local art gallery without the "Art Police" watching my every move. I've always wondered: What WOULD happen if I crossed the barrier to poke the Art? ~ Intriguing Storyline : prophetic visions through Art ~ Awesome Setting : Italy ~ The CE includes Achievements which allow you to unlock free play puzzles and HOS as well as the Art and Music from the game. I had a giggle at the one earned for watching the credits. ~ Interesting characters ~ Great graphics ~ Journal - The character you play is a very effective note taker. It could have used a few more HOS and some of those HUGE molasses cookies like they have at the Art gallery. :P My latest purchase and current favorite is also one of their new releases. Check them both out! January 17, 2013
not great but good not a bad game. Has voice over but still have lots of reading to do. Music and graphics are good. The puzzles are not hard but the HOS are really good. Hard to find them all without lots of looking. You do go back to the same ones which I do not like. Has a good flow but you do have to keep going back to find things to progress. You get 2 punches today so that is a good deal. The hint button works good and fast. Give it a try it is worth it. February 19, 2013
Nice little game! Hmmm, not a bad game...not exceptional either. Graphics clear but nothing great, game play nice, music nice, games very easy. Like the switch between regular HOG and silhouette. Okay, easy to figure out that you are the Mom, since you are told that in the beginning and also, the painter was surprised that you are the Mother. A little different story line, but not much. Didn't have a problem following the story line, but still a bit sketchy. Not enough voice over, e.g., one person speaks and the other you have to read...weird. There is no jump map, but this game could certainly use one. Fast hint recovery. SG not bad, but hated where it was located. The constant up and down motion when you wanted to use the SG made me sea sick, and I don't even have that problem. All in all, this was a nice little game and I find the need to purchase to finish, although I'm not quite sure why. Think this will go into my puddle until I make my final decision. Not sure it is worth the CE price, even if I do get an extra punch on my card. As always try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all, or you may just "have to have it!" Thanks for the reviews. January 17, 2013
11-20 of 50 Reviews <<prev 2345next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

Uncover the mystery behind an artist’s deadly talent.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.