Bookmark

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

Full version game
(367.79 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Uncover the mystery behind an artist’s deadly talent in Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death! Your daughter, Angie, was traveling through Europe when she vanished without a trace. Her last letter urged you to come to a remote island town in Italy, where she had stumbled upon a dark secret. When you arrive, you learn that there has been a series of tragic deaths in town, accompanied by sightings of a legendary spirit called the Silhouette. With no way of knowing who would be next, citizens turned to Virgil, a local artist who could famously predict the future through his paintings. Now you must seek out Virgil and his mysterious paintings before you and your daughter become the next victims of his deadly predictions!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus story
  • Gorgeous art and screensavers
  • Downloadable music tracks
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 989 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition 3.9 5 50 50
Really like the demo I quite enjoyed the demo and do not know why the ratings are not better. The story is interesting, graphics were very good, loved the voice overs instead of text, and HOs were well done. I guess if I were able to play further, I may find some negatives but not so far. I will definitely consider this when the SE comes out. I think the reviews so far are not giving this one a fair shake. Probably not a perfect score, but maybe better then what has been scored so far. Maybe after a few more do their ratings, score will improve. January 18, 2013
Vast Games are not vast anymore. Vast never had the best graphics quality, and like the latest Snark Busters, this storyline, along with all the other painting adventures out there, has been told/played already. Again, if you are a fan or if repetitive storytelling doesn't bother you (if you love this storyline and want another regurgitation of it), go for it. I personally would not recommend this game, but don't let my one opinion be above all. February 3, 2013
TheSAGE I only played the free 60 minute sample. I might buy it when I get paid. It has a good storyline and the art work is pretty clear on the hidden object games. I really hate when you can't see the objects because of the lighting. So, so far so good. January 17, 2013
Could use some improvments I like the music, sound and artwork but the gameplay controls could use some improvment and so could the puzzles. I'd also like a bit more to the story. The bonus wasn't much so more is needed for another one to be a worthy CE. January 30, 2013
interesting game play I enjoyed the game, but will wait for the se. January 18, 2013
Fun game! I enjoyed playing this game. Beautiful graphics! January 19, 2013
REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME There is nothing really wrong with this game per se. It has good graphics, if a little on the dark side. There are two types of HOS, list and silhouette, both interactive. The music is fine. The puzzles lean more towards the artistic than the academic, which is right up my alley, and the navigation is perfect. The best thing about it is the story. It rang a vague bell somewhere in my mind, from long ago, but it has enough originality, veering away from the usual, to be fresh, and as it is well thought out and well written, it deserves a credit. It is not what you first think it is is all I can say without giving it away. It has wide screen, collectibles and achievements, though minimal, but no map. The SG is odd. They have used three different sized fonts. One is way too small, the 2nd is normal and the 3rd one is huge. ??? Dunno. I only looked at it so I could report on it here, but I never had to use it. The game plays itself. The cursors are another oddity. There are 3. Custom and 2 game cursors. One is too small and the other too big. Game starts with the big one. There is a location consisting of about three scenes where it became a huge problem and I could do nothing but shut down and start with the custom cursor to get through it. The cut scenes are well done. Fast and with clickable dialogue, but not animated. Don't really think that is either here nor there, but it may matter to some. The lack of a map is not lamentable to me, as it is easy to remember where and what and there is little backtracking, but it will be lamented by some, who require all these things to make it deserving of being a CE. The hint button is directional and fast. Same with skip, but there is little need for skip with this. All the puzzles, whilst nice to do, are very simple. Once again, another game where the thing that lets it down is the length. The main game only took me 3 hrs and that also is not really going to win it much favouritism. The BC took 1 hr 20. It has entirely different locations and is relatively interesting and of the same quality as the main game. So, you are looking at roughly 4.5 hrs and I think that will be held against it. You can either wait for the SE and get a 3 hr game, or pay double and get an extra 1.5 hrs. In spite of it's shortcomings, I will recommend it on one hand, as it is a well made and nicely executed work, but not recommend it on the other hand because it is too short and very easy. Best I can do. Devs, you are losing points here, with the length and it being too easy. Veteran fishies in this pond will not find it challenging enough to pay CE prices and too short for a SE. I see there is another one coming in Sneak Peak and it looks really good. Full of cute creatures and bright and colourful. I hope it is longer and more aimed towards the experienced players. January 17, 2013
Nice game but not a worthy CE!! Beta-tested this game already and complained the lack of the CE extras. It would be a nice standard edition: Very appealing story around prophetic paintings and a dark eerie creature, known as the Silhouette. Very good amount of HOS and puzzles, not too challenging. Graphics are very nice and sharp. For those HOPA-gamers who don't care about CE extras such as achievements and collectables, this game might be a good choice. - I'll wait for the SE..... January 17, 2013
Not the best game I went ahead and bought this game before I played it. What a dissapointment! As far as the storyline and graphics and scenery go, quite nice. It took me about 2 hours to complete the game. The bonus play was better than some of the chapters. But being a CE, not at that price. I am increasingly getting more discouraged with the so-called Collector's Editions. It is only on rare occassions that BF has sponsored a "TRUE" Collector's Edition game. I think the developers need to step back and re-evaluate what a good game is these days, January 18, 2013
VAST Studios--the minds of genius taking a coffee break! Game seemed outdated and maybe on the shelf while Vast Studios has already put out some of the greatest game series ever designed--Cursed Memories, Shattered Minds I & II, Nightfall Mysteries I, II, III, Written Legends, etc. Seems disjointed with a lot of to and fro which doesn't bother me if the game holds my interest. Although a bit silly, artwork is superb with focus on music and artsy objects. Vast Studios is one of my favorite developers and I will purchase in the future as I have learned that a demo can be deceving and hoping the game improves... On the same hand, Vast Studios does not usually create "easy-to-play" games--you have to work the game. Unfortunately, developers are pressured by "the masses" for "easier" games and this is what we gamers seem to be getting lately, i.e. the majority of BFG's January 2013 "new" games have been mind numbing & notably inferior-- which is why I am combing through the numerous purchased BFG games that I haven't had time to play/finish. Enjoy! -Mama Mia- January 24, 2013
31-40 of 50 Reviews <<prev 2345next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

Uncover the mystery behind an artist’s deadly talent.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.